World Riddles - Secrets of the AgesWorld Riddles - Secrets of the Ages
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of World Riddles - Secrets of the Ages
reginella | Added on: March 24, 2013
 
It starts easy, then gets really hard. By the time you're in the last stage, it's really difficult, and I love the challenge. This game requires logical thought, and once you get the hang of it, it is great fun. My only complaint is that it is sometimes hard to distinguish the squares - don't know if that is a real problem, or part of the difficulty of the game. I play this over and over again - there are bonus levels where you can beat your previous scores. Highly recommended.
Grinmajann | Added on: January 6, 2012
 
Ever since I first played Gemsweeper, I have LOVED these kind of "puzzles". I think somewhere I read that they are called griddlers, but by any name I find them fascinating. My only complaint is that there are too FEW of these released. The World Mosaics bunch were great, but after finishing them, too long a wait for new ones. So I rated this a 5 originally, then went back and changed it to a 4, ONLY because of the issues that others have mentioned (i.e., the colors that are not distinguishable from each other, not knowing where you are on what line, etc.,). I just am so in love with these kind of puzzles, that I am grateful there is a new one, even though it is lacking compared to the other games. I think Gemsweeper is by FAR the best, but will keep hoping that there will be more "griddlers" in the future. In one of the reviews, someone called this Suduko.. it is definitely not.
evadiva | Added on: January 9, 2012
 
I love this game, but have to agree with the rest of the submitters that the graphics is not very good - would like more bright colors and even longer sequences.
emi1 | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
i luv the world riddle games. they are challenging, yet u go at ur own pace. u do get more points the faster u solve a puzzle, but ur not pressured in to it. i luv the relaxing music in this version. the graphics are good. i did find myself making mistakes b/c the tiles u turned were colored and sometimes i couldn't tell if i'd turned a tile or not. i do like that there are no #'s on the tiles as u turn them. i found this distracting in the last world riddle game. i like making points to buy items that have significance in the countries u r in. especially the info u get after u purchase the items. the trial hr FLEW by. can't wait to buy this one.
heitz77 | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
I love these kind of puzzle games. I really enjoy replaying the game until I've acquired all of the skill bonuses- time bonus, perfection bonus, etc. By acquiring the bonuses, new levels are unlocked. This is the same type of game as the former World Riddles game, but color was added. This is both interesting and confusing, as some of the colors are black that look like an unlocked square. I also feel like the game could have been improved by adding a line counter (when the games get more difficult, it's really easy to lose track of how many squares you've demolished) but other than those minor things- this game is great!
dawndb | Added on: January 9, 2012
 
Love this type of game. Agree with other reviews in regards to the colors. Also not always a logical starting place which makes it difficult to complete some levels with no mistakes. Otherwise a very fun game.
GameDancer | Added on: January 9, 2012
 
Secrets of the Ages graphics are not as well done as Seven Wonders re: the size of the tiles, the colors of the tiles that could be misconstrued from tiles that were previously played(need my reading glasses) & lack of divisional lines thus the 4 star rating BUT the game has something new that I enjoy & that is learning different facts of interest from each of the countries that you explore by earning $$ solving the grid puzzles w/in the time limits. This sequel is a bit more challenging & your power of deduction WILL be tested...but that's the FUN of playing games. If you enjoy exercising your brain in a relax manner than put on your reading glasses & give this game a try ;)
SheltieMom3 | Added on: January 5, 2012
 
This is a Paint-by-Numbers game where you use the number clues to fill in a board of tiles to create a "picture". I've been playing games like this for years, and really loved Seven Wonders, so I looked forward to a similar enjoyable experience with this game. However, the new differently colored tiles in the puzzle are distracting and annoyingly difficult to discern against the background. I've messed up my game play more than once because of a tile that I didn't realize was already uncovered. If they used better contrasts for the background vs. the game tiles, the game would play considerably better. I also found the "expert times" to be very random, as some games took me many tries to achieve the expert times, and others I beat by over 2-3 minutes. But I found that to be the case in 7 wonders, as well, so it may be a developer thing... The added mosaic puzzles don't really add to the game except as a diversion, but I did enjoy reading about the different ancient artifacts in the various countries.
flaca | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
Nice sequel...but it's a killer on the eyes with all those colors. I really couldn't finish the first civilization. I'm still seeing kinda blurry. I'll stick the first one. The different colored tiles really did me in. Forget it. I wont be playing this game again, nor recommending it.
froeken | Added on: January 1, 2012
 
I love this type of puzzle game and have completed a few others like it, but I am finding this one difficult to play, simply because I am having trouble seeing which squares I have marked and which ones are being highlighted when I mouse over a row. I don't think I'll be finishing this one. If the graphics were a little more contrasty, I would enjoy this much more.
Or_Ducatisti | Added on: January 6, 2012
 
I really enjoy the World Mosaics puzzles, and was interested to try World Riddles. Unfortunately from the close-to-the-same name to the gameplay and storyline, it was obvious that very little actual "development" went into this title, other than someone playing World Mosaics, making a few minor changes in design and implementation, and releasing it to the public. It's not a bad game, but there are certain things about it that make it frustrating. For one, the tiles change color when they're selected, so sometimes it's really difficult to tell at a glance if a tile has been turned over or not. Next, the row you're hovering over doesn't highlight (just the numbers a the top), this isn't a problem at lower levels, but when you get into 15 and 20 rows, it's tough to know exactly where you're at on the board. Third, this is just a graphic issue, but it really bothered me that the tiles weren't square, so a 20 x 20 board was longer than it was tall. This may be only evident on a wide screen computer, but should have been taken into account when they were designing the game. I really recommend trying World Mosaics first (any of the 4 titles) before deciding to buy this one.
teriabc | Added on: January 3, 2012
 
i thought when i downloaded this game it would have differtant puzzles from around the world as the TITLE indicated!!! all it is is sudkuo I HATE SUDKO!!!
DBsGirl | Added on: January 24, 2012
 
I really enjoy this game! It is very addictive and engaging! I'm generally a match 3 fanatic, but every now and then I stumble across a great gem like this one!
jsalpha1 | Added on: January 1, 2012
 
I am a long time player, first time reviewer. Normally I don't review things, but since I am a huge fan of Seven Wonders, I had to comment. While I like the gameplay itself, i HATE the new style of the game. Too many distractions! What happened to the simple tile/globe design? They are trying to be like World Mosaics. And I don't like the design of those either. Seven Wonders was perfect. Why mess with a good thing? Otherwise this game is a great game that makes you think.
eagleswing | Added on: January 3, 2012
 
In general I love this type of logic game. Others have commented on the graphics and some of those challenges, and I agree. Being able to count squares would be very helpful. My biggest complaint is that there isn't always a logical place to start, which reminds me more a bomb game (random) then a logic game. I have finished the game, mostly silver not gold. Probably not one I will play again all the way through.
LadySlew | Added on: January 18, 2012
 
This game is very addicting. I find it challenging. if you like games that make you think this is for you.
Camille078 | Added on: January 25, 2013
 
The boxes that do not light up well are giving me eyestrain. The makers also need to explain more about finding (or not) the hidden outlined things. This seems to be a very cheaply made game-perhaps a forerunner of the other Mosaics which I own and have no problem with.
covingtonmom | Added on: January 4, 2012
 
I really enjoy this type of game (this is NOT Suduko, by the way), however, this one was extremely challenging due to the graphics. Specifically, the tiles are very tiny making it too easy to click on the wrong one, the gray background combined with gray tiles causes errors because I can't tell the difference, and the wider lines designating every 5 tiles look more like empty spaces because the tiles are so tiny. I have been able to go back and get gold on each level only by making note of where some of the tiles need to be. As noted by another reviewer, there is often no logical place to go next. Perhaps if you were a mathematical genius and could see many steps ahead, this would work, but for me, I just had to take a stab and hope for the best.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: July 7, 2012
 
I enjoy this type of game, but I have the same complaints as others. It's very difficult to distinguish blank spaces because of some of the colors. And it doesn't help that the columns aren't highllighted. If you're really into this type of game, you will enjoy it. I gave up about half-way through to save what eyesight I have left.