Word SlingerWord Slinger
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Word Slinger
distraida | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
This game helps me play Scrabble. I adore word games and this is a good game to play to learn how to place words on the grid. If you like Scrabble but can't spell, you'll LOVE this game. It's also an educational game, because you learn to see words and how they fit together. It might help with crosswords, too. Accessibility notes: Due to the nature of the game it has to be played with the mouse, but you don't have to hold down the button to drag the word, just click, move, click. Also, if you hover your mouse over a letter already on the board, it will highlight the letters in the words on the list that contain that letter! It also works just fine with the Windows accessibility tool, mousekeys. It has excellent feedback - it makes noise when you click on words, when you place words, when your word list gets to the top in timed mode, when you form a new word, if you click in the wrong place, or when you discard a word. When you hover over a menu button, it either highlights or changes colors. The one thing it does that is annoying, is in timed mode. When your word list is at the top, the words shake. This game has timed mode that is relatively fast, and untimed mode, which for me is the most fun. I wish all games had the option of an untimed mode. I do wish the game had a way to check definitions, as there are some words I have never seen before, and don't recall what they are after exiting the game.
31642898 | Added on: December 6, 2013
 
I have got to level 82 and don't seem to be able to get any further, which is not a problem. But I get so frustrated at "guessing" which English words it will accept. Spoils what should be a brilliant game. Just tried to enter "nought" which is says is invalid! I give up!
kitscat | Added on: July 12, 2010
 
This is the best word game I've seen for a long time. Hoping we'll see an updated version soon, where we can add other players (and high scores for such) and start a new game without having to use the "back" arrows.
Sunny30 | Added on: February 2, 2012
 
I have just bought this game, and have been playing it daily. It is like a cross word but the words are given and you need to find the letters to link them up. There is a relaxed mode and a timed mode both have there own challenges. The further levels you pass the degree of difficulty increases. It is not only challenging but you need to think fast and use strategy to see that the letters link up. It is a word and a strategy game.
32102306 | Added on: January 26, 2014
 
Exceptional game. Please update word acceptance. The word "lense" is not accepted. A lot of lense wearers will be really surprised!! No reason not to buy the game, just make the Game House tecs aware of the problem.
nanoo25 | Added on: June 4, 2010
 
I love any kind of word games. And this one is one of the best!
elizabethau | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
This is a very addictive game,time flies past and there is never enough time to play it highly reccomrend
mrscmf | Added on: February 5, 2013
 
At last after 3 years of on off playing i have reached level 100. Ok it a isn't fast action play or great graphics, but for interest in the long term it's one of the best games ever. I love it , it challenges me keeps my brain active and entertains me To reach the higher levels you need to amass as many hints as possible to use at the more difficult levels.I am now at level 100 and still have 47 hints left, so hopeful that given time i will get even higher.The only chamge I would make to this game is to have an undo button as sometimes you drop a word in and can see at once it is in the wrong place (blocks using a 3 word bonus square etc)
Maineiac | Added on: August 31, 2010
 
I've had this game for several years, but I still come back to it over and over again. Of all the word games I've tried, none has the playability and entertainment of this one! This is a great choice if you enjoy word games!
jlo1957 | Added on: July 12, 2010
 
This game is very addictive, I have played it for hours. For me it is the best game they have.
triciams | Added on: June 28, 2010
 
its a great game but very frustrating at times Get to last word and run out of available moves!~!!
krchrs_mistress | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
Fun Game! I usually play alone but sometimes my husband joins in and we have a great time!
roxy8279 | Added on: June 7, 2013
 
This game is a your own crossword. You get to start it with whatever word you want. The best part is getting to the tougher levels it takes longer to win. I am on level 64 right now. So I have to put over 80 words on the board..... I love to use my brain.
petuniapants | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
This game is one of thee best games I have ever played. Not only challenging but also addictive. I find myself playing whenever I get a spare moment!
Ingrid | Added on: May 7, 2009
 
It is both relaxing and mentally stimulating!
tomo | Added on: November 30, 2010
 
Not very friend with english it is one way to learn more vocabulary in playing
Jeema4 | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
This has been my fav for a long time. I play it everyday, twicw a day. Word building, some I've never heard of but are legit. A+
arenken | Added on: February 18, 2012
 
This has been one of my favorite games for years - there's simply nothing better. I was devastated to discover that it would not run after my OS updated, and I expected a Lion-compatible version long before now. The fact that I check this page every day, hoping for that precious update, is the highest compliment I can give.
Dabido | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
My wife and I competed in this game. I prefer the timed mode, but it's definitely a word game like no other. Words are your playing pieces, not letters!
kl1lac | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
THis game really challenges me. You can plan a strategy to place words and but you have no choice in how the new words come up. There is only 2 ways to play this game - strategy and timed. Gets HARD the further up the ladder you go. Try it out to get a little brain stimulation.
Jackie1964 | Added on: February 24, 2012
 
This keeps your mind and hands agile and keeps you thinking about words
tishame | Added on: August 19, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game enough that I bought it twice. New computer would not except originial. Worth the money to me. Makes my 70 year young brain think. Fills my time with enjoyment and relaxation.
LBSK | Added on: December 12, 2011
 
This is the best game that I have played on the computer. There is nothing else like it. If I had known that it wasn't compatible with Mac OS7, I may have delayed the purchase of my computer. We need to pressure Gamehouse to update the game so that we can play again. PLEASE, PLEASE, update Word Slinger for the Mac os7.
Cuzzywuz | Added on: June 10, 2010
 
I really enjoy this game. It's great for anyone who likes word games. Cheers Pat
funman336 | Added on: January 10, 2011
 
Love just kicking back and playing in the untimed mode. Thinking ahead is a big part of getting into the upper levels. I'm up to level 21 myself and can't see stopping playing this game anytime soon. The timed section is a bit much - I'm more of a "thinker" and problem-solver. If you're like me you will LOVE the game.
TAZZY | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
This game is a word game & a puzzle all in one; you can't stop, as it is fast, addictive, & educational. It is great for kids to learn spelling too.
nbrunton | Added on: June 9, 2011
 
the game is challenging and I like having the choice between beating the clock or doing it in my own time.
LRR76 | Added on: June 4, 2010
 
I've really enjoyed this game! A nice change of pace from Scrabble.
Sharbear | Added on: August 13, 2010
 
I have had this game for at least 5 years and I have played it non-stop! I have reached Level 70 and I am having trouble getting past that level. I am curious to know if anybody has gotten past Level 70. This game is very addictive if you like word games.
31193372 | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
This game is enjoyable for several reasons. The concept is a simple one: Fit in as many words in as possible. This is very easy at first, but gets harder and harder, but at a good pace. It doesn't *suddenly* get hard, unlike a lot of games, it just builds you up. I also love that you can either play "strategy" or "speed" games, and you can play either at any time as the games saves both. So if you feel like a relaxing game, you can sit there for a while, thinking about strategy or if you feel like a fast-paced mad rush to get words in, you can. The "speed" one gets very hard after a while! This is a game for all levels of skill and ages, as it starts off easy. And if you find you can't get further, you can easily just start again. There is only a few snags. Two people cannot play independently, ie: You can't have two separate players at two different levels, so you can't log in as you and play the game where you are at and someone else do the same. There are a few words that aren't included that *are* words, but I've literally only discovered a small number, the dictionary is actually quite vast. Very enjoyable overall.
xteacher03 | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
I love this game and keep returning after years of play. My major objection or obstacle with this game is the lack of "new player" options. At some point, your chances of a "win" are severely reduced as the game level remains high without an option to begin fresh from level one. When one must place 88+ words for a win total successes are few and far between. I've tried to uninstall/install but the new install takes me back to the same point of the uninstall. I would love to see this "flaw" corrected.
wittywillie | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
I have played this game for years and cannot get past level 70 However I play it at least once a day and plugging It is addictive for me and a challenge to learn simple short words If you are a scrabble or Upwords fan this is great!
whymelani | Added on: June 1, 2010
 
I've owned this game for a few years and not sorry I bought it. I am currently on level 85! You can play timed or relaxed without time. There are plenty of bonuses on each level to help you rack up the words needed to win the level; it's like the game WANTS you to win. IF YOU LOVE WORD GAMES, THIS IS FOR YOU!!! Between this and Wheel of Fortune, THIS game wins, hands down!!
JCStarr | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
It's like a crossword puzzle without the definition. It's very addictive. I played it for hours.
joancj1 | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
I love word games...this is one of my favorites..many different ways to play...a good value you will play it time and time again
denimnlace555 | Added on: July 23, 2011
 
higher levels are challenging, play either at your own pace or beat the clock it makes you think, great game for any age, have lost hours having fun!!
tvluver | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
i've been playing this game for a few yrs straight, basically everyday, sometimes non stop lol. so it's pretty addictive :). i like it mostly cuz it's a lot like scrabble but the words are already chosen for you, so you can be kinda lazy w/ it lol. i'm on level 97 right now... if you play the speed mode, then yeah, it can get stressful. but if you play the strategy mode, you can relax and play as you please, doing other stuff on the comp at the same time. i totally recommend it for ppl who like word games.