Victorian Mysteries - Woman in WhiteVictorian Mysteries - Woman in White
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Victorian Mysteries - Woman in White
bxmamasita123 | Added on: June 16, 2011
 
i liked it.the characters were corny but good hidden objects game.
katya | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
The graphics are awesome and the story is above average. What I liked best was the different types of puzzles along the way, not just object searches. It's not intuitive or even linear, so I had to rely heavily on the Walkthrough. Replay is just the same thing again.
sportygal2009 | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
I found this to be an OK game. Far from the worst I've played but at the same time I've definitely played better games. Usually I don't follow story but I did for this one and it took me a bit to get into it and by the time I did the game was over. I stuck with it however because I found it to be a pretty short game, six chapters and I finished it in about 3 hours. The graphics were pretty good for the most part however some parts of the game leave much to be desired in my opinion. Most of the hidden objects I found pretty easy to locate however some I'd never even heard of. This game is also very sensitive to clicks. If you click 3 or 4 times and don't locate an item, the cursor goes "crazy and out of control" for a few seconds. The hint is pretty slow on charging back up and for some items I located pretty easily wouldn't recognize my click on them so I had to use the hint. The puzzles for the most part I found pretty easy, some a little thinky but they can be skipped. Does take a bit however to do so. Oh and the fishing scene where you have to throw out your line and catch the fish, the sounds that made about grated on my last nerve. I'm glad I made it through that part of the game pretty quick. So for me just an OK game as I said. Far from the worst but I've definitely played better. Give it a whirl however, seems I'm in the minority here and everyone else seems to have really enjoyed it which I hope you do also. Playing it once through however for me was more than enough.
xenutia | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
What a cracker of a game. We had to wait a bit for it, but it was certainly worth the wait. It's a pity that there is always more to write about a bad game than there is about a great one, but there really are a lot of good things to say about this game. There are few games that really do tick all the boxes. This one seems to manage. The graphics are really beautiful and totally in keeping with the period, (couple of little burps but generally very authentic); the music is lovely, the characters very well portrayed - with excellent accents for a change! The storyline and dialogue was actually worth listening to and following for once. What I particularly like is that you weren't left groping in the dark as to what to do next, you could find the next step fairly readily, because it was so logical. You were also given good hint instructions for using objects and just enough information to stop you floundering without giving the whole game away. There are standard skip buttons, although I haven't had to skip any so far and the mini games are totally in keeping with the plot. I really loved the one in the art studio. The HOs were just hard enough to find, without being too easy, and actually looked like what they were supposed to be. I struggled to find anything about it I didn't like and I eventually managed. The cat in the kitchen is just about the ugliest I've ever seen. Lol. This really is a charming game, which is a pleasure to play.
TAR671 | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
Great game. I wholeheartidly recommend this game for both beginning and mature game players. In my opinion their is nothing to complain about with this game. The story is good, the graphics great, and the music good. This is one of the better games I have played in the last 3 months.
roxy50 | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
The time period is intergrated well with the music,storyline,and hidden objects. grafics and puzzles are very good and enjoyable. This game would be an excellent choice to widen your selection of a choices in a hidden object game.
zippy1010 | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
My kids and I had a lot of fun playing this one together. It was just spooky enough but not too scary. There is one scene towards the end that bothered them a little but I just quickly got out of that scene, and they didn't really understand the story line but that was fine. It is a pretty short game, we were through it in a couple hours but on sale I think it was worth it.
Sapana | Added on: January 13, 2011
 
I really enjoyed playing this game. It kept me involved in the storyline and I wanted to keep playing to find out the ending. I look forward to playing more games like this.
Tayotae | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
I like Hidden Object games, they are one of my favorite games to play. However, this games simply leaves you hanging, you don't know what to do, where to go, or when it is done. Not enough instructions on what you are to do next. You set with no objects to find and no key/idea what you are to do. This games is not my kind of game, but it maybe yours. Maybe I am just too darn dumb.
Mimi77 | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
I absolutely loved this game. Great story (I wasn't tempted to skip the dialogue) Fun HO at just the right difficulty and it was the perfect length. Only very small thing that bugged me was that you can't skip the intro to the game so you have to sit through it everytime you start the game but that's not enough of a complaint to give it anything lower then 5 stars. I hope there is a sequal.
Gmom123 | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
Easy to download, very entertaining, and suburb customer service. . . LOVE IT!!!!
pgillenw | Added on: December 10, 2010
 
An A+ game with great music, creative story and characters. Graphics were wonderful with hidden objects cleverly placed. I couldn't wait for the PC version to headline so I begged my partner for use of her MAC. I was in awe of the clarity of the graphics and the music played like a symphony. The special effects were creative as well. Gamehouse thanks for bringing us this A+ game.
artisananna | Added on: January 7, 2011
 
Didn't care for it...I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: April 13, 2013
 
I played this game when it first came out and just played it again when the Victorian Mysteries Bundle was introduced. While I might have given it 5 stars in 2010, I can't do that now. The story line is good, the music is fine, and the graphics, while not stellar, are good. The voice overs are also fine, although there is no animation anywhere in the game. The HO scenes are straight-forward with no extra steps required to find or put together items. Also, some of the names for items are a bit odd. The hint button works well for the HO scenes, but that's the ONLY time it works. It will not point you in the right direction should you wish some help on what to do or where to go next. Also, the directions for mini games are minimal at best. You do get told when there are no more actions to perform in a particular scene, which is helpful. While neither as complicated nor involved as it could be, this is a fine little game. It's not long (2 1/2 to 3 hours), but it is enjoyable. It's fine for Fun Pass, but I'm not sure I'd consider it worth purchasing. I don't believe the story would interest young children.
susanclare | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
This was a great game - it was addicting and the tasks made perfect sense. I really enjoyed the storyline too - which I oftentimes ignore in other games. And now I know what a "Jolly Roger" is - I take it the developer of this game was indeed English! I may just play this one again...*****
SilverSuki | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
Well wonders never cease, for once I'm not moaning! :o) This game was brilliant fun, used genuine British voices for the dialogue (and I'm British, so I can tell!), and kept the dialogue simple and efficient, but still somehow got me really involved. HO and puzzle elements were worked into the game almost seamlessly, which was very refreshing and really helped bring the game alive. My only complaints are VERY minor (the HO lists contained some non-British objects, and even some modern objects! Ending was probably a bit rushed too), not enough to lose even one star from me though! Bring on the next one!
Perseus | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
This game had me hooked from the very first scene. Great hidden object, good puzzles, great story. Almost everything authentic to the era and location. Some area that were very challenging without the hints. Can't say enough good things about this game.
peanuts4513 | Added on: January 6, 2011
 
Really liked this game. Completed very quickly because I didn't want to stop.
DarkDragon | Added on: April 26, 2011
 
This is a great HOG, the objects are well hidden, but clearly depicted. There's no attempt to hide them in shadows or blur images. Graphics is beautiful, though I don't really like the music. The story is interesting and makes sense. The tasks of finding objects and a way to use them are interesting and require some thinking. Most of them are not very hard, though I was stuck once and had to look up the walkthrough. Some of the tasks I find not very logic, like running around the house breaking things. Honestly, who would do that in someone else's house? There are two major drawbacks: very short story (I finished it in like 3 hours) and occasionally slow loading between scenes (sometimes it freezes like a minute). That's why it's only 4 stars. It could have been better. I like this game, but I don't think I will buy it. It's too short, really not worth the money. If you have Fun Pass, like HOG and thinky tasks, and have great patience for the loading, go ahead and try it. Otherwise, pass this one.
tomandtuck | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
I like hidden object games but I'm kind of particular. This one appeals to me.
Likesonotaditz | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
This is a fun and interactive game with interesting puzzles and a good interface. The story is fun to follow and moves at a good pace. My biggest complaint would be that in the last half of the game, there are detailed and beautiful scenes with only a single interactive spot. The game would have been nearly perfect if there had been more puzzles in the last half and a bit more length.
Irish_Gamer | Added on: December 27, 2010
 
I loved this game it was addictive. The graphics were great and I hated leaving it. It was a Hidden Object game but with more.
greolivtre | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
Intriguing game that keeps you guessing and has lots of levels and areas to explore. Very enjoyable!
bk5200 | Added on: August 29, 2011
 
Like setup of story and ho scenes. Didn't like to wait for loading between scenes. Game was very short but I liked it
emqof2008fs | Added on: May 13, 2011
 
women in white is an excellent game I finished it in a couple of hours , it was so good I didn't want to stop. It has everything a true hidden object player loves
Thea333 | Added on: May 12, 2011
 
not sure I would play a it a second time.. but worth the discounted price for a one time play...
covingtonmom | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
I was very impressed with the variety of puzzles in this game. I prefer games that are more than just finiding hidden objects, and this one fit the bill. The puzzles were logical and I only had trouble once figuring out where to go next. This resulted from what is actually something I like about the game - it tells you when there is nothing left to do in your current location. My mistake was in not passing through a couple of those locations (outside) to find that a new area was available. My only disappointment was at the end. There was a lot of narrative necessary to tie up the loose ends in the story. I would have preferred for a smoother ending.
DarkChylde | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
What a delightful game. Something a bit different that was mysterious and intriguing. The story was excellent and had me playing all the way through to the end, as I had to know what happened. The HO's were relatively easy, with a few blending in pretty good. I probably used 3 or 4 hints in the game. The puzzles were interesting and would provide you a piece of what you needed to continue with your quest to find out about the Woman in White. There were several rooms and areas to explore, and there were lots of items to pick up along the way. Being set in the Victorian era was nice, with music that was mellow and appropriate. As I mentioned before, the story was excellent, and part of it was left open for possible continuation with the story (maybe) going in a different direction. I hope there are more Victorian Mysteries. You can tell the developers put a lot of effort into it with just the right amount of "everything" to make it so enjoyable. Kudos! Please, sir, may I have some more?
ibtlb | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
This game is really fun...It just ended too soon for me. But all in all it has great story, great music, intrigue! I liked it alot. Personally I really enjoy the going back and forth finding clues, solving etc...Just about the right amount difficulty, and great mini games!! Good Job on this one.
mariyel | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
A bit confusing and help-tips are non-existent. The help-clues are ok, but a bit more specific direction is needed. I play for relaxation and enjoyment and this game is a bit more cerebral than it is relaxing.
PipCat | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
While I was a little disappointed that there wasn't a real ghost involved, I found the story compelling & the gameplay excellent. The puzzles you find along your journey have very little clear cut instructions on how to solve them & tend to be more intuitive. However, with a little patience (& the occasional help of a walkthrough) they can easily be solved. I felt this aspect of the game made it more challenging & added to the gaming experience. The HOs strike a nice balance between easily seen & a bit hard to find/define in the scenes. There is a map that shows the various locations in the game but does nothing to help you out as far as what locations still need to be investigated & it will not let you jump from place to place. Normally this is a deal breaker for me but the locations in each chapter are limited & it doesn't take long at all to travel between them. It's well worth taking a look at & I'm hoping a sequel is in the works.
megdemestre | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
Hidden Object games are my favourites! This one actually MAKES you THINK! The hint button takes a while to recharge, so you have more time to consider what you might find/do/see next. I've played it twice already, and look forward to the nest time. I LOVE this game.
sameyers | Added on: December 21, 2010
 
This game had a good story line, although a little simplistic in the telling. The graphics were good and I did want to find out the ending:-) The game seemed a little short, but did have some unexpected to it. All in all, I'd definitely recommend it.
cathy13 | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
This is a very good HOG. The only thing I was disappointed in was that the only "Secrets" you unlocked you already knew. They were in your book.
CELT | Added on: December 22, 2010
 
I'm not a great fan of Hidden Object Games but given the lack of much else on game sites of late I do download the occasional HO games that I think might offer more and this one didn't disappoint. YES, it is a HO game but it is also a puzzle/mystery game with a decent story to keep you interested and guessing right along as you solve the mystery. The HO screens, of which there weren't too many to be boring for those of us who are over HO, weren't too hard to solve, the puzzles were relatively easy to figure out and the game progression was logical. The music was appropriately dark although not intrusive so I felt no need to mute it. My ONLY criticism is that I wish there was some sort of shape outline available for certain objects in the HO screens because not all objects to be found were immediately clear to me by name only but the hints were useful in those cases. The game played well on my 3 yr old PC running Vista with no glitches, freezing or other problems. The game was a little short and having solved it there is no point in playing it again but sometimes shorter is good when it comes to HO games - no chance for things to become tedious. In short, this game was worth the download if you want to kill 2-3 hours and aren't worried about no replay value and folks who are sick of HO games will find other reasons to like this game.