Valerie Porter and the Scarlet Scandal™Valerie Porter and the Scarlet Scandal™
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Valerie Porter and the Scarlet Scandal™
Jats | Added on: November 11, 2010
 
Valerie Porter and the Sacrlet Scandel is a enjoyable game. It has just enought challange to keep you coming back to finish it without getting frustrating.
kesay17 | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
Good game. easy to finish quickly, but really original and enjoyable.
MagAngel | Added on: July 15, 2010
 
This is one of the best Adventure/Hidden Object games ever. The heroine is a wonderful character, smart, "attractive," and endearing. Her boss is a gruff, "manly" type who is a softie at heart without being obvious about it. The mystery is a good one, without insulting your intelligence. I just loved it and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great mystery and a good value for the dollar.
Takethater | Added on: December 28, 2009
 
Lovely graphics and great storyline. Most of the objects are fairly easy to find but it is fun finding them. The putting together of torn clippings is too easy but the involvement of adding selected words to your news story is fun if you are following the plot. Typing up the headline for your story gets you thinking but it will let you know if you've placed a letter wrong. Only gets 4 stars due to the lack of mini games which would have topped it off nicely.
mamaronan | Added on: January 8, 2010
 
It was a role play game, and the characters spoke between the chapters. It was not ENTIRELY hidden object search, which was nice. It was still a storyboard format, but compared to the other games, it deserves a 5 star. m
kylakitty | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
As indicated by other user reviews, this is an excellent game with a novel approach and intriguing story - which is why I gave it a 5-star rating. My only complaints (and the reason I won't purchase the game) are that I finished 5 of the 11 chapters within the hour trial, and overall it was too easy. I don't see much replay value.
Bobbyboo | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
This game has a great backstory. You are interested and surprised when you find what the end is. It is a murder investigation, and it quite a decent whodunit. The hidden objects are not terribly challenging, but I prefer that anyways. There were only a few types of puzzles, but they are a little different from the average HOG, so it was a welcome change.
Sissy79 | Added on: December 24, 2009
 
This is one of the best hidden object games I've played. You get to go through very detailed scenes during the 1920's as a woman reporter, not only finidng clues to the killers identity, but also dealing with typical male egos that go along with the time period. It truly is a LOT of fun!!!! :)
Viper3 | Added on: December 28, 2009
 
its a really great hidden object mystery game with a great story line and good characters
Mimi77 | Added on: January 14, 2010
 
I checked this game out after reading all the glowing reviews. I must say that I wasn't disappointed. It was a nice take on the H/O games. Very fun with a great storyline and awesome graphics. It was challenging but not to the point that I got stuck. I think the most difficult mini game for me was getting the photots to focus. (This was a bit time consuming) Other then that, I would highly reccomend this game to H/O fans!
rufusmom | Added on: February 1, 2010
 
This was a fairly simple game. I had the mystry figured out by the time I was half way through. It was interesting enough to keep me playing but it isn't very original or particularly challenging.
bubble7433 | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
This is the best H.O. game I have played in a while, good story line. It's definitely worth trying .
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
Wow! What a way to start off the new year. I must start by saying I've played A LOT of hidden object games on here and some very good ones but this one was truly refreshing as it had a really great story as you're trying to help a new reporter Valerie Porter get her first break as a woman reporter in the 1920's trying to unravel the murder scandal that has taken place and dealing with male ego's I must add. Normally I'm not one who enjoys dialog in a game but this was very interesting and you also have to pay attention to the dialog for when you play some of the mini games such as writing a few articles as there is a list of words from a journal that you have to use in the correct order to complete the article. Oh and just when you think you know who committed the murders, there would be another "twist" in the story. Most of the things were pretty easy to find as this is a pretty relaxing game though "thinky" at times when it came to writing the articles. I will admit I did have to use a few hints but on some of the items I used a hint, after it showed where it was located, I should have found it! LOL! Some were pretty well hidden. So in my opinion, if you're looking for something very challenging this won't be it but if you're looking for a game with a GREAT story that is more on the relaxing side and love hidden object games I'd recommend this to you. I definitely think it's worth an hour of free play but I purchased it immediately after the 1 hour trial version was over. 5 star game all the way.
krb206 | Added on: February 16, 2010
 
Fun game with decent story. Hidden objects not overly tough to find, but still very fun. Would buy another with this character.
nevay | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
I normally do not like HOG but this one had me hooked. I couldn't wait to find out who did it. Even when I thought I had solved it, I had to finish it. A very good game for those who like whodunits. The feminist side of the game made it more interesting.
missclairol | Added on: December 30, 2009
 
So unique, humourous and a mystery, set in the 20's era, even the acting is awesome compared to most games. I loved it and hope they make a sequel
misspap | Added on: April 7, 2011
 
This game was filled with good challenges. I really loved the story.
Tayotae | Added on: January 24, 2012
 
This game has good graphics, lots of people to meet and a few mini games to play. It was a pretty fair game all in all. I think teens would enjoy it and have little problems in playing it.
kingwill | Added on: March 12, 2010
 
I found this to be one of the best for game play games out there. Hands down this game rocked!
washingtonson | Added on: January 14, 2010
 
was impressed with the visuals, very beautiful scenes, played the whole game on my Game Pass. This one's a winner.
leemail12 | Added on: January 25, 2010
 
Excellent story flow. Good playtime length. Would like to see more games like this for Mac.
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: May 9, 2011
 
I downloaded this game and played about an hour of it and unistalled it.Its so repetitive.
annya | Added on: December 8, 2011
 
Fun game overall. Keeps the player engaged in a variety of activities--creating articles, hidden object finds, puzzles, mini-games and interactive scenes. No lags in this game. Well done in capturing the spirit of the era with the dialogue.
purselamplady | Added on: May 17, 2010
 
I only played the demo but I'm definitely going to buy it. Different kind of HOG, but pleasurable since there's no time limit and the story is good. Graphics are excellent.
alemmon05 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
Pretty good game - great story line! Def worth the money!
e2verne | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
good mystery combined with interesting hidden object game, moves along quickly
Tinkerbell1953 | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
This was my first Mystery hidden object game, and I found it to be FUN!! It has a story line that you get to help create with clues along the way. I highly recommend purchasing this game. You will want to play it again.. Happy New Year!!
ladyg6 | Added on: December 28, 2009
 
This game keeps you interested. It is much more involved than your usual hidden objects game. It has more for you to do than just finding objects. I love it.
hankysis3 | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
This was the best game in a very long time. Great graphics, storyline (not for younger ones) and variety. Aside from the hidden objects, there were matches, linking objects, typesets, etc. There wasn't anything I didn't like about this game. Bravo to the designers and producers!
DarkChylde | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
This was one of my favorite Hidden Object games. I loved the storyline and the fact it was set in the 20's. The HO's were relatively easy, but the different rooms and the extras did not overwhelm or bore you like some of the others I've played recently. The storyline is fun to follow, as well as the 20's lingo. Very well thought out and enjoyable!