Twisted Lands - Shadow TownTwisted Lands - Shadow Town
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Twisted Lands - Shadow Town
mavethrave | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
This game challenged me and I liked that. The suspense of the story line keeps you going and it is a challenge to figure out where all you need to go and what you need to find. I was very pleased with myself when I finally reached the end and rescued the girl but the ending (which I won't reveal) blew me away! This is a really good, original game that I think all IHOG lovers will have a great time figuring out. Go for it, you won't be disappointed.
MrsB | Added on: February 9, 2011
 
A variety of puzzles, interesting story, and not too easy or short. The only confusing part is some times you have go back to the same place you played a HOG game and play another one. I didn't think to re-look at locations I already played once.
GMagee | Added on: December 21, 2010
 
Found this game to be instantly engrossing and was sorry for the trial hour to end. This is on my 'to buy' list. A little too much traveling back and forth to find things, but that can sometimes be relaxing. Good artwork and backgrounds, and interesting puzzles in between hidden objects.
welshman | Added on: December 2, 2010
 
I'm still enjoying this - which tells you that it's not one you'll probably whizz through in no time and then be surprised it's ended. That said, the story line and actions are completely daft but the puzzles and the 'How do I go on from here?' are good exercise and keep you interested. I bought it simply for those reasons. Graphics are good and it is difficult enough to be worthwhile. Not a classic, by any means, but it might have been if they'd bothered with more credible charaterisation and story.
AusSkyRider | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
From the start I thought the game to be 'just another Hidden Object Game'. I soon found out just how wrong I was. As the game progressed, I found myself having to think more about where I had been when the plot called for returning to a place of importance to start the next phase of the game. Overall, I think the game is great. Once started, it was very hard to have to stop for other chores. As for the ending, well you will have to find that out for yourself.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: April 12, 2011
 
the ending was very disappointing! It was like the game maker said "ok....done with this game, let's start the next one!" I thought the ending was very lame compared to the rest of the game. It is worth playing though.
uglyduckling1 | Added on: October 14, 2011
 
This game ended in a weird way, the story line was off on tangents very often, and having a map of where you were at any given time would have been helpful. I also like a game that, once it's been completed, mixes up the items to search for so it can still be thought-provoking each time it's played. I also wasn't sure why I was collecting items that never had to be used for anything, such a bracelets. I'm glad I used my 'coins' to get this game for 1/2 price because I'd be even more disappointed if I'd paid full price.
IronRaziel | Added on: December 2, 2010
 
This HOG is a lot like Bedtime Stories except the ending was a surprise!!! Can't tell you the ending.. I'd have to duct tape myself!! The key point here is to enjoy the game, figure out how to rescue the lady. Hint button recharges fairly nicely. The graphic is awesome, and the puzzles are a bit tricky but you'll get through. The one thing that I really did find useful is the walkthrough but I would strongly advise that you use it sparingly. Good luck with the game and I can tell you...at the end, I wanted to jump in the water and kill someone!
ordinarywmn | Added on: December 22, 2010
 
The art work was well done and the story line kept it interesting. It felt like I was reading a page turner mystery novel. This is definitely on my to buy list and while its too dark for younger players it definitely is fun for adults. I did find the back and forth a bit redundant but as in any good crime scene you need to reinvestigate to find answers. The writing on the items to find list was a bit small, but other than that I really liked this game!
lovetoplay | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
Fairly easy, yet having the help button available was a big plus. Finding your way in the fog was hard sometimes.
ladyacer | Added on: December 7, 2011
 
I started playing the trial version about 8pm an when the free hour was up I was not ready to stop. I quickly purchased the game and continued to play. Needless to say at 4am I still was not ready to stop but had to find a place to end. Shadow Town is fast paced and the hidden object screens are not easy but not so difficult as to become disinterested. The story line is addictive youwant to know what happen next and how the story came to that point. I look forward to playing the sequel which I will buy without the trial stage. Great game for the money. Very entertaining!
madmumma | Added on: April 14, 2011
 
had good fun playing this game.easy in places hard in others.helpful hints were good without helping too much.very enjoyable.
themctier | Added on: December 27, 2010
 
When I started this game, I couldn't put it down. I really liked the "walkthrough" section of the game when I got stuck. It wasn't scarey at all because I had all the time in the world to work through the puzzle. I think if I had to work against time, I would have been scared a bit. The ending was too sad though. I will not play it again because of the ending.
kdemps | Added on: October 10, 2011
 
I like the combination of strategy, hidden object with a story line, and complexity. I seldom play mystery/horror type games, but this one I got stuck on. What I did not like was the ending; My goodness! I wish it was happier. I felt horrible afterwards. KD
rsulsona | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
I love this type of hidden object game. It have variety and puzzles not just hidden objects. I really like that you have to find items in one place to use in another. These really make you think. Love these keep them coming.
RandiM | Added on: December 8, 2010
 
I played through the demo but I won't be buying it. It just wasn't original enough, all of the scenes were bland. The items were way too easy to find. This game just isn't for me.
bkchr | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
Wish there were more games out there like this. Most areas were great, but a few really fell short. The ending needed work, but overall it was a great game.
georgemarie | Added on: December 1, 2010
 
This has to be one of the best games I've played since discovering, and completing many times (!!!) the Mortimer Beckett series. The graphics were excellent, storyline a bit odd, but didn't detract from pleasure of playing.
Denisep | Added on: May 23, 2011
 
More than just a search find - this game was challenging but fun.
shunshine4910 | Added on: April 14, 2011
 
The game was good and will play it again, but i think they need to do something about the ending. You think theres more and all of sudden its the end, at least make a second one.
Rapatorette | Added on: December 2, 2010
 
I was totatally into this game. When I got stuck the hints and clues were available. I can play this game over and over and still be intrigued. Good game..
ellie_Girl | Added on: July 11, 2011
 
I have to admit... Still not quite sure I understand the ending of the story but the game play was amazing. Enough puzzles to keep me busy. It's been a long time since I've been compelled to play a game from beginning to end in one sitting but this one did it. The guide helped me when I got stuck and frustrated and the journal helped me remember where I've seen what I was looking for. Thankful I finished it before dark because the music was spooky enough that I jumped when my cat came in the room. Well done!
playtowin | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
i bought this one as soon as my trial ended! It was such an interesting, original story and i thought that was refreshing! Loved the game, but the ending was off a bit. Not sure about a few things in the story line that got no answers about but other than that it was great. Good graphics, story, game play and mini games/puzzles make it a top fav for me!
glo4jl | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
This game was not as easy as I thought it was going to be. It was interesting trying to figure out what was going on and at times it was frustrating - which made it challenging. The end was very different than I've ever played and it was good! The graphics were great and I liked the music and the overall mood. You do have to run around from scene to scene and there aren't any shortcuts to use. I thought the hint took too long for my taste. Overall I liked playing it.
Daunya | Added on: October 2, 2012
 
This is a really good game with a good length. I really enjoyed it. The entire series is a big hit so far. The reason it only got a four out of five in my book was because of all the shelpping between screens, sometimes from one end of the island all the way to the other and back again just for one piece of whatever. The help system is very nice. You can use it to direct yourself in whichever direction you need to go in next. There is not an effective map in this game, and because of all the running back an forth it could become very frustrating if not for the "help" system. If you need further help once you get to the screen that you need to be in the help button will give you a more detailed hint. The graphics are nice. I cannot comment on the sound because I do not usually use it. The HO scenes are well balacned, with some items quite easy and others camofloged so well that I could not find them. My daughter was entrigued enough about the game that she was "playing" it over my shoulder, and kept asking the name so she could later play it. I believe her four year old daughter will like it also. There is no vulgarity, emplied intimacy nor monsterous scenes that would be inapropriate or too scary for her. She really enjoys these type of adventure/HO games as her reading level is around 4th grade. So other children in that reading range should really like it. I would recommend this game for purchase to those that buy their games."
katsrplayin | Added on: October 17, 2011
 
I just now became a new fun pass member and this is the first game that i downloaded. I am so glad i joined.. Game can sometimes towards the end of not knowing of what to do or where to go. I did however cheat just a tad and opened up a walkthrough which i usually dont do. But I only used it when I was completly lost of where to go. Hints powerup pretty quickly but not so quick that you can keep clicking on them. Graphics are great. HOS are really neat though the lists are little to small for me or others to see can make them bigger would help. Took me about 3 to 4 hours to complete. Story line is ok but the ending is AWESOME. Some i saw really didn t like it . I did just suprising my mouth stayed opened when story line was completed and i liked it. You do however have to collect some things that dont make sence as to why because they are never used. I suggest for the ending well right before it ends if u dont have the premimum addition to get a walkthough because with out that I can see where it would be really aggrivating because even using the hints you really dont know what to do. Well i didnt. As far as paying for the game i think it is well worth the 6/99 that u pay for it. I pay a monthly to play unlimited online. Which is good for me . When i was a member on another site that u had to purchase i bought so many games to play them then not play them again when i am done playing a hidden object game i am pretty much done with it. So i like the option that this site offers. But i wouldnt be disappointed with buying game to thoose that do. Game ran smoothly no glitches graphics were neat. Really nothing negitive to say about this game EXEPT. word lists need to be darker or bigger for the hidden object scenes someone that needs to wear glasses it can be a little challanging. NOT challanging enough to not do it but it would be nicer to have them bigger or atleast maybe same size like in black lettering instead of the lighter color that they choose. Very happy with game worth downloading. :) Kid friendly not that it isnt but just i dont see kids following the whole game ... can be challanging but i like that its not that easy for kids on the younger scale they will get board with it. and the ending may spook some kids. teenagers and preteens if they stick with it will like it younger kids I wouldnt
kklangman | Added on: April 11, 2011
 
Let me just say that I was completely sucked into this game, and completely ignored all of my chores until I had to finish it! Totally worth the sale price! If you get stuck, the hint will point you in the right direction without giving everything away (except in the HO scenes) and without using up the hint which I really liked because a few times I just didn't know where to go. Very fun!!!
gg3000 | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
The story line is compelling and worth playing for that alone, but the puzzles make the game well worth buying. The detailed drawing makes the hidden object games challenging and a lot of fun, but there are also other sorts of puzzles to solve so you'll never be bored. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and recommend it to all.
clpayne | Added on: April 11, 2011
 
I loved this game. The difficulty was perfect for me, and the hint was exactly what it should be: pointing you in the right direction.
pgillenw | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
What a game! Loved it! The developers of this game did a bang up job in every respect. The story was great, graphics terrific and the available diary, additional info and hints combined will get the most inexperienced through the game. Although this game is said not to be kid friendly your teenager would enjoy. This game will surely have a sequel and I will personally have difficulty being patient as I hold my breath for it to arrive. This game performed well on my older operating system. The load performance was more than acceptable. Enjoy!
CharlieOldGal | Added on: January 3, 2012
 
First time I tried this game, I gave up almost before I started. There is too much time spent on the (irritating) lead in and I found the gameplay annoyingly hard to follow at first. However, I'm here to say I was wrong. After playing and enjoying the sequel, Insomniac, I gave this one another try. It's actually very well done, and I have no hesitation in recommending it. The intro doesn't really lead you to expect the superb artwork that follows. HO scenes are uncluttered yet challenging and relevant. Music very atmospheric although it got on my nerves after a while. I enjoyed the focus being on HO rather than puzzles as I'm not much at them. The adventure stuff was a little difficult to follow and I needed to use hint to point me to the next task more often than usual, but it did follow a logical sequence in line with the story. My only criticism (other than the 'film' segments, which I never took to) is that there is too many clicks involved in getting from the scene where you find the tool and the scene where you use it. To and froing is okay by me usually, but it tried my patience here. In the game's defense, part of its governing logic and theme is being trapped in mazes, so there is a reason for it. The ending was satisfying even though you never really find out what was going on. More on this is available in the sequel, where much of this game's story makes more sense. Great games to play back-to-back.
devi | Added on: November 30, 2010
 
Here's another game I really enjoyed playing. Graphics and storyline (although I hate reading them) were good. Game is rather easy, but you do cover a large area and need to do a lot of running around, back and forth, but it's not annoying. (Use the hint button to navigate through the foggy forest, or else you'll be playing this game forever.) I highly recommend this game.
CrznTJ | Added on: May 23, 2011
 
I really liked this game, it made me think quite a bit at times and have to use the hints more than most games. Not on the hidden objects so much, but sometimes on what to do with or how to use objects to progress further. I like the challenge and hated to use hints, but sometimes.....you just have to! I agree with many of the other reviews regarding the ending. The ending did feel rushed compared to the most part of the game being very involved.
lre7 | Added on: December 9, 2010
 
I found this game very involving. I caught myself trying to hurry through it just to see where it was going. A little too much traveling around, back and forth for me, but it did kind of fit into the storyline. I used the 'Hint' button mostly to show me where to go next. The good part of that is it doesn't count as a hint. While I have not actually replayed this yet, I think it will be just as challenging and fun. I don't think I will be able to remember the location of every item or next location. Biggest negative for me was that the writing on the list of HO items seemed very small and difficult to read. This game left a whole lot of things unanswered, so I'm sure there will be a "Part 2' in the near future. The 'ending' was a bit interesting but I didn't find it as surprising as others seem to.
flaca | Added on: November 4, 2011
 
I was so glad to see this has a sequel, I haven't played it yet, but I definately am going to because I'm hoping that I get answers to some questions about things I didn't get. But it doesn't matter. I loved the end, because it was just like the name.... TOTALLY TWISTED. Jeez, it left me with my mouth open. It was great! You have got to try this. I was going to dl the sequel not knowing about this one but after reading the one of the reviews and found out about this one I'm so glad I did. I'm so happy that Gamehouse has these reviews. Whoever reads this... I'm so not exagerrating. You'll love it!
supa_rider | Added on: October 19, 2011
 
This game is one of the better HOG's I've played. Im not an expert in these type of games and tend to get frustrated, but this one keeps you interested, with a bit of thought it's easy to figure out what to do next, but if you're really stuck the hint button generates reasonably quickly and is actually helpful. Really enjoyed it.
CELT | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
As I've said before, I'm not a great fan of HO games but THIS game and other like it may make me like HO games. Not TOO many HO screens with not too many items to find (& not diabolically hidden). It made you THINK about what you need to use & do to advance the game. Good mini puzzles - thinkers but not too difficult but I did not notice a SKIP feature for the puzzles in the regular version of the game - maybe there's one in the Premium Edition? I was caught up in the mystery but let down by the ending (minus one star for that & too much back & forth running between locations which could have been easier if we had a map to travel instantly between locations) It left too many unanswered ?s. (Robed Meanies in the ritual room, why pics of him & sis, ghosts, the ending, etc.) Very ambiguous end probably = sequel? Enjoyed the game & would replay. It ran well on my 8 month old PC Laptop running Win 7 with no issues or glitches. I would recommend downloading this one even if you aren't a fan of HO games because this one is more of a puzzle/adventure/strategy game with an HO component - in short, something for everyone.
Tkira | Added on: October 11, 2011
 
Having used a game token to get this, I'm really wishing I hadn't. Stupid ending, not enough loose ends tied up (as another reviewer said 'ghosts? robed creatures? sister's picture?' when... how... WHY???). Either the creator got bored, or figured out that you make more money getting people frustrated with this edition to purchase the extended "premium" edition. Not me.
dibbers | Added on: October 18, 2012
 
I downloaded this game on my Kindle Fire HD and I love it. I though doing a HO game on a Kindle would be hard. It isn't. It's really back & forth game. You go here then your you go there. Sometimes I would go in circles just to find the next stage to do. Puzzle or HO. The hint is great! It reloads quite fast. So if you are stuck, going around in circles, this will get you going on the right direction. Which I have used. The names of the objections is good, but when you see the word 'bat', you think of the animal, not a baseball bat. This is a fun game. And I love that I got on my Kindle. You guys really need to have a listing for Kindles. I would buy games from you if you had that offer. Thanks
gordis | Added on: November 30, 2010
 
I thougth this will be an interesting game, but I wasn't impressed by the ending, it kept you interested during the hole time and then Bam!! what and end. Didn't like very much. Maybe some will find it interesting.
bella24 | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
I hated this game. Hated it. I wanted to uninstall it within the first 2 minutes. But, for the sake of being a responsible reviewer, I stuck with it. So, after all that self sacrifice I've decided to give it a 4 star rating but, I didn't. I enjoyed the puzzles and thought they were challenging enough. I was getting interested in this game. But, every time I became complacent, I ran into another stupid story line or a ridiculous action by the lead character. The story starts with a woman and her boyfriend (husband, first date, I don't know or care) who are in a small, open row boat. I don't know how he gets in or out of this skiff without flipping it over, but that's not the truly ludicrous part. What's ridiculous, is that this bimbo is out in this little boat with 6 inch high heels and a hoochy mama cocktail dress. I did that once and KNOW FOR A FACT that it's not a good idea (kidding). Story line spoiler here (hah): So, all of a sudden the guy is apparently dead, floating under the boat. In the next second the boat is stranded on the shore of some island (which I believe is supposed to be off the coast of Spain). He's gone, and she's alone on the beach. She briefly wonders where the hubby/date is and then flounces off to check out her laptop, which she brought on that rickety boat. Now, I don't know about you, but... I don't bring my laptop to sea on a raft or a skiff or a paddle boat. I especially don't bring my laptop to sea if, as she says, and I quote: "it doesn't work. I haven't had time to buy new parts. At least it's dry". WHO cares if its dry? It doesn't work! And you knew it before you put it in the skiff. Huh? Okay, okay, okay...she doesn't get any smarter. She wanders down the trail and comes to a largish fishing boat. Now, there's a big fire blazing, in a fire pit, in front of the boat. That means, someone built that fire and probably was in the area. They might even be in the boat. But, she decides it's abandoned and climbs aboard. Maybe I'll find stuff to sell, she says. Perhaps, it would be a better idea to ask the people, who started the fire, if this stuff, she planned on stealing, was theirs and if they minded that she took it. After cleaning out the ship, Ms. Hoochy Mama, discovers a creepy mansion. She enters without knocking and starts searching for stuff. This kind of inane behavior goes on and on. The game designers also need practice in noun identification . In several instances, hidden objects are incorrectly named. For example: there is picture of wire cutters, but the search word is hedge cutters. An image of a rake is called a broom. Little things like that drove me nuts and lowered the games score from a 4 to a 3. After my hour trial was done, instead of spending the time purchasing this game, I chose to sit back, remove my 6 inch heels, cut off my skin-tight red dress and to throw my broken laptop into the angry, empty sea.