Twisted - A Haunted CarolTwisted - A Haunted Carol
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Twisted - A Haunted Carol
roxy8279 | Added on: January 29, 2013
 
This gives a Christmas Carol a new twist it was less boring for me than the movie or cartoons that have been made.
xenutia | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
Brace yourselves. This review is a stinker. It's not often I get angry with a game, in fact, this is possibly a first, but I honestly don't know where to start on this one. I'd give it no stars if I could. All I can say is that if fictional characters could sue for defamation, then I suspect Ebenezer Scrooge would be banging on the court doors right now. I'm not at all averse to using works of fiction for games - I really love the Fiction Fixer games of 'Alice in Wonderland' and 'The Wizard of Oz'. They stayed in the spirit of the books and were treated with style and respect. What I do object to is taking one of Dickens' best loved works and butchering it mercilessly. It's not even a good game if you disregard the ludicrous storyline. Have the developers actually read 'A Christmas Carol', or have any idea why it was written? Dickens must be spinning in his grave. Leaving aside the storyline, which rates minus five stars, the game itself is dire. Five star graphics are wasted on this sorry game. The artists did a great job with what they had to work with. I loved the representation of the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come - in fact all of the ghosts were great. There is certainly no faulting the game visually. I'm a very slow player, but I hardly had time to make a cup of tea before the game was over, which was a blessed mercy. It's not worth buying on that score alone. It's ridiculously short. I only played it through because I was praying that it would redeem itself somehow by making it a bad dream or a mistake. Unfortunately the whole game was a blooming mistake in my opinion. The hidden object scenes were far too easy. You could almost click on anything and it was right. There was a truly annoying interlude between scenes when you had to move clock hands, which a two year old could have managed and you had to keep doing it every time you moved backwards and forwards in time. The mini games, such as they were were definitely designed for three-year-olds. 'Oh can you match the picture to its mate?' I reckon I could manage that at a push. What about doing our times-tables? I think I could manage that as well - I'm a senior citizen. The whole game-play revolved around finding one key after another (I lost count how many, but it was running into dozens I think). Oh wait, just to avoid another key, the game chucked in quite in a few instances of lock picking as well, mainly with paper knives, but a couple of times it actually involved illegally breaking and entering into a premises. Nothing like a crash course in burglary. If you are a fan of Dickens, I suggest you avoid this game if you don't want your blood pressure to hit the roof. In fact, if you aren't a Dickens fan you might well take the same advice. This is possibly the worst game I've ever played. If you have played it and liked it, sorry, no offense intended. Just my opinion!
mek509 | Added on: January 20, 2011
 
This is a really nice, non threatening game. The HO scenes are not very challenging but the artwork and music is quite good. A very enjoyable game.
edtech30 | Added on: January 19, 2011
 
I loved this game! Although it would have been nice to have this out before Christmas instead of the middle of January. It is pretty short and easy like the other reviews wrote, but I don't have all day to play these HO games anyway. Great graphics, great format, and overall a very charming game.
DarkChylde | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
Well, maybe others will like the game better than I did. The graphics weren't bad, and the music was mellow. That's about it. The game was pretty short, the hidden objects and puzzles were very easy. Too easy, in my opinion, which made the game a bit boring. The storyline? Hard to say, but I'd guess semi-interesting. Jacob Marley is stabbed in the back and dies. The three ghosts (Past, Present, & Future) takes Marley to different time frames to see what happens: In the future, when Scrooge (the suspect) is left running the business and what happens to the town. Back to the past to see what turned him evil, and what happens to other characters in the present. Marley gathers evidence to end Scrooge's reign of terror. You do go to different time frames several times for HO's and complete puzzles (more like seek & solve). I never used any hints, so I don't know if it loads up fast or not. I think the game could have been better with more difficult HO's and puzzles. At least it would have kept my interest longer. I did manage to finish the game, as my interest was semi-peaked in seeing what happened in the end. Kinda lame, though. This would be good for those starting out playing HO's. Other than that ...... those of us who like something more challenging will be bored.
McFly | Added on: December 27, 2012
 
Game very original and addictive. Thoroughly enjoyed it even though quite easy with lots of hints.
Oldwoman | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
A great and different story and very entertaining to play - only finished all too fast.
pbeckord | Added on: February 10, 2011
 
Loved the premise of the game. It did seem a little bit easy and not enough hidden objects, but then that is just me. The only problem I have with this type of game is that I go through them too quickly. But did really like the game.
mavethrave | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
This is great! Loved it! The graphics are good and the story line is different than you think it's going to be therefore you'll stay with it. It is just right, challenging but not so intensly difficult you get a headache. You are out to get Scrooge in this one and I think most people will enjoy the game. (you can't make everyone happy.) HOG lovers will love this.
Buford | Added on: March 30, 2011
 
Very easy game,not very challenging game for cost.
Jem888 | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
This HOG had the quality of graphics I like and an interesting twist on the classic story line. I was quite immersed in playing it once I started. You have to go between locations to collect items to be used in other locations, all in the same vicinity so it was fun rather than bothersome. I thought the objects were fairly easy to find but hints recharge quickly if you need them. My only disappointment was that I played the game through in about 2 hours so it could have used slightly more content. That's why 4 stars vs. 5.
Realith | Added on: January 23, 2013
 
I liked the game but there was too much hidden object scenes, and the puzzles are not very interesting. Stil a great game.
jeaniej | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
I liked Twisted Lands and thought this was a simialar game, but it is an ordinary HOG. Reminds me of a word seach puzzle. I really like games when the seach has something to do with the story, way more than just a HOG. I just played for the first hour and am pretty bored. No mini games so far to speak of.
TAR671 | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
This is a great game. The graphics are outstanding; the story line flow wells and the objects are masked well but, they can be found with out having to use the hint feature. While you are required to move about in time, the scenes do not over lap so you are not required to shift back and forth to find objects or complete scenes. If you get stuck trying to figure out where to go next, the hint feature will help you out. The mini-games are all the same, and become tedious. very quickly. I really enjoyed this game. Try it, I think you will also.
justwhisper | Added on: January 20, 2011
 
The graphics in this game were pretty nice. But it was way too easy. There was almost no challenge to finding objects, other than figuring out which room you had to very frequently return to, to find the object. You spend most of the game looking for keys to unlock yet another door, drawer, or cabinet. If there were side games or puzzles they were too lame for me to remember. I would NOT pay money for this game. The game play might be suitable for children around age 12, but the story line is not. A little too twisted.
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
I was so hoping this game would be available at the Gamehouse here and well now it is and I found it to be a pretty good game as I did enjoy the story which is text on the screen. The graphics were also pretty good as well. This is a combination of HOG/inventory/and a wee bit adventure meaning you do have to click around a bit to figure out what to do. Far from complicated or frustrating in my opinion. Also in some areas you will need to combine two inventory items to make them one in order to use them. This took a moment to figure out that's why I have my setting more to "thinky" than "clicky." Most of the items I found pretty easy to locate. Only had to use a couple of hints. The hint button does charge up pretty quick. This also isn't timed so you can go at your leisure. The only "mini-games" this game had was once you found the marble to go past/present/future, you take that and then you line up the hands on the clocks and there were also a couple jig saw type puzzles. The skip also charges up pretty quick and I must confess after 3 of lining up the clock hands, I skipped those. Not that they were too hard, actually pretty easy but just got tired of doing them. Why I'm only giving this game 3 stars, although it was a pretty good game, I completed it in just under 2 hours which is highly unlikely me for a HOG as it's usually between 3 and 5 even if I skip a few puzzles (mini games). I also thought the game could of had way more variety with the mini games. I also found myself having to find way too many keys to unlock things. While I didn't mind in this game reading the story however I believe it would of added so much more to the game if the charactes actually spoke. Pretty good but I thought the creators could of done so much more with this game as it could of been a 5 star game in my opinion. Give it a whirl however and decide for yourself. I hope you enjoy the game.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: January 19, 2011
 
This game has some good points, the graphics are really good, music is ok, HOs are fairly easy to find. I did not like the storyline and having to run from place to place to find objects. Try it and see what you think
emi1 | Added on: January 25, 2011
 
let me be clear, i LOVE the book Charles Dickens wrote. one of my all time favorite movies is the version with Walter C. Scott. i honestly didn't get offended at this story. as i was downloading the game, i knew it was going to probably be polor opposite to the original book. so i actually found the story facinating. i mean Scrouge was a nasty, mean man-in another dimension he could have done the things in this game. i just played it without comparing it to the original. and that made it a good game for me. a HOG that u go to different places to find items-u go back and forth to finish what u started-u interact with the ghosts. WOW they were creepy. future ghost-almost as scary as the one on my favorite version. present ghost-just simply insane looking. past ghost-CREEPY. i say play this game without remembering what we love about Charles Dickens' book...that's part of what gaming is. at least for me...ENJOY!!!!
mimomof3 | Added on: January 31, 2011
 
This was just a very enjoyable game through and through.. Not too easy and not soo hard that you would get stuck too often. My 6 year old daughter and I truly enjoyed it. Not for those of you who are wanting something too challenging.. This would for sure be a dissapointment but perfect for a nice relaxing game.
PipCat | Added on: February 1, 2011
 
I just could not get into this one. I thought I'd enjoy the new twist on a classic but not even that could persaude me to finish this one. The graphics are good but after having to find countless keys to unlock any number of doors, cabinets, clocks, etc. I said Good Night, exited the game, and deleted it.
bailmont | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
This game was too short and too easy. The mini games were simple. Perhaps it would be good for a child or young player.
hankysis3 | Added on: January 24, 2011
 
This game did seem out of place because of its holiday theme. That aside, the hidden objects were clearly displayed and any side games were fairly easy. The graphics were great. However, if I had to put the timestone in the clock one more time... It was nice to have a game that didn't require a lot of thought. Enjoy.
Jocasa | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
The graphics and story line were good. Not the usual Christmas Carol storyline. It was just too short though. In an hour I was nearly finished. Only finished it because of my funpass. I wouldn't have paid extra for the game.