Theatre of the Absurd Platinum EditionTheatre of the Absurd Platinum Edition
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Theatre of the Absurd Platinum Edition
mel0417 | Added on: July 10, 2012
 
I liked the story line but it is not for kids. The HOG screens and the additional items you need to collect were what attracted to the game. It was a very nice mix and held up throughout. Glad I got the Platinum Edition because the bonus chapter did finish the story more. It was a little short, but it's a bonus chapter after all. Good graphics with a nice balance for the hidden object screens.
SMAtxn01 | Added on: July 4, 2012
 
This is a great game. Not too hard, but not so easy that is it boring either. The hint system is really good, so much so that I rarely needed to consult the strategy guide. I will say that this game is NOT appropriate for children -- but the story is entertaining for adults. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the bonus chapter is very short, and the final ending is not very satisfying. I won't give it away, but I hope there is a 2nd game coming, because it left lots of open questions. Overall, though, this is a really good game.
kyleesmommy | Added on: April 15, 2013
 
I played the free hour and was buying it before the hour was up lol...Seriously this was a fabulous game... The graphics were beautiful,the music was right on creepy,the voices were perfect,the HOS were challenging and the puzzles were awesomely mind boggling !!! Your hint "button" is her hand and arm,which adds to the supernaturalness of the game and saving that poor adorable little girl,gives all the motivation anyone needs to persevere on when the demons start to be too scary lol... So,it is a totally original story,I was hooked from the second I started playing,I was completely involved in saving that girl and I think it was a great value,with all the art added... Try it for the free hour,see if its for you and then buy it like I did,its a wonderful game... as always HAPPY GAMING EVERYONE !!!
pavarox | Added on: July 17, 2012
 
I did like the diversity of the puzzles and maybe the story too, even though it wasn''t original. The graphics... sorry, it's from 10 years ago, when I've first played POP Sands of Time.
fossils43 | Added on: July 21, 2012
 
Had a little trouble getting into the game initially, but once I got past the first couple of puzzles, I loved it. The puzzles were different and challenging. Didn't have to use the hint button very often therefore, I must have done well getting through the game. I do recommend it to all you HOG gamers out there!
Yosemite009 | Added on: July 31, 2012
 
Nice and dark, with demons and haunting scenes. Good hidden object puzzles and decent puzzles to solve.
emi1 | Added on: July 13, 2012
 
creepy story with great graphics and music. played the casual mode-still had to use the hint button every once in a while. the mini games were fairly easy, but that's good for me. there was minimal dialogue, but what there was enhanced the story. you found stuff in the HO scenes to advance you in the game. the trial hr flew by. great job, guys...
g_gamer | Added on: December 27, 2012
 
The graphics on this game were fantastic! I really liked 'the arm' for assistance and of course having the strategy guide made it bonus. Some people might have thought it was too easy because of these things, but I'm strategy challenged so I need all the help I can get! The story was riveting and kept you sucked in to save the little girl. The demons were seriously creepy so I wouldn't recommend it for kids, but it was well worth the cost and I'm going thru the game again at the more challenging level.
nanaberta | Added on: July 2, 2012
 
I must say I quite enjoyed this game. I even enjoyed the H0G scenes -- amazing myself, given I am rather tired of the concept at this point. The presentation, taken as a whole, just felt different. It was fun. theater of the absurd (n.) A form of drama that emphasizes the absurdity of human existence by employing disjointed, repetitious, and meaningless dialogue, purposeless and confusing situations, and plots that lack realistic or logical development. Well -- as a game it wasn't all of that. The setting was certainly surreal and horrific, but within the context, it had a story you could follow -- in a broad sense, anyway. I remember reading Ionesco's [i]Rhinoceros[/i] for a college course and having to analyze it ad nauseam. I don't think this game requires quite so much introspection, but it will leave you thinking… As for the game mechanics -- the hint system does double duty. It will indicate H0 items, but it also serves as a helping hand (literally) to perform certain tasks. I'm glad I got the CE. The bonus chapter filled in some gaps; the final puzzle was excellent. Visually, this game had some outstanding artwork, and it continued in the bonus content. In total, for the extra $$$, I suspect many will say it was not worth it. I enjoyed the game quite enough not to bemoan the additional cost. This review is beginning to sound as absurd as the definition given above. Well -- it was an unusual experience. Nothing about the game play was particularly challenging. It was quite linear in scope. The puzzles were not difficult. The length was modest (even for pokey me) and the bonus chapter even shorter. Certainly you will not need the Strategy Guide. The other bonus content is Concept Art -- well presented but of little other value. And, when all is said and done -- well, you will be left "Waiting for Godot", so to speak. The game finishes with some "handy" information, but is it true? … hmmmm. Still, I'm willing to say it was great -- how absurd is that?
Alfresco | Added on: July 2, 2012
 
This game is brilliant. Just finished my trial period and will definitely be buying the full version. Playing it on 'casual' mode and have already used a few hints especially in the search puzzle screens where some of the items don't stand out very well. Other than that, I have already found the story line quite intriguing
IRL_Joanie | Added on: July 6, 2012
 
This was one of the best Hidden Object Games I've ever played!! It was fun, yet challenging. Exciting yet relaxing, addicting, Original, Extremely involved, in that it keeps you captivated not only with the beautiful graphics, but also the dialogues. It was GREAT!!!! I bought this game and cannot wait for the sequels!! This was so much fun, I'll be playing it again and again!! IRL_Joanie
ArmyStrong | Added on: May 13, 2013
 
Really enjoyed the graphics and the story line. The HOs were good and somewhat challenging with certain objects. Looking forward to a sequel hopefully!
AndysAntics | Added on: July 23, 2012
 
I enjoyed playing this game but not the most challenging HOG I have played. A bit disappointed with the bonus gameplay - definitely not worth the additional cost!
oceandance | Added on: September 10, 2012
 
The Platinum Edition was definitely worth the price. The graphic art is amazing. The hidden objects are sometimes repeated, but they aren't too difficult to find. It was all the puzzles and backtracking that made this game so fun. If played in expert mode, it's even more challenging, and where the Strategy Guide really helps. I'd love to see a second edition of this game.
bhmurray3838 | Added on: September 8, 2012
 
Great story-line and graphics. Instead of just ordinary "hidden" fun, you must use your observation/thinking specs to figure some of these items out. My favorite of Gamehouse to date and I've played many.