The Tarot's MisfortuneThe Tarot's Misfortune
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Tarot's Misfortune
RandiM | Added on: September 16, 2010
 
This game wasn't as bad as some people have said. I had no problem finding items or figuring out how to solve areas to move onto the next. It was a cute game, but not challenging enough for me.
xenutia | Added on: September 14, 2010
 
There was a lot about this game that I really liked, but I've had to knock it down by a couple of stars because there were some things in it which did let it down. First the plusses. I do like the look of the game a lot. The graphics are quite stylized, but very attractive and mystical. I also really like the scrolling scenes feature as it does add an extra dimension to the game. Another feature that I've not seen before, but which I like was that there were crystal balls on either side of the screen which let you see how near or far you were from hidden objects -- very handy in scrolling scenes. Some of the puzzles I really liked, some were so so, but overall were pretty good. On the negative side, although the graphics were lovely, the misty, mystical atmosphere does make it very hard to find the hidden objects in some scenes, and I had to use far more hints than I would usually use in a game. The good news is that the hint refills quickly. I do think that some of the objects were literally impossible to find. Perhaps it would be better on some computer screens than others. One problem with the scrolling scenes is that the stars that are used to indicate where puzzles are move as the scene moves, so it's hard to pinpoint where the puzzle spot is exactly. Once you know of course, then it's not really a problem, but it took me a while to fathom out why I was having problems. The other difficulty I had was, that in some instances the game told you that there was nothing else to do in that location, when in fact, there was. Again, not really a problem once you know, but it took a minute to fall in. Despite the few minuses in the game, I did enjoy playing it and it's certainly worth giving it a go, as long as you are prepared for a challenge, because I found it quite a toughy! I'm sure there are lots that would find it much easier than I did and probably enjoy it more. I do think that kids would find it rather too hard to play though.
msbull | Added on: September 23, 2010
 
The concept of the game is good..It's a little hard to navigate. It took me a little while to get into it..
MsJamie0 | Added on: September 13, 2010
 
With 14 minutes left in trial I was hopelessly stuck in the jail exterior looking for hidden items and the only hint given was to the gear placement location ( for gears which were hidden). The only inventory was a candle lantern; which I found no place to put. Some of the items are so well hidden that when the cursor clicks on them you never see what was there even when the hint is used. Not a children's game.
TAR671 | Added on: September 28, 2010
 
I enjoyed thia game emensely. I found this game well balanced between puzzles and finding objects. I favor games that require you to complete either puzzles or perform an action to move to the next location or level. This game requires both. The graphics are good, the story flows well, and the game offers a challange at times to find the hidden objects. The need to switch between locations to find all items may bother some beginners, but it certaintly adds to the quality of the game. This is a keeper in my opinion. I recommend this to gamers or all levels looking for challanges other than just finding hidden objects. Enjoy, I did!!!!!!!!!!!!!
mkett | Added on: January 11, 2011
 
Cute game. Seemed to end abruptly or no real challenge at the end. Liked the graphics and music.
hankysis3 | Added on: September 28, 2010
 
This game had pluses and minuses. The music drove me crazy (now I know why there is a mute button) as it played the same notes over and over. I think they were trying to add a light touch, but it just became repetitive. Hiding the objects behind a mist/fog is a no no. On the plus side, it made you think as you went from one scene to another and then back to finish. Giving a clue via "find the differences" was a neat touch. The wide "screen" was well done and easy to navigate.
Perseus | Added on: September 14, 2010
 
I just couldn't get into this game. I am convinced that several objects were not there. I couldn't see them even when I used the hint (which reloads way too fast). I can't enjoy searching for items which might or might not be there. Graphics were okay and it seems like a good story with a lot of potential. Just not for me.
grnidgypc | Added on: September 15, 2010
 
THIS GAME STARTS OUT AS BEING RATHER "RELAXED", BUT THEN IT REELS YOU IN AND KEEPS YOU "ATTENTIVE" TO THE "ACTIVITIES" IN ORDER TO PROGRESS TO THE NEXT LEVELS OUTCOME!
Minxski | Added on: September 22, 2010
 
As usual I find myself totally agreeing with sportygal2009 (on page 2 of the reviews), this game is challenging without being frustrating. I really like HOGs where you have to solve problems or find items to unlock other areas – especially when it is well executed by the designers. The graphics are pleasing and the music adds a certain atmosphere to the game. There is a point to everything you do and follows the story nicely. There are little spot the difference cards in some scenes which give you clues as to what you have to do to enter new scenes. I think for a beginner this may be a bit challenging, but for seasoned Hoggers it would be a lot of fun. But, hey this is just my opinion ;-)
emi1 | Added on: September 14, 2010
 
this is a typical HOG-find items in different locales-find some items to get to other items. the mini games were lame. nothing really jumped out at me. just typical...
nvyank | Added on: September 20, 2010
 
This was a very detailed game and really made you think about where you had been and what the objective was. The graphics were a little odd, but otherwise this was well worth the play!
hiddenobjects | Added on: November 22, 2010
 
I loved this hidden object game! The graphics were so interesting to me, not always the clearest, but the artist technique created a fun challenge in finding items. The seemingly endless scenes in each level added quite the mystery in how to proceed. That was another aspect that I enjoyed. When I discovered the "differences game" on each level I was even more thrilled. They progressively became more difficult...again another big plus. This game over-all was extremely fun for me....held my attention which many of the games do not. Highly recommended!
MJ1234 | Added on: October 13, 2012
 
Challenging hidden object scenes...the graphics were different but good and it was fun to scroll around the screen and search for things. It just wasn't that exciting to me - not sure what it was. I finished the game pretty quickly, too.
lre7 | Added on: September 16, 2010
 
I liked this game. I was prepared NOT to like it after reading one review, but I downloaded it anyway and ended up purchasing it so I could finish. I liked the way it led you. The graphics were rather plain and not exactly what I'm used to anymore. As usual, it seems, they set up the end of the game for a sequel.
sportygal2009 | Added on: September 14, 2010
 
I absolutely LOVED this game because it was thinky and challenging on what to do/go to next. This is like many where you travel from one location to the next finding items and some items are used in the same scene or other scenes of the game to unlock and move forward. I gotta admit I did get hung up on the jail cell trying to figure out the combination and had to actually use a walk through which I rarely do for games for that but other than that this game isn't that hard but did get thinky/challenging at times at least for me. Also a little thinky on how to use some of the items in the scenes. There's also going back and forth locations which it did get a wee bit confusing at times. As far as finding the items, most were pretty easy while some were very well hidden and some won't be revealed until you use inventory items to unlock them. Hints charge up pretty quick and I did need them at times. This also involved "scrolling" to see the rest of the location which normally I don't care for that but didn't mind it a bit in this game. You may or may not get through this quick however I didn't. It took me several hours but I overall I really enjoyed this game. Thanks Gamehouse - 5 stars all the way! : )
lynnisrich | Added on: September 14, 2010
 
I like this game.Its something different. There's lots of puzzles and things to do. You have to really think hard about everything. The 2 crystal balls in the corners of each scene help.
cjvp | Added on: September 20, 2010
 
This is a very pretty game with a fairytale theme and nice music. I enjoyed the ambiance more than the game play. My main complaint is that some of the objects were not findable. More than once I clicked on "hint" and then just stabbed away at the middle of the blue circle until I got a hit - never once actually seeing the object. There are obvously good artists involved - why not hide the objects cleverly rather than bury them under a heavy whitewash of mist??
kesay17 | Added on: September 14, 2010
 
I am not a fan of cartoonish graphics but I played this one thru anyway. Some of the objects were so hidden as to be unrecognizable. The hint button refills quickly & was needed to find these obscure items. The story line got a little boring after a while. Finding the differences in the Tarot card mini games was simple as were all of the mini-games especially the final against the wizard. No challenge there at all. The game is a fairly easy HOG but not recommended for kids as far as I am concerned. Did not choose to replay - just removed it.
christiespooch | Added on: September 24, 2010
 
Love this game it was fun but chanllenging had to go back a few times trying to find out what to do next but that is whats so fun about this game most of them are way to easy. I like having to think and I love the story line.. Keep up the good work