The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen™The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen™
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen™
66mustangsally | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
I really liked this game but, as others have pointed out, it was too short. I believe I finished it in a little over an hour. At the end when it said something like "Are you ready for another adventure?", I thought there might be another quest. Unfortunately, there was not. The graphics were really good. I liked having to find pieces of objects rather than revisiting the same scenes to look for a list of things. It was fun using the objects you pieced together to advance through the story. I really hope the developer reads these reviews and makes another one. I would definitely play it. I would, however, not recommend buying this because of the length. It was definitely fun.
mpcpjp3 | Added on: May 2, 2012
 
Loved the game. Had trouble in the beer room but it was a great game. Got help from the forums. It was a relaxing game.
DCinMI | Added on: April 24, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. It was unlike any game I've played before. All of the hidden objects have a use. There are areas similar to regular H.O. scenes, except that you are shown a list of item images and have to find a related item in the scene. Never seen that before, but I like it. Also, you have to solve an action puzzle at the end of each chapter. There is an objective that you are trying to make happen, and you need to figure out where to place items in the scene to get the desired effect. The only downside to this game is that it really is too short. Someone needs to make more games like this one, only make them longer.
arivaca | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
Enjoyed the game while playing the hour free trial. Bought it because it was fun to do. Was disappointed at how short it was. I thought maybe I had finished the first chapter when I completed the first stone, but that was the end of the game.
emi1 | Added on: April 22, 2012
 
i did like that this game was different than most HOGs. instead of finding word items u find pictures. the association puzzles were different. the hint button helped me a lot. some of the items were very hard for me to see. all in all an ok game...
debbie70 | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
The only thing i found wrong with this game was the length of gameplay. It was challenging at times, got you really guessing as to what the next move was. But on the whole i did enjoy it, but i wouldn't have used a credit if i knew how short it was, so buyer beware!!!!!. If it wasn't for this reason i would have given it 5 stars.
Anna | Added on: May 26, 2012
 
I enjoyed the game but it was over way too fast. I think it took about 2 hours to finish it. What a waste of money.
forentor | Added on: April 18, 2012
 
This is a great take on hidden objects - with several interesting twists on an all too familiar genre....the only problem is - it's WAY too short. Would not recommend purchasing; game can almost be played in the trial period hour. Too bad. Hopefully, the developers will do something again soon - and, much much longer.
anno0406 | Added on: April 23, 2012
 
I really loved this game, it was really original and fun. A bit short though.
Lyndy | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
Lighthearted, fun and quite innovative. Loved the voice-over. Enjoyable mini-games. I did not want this game to end but it did, quite abruptly. Hence, only 4 stars instead of 5, due to the game being short. I hope there is a sequel and that it will be much longer.
Fayleen | Added on: April 28, 2012
 
Great game Gamehouse. Even though parts of this game were fustrating, I loved this game. Figuring out how to place objects so that a trick is preformed may take many tries before you have success. Patience is the key. This game is worth a try. I think you will have fun playing this game, just like I did.
cwimbish | Added on: April 18, 2012
 
The game was great, loved the puzzles, so different from most hidden object games!!
Moggzy | Added on: April 26, 2012
 
excellent game, loved the association scenes, very short but hopefully this was some sort of test game to see if people would like the style of it so they can make more!
PipCat | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
This one is a bit different than the standard HO games you may be used to. Instead of being given lists of items to be found within a scene, you're given pictures of items that you need to match with other items in the scene that have something in common, i.e., you might have a picture of a rabbit that needs to be matched with a carrot hidden somewhere in the scene. I found this type of HO hunting different and quite enjoyable. Other items to be found are in pieces (similar to the first two Mortimer Beckett games) which can be scattered over other places within the chapter. These items then need to be used somewhere in that chapter to solve puzzles. It can take a bit of thinking figuring out how to use the items to solve the puzzles, especially the ones where you have to use them to solve puzzles involving a sequence of events that need to be done just right in order to proceed (think Rube Goldberg machine). I also found these to be rather unique and they added greatly to the gaming experience. I thought the graphics were good and the puzzles weren't too tough to solve. There are two things, though, that cost this game a few stars. First, dialogue within the game is both written and spoken but the written portion usually disappeared before I could get a chance to finish reading it and there was no way to go back and have it repeated. Some of that dialogue was useful in solving some puzzles so that frustrated me a little bit. Second, the game is very short. You coud easily solve this one within 1 to 1 1/2 hours of play with little effort and I don't see much Replay value in it nor would I rate it a Good Value for that reason. It is, however, entertaining so I suggest you try the trial period or use a FunPass because it's at least worth taking a look at. I think the designers had some unique ideas for gameplay and wouldn't be opposed if more of the same were developed if they were a bit longer.
whenim64 | Added on: April 18, 2012
 
Family fun, different type of puzzles are somewhat challenging to start, recommend for younger players.
haley458 | Added on: April 18, 2012
 
Overall I enjoyed this game -- it's quite short, so if you're only playing the trial hour, you may get through it or at least close to it. The game has several different H/O styles - 1.) you find the pieces of the objects you need 2.) there are little H/O-style mini-scenes where you have the pictures of objects in a column on the right -- & you have to take one of those objects & click on an object that correlates with it in that little scene (i.e. you pick a music sheet from the column & click on a piano in the scene, etc.) There are a couple frustrating elements about this game (thus the 4 stars) -- the first being that I had to play the game on "mute" b/c the guy talks constantly & in a fairly irritating voice. Luckily it doesn't interfere TOO much with the game. The 2nd frustration lies in the "mini-game" (if you could call it that) scenes. There are about 4 - 5 different situations where they simply list various actions on the right side of the screen & you have to move objects & place items (within the scene) in order to be able to achieve those actions. It's a trial-&-error set-up, where you move things around & hit "play" (in the corner) to see if you've set things up in a way that successfully achieves all the actions listed in the column. The last scene (in a tavern) was the most frustrating for me b/c I couldn't figure out what objects could be moved. Luckily, the mouse arrow turns into a hand for any object you hover over that can be moved. I played "expert" & did just fine. Overall, this was a nice & enjoyable little game, but if you like those long, epic-style adventure games, you may want to pass this by.
alzaeh | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
played both challenging and easy versions of this game and the game didn't last very long and was not very hard. the puzzles were fun.
Rianna | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
It's a simple storyline - stop the baddy from marrying the reluctant princess. The hero is a comical character that kept a smile on my face throughout the game. Not a long game and I'm looking forward to a sequel. Association/match-up items make a change from the usual HO 'heaps' from the dark side. I really enjoyed every minute - don't miss it. It's kid friendly and well worth FIVE stars as far as I'm concerned. HAVE FUN..
tjay | Added on: May 2, 2012
 
Ridiculously short game. It's a real shame as the puzzles were really fun to work out, particularly the final puzzle.
ashley722 | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
This game had the potential to be a GREAT game.. however...The story line was very short and seemingly unfinished. The game itself was extremely short lived. I couldn't believe it was over within an hour...at the most! Definitely NOT worth the money or coins you spend on it... :( I give the game a 1.5 out of 5 stars. The maker of the game should have spent more time on the game.. this was NOT worth what I paid.
cocosrules | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
This game has the charming wit of Munchausen! After a lot of dark HOGs this is a delightful change. Challenging but funny, enjoyable and relaxing. Found myself laughing out loud at some of the comments and adventures. Very kid friendly, Nice break from the dark side!
RaymondP | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
Ran through this game in possibly an hour. This game is different than others in the finding in that you match items from a column to a collection of items in a jumble figuring out how the two are related. This is somewhat more interesting than the normal "can you figure out what those pixels actually represent", but the game itself is fairly short lived.
covingtonmom | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game for as long as it lasted. The puzzles include some new twists such as finding items that go together rather than just a list of objects as well as creating sequences of actions to attain a goal. Unfortunately, this game is extremely short. I was quite surprised when the end came so soon!
nvyank | Added on: April 28, 2012
 
This would have had 5 stars if it wasn't so short. It was more like a puzzle than hidden object. I especially liked the last scene in the tavern with the beer "-)
Celinepien | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
This game is so very original! The gameplay is fantastic, the characters are funny and the mini games are great. The association games become harder each level so they don't get boring and the games where you have complete the actions, well, they're just so well thought out. This game gets 5 out of 5 stars!
NDSpacer | Added on: April 23, 2012
 
I enjoyed playing this game. I would classify this game as 'cute'. The story keeps you involved as the game progresses. Initially it was fun to have the vocals when you clicked on a wrong item - but if I played for a longer period of time I had to turn the volume on the voices to mute because they became annoying and I would just read the story. What was most fun were the interactive mini games - try not to use the hints, just keep adding and re-arranging the inventory items in the scene to make the sequence of events create the solution. The picture association games were neat too - some items were easy and some were a bit more challenging. Clean graphics - but they do have some hidden objects that are 'peaking' out from behind items, so get your 'eagle eye' out to find these. You will only have two scenes to move between for each 'chapter' of the story - and as you move between scenes, the objects you need to find correspond to the scene you are in. This decreases the challenge level; however, I would think it make it more appealing to a broader age group/skill level. A job well done I think!
SeleneMoonChild | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
I was REALLY enjoying this game, so I purchased it, only to find that it ended rather abruptly about 15 minutes after my trial was up. Oh well, you live and learn. Other than being far too short, this game was fun, a little challenging, and well drawn. The voice-over for Munchausen was a bit annoying, but you can turn that off. It has a lot of the normal fractured-type Hidden Object scenes, and the mini games were hit & miss. The "association" game was different, and occasionally required a hint (because the association just wasn't clear). I *really* enjoyed the "action" scenes, where you had to accomplish various tasks so a scene would "play" correctly. If you like brainteasers, you should like the "action" scenes. Overall, it was an enjoyable game, but not a good value for the money. I would wait for this one to go on sale before purchasing it.
Cheesehead | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
Really different from your standard HOG. I enjoyed the association based hidden object scenes as it was a break from the norm. I was disappointed that it was so short though. Hope to see more of this type.
zenderlee | Added on: May 8, 2012
 
There was a lot to like about this game. The storyline and dialogue were minimally intrusive, which I prefer. The graphics were pleasing, and overall the game was fun. But it was very uneven, with a few objects very hard to find, and some of the tasks made no sense at all. I can't see playing it a second time, and gameplay was very short, around 2 hours.
Gaillynn | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
Very cute and original game. Love the association puzzles and the dialogue. It was much too short though. Not too difficult but fun because it was a little different from the normal hidden object games.
anneatplay | Added on: April 22, 2012
 
I too liked that the HOS were such a unique approach. The tasks were pretty cool, didn't all work very well, but I've never played a game with anything like them and that was intriguing. I found the character's voice obnoxious, and the game was way too short. I agree with another reviewer that the developers have some fresh ideas, which account for my stars, and that I'd be happy to try something else from them.
Cricket5461 | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
This game is really fun. The preview reminded me of Snark Busters which I definitely enjoyed and this one does not disappoint if you like this sort of HO game. It's not difficult to play although you definitely do have to think about what to do and the graphics are really nice. It's a welcome change of pace from the usual HO games and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to play a casual game that bounces along at a fun pace and doesn't make you work too hard for it, just hard enough.
devi | Added on: April 24, 2012
 
This game had some very funny dialect. Some Interesting HO games using association instead of word lists. I really enjoyed, but gave it one less star because it was too short.
Mimi77 | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. It's a little different from the other HOG. My only issue is that it was very short. I bought it around 11am today and played throughout the day. And I'm already done in expert mode. I wish it had been longer. Maybe there will be a longer sequel. *hint*lol
Shirag | Added on: April 21, 2012
 
I enjoyed this game. I like the twist on the HOG game set up. I was just getting into it and it ended. This is a great teaser but where's the game?
mezzatc | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
This game had some unusual mini games and was fun to play. However it was incredibly short and no replay value as the objects are in the same place in subsequent games. I did buy it but would not recommend others do so. I hope the sequel is longer.