The Stroke of MidnightThe Stroke of Midnight
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Stroke of Midnight
dialyn | Added on: February 25, 2012
 
One thing that I didn't see mentioned is that you need a newer and more powerful computer than the one I have. The graphics are partially done in layered panels and if you don't the proper equipment, some of the effects look like white panes instead of fog or cobwebs or whatever (even if you turn off the "advanced fx" button). I never could find the hint button. Unlike some games where you add things to an inventory and then pick what you need, this one sticks you with an item until you figure out how to use it. Some of the hidden objects seemed hard to find and, with no hint button, it was impossible to find them without randomly clicking around. There is a splash screen between each scene so progress is very slow. The actual game play probably is not that hard and there are places where the game gives direction on what to do next, but I just gave up on the whole thing. The graphics were lovely, and I was curious how the story played out but it was taking too much computer memory for the very slow progress I was making. This game has a lot of potential but it needs work.
YonnyP | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
The continuity of the theme is really well done. there isn't as much back and forth between areas as there are in some hidden object games. overall a good hidden object game for beginners to the genre.
AutumnRiley78 | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
This game is fun to play. Good story line. No challenge or thinking involved in playing it though. But it's great considering its a HOG.
jenny_girl75 | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
I was really excited about this game based on the description and the screenshots. The 3-D effects in this game are really good and the plot is interesting, but the game itself was a big let down. The game guides you through everything you have to do and you aren't really able to figure out what to do for yourself. A couple of the puzzles were good, but overall they were not that challenging. I quickly got bored of this game, but finished it just to finish it. I really would have preferred to have the opportunity to unfold the story on my own and not be told what to do next. This game would probably be more entertaining for younger players, not seasoned ones.
Dudette | Added on: May 5, 2011
 
Although graphically pleasing, the game involved zero thinking. The interface just totally annoyed me. It is way too slow! Instead of collecting objects whose use you must figure out, the game just points you to where you must go. I found it to be pretty linear, instead of being able to search around and discover the next step for myself. There is no real hint system, but then again, you won't need one. Yawn....
32182120 | Added on: June 9, 2013
 
This was an excellent game to play and after completing the game I read the novel, her note book right through and enjoyed the notes as much as the game itself. Very interesting and challenging.. Makes one think when doing some of the puzzles.
CarolB | Added on: September 8, 2012
 
I think this would be a good game for someone new to HOGs, but I found it boring. You had to think very little, as the game pretty much leads you from each action to the next. In truth, I gave up after about 15 minutes of actual play. I say "actual play", because I was using the free version, which literally was coming up with ads every two minutes- I checked the clock! Even without the ads I don't think I'd find this very interesting. As I say, if you're a beginner or if it relaxes you to have something to do without exerting your mind overly, then this is a great choice for you. That's why I'm giving 3 stars instead of 2.
simango | Added on: October 31, 2011
 
to many ads, one ever minute, ruined the game completely. dont bother its not worth your time and energy
VforVictoria | Added on: May 5, 2011
 
Same as the premium only this one has no black screens inbetween scenes. Do not like the way it moves makes me kind of dizzy and ill, but that is just me, some like the 360 view.
roxy8279 | Added on: September 4, 2012
 
This game is good you get hints somewhere on the screen. It does require thinking it took me 4 hours to complete the whole thing with a few breaks. I had fun with this one.
kenspunkin1 | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
This game kept me interested right through to the end. The storyline was good, graphics great, and mini games and HO shots were challenging. The only part that I was bummed about was that no matter how you play the game, it always ends the same.
KatyTX | Added on: September 4, 2012
 
Love the HO games with multiple tasks and sceneries. Amazing graphics. Didn't want to stop play, but loved that game is long lasting. One of the best in a while.
Player8 | Added on: October 31, 2011
 
They should rewrite the software on this game. Lots of errors. Needs a hint button that works. On the positive side, great graphics. It might be fun to play if they fix things up.
IronRaziel | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
I really enjoyed playing this game. There were some puzzles that I found a bit difficult but other than that, the script, f/x, and the story line was really good. I can see a sequel coming out of this one in another level. Great game to play for intermediate to advanced HOG players.
collagejoy | Added on: October 31, 2011
 
I really did not like this game. I'll admit I did not get too far in it, because of the slow change between scenes. Every time you moved to another scene ( which was often), the Stroke of Midnight title page would come up and sit there for a while while the game loaded the next scene. Totally boring. There was no choice of cursors. You are stuck with the slow-moving, hard-to-control custom cursor. Does not seem like a kid's game, yet it's too easy for adults. Not worth your time or money.
charmed_twice | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
I paid for this game before it became available with the tickets and I wish I had saved my money. For the the price I paid, it is sad small and boring.
domaidl | Added on: September 5, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. The story was great all the way to the end. Hidden objects were a mixture of easy to find to having to look pretty hard for them. I had a hard time putting the game down, I wanted to keep going, kept my interest. The graphics were really good also. This is definitely one of the better HOG that I have played in a long time. Highly recommended.
emi1 | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
i found this game beautiful. i love the graphics. the 3d is cool. i like the navigation. it's like you're floating thru the rooms. the music is perfect. the story's strange-staying in a castle with broken windows, floors ripped up, fallen trees everywhere, and all alone-except the ghosts of course. i do want to find out what happened to eva. the hr trial flew by. good one, guys.
Orchid | Added on: May 9, 2011
 
Lovely graphics and storyline, fairly easy game play, but the puzzles are good, just the right amount of help and the movement is really good, almost like floating. A little short for the money but the real downside is the ending, if it hadn't been really bad, I would have given this game another couple of stars.
hushmypuppies | Added on: May 9, 2011
 
Very different premise. I was frustrated at the beginning but got into it soon. Give it a try.
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: March 23, 2012
 
I LOVE this game! The storyline is amazing!I love the tragic love story. The graphics were great too,almost like a 3d theme.Some of the mini puzzles were a bit too hard but everyone needs a challenge!
Mysterya | Added on: October 31, 2011
 
Although the storyline and graphics nice, it is a bit short with no replay value. Glad I downloaded it while free.
player33 | Added on: March 4, 2012
 
Greatly pleasing and entertaining. One of the most intrigued games I had ever played.
qjntjn | Added on: May 4, 2011
 
This game moves too slow and needs more hints than available. I was not impressed.
sosborneknight | Added on: April 26, 2013
 
I am giving this game 2 stars on the basis that the graphics & 3D format are good, but the storyline does not appeal to me. Also the HOG part of the game - some items are not clearly visible, and there seems to be endless hints. Disappointed in the slowness of the game there are many blank pages waiting for game to load.