The Seawise Chronicles - Untamed LegacyThe Seawise Chronicles - Untamed Legacy
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Seawise Chronicles - Untamed Legacy
NannyJoan | Added on: October 28, 2011
 
Had to use the walkthrough on a couple of puzzles.
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 24, 2011
 
Well I've done over 300 game reviews for the Gamehouse here which doesn't even put a dent into the amount of games I've played and I'm here to tell ya that as of today this is definitely without question by far the worst and most frustrating game I've ever downloaded. Just WOW! Where to start - YIKES! Talk about a stop the madness, cut this off and pull the plug, well this game just hit the top of my list. Well for starters this game in my opinion has way too much dialouge as I found myself clicking through that pretty quick. If you've read any of my reviews then you know I'm not much of a "reader" when it comes to games. If it doesn't have my attention within the first minute or so, I click through it. While the graphics look really nice and well done on the surface however once you start playing the game makes it hard to find items as you are finding pieces of items and sometimes have to combine a couple of them to make them work because the areas are so dark. Some items were just about off the screen and/or behind the hint button as mentioned. There's also scrolling you have to do which some games I don't mind it but some it gets on my last nerve and you've probably guessed it - for this game got on my last nerve. About made me nauseous. The hint while it does charge up pretty quick and I must say had to use it quite a bit, probably safe for me to say the most I've ever used the hint for a game, sometimes not even helpful, very vague on telling you what to do. For finding the items not bad but not great either. The real kicker of the game here is it will tell you that there is nothing left to do but yet in the very first area there was something stuck behind a rock and also a shovel piece and I just happened to get the shovel piece by accident because I clicked just right. The piece behind the rock I never did get. Yes thank goodness for no penalty of "clicking around" in this game cause you pretty much have to, to be able to move forward in the game. You have to explore just about every inch of the area you are in. I don't mind games that are challenging, thinky on what to do as I don't want everything spelled out for me so to speak, and even wandering around a bit with little to no hand holding, I actually enjoy all of this for the most part, but I did not find this game challenging at all. I found it nothing but downright frustrating. Yes and I suppose you could "beat the game" if you feel like spending many hours on it and/or consulting to blogs and walkthroughs as mentioned. Well in my case here, life is way too short and many good games I could be playing I'm sure. I also don't like having to go to walkthroughs and such. Yes I have a few times for games to get me through a part or two in the game but when I find myself having to consult the walkthrough too many times, really takes the fun out of the game and didn't "beat the game" at all which I didn't go to a walthrough for this game cause after about a 1/2 hour I just could NOT cope with this game anymore. When you get to this point in a game, this stuck, in my opinion time to cut it off and pull the plug and move on to something else. This is just my opinion of the game. Seems to be mixed reviews here. Some have really enjoyed it and some have found it a frustrating game like me, so give it a whirl and decide for yourself. I hope you enjoy it.
Hubris_Panther | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
I don't like to write negative reviews but this game has to be the worst I have ever played on here. The sceens are too dark and some of the puzzels are not very user friendly either. Finding others areas to go to in certain chapters are not very easy and the items bag is just plain annoying. I would not not give this game 1 star given the choice. If the random clicking to find objects does not get to you then the music certainly will! Sorry GH but this is not one of the better ones
JellyQueen | Added on: July 18, 2011
 
I found this game to hard to follow, Some of the objects where barely visable and the hints where not of any real help, i am going to pass on this one, the graphics where nice though and i didnt mind that the story wasn't translated greatly.
Creideann | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
I found the premise to be a good one and would have liked the game, but found it overall frustrating instead. Not enough clues as to what to do next. Play puzzle games, so that wasn't it. Found most of the puzzle parts which I normally like to be frustrating as well. Good thing was you could skip those if having trouble, so you didn't get stopped by them if looking to the overall story. That was smart as it appeals to more age groups and preferences that way. The screen was too dark most of the time and you couldn't see the items well enough to pick up. Only a few of the screens were illuminated enough to determine what was meant to be picked up. Had to use a walk through and that is rare for me. Ended up not finishing the game because I could not get it to complete the second to last task of healing the root that I had sliced open earlier in the game. Gave up.
Sharon17 | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
I could not open suitcase in Eternal Falls and could not get pass floating rocks. A very hard game to follow. Too many scene changes. Glad I did not buy. Spent 8 hrs trying to beat. Hard to find clues. 2 thumbs down
chelsea1 | Added on: July 12, 2011
 
This game is not a standard HOG. It does not give many helpful clues, especially in some of the mini-games, where you get no clues at all!!!! But, if you like a challenge and love solving puzzles this is the greatest game ever!! (Just remember inscriptions, numbers, words, etc... on the walls, floor, doors, etc) I hope they are working on the next one. I was able to complete ONE section without any "helpful hints" and if you are able to make it to the end ...it is a killer; but, it is worth every ounce frustration. Loved it!!!
madalmu | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I've been back and forth to this game many times now, still stumped. The hints button recharges quickly, however it is often vague - i.e. - need a propeller - great - how/where to find it??! A lot of back and forth, frequently very difficult to find items. I don't usually "wimp out" on a game, and want to finish them - but I'm making an exception on this one! If you have nothing better to do with your time, and enjoy challenges, this MIGHT be a game for you - but I wouldn't count on it.
winegirl | Added on: November 12, 2010
 
One of the best of its type, when a game stumps me completely, repeatedly, then THAT is a good game. It took 3 days, many hours and brain work to get thru. If I had not gone to the games site for the blog, I dont think I would have finished it. That said, it was loads of fun, totally different than most, the hardest one I have played yet, and I've played 100's. Stay thru the credits, its interesting. When is the sequel coming?? LOVE this game and the difficulty it presented KUDOS a job well done.
kimo | Added on: May 23, 2011
 
I should have known better after the first couple of screens when I encountered a squirell [sic]. Attention programmers who do not speak English as your primary language: please get an English speaker who understands idiomatic expressions to review your story. Or just don't have a story. :>) Technically, this game uses darkness and shadows to hide most things. I found myself using walkthrough screen shots just to play the game. Walkthroughs are for when you have hit an impassable obstacle of some sort. To have to use a walkthrough just to play a game is absolutely ludicrous. I just had to quit and, like another reviewer, I rarely quit a game. I can use the hard drive space for something more important, like ...., hmmmm......., oh yeah empty sectors would be a better use. On the positive side, the graphics were good.
Deviarich | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
I liked it because it really makes you think what should you be doing next. It is like what would you do if you didn't have hint button. Scary yes? I did not care to much for the way things were hidden. The colors did not contrast enough to see. Only the person that put them there would know where most of them were. Saying that I had to use hint quite a bit. Outside of that I liked story and everything else.
Dadcaregiver | Added on: November 9, 2010
 
I wasn't sure about this game when I first saw it, but decided to give it a try. OMG I was addicted from the start. There is quite a bit of dialog but you can skip it and just read the journal. There are mini games you can skip and this game is different in that the mini games are part of the story. I recommend this game and can't wait to get back on it.
KKeith | Added on: July 27, 2011
 
Hints that don't hint! Dark screens! Really weird English so that directions are not clear! This game has potential. It is definitely not for beginners, even though it looks kid friendly. Apparently, from other comments the propeller is a real bugaboo. I haven't found it either...nor something to dig with...nor ..... It is not so much that it is difficult, just that the help doesn't help.
geniegirl | Added on: January 11, 2011
 
If you like looking for dark objects on a dark background in a dark corner of the screen then this game is for you. I used way more hints (which thankfully refreshed rapidly) than I have in any game in recent memory. I enjoy the challenge of looking for items that are broken into pieces, but when the pieces are not the same shape and/or color as the pieces shown it gets frustrating. I have progressed on to the next scene without finishing the previous scene. and there is no way to go back and finish it. I do not know if what I missed is relevant to completing the story. In some scenes, you have to go on to retrieve something to help you finish the previous scene, so you never know whether you are supposed to move on. The story line is intriguing and the characters original. The artwork is creative and fresh. These are the only things that kept me going. There was supposed to be illuminated symbols on the mantra scroll (randomly generated) that I need to use to get to the next scene, but they are not visible in my game so I am stuck. Looks like I start over.
simango | Added on: August 3, 2011
 
the game had no meaning. the graphics were very poor. nothing challenging throughout. erased it early on
Harlowe1962 | Added on: May 16, 2011
 
I read all the bad reviews for this game and almost didn't bother downloading it, as it was the free game for the day....I figured..."it's free....what the heck!" I am so glad I did. I admit I had to use the walk through a lot! But I am a person that doesn't mind using a walk through, it is better than becoming so frustrated that you throw your computer through a wall! This game was extremely challenging, but without the walk through, I dont think finishing it would be possible. Yes it is dark and the some of the rubies are hard to find. I finally had to go back through Death Valley and the Beach step by step to find out where the last 2 rubies were. I tried to find them, but wouldn't have if it wasn't for the walk through. To me, I am very thankful when someone takes the time to do a walk through, they are there for a reason...to help, not to make you feel dumb because you couldn't finish the game without them. There are a lot of games that I use the walk throughs with, even the brand new ones, like the Mystery Island or the Clockwork games. I wouldn't have finished the Phantasma game without the walk through. Dont be ashamed to use them. I fully admit, that I would not have finished this game if it wasn't available. I dont think a game should test your patience so much that it isn't fun. Aren't games supposed to be fun? If it isn't fun then why bother playing it? I liked this game very much.
fredi | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
Overall, a good game. A few times one needs hints and sometimes, it's difficult to get back to a previous scene. You need to make sure you complete all that's required before moving on. Occasionally you have to move on to find all the items in the clue list.
sly8ball | Added on: January 2, 2013
 
A lot of the items you have to locate you can't see therefore you're clicking anything and everything; it is a frustrating HOG and to me the challenge level is how fast you will delete it. Becuase of this I gave it 1 star and if I could have gone lower than 1 I would have.
Suger | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
I was not impressed. I've played some tricky object seek games, but this one just had no flow to it, and the help feature is generally useless. I got aggravated before I finished.
Squidgal | Added on: November 9, 2010
 
I had to write because this is the worst hidden object game I have played on the site. You must constantly jump back and forth between screens. The puzzles really don't follow any logic so you are often left wondering what to do next. The interface for you to use objects and navigate interferes with the game play and is totally annoying. Trying to find the arrow to move from one scene to the next took almost as long as finding objects themselves.
Amensej | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
I personally really liked this game. It was harder than most, and i did have to mess with the contrast settings on my monitor to make things easier to see. Alot of jumping from scene to scene, and I will admit to finding a walkthrough when I got to the suitcase. (Warning, SPOILER) Once u realize that the different symbols are part of the game, and are going to b needed elsewhere, it gets alot easier. Deffinately makes u think, and makes u open your eyes to the other parts of the scenes besides the hidden objects. Good storyline, kept me entertained for a couple hours.
MAN5 | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
Game not what I thought it would be. There are no directions to help, and it appears that clicking onto an item doesn't always work. Found it very frustrating and am glad I didn't pay more for it. As it is feel I overpaid.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
I have too many negatives about this game. Too much jumping around, too dark, HOs almost impossible to find. Could not figure out the storyline. There are much better games then this one
Kellibobelli | Added on: January 11, 2013
 
This game is a lot of fun, fun graphics, fun story, fun puzzles, but is very frustrating when you are trying to figure out where to go next or how to get the piece you need to move onto the next place. It has you running in circles over and over retracing your steps in hopes to find something you missed. I ended up using the walk through at the very end of the game. If you like challenging games and have a ton of patience and some psychic abilities then this is for you.
painetdldy | Added on: July 23, 2011
 
What a frustrating game! I didn't even finish it. I probably played a quarter of it and still didn't know what the heck was going on. Objects were almost impossible to find. Difficult moving between clue list and inventory which you had to do frequently. Do not recommend this game, even at $2.99!
Tayotae | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
This game has fun graphics as well as being very good. However, without more directions I get lost in the forest. So I am just hoping that someone can find me and my sister before it is too late.
bernergirl | Added on: May 10, 2011
 
Hard to see the things you are trying to find. Too dark.
THanseN | Added on: May 16, 2011
 
It's not clear. The hidden objects and the background are all the same shade. Even with my laptop sitting on my chest-- I can't see the darned things. The propeller-- WHO KNOWS where that stupid thing is. I quit. I've never quit a game before-- but this one is getting removed TODAY. I will not recommend doing anything (with this game) other than skipping it altogether. NOT worth the time it took to download. Further there is no walk through that is clear. Evidently whoever wrote the walk through-- is also a writer for the game.
haddon | Added on: July 15, 2011
 
First found the game to be easy with good graphics needs some better clues but enjoy the game even though stuck at sea entrance. It does require you to think alot about how everything is related to move forward which I enjoy would recommend for those who like a challenge & puzzles.
leroy30179 | Added on: July 23, 2011
 
This game really makes you think. You have to really work. I loved it.wish i could find more like it.It is not for beginers though. OH, I did find the propeller that someone else could not. THANKS
deenutz73 | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
this is an awesome game please make more like this and i didnt find many bugs in this game either it was fun all the way through.
devi | Added on: November 17, 2010
 
I have not completed this game because I hit an area that completely stumped me. Flipping back and forth between the inventory list, clues, tools, and ruby panels was VERY annoying. I had to use the hint button quite often and many times the item to find was behind the inventory popup panel. I would say to try this game and form an opinion for yourself. Who knows, maybe you'll love it, but it definitely was not a favorite of mine.
kmluebb | Added on: July 25, 2011
 
The screens were too talk and the help was not found. Hints were okay, but because of the dark screens it was still hard to find the objects, except that they were marked with a red spot, but sometimes hard to click on the correct spot because you couldn't see it. If I had known the game was going to be the way it is, I would never had bought it, even at the discounted price. But, I like a challenger, so I will finish it, but with help from several walkthroughs that I found. Some of the mini games that you had to finish before going forward, with no skip, were almost impossible without a walkthrough.
jmg1234 | Added on: February 23, 2012
 
Can't even pass the first scene. There's a bridge that you're supposed to repair, and I had the rope, and boards. Yet I place them exactly where the're supposed to go and nothing happens. It just keeps saying how it's not the right thing, but I know that's not true, as there's nothing else to try on it. I click on the hint button, nothing happens. I spent 20 minutes trying to figure it out with no luck at all. So don't buy this piece of junk. In fact they should pay me for wasting my time and the frustration.
bella24 | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
Urghhh....I'd like to slap this game. The story is based on a mixture of the Hobbit, Greek mythology and a little King Arthur. Throw in two inane siblings, a terrible script and what we are left with is this idiotic game. Add to the above: poor graphics, ANNOYING searches and non-intuitive interactions and you've got a game that isn't even worth downloading. Yuck! The ONLY good thing was the quickly reloading hint button.
Gerry_Quinn | Added on: September 26, 2011
 
This game should really be a 4-star game but the interface really got in the way. The inventory bag system is a clever idea, but in practice it is slow and clunky and gets in the way of gameplay. As a HOG it is unusually difficult for its type, i.e. cartoon graphics with pieces of objects to find. That's not a bad thing, though, just a matter of taste - and the hints recharge quickly. Some of the puzzles are rather obscure, and you will probably find yourself looking for a walkthrough at some point. Fortunately you can easily find a complete one online, just search for "seawise chronicles walkthrough". The graphics and music are pretty good. The storyline is interesting although a bit disjointed. Overall I liked it and completed the game, even though the inventory sometimes came close to driving me mad.
jaybee3k | Added on: November 16, 2010
 
Loved this game, don't think I've played one here like this in a long time. It took quite some time to finish, was not at all simple, lots of back & forth..very challenging. I did have to consult a walk-through to get through it near the end, but by then I was so entrenched in the game, I just had to finish it!
disneygirl63 | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
This game is extremely difficult. It started off easy, then became very difficult. Maybe if there was a guide with the game to help when a person got stuck, I would give it a better review.
debofme | Added on: November 9, 2010
 
This game was way too dark for me to find very tiny object peices. It could have been an excellent game if the graphics were drawn and colored so you could see something. I voted for addictive because I just played for a couple of hours, hoping to get into an easier part to see. So far there aren't any. Its original in that I have never played a game so dark and differcult. Glad I didn't purchase.
bljune | Added on: March 22, 2011
 
I just had to write this review. This game about blew my mind away it was so frustrating. What did that one reviewer say "she would like to slap this game" that was great! I though the same thing I like to slap this game , slap the maker of the game and slap gamehouse for selling this game. Three months two to three times a week I would try looking for that propeller "oh my God" I almost wanted to smash my computer I was so frustrated. I even had my husband look for it, couldn't find it. I talked my daughter into buying it, she's good with games. No go, Did the same with my sister, no go. we were all stuck in the same spot. Went to reviews for this game, hoping it would help me. no go. Hear allot about walkthroughs, still hearing, can't find that either. And I'm preatty dang good on the computer, computer lingo and maintenance inside the hard drive. But this game really got me. I"m a die hard 53 yr old game player. Everybody gets stuck from time to time a day or week. But this was bad. So one day I told my daughter and sister to start the game. With all three of us doing it at the same time maybe we would get it. And OH MY GOD I did it, by accident. So here goes, I wish somebody would have had this in their review, it would have save me months of frustration. If anybody is still stuck on the propeller, oh my god stop looking it isn't even a propeller. Go to the native man and put your mouse to the right of his feet. And low and behold your frustration will end, mine did it was pure luck. I was so shocked, I literarily jump from my chair and shout for joy. There are some other areas that are tricky but I didn't have much of a problem with those. But that propeller was a stumper and then it wasn't a propeller. After I let all the frustration go away I found that I loved this game, it was great, not the stuck part. Beautiful graphics, great game I've replayed it several times. Now did anybody have a problem with the ending? It looks like the game is finished got the credits but when you go to replay it, it takes you back to the last scene, why, why, why am I missing something? To start a new game I have to put in a new name for the game to start at the beginning. WHY I do love this game so give it a try and see what you think.
mavethrave | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
OMG! I have never had to use a hint so many times. The graphics are too dark. It's frustrating when you use the hint and it directs you to completely black areas. There's no way a person could see anything there. I hung in there into chapter 5 hoping it would get better but no way. It has great possibilites with the story line but those terrible graphics kill it.
LadyOLyte | Added on: July 26, 2011
 
This game is challenging, it makes you think and remember the different levels as you have to continually go back and forth. Good brain food! I still haven't finished it.