The Saint - Abyss of DespairThe Saint - Abyss of Despair
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Saint - Abyss of Despair
petdetail | Added on: April 22, 2013
 
Alawar is one of the best when it comes to HOG games so I looked forward to this one. What a dud! The voice overs were good, the graphics were mediocre, the scenes were mediocre...everything was mediocre! In fact, I couldn't even play the whole thing and found myself stopping and starting over and over again because it was so boring. I'd find something else to do that was more entertaining...even folding socks! This one needs to be pulled back & reworked to add more interesting graphics/scenes, more to do in each location other than pick up one item and leave, a map that tells you if there are things to do the various locations, richer graphics, better music...aaaaaaaaahhhhhh! I'm so disappointed. Nexxxxxt...
roxy8279 | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
I don't know why so many reviews are about how offended they were with this game? But I can honestly say I was not offended it's just a game after all. So the story is fine and if you need to have some fun I recommend this game.
31777708 | Added on: June 17, 2013
 
Don't know what all the complaints are about. Since when do fictional stories need to be accurate or have to agree with your perceptions of life? It's a game... Personally, I like a slow, quiet game with unobtrusive music and characters that speak slower and in the lower voice registers. This game has beautiful drawings and a color palate with saturated tones, the music is exotic, and the general feel of it is relaxing, instead of amped up and frenetic. I play these games PLENTY and am always looking for less genetic, mainstream versions. This fits my need for something quiet and original.
Angelique1971 | Added on: April 22, 2013
 
I didn't impress me as much as I'd hoped. It was just OK for me. Which is surprising as I am usually a fan of this company. The graphics are decent but average. The HOS were typical, dull and easy. Puzzles weren't very challenging but a few were innovative. There is a travel map but it doesn't show available actions. The hint button is helpful but not needed often. Nothing really stood out as special. The only thing that kept me in it was the story. It was indeed interesting. I need a good plot to enjoy a game but I found this one over did it a little. I spent nearly as much time reading as playing. However, I did finish, rather hurriedly I admit. I completed the game in a couple of hours. I thought it barely deserved 4 stars but the story line bumped it up.
kyleesmommy | Added on: May 11, 2013
 
Sorry to say,but Alawar really missed the mark with this one !! I was so displeased with the absurd storyline,I quit the game less than halfway through...I wish they had researched the Pagan,voodoo,African Religion versus Christianity-the Good VS Evil plot is over used and usually not well done anyway...Facts were all wrong and it insults ones intelligence... So my thoughts are-please do not waste your time or cash on this one,it will only leave a sour taste in your mouth and wallet... as always HAPPY GAMING EVERYONE !!!
flaca | Added on: April 22, 2013
 
Gave it a three because of the poor voice acting. But really great mini games and that is a must for me in all games I play. Story line was ok, but that voice acting kept on ruining some of the things that were important like story line. Oh and not that crazy about the graphics. Played it start to finish in 2 and a half hours.
blueeyes68 | Added on: April 23, 2013
 
I was very disappointed by this game. The story line was very weak and it made no sense. To easy and to short. Not worth the money
graciekerri | Added on: April 24, 2013
 
the storyline was boring, definately not attractive. besides, i dont think it is logic. HO scenes were good, puzzles not bad. but, dissopointed for Alawar this time.
devi | Added on: April 22, 2013
 
Game started off great with beautiful graphics and an interesting storyline, but it quickly turned into something else. Looking for an exorcism, forget about it. Looking for a demon, forget about it. This game was sold under false expectations. Mostly about African witches. Game was very short. The map, although it gave you the option to jump around, didn't tell you much other than where you were. There were also locations you never got to. It was like they ended it abruptly just to make a part II. Too bad because this COULD have been a good one. Very disappointed.
Eriklover555 | Added on: May 6, 2013
 
This game is one of the ones I hate the most! Not only is it far too simple (half the time it tells you exactly what to do with items), but the voice overs were simply horrid. The thing that made me angry the most was the whole "Evil Witches" junk. Do some research, people! Pagans are not evil caricatures that are out to possess children. The majority of those who practice African religions and mysticism are not out to hurt you. It's so, *so* offensive that this game plays the Saintly Christian against the Evil Heathen cards.
redaf | Added on: April 29, 2013
 
The story itself is unique and interesting, but the game as a whole was not up to the level usually associated with Alawar. The hidden object scenes were easy, which didn't bother me as some can be too difficult or hard to see and the HO part of these type of games is not the draw for me. I like a good story, the mini games and how everything needs to be worked out to complete the game itself. I liked the variety of mini games in this one, but as another review said they were fairly easy. Once again, I am glad they weren't so difficult as to make you want to tear your hair out in frustration as some can. The graphics and music were ok, but some of the voices though, hmm, could have been better? The story had a lot of potential...maybe a beginner in this gaming genre will enjoy this one more than I did.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: April 23, 2013
 
This game is not what I expect from Alawar. In the first place, the voiceovers are hands down the worst I have ever heard--just terrible. They really detract from the game. Second, the cursor always points to the left. You may be going to the right, but the cursor is still going to point left. Very clunky. You just have to look for light at the bottom or left or right of your screen to figure out where you can go. And yes, there is a map, but it doesn't tell you about any actions that need to be taken in a particular location; it's just a map. What's the point of clicking on a particular location if you have no idea if you need to go there? It's easier to use the hint button to point you in the right direction. The HO scenes are okay. The graphics are fairly good, and the HO scenes are fairly easy. The minigames are a good mix. Some are absurdly easy, and others require a bit of thought. But overall the game doesn't hold together. The principle character was having visions before he received the letter from his cousin in Africa, so how does that relate? And to my knowledge there are no temples to gods in Africa built like the one to which our character was transported. The story was wrapped up with more bad narration. In this case, I think it is merciful that the game is short. This game had a lot of potential, but it fell far short.
RenaiReborn | Added on: April 29, 2013
 
I think most people who have played any Alawar games are used to a certain standard of play. This game had potential- the artwork wasn't bad, and there was a semblance of a mysterious storyline, however, it wasn't as fleshed out as it could have been. There was a map that didn't tell you anything really about what you were looking at, which was a bit annoying. The storyline got more and more vague as it went on, and it thankfully ended rather quickly.
game24 | Added on: April 23, 2013
 
The game starts out with an interesting premise and decent graphics. However, it quickly goes down hill. The game is confusing and poorly explained. The game is far to click based with little thought involved at all. Dark ideas such as demonology and possession are portrayed in a game which is far to easy for the average game player. The game was also quite short; it took me well under 3 hours while only half paying attention. Not a horrible play but definitely not worth spending money on.