The Mystery of the Crystal PortalThe Mystery of the Crystal Portal
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Mystery of the Crystal Portal
TruRob | Added on: September 1, 2010
 
Excellent game, but ended too abruptly, I wanted to keep playing. I wish there had been more levels.
PipCat | Added on: May 25, 2011
 
This is not your average HO game. You must first search a scene to try and find a Key Object (indicated by the cursor turning into a hand) after which you click on it and are presented with circles in which are contained the objects you need to find. Some of the objects are readily available while others may be hidden behind or in other items you need to clear before you can collect them. You also need to collect different puzzle pieces in order to collect pieces of the Crystal Portal. I admit that I had a certain amount of frustration in the beginning with this type of gameplay but the more I delved into it the more I liked it. It's an untimed game so you can take your time with this one and while hints are unlimited it does take more than a minute for them to recharge. The puzzles were good and not so frustrating that you're willing to call it quits. I really enjoyed this one and hope to see the sequel to this soon. (At least I'm assuming there's a sequel based on how the story ended....).
AmethystGirl | Added on: July 18, 2011
 
This game was pretty good but was kind of a let down at the end. I thought I was going to be traveling through time and stuff but it was nothing like that. Also, the hidden object scenes were confusing as I wasn't sure what stuff to collect first and some things have to be collected before other puzzles could be solved, but it is unclear so I ended up collecting things out of order. Some areas had to be hovered over slowly or they wouldn't show up and you had to keep checking areas over and over again because some areas would open up that were not there before after solving a puzzle. Some objects were impossible to find without a hint. The end of the game was a real let down. I expected more.
Meltie | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
I liked it. It offers more than just a hidden object game. There are puzzles and searching for specific components. It was fun
roxy8279 | Added on: November 5, 2012
 
This game was so fun. I like the fact that there was no skipping the puzzles. It was pretty challenging.
kikibelle | Added on: September 20, 2010
 
This was one of the first games I did by myself...being new to these games I am not as well versed in all the different types of puzzles and games within the game but these were easier to figure out. I got mad at times, but that's what hints are for! Overall it was good fun, though the ending did lack something...I guess they set it up pretty good for a sequel!
pmorton | Added on: August 25, 2010
 
I loved playing this game, however I conquered it in about 5 hours!! And then it was over!! I really hated the way it ended, I just knew that I had not finished this game!! Many reviewers asked about a sequel, I hope so, but think about adding many more levels to it. I'm going to have to say I am glad I bought it with a Gamepass ticket, I would NOT have purchased this game otherwise. I liked the game, but ended up disappointed.
cooranrose | Added on: October 14, 2009
 
can anyone help please, i love this game but am stuck on the prism and cannot fathom how to get out of it, i just want to get on with the game !!
Parker | Added on: May 20, 2009
 
Great game, once I started I just wanted to keep playing, now the whole family is playing it.
jmg1234 | Added on: April 24, 2012
 
Hints don't help at all. extremely confusing as to what to do next. I got very stuck, and frustrated on on of the first levels, and couldn't make it past it. I do not enjoy this at all, and am deleting this one.
cousingail | Added on: September 15, 2011
 
This is one of my favorite games. I think more people will go for this also
Summer | Added on: September 29, 2009
 
Hidden object game with a twist- instead of a list, you have to determine which object on screen will be the "container" that displays pictures of what you have to find. The only way to know what the container is is to point with it and the cursor will change to a hand. There are a number of these container or "key" items as the game calls them, and they won't all register until you have finished one or more of the others. So its a constant cursor hunt over the same territory waiting for the cursor to change. Many , even most in some scenes, of the items you have to find inside or behind something else. Again, to look inside, you have to wait until you see the cursor change to a magnifying glass- and just because it didnt change when you pointed it at BEFORE, doesn't mean it won't LATER change and have something in it; so thats alot of redundancy, going over the same parts of the screen over and over. Sometimes when you point at things their outline will glow faintly and that means you can click on it and it will disappear- even if it didnt do that before. So you have to pay extreme attention to what happens beneath your cursor at all times, especially if you dont see any more items. At least its all related to the scenes and vaguely to the story, which is sort of thin, but the locations are beautiful in the cut scenes. You dont repeat scenes until the very end you come full circle where you started. However dont be looking for the ending to resolve anything, it absolutely doesn't deliver- youre left hanging, possibly for a sequel- a real "non-ending" After all that work invested you expect to at least answer the basic question you started with, which is "where is (Nicole's) Dad"- since its clear from the beginning he obviously created the portal and then is gone because he went through. To where, you're never told. The game play is uneven in my opinion, ranging from childishly simply to exasperatingly difficult- because it generally leaves you wondering what to do. You may want to check a walkthrough, especially for the secret room puzzles- I wouldnt have got out of the first room without one. It nonetheless played through pretty quickly, probably less than 4 hours counting looking up some help, and it only took that long because of the extended time you have to randomly slowly drag your cursor over and over the same areas waiting for something to appear.
P2P2 | Added on: February 25, 2010
 
The only downside - no fault of the game - was that it was closing suddenly and we had to restart it. We downloaded the full game via funpass. The graphics are gorgeous, the ambiance and music contribute to the overall experinece and are NOT annoying. Some of the puzzles were challenging but certainly not impossible. Sometimes you had to leave an area to get something but usually you were informed to do so. My wife & I played it together and loved it.
kb999999 | Added on: November 18, 2009
 
A nice hidden object - logical puzzles game ... help Nicole find her father by locating hidden objects and collecting pieces to a key. Some items are straight forward pictures, while others are collected/combined to work together. 'Special items' are found when you click certain items - this main item will then show pictures of other items that need to be found. The main item then disappears and a final object will appear. All this random-clicking can become frustrating ... Some items collected need to be used in another scene or with other items - you have to discover what to do with these items. Some actions need to be done in a a certain sequence before you can move forward - at times, you do not know what needs to be done ... This game is not timed, play at your own pace - no penalties for multiple clicking and unlimited hints available (just wait for the bar to auto refill). But ... not all hints are helpful - some show items that you didn't even know needed to find and these hints do not show a main 'special' item either. Overall, the game was enjoyable, but full of too many clicking-about scenes ... I could only play this game a little at a time because of the frustration.
Cricket5461 | Added on: March 17, 2012
 
I enjoyed this game more than I expected. When I first started it seemed to complicated to figure out where the "key" items were and then it was very challenging to find some of the hiding places. I nearly gave up but I'm glad that I didn't. After I got the hang of it, I had a pretty good time playing the little chapters and the puzzles at the end of each one were fairly simple to complete. A good game but not very long and definitely requires an open mind as to how to play a HO game.
Audielou | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
Could have used a little more instructions but you can figure it out after some trial and error. Great game after you play it once, I've played it four times in two days it's addictive allright. Hope there will be a sequel so we find out whats beyond the portal.
mmij58 | Added on: June 26, 2009
 
I like Hidden Object Games that are more of an adventure/challenge, like this one. You will need to go to different areas of the map to finish the level because the items found in one area are used in another. Great graphics. The only problem is finding some items/boxes/containers that have object in/behind them. Logically you know what you should click, but sometimes the object is not where you expect. Then you just have to click, click, click to find them. Over all are really fun, relaxing game.
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 25, 2010
 
Ummm..... I take it there is a sequel in the works here because as mentioned by others, the ending leaves you hanging? I sure hope so as this is a really great game. Normally I don't much care for games like this because it seems you are just going in circles and not solving anything but this was/is A LOT of fun. What you are doing in this game is moving your mouse (cursor) around the screen until it changes into a hand (a hot spot I call it) and it will bring up a circle with anywhere from 1 to 5 items you have to locate in the scene. Once you have found an item you put it into the circle and keep doing that until you locate them all. There are also several hot spots in the scene and some of the items you find are used in other scenes of the game. Very challenging and thinky type game. There are hints to help you along however so you're not totally on your own. The only parts that got kinda frustrating for me were the scene with the weights (getting the scale to balance) and the prism scene but I figured them out. Overall 5 game. I sure hope a part 2 to this is in the works cause like I said the ending leaves you hanging. I also hope it's just as good as this one
Shilo | Added on: April 24, 2012
 
It could just be me, but I found this game extremely illogical, especially after a pop up character told me that I had acquired all of the components of a required item, when the display bar at the bottom of the screen informed me that I hadn't.
Mysterya | Added on: August 19, 2013
 
The art work is nice and the drawings stay to period. It is a good beginner's game as the characters aid you in what you need to find. It is one of those click on an object to reveal more objects you need to find, sometimes having to travel elsewhere. I prefer the straight forward find in the one area. The graphics are decent enough and the objects not that hard to find.
redaf | Added on: January 2, 2013
 
This one has beautiful graphics, a good storyline, is challenging without frustrating you to no end. Quite enjoyed it from start to finish. Not straight HO's, different mini games and a cliff hanger end that satisfies, but makes you hope for more. Liked it quite well
burgandy | Added on: June 25, 2010
 
This game gives you information about many countries. It feels like you really visiting them. The instructions are easy to follow. I have no problems playing this game
walk667 | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
Fun playing this game over and over. Never tire of it.