The Lost City - Father's SecretThe Lost City - Father's Secret
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Lost City - Father's Secret
MsBrat1954 | Added on: August 9, 2011
 
First time trying a new game release, will try to be fair in my rating, hummm... Found the game interesting at the start, good graphics and interactions, pop up instructions were somewhat helpful, but could have been a little clearer and more helpful, however, found the game to be ok up until you arrived at the 3rd floor to gain access to fathers apartment. Took some time to locate the key needed to open the door, but game stalled there as there were no clear hints or instructions on finding the door knob needed to gain access to the apartment. . Searched all areas from the start in case i may have missed something, but no luck, am stalled at this area and no hints as to where to find the door knob. Finally gave up and quit the game. Hopefully someone with a little more patience and experience will be able to figure it out and will post the solution on the forum so inexperienced players such as myself, can continue with the game. Anyway, I enjoyed the game up to this point and may try to figure it out again in a few days...when i calm down and can concentrate on finding that darn knob. lol
tigger145 | Added on: August 17, 2011
 
I play hidden object games all the time and this is one of the top 5 games I did not enjoy at all. The hint button was useless, it never gave any hints on how to proceed from a thinking road block. It took me 1/2 hour just to get out of the first scene, after that every scene was nearly impossible to do without some type of help. Most scene's make you click everywhere on the screne just to figure out what to do next. I would not recommend this game to anyone who enjoys playing games, although I would recommend gamehouse to all of my friends.
zuludawn13 | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
I couldn't have any fun with this one at all and ended up quitting before I was even half way through it. By the time I got out of the car and into the apartment, I was completely frustrated. There didn't seem to be any understandable direction. There wasn't enough fun involved to make me want to try to work through the problems I was having. I would not recommend this one at this time although it looks as though it could be a great deal of fun once it gets the kinks worked out or at least a decent clue or two.
bpjuarez | Added on: August 9, 2011
 
This game started fine but there were no clear instructions. I found my way all the way to where I am supposed to go talk to someone away from the apartment, but can't. It keeps saying look by the window then there is nothing to do there. This is the 4th time that I have had no way to know what's next and it's just frustrating and not fun. The hidden object scenes are too easy, and the mini games have no instructions. This game seems unfinished and is not fun to play. The graphics are OK but not great.
Or_Ducatisti | Added on: August 9, 2011
 
...But it's tough when your cursor flits around like a spastic beetle, and when the storyline is written by someone who may have taken a course in "English as a third language" sometime in their distant past. The artwork is nice, and I usually really love the hand-drawn look, but there are certain things that just really put me off, such as the character animation used with everyone that looks like the person is either suffering from a near-death asthma attack or they're doing something nasty below their belt. I wish I could give you a review of the entire game, but I only made it a few minutes in. After finding three pencils in one Hidden Object section, but only one was clickable, then trying to read the mess of improper phrases, incorrectly used words, and strange punctuation that made up "Father's Diary", I just quietly backed out of the scene and left the game. This seems like a game with potential, but most of it is unrealized.
Rottn2thecore | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
This is the most frustrating game ever. The hints are not helpful, there is no guidance and no clue what to do next. It ended up locking up in the "alter world" and I've been unable to pick up the flashlights to put on the door. Even with the walkthrough I fought it.. Had to take and extra xanax to keep from throwing my laptop across the room. Boo
lls1945 | Added on: August 22, 2011
 
This game has the potential to be good. But, there are several areas that make no sense in how to proceed. The hint button is useless, it tells you what the objective is, but no clue how to do it. The mini games don't make sense. I came back a couple of times thinking it might get better after a break, but I found I was still frustrated clicking everywhere trying to do something. Finally, I had no idea what some of the objects were and one was "thing". The basic premise is good, but it doesn't play well.
30570468 | Added on: October 3, 2013
 
Game may be interesting, but have more and more bugs. I'am not beta-test. Very unhappy & very-very disappointed :(
baseballfan | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
I agree with the other comments. I have played alot of HO games and I could just not get thru this game. I started over a couple of times, thinking that maybe I missed something. I finally got out of the car and into the apartment, but couldn't get out of the apartment. I have never just given up on a game before. But I have now.
chelsea1 | Added on: September 2, 2011
 
After reading all the reviews I had to give it a try; just for the challenge. It was very difficult to figure out what you were suppose to do and on occasion you do have to click everywhere just to find the right spot BUT when you do figure it out it feels rewarding. I did not know there was a site that you can go to for assistance; and, I finally did have to search the "cheats" out before I could finish it. Then when you finish the game you find out it has two endings...go figure, now I have to go back and try it the other way....I just wonder if it will be any easier? I did think it was frustrating but I like it better than the games that tell you every little step you are suppose to take. It sure gives you your money's worth!
devi | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
Well, here I am stuck in the basement with a loaded gun in my hand looking for something archeological that I'll need to shoot. Feels like I've been down there for days watching that stupid spider going up and down the wall. Can't leave the location either. At one point I couldn't even put the gun down. It was stuck to my cursor like toilet paper sticks to the bottom of your shoe. This is one of the most difficult and challenging games I've ever played. I have gone back to it four times hoping that this time I'll find that missing something to advance. I'll hold onto this game for a few more days. Anyway, I did give it 3 stars only because it had great potential. The HO scenes were not too difficult but they were few and far between. Hints recharged slowly. For the people who can't find the doorknob to father's apartment, go ask the super. I learned that new exits only appear after the smallest and hardest to find task is completed. Keep trying people. Don't give up unless of course your head feels like it's going to explode.
SciFiWonderBabe | Added on: August 9, 2011
 
I'm a good ways into the game, and it's an interesting story. However, I can't help but notice that the game is really buggy. Often times I have to close out the client and restart the game to accomplish a task. Either the screen freezes or the cursor will only operate on one side of the screen, or it won't allow you to click on something. The hints in the game aren't very helpful, except for when you're someone who may play the game in bits and have a tendency to forget what you were doing when you left off. It really forces you to think about what to do next, and I find myself going over places to double check to see if I missed anything. The objects in the inventory weren't labeled either, and that left me wondering what somethings were. I'm still wondering! Ha ha! If you haven't played a lot of HO games I wouldn't recommend playing this one as it requires you to be pretty intuitive as what to do next. If you want something where you are really forced to figure out what to do and can over look bugs and strange animation, you may enjoy it.
TAR671 | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
I rated this game as challenging as their are no instructions so I found myself spending an inordinate amout of time trying to figure out what to do at each of the different scenes. After several hours I found myself at the 4th location, with no idea what I was doing, what I was looking for and what the purpose of the game is! IMHO The graphics are dark, the hidden object scenes a cluttered mess, If you click around enought you will find the objects. In many cases some of the objects are hidden in other objects; however, unlike most other games these objects are not identified as such
DarkDragon | Added on: August 9, 2011
 
The 2 stars are for the good graphics and some ok puzzles/HO The rest is really a turn-off: Bad hint (tell you what to do generally but don't say how or point to action scene); the sudden transform scene (bugs with run down building) is nice but made me says WTH for 10 minutes just to find out I need to click a "something" on the phone; crash at the scene where he stops at the crossroads, I found the stuff Berkovich (or whatever) asked for, but the story won't move, won't let me interact with the car's wheel, and if I open the phone again, it will repeat the request. So I gave up. Just pass this one at once.
2Funny | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
I have cleared this game through 2 story lines (1. basement - lakeside 2. drive back to father's home) and love this game world. First I was quite at a loss because Hints didn't help me at all except HO scenes. (Thanks to the forum to find a flower pot and the door handle! ) And to my regret I could not solve one mini game(medicine), but I enjoyed this challenging game very much. If Hints were appropriate, this game would be much welcomed by more gamers.
GroomerGirl | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
Like some others here, i deleted the game after spending too long trying to find the door handle. The help button is useless unless you're in a HO scene, and I only made it to one of those before I deleted it. WAY too frustrating.
vonda | Added on: August 22, 2011
 
It was like so many other games...it didn't feel original at all. Even the graphics were sub-par. Don't waste your time on it
Jaguarpurrr | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
You have to think about what you r doing and that is all well and good but, at the second door old code *104*967208# changed by 3_6_3%#3 ?????? What the heck is that. Makes no sense. Graphics are great but hint not so much. All it does is tell you what you just did. DOH!!!
Tayotae | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
This game has good graphics, but no directions. I found myself lost on father's apartment. Oh well.
DXA1 | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
Don't bother with this game. Took me forever to get out of the car, and once I was in the apartment, my frustration level topped out. I love HOG's but this one needs some more fine tuning.
wendyrx | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
I think this game has the potential to be aMAZing.... but until the bugs that others have mentioned have been worked out.... I don't suggest trying it yet. I'm going to keep on trying.... maybe i'll get thru it... we'll see... I REALLY WANT to like this.... I'll post again if I finish it. Or if I start considering hanging myself. lol
formerly_thin | Added on: September 2, 2011
 
This game is not very enjoyable to play. The frustration level is great and clues are less than helpful. Sometimes it works and sometimes not--I keep turning it off and on trying to make it play smoother. I'm pretty sorry I used one of my Fun Passes to get it. The folks at Brabl need to go back to the drawing board.
PipCat | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
I try very hard to give a game a chance to prove itself but after spending an hour whirling around in circles trying to find the handle to the door I exited this debacle and deleted it. I can find no redeeming qualities in this one and suggest you skip over it and try one of the other exceptional games that Gamehouse has to offer.
Jazz | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
I do not recommend this game. It kept looping and sometimes bounced ahead. I had to continually exit the game in order for the loop to correct itself. The hints are fairly useless and there seems to be no rhyme or reason to the locations, and puzzles. Skip this one.
VforVictoria | Added on: August 8, 2011
 
It looks like it could be a good game, but then you start to play and it's one of the more irritating kind where even the hints say what you already know and give you no help, and the back and forth directions is frustrating to me. Your suppose to guess what to do, which is fine but not when it gets so frustrating to do simple tasks. Just didn't want to complete my free trial.
carol52 | Added on: September 9, 2011
 
enjoyable game although a bit slow at times between screens.