The Jolly Gang's Misadventures in AfricaThe Jolly Gang's Misadventures in Africa
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Jolly Gang's Misadventures in Africa
Vianna7uk | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I played all the way through the game and found it very strange, it isn't like some others of this type where you can just click your way through and win, you need to think about what to do and the hints do not give the solution on a plate. Alot of the game is easy if you sit and think about it, but the story is very strange and doesn't really make sense in places. However I did enjoy it, if you have funpass it is worth while to pass away an afternoon or 2 depending on how good you are but not worth buying. One hint is keep a piece of paper next to you as there are a few clues that you need to note down the solution from another part of the scene.
NHCaregiver | Added on: November 8, 2011
 
This game was really stupid I did not find that it was a HOG it was more like time management game. I am so glad I did not pay for this game.
Hillbilly_Gal | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
I'm a 57 year old mother & grandmother of 17 children & 12 grandchildren. I play computer games to relax. This game literally puts me to sleep & would be a great cure for insomnia. I looked at the pics of the game that game me the impression this game was going to be stupid but I tried it with my Fun Pass because sometimes looks are deceiving. Nope, looks are not deceiving in this case. For me, this game was stupid, boring, and other unmentionable adjectives that are not in my vocabulary. In other words the best place for this game is buried at the very bottom of an enormously deep livestock manure pit. Everything is in full view, there is no challenge to this game whatsoever, just stupid little tasks like finding a key that is in plain sight on the floor, unlocking the desk drawer, going into the kitchen, getting out 2 eggs, cracking them into the skillet on the stove, etc. My 5 year old granddaughter told me "This game is stupid, Grandma. Even my 2-1/2 month old little sister could solve this game." That's a bit of an exaggeration but isn't far from the truth, unfortunately. Unless you're a person who gets a laugh from extreme stupidity or you're looking for a cure for insomnia without the use of medications, don't bother buying this game ... you'll only be throwing your money away.
covingtonmom | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
I had to stop playing this game becuase I was so sick of remarks such as "If I used even one of my brain cells, I could do better than that!" Is that supposed to be funny? I'm a grown adult, but I can't help thinking of kids playing this and thinking it's okay to use this on their friends,etc. The game itself wasn't great anyway - way too unfocused and lots of going back and forth to find one thing only to have to return for something else.
66mustangsally | Added on: November 9, 2011
 
I strongly agree with the reviews of other members (hillbilly_gal: we are totally on the same page!). I, too, am over 50 and play these games to relax. But this game was so boring that I was falling asleep. I played the game for 10 minutes and couldn't stand it any longer. The graphics were very strange, I barely had time to read the extensive dialogue before it clicked to the next frame, and what in the heck was that weird language they were trying to speak. I'm afraid I can't say much else for this game since I didn't play it for long. But it is nothing I would recommend.
rawrz | Added on: September 24, 2012
 
I agree with what a lot of the other reviewers had to say. This game was confusing, boring, and frustrating. I'm generally pretty good at figuring out clues in HOGs. However, this game made no sense to me. Things you were searching for were always hidden in random locations, and there was no way to know where you should be looking. This just made the game quite dull, because I really had no strategy I could use besides just wildly clicking everywhere and hoping that I found something useful. There are so many other HOGs out there, try a different one. (If you want something cute and whimsical, the Scruffs is a good option!)
YonnyP | Added on: November 9, 2011
 
this game was very disappointing. i wouldn't waste my money or game credit on the full version
devi | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
I don't know what to say about this game. Played for about an hour and was more amused with the strange insect language (which sounded like Russian on helium). Decided to play more the following day but nothing saved. The thought of having to do over was more than I could bear. Still trying to find Africa in all of this.
Tayotae | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
This game is for the children in the house. The graphics are in cartoon form and appear simply to an adult.
Jodie23i | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
I wasnt going to download this game as I thought it was for kids (it is lol), im glad I did as it was really good, its quite challenging but REALLY fun.........the only thing I didnt get is why the characters speak in a foreign language???? I went to download the other Jolly Gang game and am gutted as its only for the mac :(.... Very much enjoyed this game
infinity | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
The game sounds like fun -- it's just nothing like the game I played during the free trial. I never got out of a house/yard setting and never got to Africa. Really liked the cartoon-style of artwork. Oddly, shortly into the game, the characters started speaking aloud in a language other than English, which was surprising as they hadn't talked previously, and never did again, just dialogue bubbles on the screen. I found the game to be a lot of clicking around the screen trying to figure out what to do. The hints don't really tell you much of anything, other than to show you a location to go to next. Sometimes, the mouse pointer changes into a magnifying glass to tell you that finally something may be helpful, but once you click on the indicated location, you still have to figure out what it is you are supposed to find there. So you keep clicking to see what flies into your inventory of tools. There's a lot of moving back and forth from one area to another doing small (and sometimes pointless) things, all of which consumed my trial period. None of these activities had anything to do with going to Africa, nor followed a storyline to help me figure out what to do next. This is more of a scavenger hunt than a traditional hidden object game: entertaining if you have the right mindset to figure it out.
calliope54 | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
I agree with the other reviews. I downloaded this game and only played for about 20 minutes. Couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do. Ask for a hint and you would just be directed to another area without a clue what to do. Felt like I was going around in circles. Gave up and uninstalled the game.