The Island - CastawayThe Island - Castaway
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Island - Castaway
De1001 | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
I loved this game! It was challenging and fun. I was dissappointed when it ended and look forward to the sequel. I would like to play more games like this.
derekthedj | Added on: October 26, 2010
 
I'm rather surprised by the positive reviews (so far) as the more I played The Island - Castaway the more I despised it. You play the soap opera star caricature and your job is to run around and do everything other people tell you to do. Seriously, that's all you're doing in this game. "Go find this", "Go look for these items", "Go cook these meals". Meanwhile nobody else does anything except sit around and bark out orders. Where's the fun in that? Usually I don't care about voice acting that much but it's cringeworthy in this game. Perhaps a child will enjoy this game since it involves doing little else than following directions. Still, I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone.
Smiley5 | Added on: April 29, 2012
 
I really enjoyed the story line and side stories to this game, but I was really disappointed with the graphics in a few spots. The opening screens were really messed up, and the caves always had black lines through them. Other than that, it was a great game. I really couldn't recommend buying though because of the glitches I had.
PureJoy | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
It was nice to find a different type of game than what I had been able to find to play. If you get stuck at any time I found a nice website that will help you out. http://www.casualgameguides.com/games/guide/game_guide.cfm/The_Island_Castaway-Walkthrough/Cheats-1/game_id-4927/
kwilks56 | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
Totally fun. I love HOG but this was not anything like that. It wasn't like a time management game either. This was like a role playing game. I completely enjoyed this and will look for more games like it.
crankviperette | Added on: April 8, 2011
 
I really liked the game, it was fun. The only thing I was disappointed in was about the time I really started to get into it, it was over. That was a bummer.
MARKAN | Added on: March 24, 2013
 
Love this game It allows a person to do multiple tasks in any order they wish. You are not locked down to do a task, finish it then do the next and so on. there is a lot you can do just to relax and enjoy. What I did not like: the fruit trees could have been a bit more abundant throughout the islands. On whole this game was tons of fun for me and I've played it several times since I bought it just wish there were more games like it. I've got number 2 and cannot wait for the 3rd one! Also got the promised land which is like this one in not being nailed down to do a task then move to next one those are so boring! If anyone knows of more games like these 1&2 island castaway and promised land do let me know
laura2 | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
This game reminds me of wandering willows but not as cute and slower paced. The running around got tedious. Also, after constantly saying it was autosaving, I've managed to lose my whole game so I have to start over. I'm not sure I have the patience for that. I didn't dislike this game, but it could have been better.
Hezzie | Added on: January 27, 2012
 
Fun and interesting. A nice change from all the point and click games out there.
NawtiAngel | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
You have to be in a very relaxed mood and like adventure ganes. I personally really liked this game. I enjoyed collecting all the items laying around everywhere and finding rares . And adventuring round from place to place. I am waiting for champter 2
Cloverods | Added on: January 17, 2012
 
This was my first venture outside the time management genre, and I was so delighted! I've since searched for other games in this style, and been disappointed. The story is exciting and moves a long nicely. I love how all aspects of the game, such as cooking, hunting, and collecting pearls all ties in nicely. I loved the character development, and I have played this game through from beginning to end more than once, enjoying it every time. I found it challenging in parts, but was able to figure it out, which made it all the more fun. The graphics are decent, and appealing to the eye. I enjoyed the voice actors and just had a great time playing. You can play it all the way through in one sitting, but it'd be quite the marathon. I highly recommend giving this game a try. I wish there were many more!
tiny17701 | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
Even though you can't get the others to do anything, this game keeps it interesting and is certainly re-playable.
greolivtre | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
This game is a combination simulation like virtual villagers and finding objects, some of which are hidden, as well as a mini drama to solve. There is only one character to control who does all the work, cooking, growing food, hunting, building and finding things. The game is very engaging and kept my attention to the last, in fact so absorbing that I kept riveted to it as long as I could each day. It took several days to finish. A very good and satisfying game!
wsbayless | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
More like an addictive book than a game but is worth the time. Entertaining enough to keep your attention but replay is non existant.
laurencairns | Added on: December 16, 2010
 
I'm normally a TM player but decided to give this game a go based on all the great reviews and it didn't disappoint. I found the game really interesting and it was quite involved. I bought this game as the free trial didn't give enough time to enjoy the game. The only disappointing element with this game was the ending - I'm assuming they ended it that way so they can create a sequel. Well worth giving it a go.
eprn2005 | Added on: December 22, 2011
 
This is a fun game to play when you don't want to have to think or search or solve puzzles. The hero has to do a lot of 'running around' though that gets tiresome, and it's time consuming. Would like to have a button that would move him from one spot to another on some occasions. But most of the time, that running around is useful for picking up items from the Island.
KimmieKat | Added on: October 27, 2010
 
I thought it was a great game. You do a lot of running around and clicking, but the story and the missions are original and engaging. Yes, the other characters are lazy and you do all the work, but it's a game. Not real life. The game would be boring if the others did the work. The point is to finish the missions. I nice relaxing game.
jumpy0099 | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
My boys (ages 9- almost 6 years ole) loved this game. I thought it was pretty fun but did not like the ending. "To be continued" is fine, as long as I can find the next game it's continued on - but I didn't see it. Overall a fun game - interesting for the kids, nice story line, decent graphics, and although a bit repetitive - you can do well if you think a bit! Thanks!
JayP | Added on: November 16, 2010
 
I got this game because another reviewer mentioned that it was good for those who enjoy Virtual Villager games, and I have to say, it did not disappoint! It's a lot more straight forward than VV and has direct tasks that are usually pretty well explained. There were a lot of fun things thrown into it including hunting, fishing, farming and exploring. Enough variety to keep you from ever getting bored. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this game, my only complaint is that I wish it had been longer! The ending was a bit sudden, but made it clear that there (should) be a sequel, so Yay!
HarshMelon | Added on: November 2, 2010
 
Considering this was a downloaded game and not one bought on CD-ROM, I think this was pretty good! I definitely got into the one-more-task mentality, and stayed up way past my bedtime as I went through the game. Once a task is completed, a new one is immediately introduced, so there is not a lot of random wandering around. There is a lot of running around, though, fulfilling everyone's wish. My biggest problem with the game was the abrupt ending, and the fact that the final chapter was almost entirely cut scenes. It felt like the game designers got tired of programming at that point, and just made the end run itself. All in all, a satisfying game, very addictive, and reasonably challenging.
Smedley | Added on: April 11, 2011
 
This is the best Action Game i've palyed here at Gamehouse! Hours of fun; addictive, time just flies when you get into the plot, the strategy, and trying to do all there is to do! The only shortcomings were: 1) The initial audio quality and accents of the characters - this gets better quickly, so don't quit because of it. 2) The ending is frustrating - it leads right into a sequel without bringing the plot to closure. 3) You may fall into a hole and run around aimlessly - just persevere. You need to spend/trade wisely. 4.) Wish there was a record of scores for game. Also, seems you can only win silver trophy for exploring island. Hints: upgrade inventory bag to highest level ASAP; then do same for bow, axe, fishing rod, and shovel. Stock up on herbs needed for potion - you can't have enough of this important resource! The fuki plant is good to stock as the game progresses, you can't trade for it at the village. Trade/harvest it while you can! Make plenty of arrows - good for hunting boar and snakes! (Buy em at village if you must). Notice which meals give most energy, and plan accordingly. Great game with kids or for us kids at heart!
vickster_castle | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
Good game...couldn't stop playing until I finished it. Felt a little letdown, but looking forward to the sequel
debofme | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
I loved this game. It was unique, fun and involved. Ihave to say it was one of the most enjoyable games I've played in a long time. Its kinda like Virtual Villagers but not virtual. The story line was great, flowed along smoothly and held my interest as to what was going to happen next. I recommend it to anyone but kids as there are a few adult parts to the story. Very subdued but there none the less.
Siss | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
More games like this one !!! Can't wait for the sequel....
Janelle | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
This game is a BLAST to play! It is Quest oriented(which I LOVE) adventure, and resource gathering. It's cool that our hero is a young Clint Eastwood look alike,too,LOL! This is also a very long game which will take quite a few hours to finish. IMHO the gameplay of this is the closest there is to Wandering Willows,which is also HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Do yourself and all family members a favor and get both of these. :)
Vaichick | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
This game did not require "genius" to play, but you had to think in order to get to the next level. You had to be aware of the time constantly or restart a level because you "died". Really fun game you'll want to replay even after you'd gotten to the end. I bought the game after I'd finished the entire game twice!
faraowla | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
I love this game, because it really does make you feel that you are a castaway trying to survive. Hunting, fishing, gardening and cooking are all activities involved with the game. Great game
discmom | Added on: January 24, 2011
 
Good way to pass the time. Thinky enough, but not so hard that you get a headache.
mikesqtpie | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game. I found it to be very addictive. I can't wait for the next episode.
rendur | Added on: October 7, 2011
 
I found this game to be highly addictive. I didn't even wait for the trial to end before I bought it which is a first for me! It was like reading a book in which I was teleported into it & became the lead character. So I guess you could think of it as a RP game but without the extreme violence & darker side that most of them have. Yes, it is task/quest oriented but they are easy to understand & as soon as 1 finishes another begins. Since there is no randomization, each play of the game is the same (bummer!). The ending is an anouncement to a sequel which is supposed to be out "very soon now." Will I buy it? You bet!!!!!!!
cookee1010 | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
Really enjoyed this game and wish it had been longer. Admittedly I didn't have to think at any point during this game as a character would always translate out what I needed to do next but for something that was different, involved "doing stuff" and had a plot I thought this was really good.
xenutia | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
This is a really great game. It's a bit like 'Lost' without the high body count! Tom, the hero of the piece, seems to be a one man survival team, and has to keep the whole camp running, using ingenuity, skill and sheer hard work. I do wonder why Tom puts up with the rest of the survivors, who for the most part stand around playing with their yo-yos, but it's a cracking game. It does take some skill and patience performing tasks like catching fish; trapping crabs; making arrows and shooting snakes, but it's really enjoyable. There is also a mystery element to the game, with a mysterious witch doctor and the riddle of the island to solve as well. Great graphics, nice smooth game play, good characterization. A well designed game all round. I'm totally addicted and really love this game. Very highly recommended.
KittyKibitzer | Added on: October 7, 2011
 
Something Different. This game is a nice relaxing experience away from the general time management games I usually enjoy. The idea is simple but the story is well written drawing you into the characters plight.
PRETZEL49 | Added on: November 2, 2010
 
I LIKED THIS GAME, WHAT A TEASE! I CAN HARDLY WAIT FOR PT 2! HURRY UP!
PipCat | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
I just could not get into this one. I found running around an island picking up various items tedious and boring. I'm also not very adept at the arcade portions of the game, i.e. trying to catch fish, which probably contributed to my not being very fond of this one. Played for about an hour and wasn't interested enough to find out what the end game was all about.
karronlou | Added on: February 3, 2011
 
I love playing this game. Played it twice already. Can't wait for part 2, must have something to do with the ghost ship. Please hurry with it.
Bauro | Added on: November 11, 2010
 
Once you start it is difficult to stop. Tasks flow fairly seamlessly making an enjoyable gaming experience. Not a particularly difficult game with fairly easy challenges - mostly collecting enough of a variety of items to whip up the various recipes you need to complete tasks. Definitely recommend this game to those who enjoy Virtual Villagers and similar games.
DarkChylde | Added on: October 29, 2010
 
Sorry, but after 20 minutes of play, I uninstalled the game. I'm surprised I lasted that long. I kept thinking it would get better, but it didn't. Boring and tedious to say the least. A blurry opening sequence and cheesy cartoonish animation did not draw me in. All you do is run around the island doing tasks that everyone else tells you to do because they're lazy. You have to collect food as you go, because your energy level steadily drops with all running around. I don't usually rate games with one star, as there are usually some redeeming qualities I find, but unfortunately, there wasn't with this game. Sorry ..... I felt it is a total bust.