The Great TreeThe Great Tree
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Great Tree
GameDancer | Added on: December 25, 2011
 
The Great Tree certainly deserves the 2008 Innovative Game of the Year reward! Once again the creators at Reflexive have given us phenomenal graphics & a unique game playing experience, great story line & beautiful music & sound. Saving the Great Tree from extinction, you take on the persona as the only faery left to battle the invasion of the insects destroying the tree while dealing with treachery from a certain elder faery. Wonderful power ups to gain your magic, agility, strength & health while harvesting pollen to release the much needed swee who nurture the Great Tree. You make the choice of what ability you need the most first and you also make the choice of which faery wings to wear to destroy the invading insects as the game becomes more challenging. Explore this magical adventure...A FANTASTIC game for the entire family!
derekthedj | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
The game itself is fun, for what it does. It's a simple game involving a faerie who needs to fly around the screen collecting pollen for the Great Tree. As you do this, a backstory unfolds of creatures being captured, possible treachery and so on. As you collect pollen, you start to develop a long ponytail. When it gets long enough, a sound prompt lets you know you have collected the maximum you are able. When maxed out you can then attack the various other creatures flying about which increases your score. Otherwise you need to avoid them or you'll lose your pollen and health until you've lost a life. As you advance in levels, you earn points you can spend on improving your strength, health, agility, and magic power. You also earn special "wings" of various colors you can use to assist in various ways depending on which wings you choose to use. The game itself is rather unique and the faerie you control responds well to your mouse movements. The background song, while repetitive after a while, is still catchy and pleasant to listen to. It's a nice change of pace from the standard HO & TM titles.
seattlegamer | Added on: October 14, 2009
 
Beautiful artwork and storyline but boring activity. Just involves tracking a pattern with your mouse. Sorry, can't recommend this one.
patch225 | Added on: March 13, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game very much. The graphics are beautiful and the story is interesting without rambling on. I found the higher levels hard but not impossible to complete. I have not replayed the game yet but I am sure I will.
Cafalonia | Added on: March 24, 2010
 
I'm not usually into these kinds of games (More a "hidden object" or "match 3"-kinda person) but this one really got me. Replayed 3 times and love it! Great visuals, rising challenges and fun to play!
ariche | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
This is the greatest game I have ever played. I first tried it when it was a new release and have played it several times since. Great time management game with amazing graphics. It gets hard as you progress through the game however it is not too hard to beat. I frequently look for other games like it and none of them are!!
themargenaus | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
OMG... I have many, many games and this one tops as one of my favorite! If you like submerging yourself into a fantasy world of beautiful botanical intreague with magical music and an interesting story line... this is your game. I duno who gave it one star, he must like more of the bang-um-bust-um firearms type stuff... but this game is very sweet and my children love playing it too... It is just challenging enough so that they play is still exciting in this relaxing world... 10 stars!
cat_in_rv | Added on: August 12, 2013
 
Somehow I missed this game when it originally came out, but I'm sure glad I found it now. As the daughter of one of the elders of the faeries known as The Wren, it falls to you to save your species from the Ixxies, a group once part of your own but who went their own way and were twisted by dark magic. The Great Tree, which sustains the life of your people, feeds off magic pollen dust. So to sustain the tree, you must collect enough pollen to keep the Great Tree going until the prophesied Great Descent, when the roots of the tree will plunge deeply into the ground and it will be able to sustain itself. The pollen falls all around you, but there are any hazards, including flying insects, plants dripping poison, frogs and lizards darting their tongues out toward you, and especially spiders, waiting for you to be caught in their strands. As you progress through the levels, there are more and more hazards. But the story unfolds along the way, as your mother keeps you informed of what is happening. So you have a fascinating story as well as pretty tricky levels to traverse before you finish your quest. The graphics are great, and the music is pleasant, although repetitive. This is a wonderfully unique game and one no gamer should miss.
30515842 | Added on: May 29, 2013
 
Awesome
winspirit | Added on: August 31, 2009
 
Stunning graphics, captivating gameplay and animated storyline makes this so much more than just a pc game, it's an adventure. The object is simple enough to make gameplay relaxing with just enough challenge to keep me coming back for more, even AFTER completing all the levels. Your job is to collect pollen (those tiny, brightly colored orbs that drift on and off the screen) and release the swee from their spell while avoiding the creatures that increase in number, agility and threat as you advance further in the game. Release enough swee and earn stars to increase your own agility; health; strength and magic. The graphics are the best I've ever seen in any pc game, eyes that are so animated they follow your every move and the frogs, amazing, they adjust their footing to prepare for your approach, it's truly remarkable...they look so real! How'd they do it? So, what are you waiting for? Download this game and experience the adventure for yourself!
coloradokid789 | Added on: April 14, 2011
 
THIS GAME IS PROBABLY THE MOST ADDICTIVE GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED. THE GRAPHICS ARE COOL. THE GAME ITSELF EVEN WITHOUT THE STORY IS EAST TO FIGURE OUT. IT'S NOT THE MOST STRESS FREE GAME I'VE EVER KNOWN BUT THAT'S THE POINT. IT WOULDN'T FASCINATE IF IT DIDN'T CAPTIVATE. IN SHORT, IF YOU LIKE ACTION GAMES WITH PLENTY OF SURPRISES HERE IT IS.
1188 | Added on: September 16, 2010
 
This keeps you on your toes - is fast paced and fun to play