The GiftThe Gift
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Gift
Summer | Added on: November 20, 2012
 
Somewhat surprising for this usually excellent developer. This offering was fairly weak. While the story seemed interesting (although *heavily* occultic, many would not care for that, the main character is a sort of psychic who actually casts spells later in the game, although the game calls them "rituals") it was also disjointed and confusing. There were so many elements that didn't make sense, which makes it ultimately disappointing- the end doesn't really explain anything. I felt like I had more questions than when I started. The game played well but it often wasn't clear what to do or where to go next to continue the story, so I had to make heavy use of the hint to show me what direction or what building to go to next. Making the "antidote" was very confusing- I did most of it by accident, just trying things; and I couldn't understand why procedures you knew needed to be done couldn't be done yet. Some parts seemed to be transparent busy work. The puzzles (including some that weren't mini-games) don't do a good job of providing instructions. The pros- The HO scenes themselves were fairly good, clear, and not impossibly tiny, the art has a pleasing comic book look and it doesn't have the horrible English grammar and spelling so common in these HO games, so it was nicely playable, when you knew where to go. It has what all these games need - the ability to skip puzzles, no timer to get in the way of immersion, and unlimited hints, and you can choose long or short hint recharge at the start of the game. The length seems about right, or at least, as long as I wanted spend being confused. Just if you are really wanting a story to make sense, this isn't it. Not only the overall plot but also some technical details tend to be illogical. It was rather funny that in a story seemingly set in the 1940's or so the dialog mentions an "email" being sent, (although the actual message was through some kind of code machine). The term email was coined in 1978!
kindredspirit816 | Added on: November 20, 2012
 
This is a game about an ex detective, now psychic trying to solve a case where people are dying of causes unknown but always have a mark on them. It lasted several hours and was very enjoyable. I didn't listen to the music because I never do, but graphics were good. The Hidden Object scenes were visted more than once and they were fairly easy with nothing being too small or too hidden but yet still allowing some challenge. The puzzles were not too complex. Definitely recommend this game.
beamer | Added on: November 20, 2012
 
Even if you like a very challenging game this one left you feeling stupid.It had you doing things that you would have never imagined.I found myself hitting the hint button all the time.At one point you have to open this cellar door only to find you needed a mop and red paint to put an x on the doors.And in no way shape or form would you have come to this decision without the hint button.I dont want to spoil anything else for those of you who want to play this game but,this game does not follow a logical path. I have never written any reviews before but this game ticked me off. I have played 100's of these types of games and this is the first time I have said to myself (many times during the game) "this game is sooo stupid". I am a funpasser so its not money wasted.I would say do the trial just to see if you're saying this to yourself. Sort of frustrating. UUUGGGHHHH.
Cinella | Added on: November 27, 2012
 
The game has an interesting storyline with a good ending. It has good music, good choice of voices and lots of HOs. However, some of the items in the HOs are very hard to find and others are named incorrectly. The Hint button takes a very long time to refill. But, it will point you in the right direction without depleting. A few mini-games are also included and you can skip them if you don’t have the patience to solve them. The one thing that most annoyed me was that the sound tracks kept being muted – one day there was music and voices, the next day nada. I just can’t explain it!
flaca | Added on: November 22, 2012
 
Although the game was fun... I had to skip some mini games. Used alot the hint button bc I got lost sometimes. The story was weird. But I had to love her southern accent. They did great there. It was highly entertaining the voice acting. The story was kinda strange but the game as a whole got a 4 stars not quite the 5 bc the story was just unclear sometimes. I recommend it.
starblossom | Added on: November 20, 2012
 
I love hidden object games but the constant horror/scary theme gets old. I was happy to see a game that was more of a mystery/detective game with a hint of occult thrown it to make it interesting. I played the easier mode because there are quite a few mini games which I'm terrible at, but they were not so difficult that you couldn't do it on the harder game-mode. Definitely a game to try out, I'm sure you'll want to finish like I did.
Coby | Added on: March 24, 2013
 
This game doesn't seem to have a definite direction in mind, which makes game play a bit hit or miss; hints are limited so at times it is difficult to tell is a scene is complete or not.
devi | Added on: November 20, 2012
 
Although short, this was a delightful game. Loved the graphics and the characters. Just the right amount of HO and mini games. A high reco from me.
anneatplay | Added on: November 21, 2012
 
This game was nice and long with no lack of things to do. However the logic of much it eluded me and I had to use a lot of hints. The minigames had no direction and even when I figured out what to do with them, they were stubborn - (especially moving the red and blue cards in the endgame.) The HOs were easy and quite clear, with the same objects repeatedly used scene to scene. That's OK with me, I hate the blurry-eyed stuff some games put you through. Some of the tasks frankly made no sense and I wouldn't have figured them out without hints (such as, why would the communicator suddenly be a tool to disable the robot??) I gave most of its points for complexity and a lot of scenes to move through and, like a diehard football fan, I'll cheer for Alawar even when they don't give me their best game.
Maineiac | Added on: November 29, 2012
 
I found the game was very entertaining. Some of the minigames would have benefitted from better instructions. The story line was good, but somewhat disjointed. The HO screens were well rendered. Overall: Worth the purchase.
redaf | Added on: November 22, 2012
 
All in all it was an alright game that kept me going til the end to see how everything came out. Never really understood why the villain was in his own house as an asylum patient or his ultimate goal, maybe setting up for a sequel? In any case I was happy to play it with my game pass, but probably not on my purchase list.
roxy8279 | Added on: February 10, 2013
 
Just remember what the task is or you have to click on the hint button until you get to where you need to be.
stuff4tt | Added on: November 28, 2012
 
This is a fun hidden object game. Keeps you interested until the end.
Daffy14s | Added on: December 15, 2012
 
I enjoyed this game, doesn't look like much at first but once you start it the story line sucks you into it. Items not super hard to find in the hidden object parts. I kept coming back till i finally finished this to find out the story's conclusion, i would recommend to anyone who loves these types of games:)
jkjennings | Added on: November 22, 2012
 
This game isn't up to Alawar standards. It's extremely clicky, and the story is hard to follow so you don't remember some rhyme you saw earlier that means later on you are supposed to mix ashes and blood. The puzzles have no instructions - you have to figure out what to do, and in frustration, I often skipped them. Had to use the help button often because you have no idea where to go next. If you love HOG's, don't bother with this one.
jt16v | Added on: November 19, 2012
 
Fun, but the story make it more complicated than a standard hidden object game to me.
emi1 | Added on: December 17, 2012
 
i could not get in to this game. jst a typical HOG. nothing to write home about. sorry guys.
Yvonne66 | Added on: December 7, 2012
 
Nice game, I had to use the hint button a couple of times to see what to do next, so I liked the challenge. The HO's were not thát difficult, but fun (esp the red ones). First played the trial, then bought it after reading the reviews. No regrets there, wonder when the next chapter will come?
tamryn | Added on: November 20, 2012
 
Alawar never disappoints me and this game was as I expected! Knowing that I can get as much help as I want....makes me try harder to figure things out on my own. I loved the women's voice over & the graphics are clean & crisp. I liked that the hidden objects were pretty easy to find so I could get on with solving the puzzles etc. without being left with eye strain. Games with junkpiles & faded items in the background - just not fun for me.
gamermom01 | Added on: November 22, 2012
 
Too much going back and forth between screens. hard to follow story
hasbeen | Added on: November 25, 2012
 
After about 20 minutes I'm getting bored. I've had to rely on Hint (which is slow to recharge) way too much to get around this game. Potential is there - just too wordy and boring.
pras | Added on: November 25, 2012
 
I wanted to like this game but somebody lost the plot and I don't think it was me. I very rarely skip minigames but I skipped two on this one. In both cases it was because I could not work out what you were supposed to do. The minigames I could understand were good. There is quite a lot of going back and forth from place to place and figuring out what to do next with what you have. In summary, a pleasant way to pass an evening if you can ignore the sometimes surreal story.