The Fifth GateThe Fifth Gate
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Fifth Gate
Kimberreally | Added on: August 13, 2010
 
Quick paced, with different challenges, a definite replay.
silkbunnygrad | Added on: August 18, 2010
 
I think the game was fun went by quickly. It was a lot of clicking but i think that it had a good story line and it was definately original. I liked it and enjoyed the game.
emi1 | Added on: August 25, 2010
 
WOW!!!!! i love this game-TM games are my very favorite. growing flowers is one of my favorite kinds of TM games. this game is so colorful-beautiful. the bugs pokeing their eyes out of the ground was too funny-clicking on them while they were still in the ground got me more coins. making the potions was fun-the bottles were pretty. the one thing that got kinda annoying was the sounds that were made every time i picked a flower. other than that, i say this is definately a game to buy, and spend hrs and hrs playing over and over. thanx, Gamehouse!!
jacksparrow1031 | Added on: August 16, 2010
 
This is a terrific game! I love everything about it. At first I had some trouble figuring out how to work the flowers and spells since I usually don't play time management games but once I got the hang of it I took off with it. Love the little critters too!
faye1 | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
I enjoyed the game. It was challenging trying to kill all of the bugs and keeping the plants watered while getting the right plants to make the right potions.
girl | Added on: August 13, 2010
 
I bought this game and I like it - it's a good replay too. The goals are achievable and the graphics are pretty. It's fun. It's a VERY clicky game so be sure you are ready for that. Also, be sure to keep the flowers healthy otherwise you will have to buy a new plant and you won't be able to make some advanced potions without plants that have been around and have upgraded themselves. A BIG tip - have more than enough water!!!!!!! Be sure to sell potions and extra flowers to earn enough water to upgrade you water jug. You run out of water and your plants die FAST.
Minxski | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
I really liked this game, the graphics are beautiful and the bugs really realistic (which made me itch ~ wahhhh) You grow flowers and make potions, whilst fending off bugs. You get really nice power ups, like potions that collect all the flowers and specialist flowers like bug attracting flowers. My favourites were the watering potion and the power up flower. The game is fast paced and you get expert rating for finishing each quest within the days allotted, although there is no penalty for not completing it in time. The only thing that let this game down for me was there was no further play after the quests were done, so no free play etc. Which I thought was a shame, because I would of liked to play more and not just the same challenges. I think kids would love this game for the fairies, bugs and magic.
tstar | Added on: October 14, 2010
 
If you have ever played Magic Farm, you will see the similarities immediately (not sure which game came first, but they are both the same basic idea). I enjoyed this game as much as Magic Farm, but in different ways. First off, the powerups are better -- being able to harvest the entire garden in the higher levels is a must. The various critters that invade are sometimes challenging to remove, but there is technnology for that, too. I like that you can plant "helper" plants in addition to the potions -- it allows for some serious strategizing, which is the fun part for me. You get to make a lot of choices and take some risks that will either pay off -- or destroy the garden. No worries, though, since you can restart the level from where your garden was, take fewer risks, and still accomplish the goal. Some of the challenges are seriously easy, but I found that if you met a challenge early, you could simply close out the prompt and play one more day to build up resources, and still get the expert level. The only thing under-developed in this game is the story line -- you won't be going to any new places or returning to previous gardens for additional challenges. But it's worth a play anyway!
linda013151 | Added on: August 12, 2010
 
I was only going to play the hour-long trial on this game but ended up using my funticket to purchase it. It was so much fun and challenging to try and kill the bugs and keep the plants watered while getting just the right plants to make the right potions! I would highly recommend this game!
Annie8575 | Added on: August 30, 2010
 
Fairly straightforward TM game. You have to collect flowers to make potions. Not an original idea, but fun to play. I would have liked to have seen an open or "endless day" option the game, where you could just grow flowers and make potions without having to follow the quest. More upgrades would have been helpful, too. I would have liked to see the spellcaster available with three slots so all three spells could be used. Overall, fun to play. The game finishes quickly if you don't have to replay levels. If I didn't have the Funpass, I might have bought this one.
Aimless | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
This game is beautiful. Amazing graphics, unique design and addictive fun! This is very similar to Magic Farm but spruced up a lot. I'm trying to not complete it too soon. I'm having a hard time turning it off. Enjoy
pianokd | Added on: August 19, 2010
 
If you've played Magic Garden, this game will be very familiar and predictable, except it does not have extra or bonus quests like Magic Garden does. Also, while earlier tasks on each level are occasionally a little difficult to make expert on, by the end of each level I had several thousand coins in my till--which don't carry over to the next level.
RandiM | Added on: August 12, 2010
 
I just played the demo of this game, and I am totally going to buy it right off. I will go through a short list of all of the great stuff about it as I don't want to ruin the suprise of a new game for anyone who may read this. First, the graphics are absolutely beautiful. They are definitely my style, and what I am attracted to in games. They are just stunning, there's no other word for it. Second, It is extreamly fast paced and a lot of the time it's challenging to get an expert goal, which is awesome. You have to do challenges and collect and plant flowers to make potions to complete a lot of the challenges, and you are given a set number of days (which each day is equal to 1 level) to complete them to get expert. There are a bunch of different levels for each section, which their are 5 sections. And every section is completely new and different and has different flowers, potions, and challenges. I won't say too much more, because I get annoyed when I read a review and someone completely ruins the game by explaining every detail. But, if you're reading this, just know that I am extreamly picky about the games I actually buy. I have played hundreds of demos on here and have only bought about 30 games. So, take it from me, if you are picky and you like a challenge, you will love this game. Try it out!
ljp2 | Added on: September 2, 2010
 
I played one gate at a time. It's fun to manage your garden so you have as much help as fast as you can.
MissRaven77 | Added on: August 18, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game. The concept of the garden is very skillfully done, & the quests are easy enough for a child to do, yet challenging enough for me to have some difficulty on the later ones. I say this is a good game for TM gamers.
Zola | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
This game is amazing. Without giving too many details, I will try to tell why. First, the graphics are wonderful. Second, it gets progressively more difficult each level while other games seem to jump from easy to impossible in one level. Third, the original storyline keeps you interested. Finally, it requires strategy to reach expert levels. It's not just a clicky, work until time runs out game. This is a best pick this year for me.
Jojoma | Added on: April 21, 2013
 
This is a straight-forward, simple TM. The graphics are very pretty and there is a bit of strategy to ponder. Once you have some of the power-ups, though, it becomes, almost too easy. There is a certain strategy that you can figure out, almost immediately and when you do, it becomes 'child's play' Unfortunately, too, there is no real replay value here. Once you have played it to the end, you have figured out the strategy and it becomes passé. A great game for just some easy, relaxing time management.
Lisa522 | Added on: September 17, 2010
 
Just finished the demo on this one. I do like it but I don't really see any time management aspects of it. It seems very arcade to me. The reason being - in time management, you are choosing where to applying your efforts. In this one, you are reacting to events and that's it. The graphics are beautiful in the game. The premise is unusual and works well, I think. The game certainly is challenging. What I didn't like is how difficult the game was right out of the starting gate. They give you super easy tutorial quest, then you're given quests where you are struggling just to have enough water to feed your plants and with quite a few bugs right off the bat. I keep thinking if this is level ONE, what is level 40 going to be like? LOL The game is pretty frustrating in the first several quests as you are no where near making the kind of money you really need to be just to sustain yourself. Then to see your plants die off. One thing I do NOT like is that you cannot enter the Potions/Refill Water screens during the course of the day. So if you start a day with not enough money for adequate water, then you've got to have all your plants die before you can get in there again to purchase more. Same with finishing the quests - you are maybe 1 flower short of the current quest potion you need but since you have to play out the entire day, your plants will all be dead (and need to be upgraded again- which can take 1+ days as they are by # of harvests) by the time you get in there again. By the end of the demo period, I seem to have gotten things better under control with the money situation but let me tell you, I was struggling to stay alive for awhile there. I will probably end up purchasing this game. I just hope the difficulty doesn't become so much that I'm unable to continue (or wanting to toss my computer out the window) a few levels in.
casheetz | Added on: August 26, 2010
 
This is a beautiful time management game. It keeps you hopping, and is really addictive.
sparkleannie | Added on: August 13, 2010
 
This is an excellent family game. Grow flowers and make them into potions to level up. You have to water the flowers, kill pests, and harvest blooms, with a new goal each level. This is a good family game because kids could play it without it getting too frustrating for them. It's fast-paced, but not frantic. I definitely recommend this game.
kylakitty | Added on: August 27, 2010
 
Pros: - Beautiful artwork and scenes - Just the right degree of challenge for experienced TM players - Love the insects that attack the plants - Flowers look very similar so it's a challenge to collect the right ones - Not the same old same old where you're serving food, working in a spa, tending a farm, etc. Cons: - Whew! A lot of rapid clicking! Well worth purchasing!!
delphinia | Added on: August 13, 2010
 
Fun and challenging at the same time - takes a little getting used to maneuvering, but then it is great!
lgrivett | Added on: August 27, 2010
 
This game was addictively fun but I played all levels and completed them at "expert" in one day. Great graphics and a fun game but a few more options would have made the game a better "deal".
mpennski | Added on: August 19, 2010
 
The game requires thought and planning as well as the clicking. The game also provides a variety of options defeat the "nasty insects" and supply enough water to maintain your garden. So, with the proper planning you will have less clicking. The game gets progressively more difficult rather than jumping from easy to difficult in one level as some games do. Definitely a game I will play mutliple times.
jmc8511 | Added on: August 26, 2010
 
i finished all the levels in one day! couldn't stop playing. it wasn't a difficult game but i definitely enjoyed making the potions.. wish they were real :o)
OceanSoul71 | Added on: August 20, 2010
 
I've been looking for a few days, and began to think I wasn't going to be able to find a TM game with a new and refreshing scene. I was wrong. This game caught my attention from the start and kept me coming back. As with most TM games, the decisions involved{How much to spend & which upgrades to go with, ect, ect} were about the same, however, I liked that I had alot more choices with this kind of format in TM.
hankysis3 | Added on: August 16, 2010
 
Now I know why I am not a bug lover... This is such a great game. You do have to balance the need for water, with how many plants, and what kind of plants based on the quest that is given. I played the entire first 5 gates without stopping, as it was so enjoyable.
araleith | Added on: August 13, 2010
 
I often find that time management games get really hard really quickly, but tis one ramps up nice and slowly, so you don't feel overwhelmed. Each level has a different goal, which vary from earning money to collecting flowers to making potions, which is a nice change from just slogging through customers over and over again. The upgrades are fun and interesting, the game has awesome challenges, and it is something that kids could easily pick up and enjoy. :)
DarkChylde | Added on: September 27, 2010
 
This game, to me, is okay. I'm glad others enjoyed it more. The graphics are wonderful, which is one reason why I tried it out. What got me, from the very start, is it was very challenging to keep afloat. Not having enough money to buy the appropriate number or types of plants to make potions, and having enough water throughout the day so they don't die, which made it difficult. It wasn't long before I gave up. The levels should have started off easier in the beginning, so you can get used to the gameplay, then have it more challenging as the levels continue. Maybe I'll try it again soon.
librarylady | Added on: November 2, 2010
 
I love time management games and this one caught my eye with its great graphics. I also garden so that also caught my eye. My favorite time management game is Chocolatier and all of it's incarnations. 5th gate has many levels and gives a good bang for the buck.
tgamer | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
I read the good reviews, and thought I would give it a try. After the trial, I thought whether or not to purchase the game. I went ahead and got it and I'm glad that I did. The game got more interesting as I played and then found ways to save money and water. I don't like to get into the details of games, so I don't ruin it for others, but this game is all that it's made up to be. I have now finished each level with expert (after going back and replaying some levels) and now going for my last 2 medals.
evony75 | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
Fun game -- involved a lot of planning/strategy to get your garden set up for the potions/challenges but each day felt like endless clicking just to get through it.
mardee | Added on: August 19, 2010
 
The graphics are beautiful. The game is consuming and fun until I reached the gate where I could not find several items before the time ran out. There is no 'Hint" button to help locate items. It is no longer fun but very frustrating!