The ConjurerThe Conjurer
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Conjurer
DarkChylde | Added on: February 1, 2010
 
I think this game is original and I loved the premise. I do wish it was a little longer and the HO's more challenging, which is why I gave it a "4" and not a "5" star rating. I breezed through the game pretty fast, as most of the objects were easily found, with only a few better hidden. I loved the magic tricks at the end of each chapter and enjoyed reading the Conjurer's journal to find out how each one was done (via diagrams). I did find myself engrossed in the storyline and couldn't wait to see what happened at the end. Want something different? This is the game for you if you don't want something too challenging. THANKS!!!!!
J9Cleme | Added on: October 9, 2009
 
The illustrations/graphics are beautiful! I liked the storyline. I had to really think on a few of the puzzles... even skipped 2 because I just couldn't figure them out. The hidden pictures were fun, some of the items were a challenge to find. I liked the crystal ball that showed silouettes of the items if you needed a hint. All in all it was a great game. Glad I downloaded it!
faye1 | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
Graphics are not bad and the objects are not that hard to find. Kids will like this game. I would recommend this game.
queenofgames52 | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
I found this game a bit too easy and not challenging enough for my liking. A good game for kids. I just wish I hadn't spend my game ticket on it. Give me more challengening games GH!!!!!
fuschiagirl | Added on: October 22, 2009
 
I really loved the cutscenes but was bored out of my mind with the hidden object aspect of it. I couldn't finish it
Reviewer | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
Due to a competitive market, we see a lot of great games. “Marooned” comes to mind, the “Women’s Murder Club” series, “Mortimer Beckett” and many others. So it is a surprise to see a game such as “The Conjurer,” which is so abysmally awful that it is astounding. Nearly everything about this game speaks of hurried production or simple contempt for the game-playing public. But this comes from Freeze Tag Games, which produced “Can You See What I See,” the “Diner Dash” games and the “Build a Lot” games. So I vote for “hurried production” and “can’t afford quality control,” rather than contempt. I hope that in the future, they will dig a little deeper. Storyline. The story, in part, is this: The Con-man, sorry, Conjurer, is having bad luck. He suspects that a rival is out to get him. So he invites them all to his castle, claiming that he will give all his secrets to the one who is most worthy. Each one is to perform one magic trick to show his or her worthiness. So far, so good. But as the first magician finishes his act, he vanishes. Someone has stolen him away. And so the second: finishes, then disappears. But they keep on doing their acts! Would you want to be #3? They keep performing, keep vanishing and apparently, no one blinks an eye?! Other elements of this game are just as poor. Gameplay. For each magician, you’re given four rooms – the stage, the magician’s bedroom & two other rooms – in which you are supposed to find objects. Some of those objects are inventory items. When you have cleared those rooms, you then proceed to the stage and place the inventory items on the stage, using shadowed areas to let you know where to put the objects, just like the infant’s game where you put the shaped pegs into the correct hole. Apparently Freeze Tag forgot they were creating for adults? Worse is the next step. The magician appears (see “Animation” below) & you have to click on him or the objects around him to get the action to progress. But don’t worry, no thinking is involved – dots of light appear where you are supposed to click. Awesome – not. Graphics. The objects in this game come from two sources. Some are cut out of photographs, while others are drawn with a three-dimensional graphics program. Most of the latter are fine. Even great. Some are a little simple looking, but that’s not too much of a problem. On the other hand, most of the ones that have been cut out look really weird. They are outlined with purple, green or white, and some are tinged completely with those colors, so that a candlestick that is supposed to be gold, is purple instead. Very distracting. Very odd. Animation. Bad. Chunky. Animators should look at how real people move, rather than just make guesses. Puzzles. Simplistic. Mostly consisting a line of objects that you are supposed to drag onto other objects. No finesse or thinking required. Sound. Annoying. I turned off music within 20 seconds. I kept wanting to turn off the effects, also. Clunks when you find objects. Weird sounding, obviously canned applause and hooting during the magician’s performance. This game is a pass.
nanaberta | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I purchased this game because the demo seemed challenging. I liked the artwork, the objects were cleverly hidden, and the story seemed intriguing. The puzzles were thought provoking -- I assumed the game would continue to present harder challenges. I was disappointed that the game seemed to get easier as it progressed. the story and the magic tricks were an original twist. Not the worst game by far, but a bit unsatisfying and short.
seamus_mom | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
I loved the graphics, but the puzzles seemed pretty easy. The story was interesting too. The hidden objects were not too hard to find. I would love it if the graphics were as wonderful and the whole game was more challenging if there was a sequel.
gitapress | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
Graphics are beautiful, music nice, storyline intriguing. But the objects are too well hidden, some I didn't even know what they were, and I became frustrated in searching. I found the flashing light hints no help whatsoever. I never finished with the first magician because finding the objects took too long that the 60 minute time limit ran out. Perhaps with more time I would have enjoyed this game better.
Purplefeather | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
I'm really enjoying this game, haven't finish yet because I had to sleep some time LOL!! Good story line and great graphics!!
JGirl34 | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
I play a lot of hidden object games but this will be one of my favorites. I only played it once and I loved it! The colors are marvelous, very rich in detail and the objects are not too hard to find but are also challenging enough to keep you interested. You can see a silhouette of an object if you are stuck or use a hint that takes you right to the object if you are really stuck. You will seek objects from distant lands and learn about various customs and their items. Try it and I'll guarantee you'll like it. Especially your children of all ages will enjoy it and learn a little history too!
Missmo68 | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
I feel that it is a great game for tweens to teens (and adults as well). It's not too hard, but very interesting and challenging enough to keep you playing. I enjoyed it and finished it in 3 hours.
dibank | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
I found it a little boring and the puzzels were not adequately explained. Deleted after the free 60 minutes.
patrick | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Good kids game, but too short. Worth the money tho.
talefav | Added on: December 21, 2009
 
I liked this a lot. Graphics, and the movie were both well done. The objects varied from easy to difficult and the puzzles presented an interesting challenge. I play a lot of Seek and Find games, but this would be one of my favourites.
Jazz | Added on: June 1, 2010
 
The premise is very good, the product could use some work. I noticed that this game appeared to originate in Europe as some of the terminology was a bit off. The graphics were okay, but the movements were jerky. For someone just starting out, this would be a good game.
kylakitty | Added on: June 8, 2010
 
Great storyline, actually kept my interest even though I usually dislike (and skip) storylines in HOGs. I was surpised the puzzles did not have directions. Although they looked interesting and I wanted to complete them, I skipped thru most out of frustration. Most objects easily found but a few you really have to search for. Enjoyed it very much!
kilroy | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
A fun relaxing game. The magic tricks are original and enjoyable. The theme throughout is very nice
Cbrez | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Enjoyed playing, background music added intrigue and screens were interesting. There were enough clues to get through the game. This is the type of game I enjoy to relax. It was challenging enough to hold my interest.
oldmummy | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
This game would be fun for younger kids. It is far to easy and simplistic for adults.Graphics are not bad,but neither are they great.It needs to be a little more creepy, too kid oriented,needs to make up its mind, is it evil or bland!
hankysis3 | Added on: October 15, 2009
 
Well thought out, and great to play. They give you enough hints so that you don't get stuck and have to give up. Loved the graphics, and found the game went quickly. Nice to play a game without the clock ticking....
missclairol | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
A Good H/O game. I must say, what I enjoyed most was the unique storyline. So rare these days. Graphics are good, I liked everything about the game. The only thing I can say is that I wished some of the mini games came with a bit more instruction. Def. worth the money!!
Tayotae | Added on: May 29, 2012
 
The HO iteams were difficult for me to find, the last 3-4 at least. They are very small and half hidden in most cases. The graphics/art was good, music ok. However, I play for the fun of it, not to frustrate myself. While it is a good game, it would be just suited for an expert player, not for a player that like to play just to enjoy the time, as it will have you confused and maybe un-happy.
kja533 | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
Hidden object games can get so routine that they can be boring, but not when there is the added twists of items to put in inventory, puzzles to solve, back-tracking through rooms. A relaxing game that is addictive and will make you want to get it just to finish it once you start.
PipCat | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this original concept HO game. The graphics are great and most objects are simple to find. If you need a hint you can use one of 3 methods to find an object, one of which is unlimited but you will have to wait for the crystal ball to recharge. It's untimed with no option to play a timed version and you do not receive any sort of penalty for wrong clicks. You should also be aware that there are no instructions for the mini games. They're meant to be intuitive and with a little trial and error are not that difficult to figure out. If you get stuck or just want to progress without solving any or all of the mini games a skip button is available. Its length is very good but I can't comment on replay value because I only went through it once before writing this review. I didn't see anything in this game that would not make it kid friendly but then again I'm looking at it through an adult's eyes. I did notice that some scenes were slow to load and I hesitate to remove a star for that because it may very well have something to do with my PC.
collagejoy | Added on: September 16, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game. As other reviewers mentioned, the story line was good enough to follow, which I seldom do in a HOG. I could hardly wait to get to the end of each magician so I could watch their 'trick' and learn how they did it. My biggest complaint here is that 1/2 the tricks involved false, stage bottoms and most of these tricks are at the end, so by that time you can easily figure them out. I loved the puzzle, mini-games. I had to Google a solution, once, but figured out the rest. Some reviewers have complained there were no instructions for these games, but figuring them out was 1/2, if not the whole, task. I did not find it too short, as mentioned a few other reviews. This would be a great game for beginners of HOG games, if not for the mini-games. To figures these out, I think a person has to have played some other games. However, they can just be skipped. All in all, a fun experience.
dakota | Added on: February 1, 2010
 
In the beginning it seemed a well paced, thought out game. However as you progressed it kept repeating itself and was not at all challenging. It might be OK for a child, but definitely not worth the money or space. Would NOT recommend this game. Not even worth playing once all of the way through. Definitely not worth repeating.
undertaker | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
I love hidden object games but this one is the best one I have played out of the ones I played. Graphics are awesome and the riddles are a great consept to the game, more like this please.
madelyn55 | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
This is an old fashioned hidden object with a few puzzles....You get no information on how to do the puzzles but if you can't figure it out you can always hit the skip button...The grapics are fairly good but not great for todays standards....The objects are fairly easy to find but the hint button can be a little spotty in giving you a actual clue of where the item is...Some of the items I had to click on the clue button a couple of times to find the object...I think the game is a little short though....I did it in just about 3 hours...If there is a sequel I would hope they would make it a little longer and a little harder...All in all I liked the game and am not sorry I bought it....
Marlie | Added on: September 13, 2010
 
I really enjoyed working my way through the storyline, characters, and levels. This is very well done, loved the graphics, and overall, it provided a very satisfying experience. This could be a five star game, but they do not include instructions for the mini-games. I figured out all but two, but I can't comprehend why they would create such an excellent game and then fall short in this area. Otherwise, this is a wonderful value and although the ending was a bit lame, it did not detract from my enjoyment of the game.
Figgie | Added on: October 7, 2009
 
Beautiful and detailed graphics await the hidden object seeker. The storyline, which takes place in a castle, is unique and enjoyable. The game starts with a movie - just the right length - then detailed layers are added to the story as the game continues. There is a mystery involving an entire cast of magicians, their props and their best tricks. Perhaps "real" magicians will not approve of how tricks-of-the-trade are revealed, but for non-magicians this gives a telling and interesting glimpse behind the magic curtain. I have two small complaints. First, some of the objects are quite small, but I was able to find them all. Second, it takes time to load the next scene, but that was a minor inconvenience, considering the depth of the story and images. Fine game! I recommend this one!