The Clockwork ManThe Clockwork Man
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Clockwork Man
Birdee | Added on: August 12, 2010
 
What I like in this type of game. The color was good. plot and story line good. Going back and forth to different places keeps you from getting board. a deffinate keeper.
MeghanB | Added on: June 19, 2009
 
This was a great game. The storyline made sense, each scene was different, and there was a good variety of puzzles. My only problem with it was that it seemed to end too quickly!
ebethwhite | Added on: August 31, 2010
 
The only negative about this game is the story but you can click through it. I have also read reviews that say the voices are annoying but I usually turn the sound off so I don't know. I might even like the story if I listened to it rather than read it. The game is very complex and combines hidden objects with other puzzles. There is a high level of difficulty on some of the puzzles so I would only recommend it for teens and up and only those who are persistent. There is plenty of help available and I had to use it at times just to figure out what I was supposed to do. There is also free play that is opened after the game is completed and, according to the game, if you start the game over; it will be completely different. I haven't tried to start over but I have no reason to doubt it will be different. The free play is enjoyable. This is a game that I will play again and again.
TnTexas | Added on: July 12, 2010
 
Pros: -- beautiful, crisp graphics -- an original setting -- the storyline was coherent and held the puzzle and HOG scenes together well -- no timer or penalties for unproductive clicks during HOG scenes -- unlimited hint system that refilled in a reasonable amount of time -- the HOG scenes were junkpiles; but they were crisp and clear junkpiles, not fuzzy -- for the most part, the items in the HOG scenes seemed to belong to the time period -- the minipuzzles were worked into the storyline, not tacked on in order to just be there -- progressive hints were available for the minipuzzles as well as a skip button Cons: -- the story's ending felt a bit rushed which in turn made the game feel a bit short and abrupt Overall Impression: -- As you can tell, I really enjoyed the game. :o) The setting was a nice change of pace from the currently popular ancient Egypt or egular-old jungle. I liked the fact that the storyline not only held together well but also gave a nod to/reason for all the junky rooms that were necessary for the HOG scenes rather than just ignoring them. (That last isn't necessary, but it's a nice touch.) The graphics were pretty to look at and usually easy on the eyes. The scroll and zoom additions to some of the HOG scenes were neat, and the fact that you controlled when they happened was very nice. (Played one game that dabbled with some scrolling, but the player couldn't control it; it just happened automatically when the cursor got too close to the edge of the scene. That was a bit disconcerting.) The only thing I felt shortchanged the player was the ending. It felt way too abrupt, and left me feeling a bit cheated. If it had been developed a bit better and hadn't felt so rushed, I would have given the game 5 stars. But it didn't, so I'll go with 4. (I'd do 4 1/2 if I had the option.)
littleladypunk | Added on: December 24, 2012
 
I enjoyed playing The Clockwork Man. The level of difficulty was moderate, and the hints actually helpful. I liked that I could choose between 4 different hints, each of different cost, depending on which I thought would be the most useful in current situation. Different kind of scenes (static, zoomable, scroll) were also well done, searching for the items wasn't monotone. I had to skip one minigame, because I didn't understand what I actually have to do, but the rest were okay. The graphics were nice and quite clear. Storyline was very typical for that kind of HO, thought I liked that at the end the main female character didn't fell in love with the male sidekick - that happens way too often in these games. When the sequel comes out, I'll definitely play it! :)
westiemama | Added on: August 2, 2010
 
I really enjoyed the storyline. The objects which had to be found were in line with the story. Some games are ridiculous in their objects which have no conceivable reason to be picked. I enjoyed the puzzles and loved little sprocket. The drawings of Miranda holding his hand was so touching. Sounds silly but it touched me. The artwork was beautiful and clear not fuzzy like many games. Hated for the game to end. Miranda's clothes were off for the time period bit too "now" for her time.
gearboy18 | Added on: May 7, 2009
 
The artwork and scenery in this game are gorgeous. I also really enjoyed the zoom and scroll controls which added to the challenge and the scope of finding the objects.
grali99 | Added on: November 9, 2009
 
This is a fun game, it makes you think without being too involved. I was a bit dissapointed that the game was over too fast. Even though you can continue to replay it after you have completed the full game, there are no more new challanges.
TruRob | Added on: September 23, 2010
 
The game was fun and addictive. Great graphics and interesting storyline.
OldGuy | Added on: July 29, 2010
 
very boring. I usually enjoy your games...most have variety of activities and mental challenges...this one was boring
maudland | Added on: December 29, 2011
 
It is too hard to see the items in the search. That sounds silly but it is true. Too dark and dreary. I need a magnifying glass to find anything. Can't just sit and play. It is always a big hassle and I don't need the hassle. The game sound fun and could be if the visuals were not so difficult. It is a cute idea and I like the scrolling within the game. Adds a little more to it but come on...Don't like it. Wish I didn't buy it. Deternined to finish it but force myself to play.
kb999999 | Added on: May 26, 2009
 
This game has beautiful pages and a very nice story, too. It was great to have the panning and zooming scenes - this was a new for me. The mini-games did have some challenge to them, but were able to think them out within a few minutes. Since this game has no timer, it is very relaxing and very easy-paced to play. You can save/quit anytime. Also, there are hints that cost points, but I only had to use this option a few times. The length of this game was much shorter than I original thought and as such, I only gave a rating of three-stars. I completed this game in under 3-hours total play time and was left wanting more. * Free-play is your reward - you can play the game again and receive a new objects list - also, you can skip the speaking scenes. The end stated that this game would be continued, so hopefully, they will include more challenging puzzles, along with a lengthier game play story.
lilmizbway | Added on: May 7, 2013
 
Lovely graphics, nice story. But most objects way too tiny. Would have liked a magnifying glass feature.
kyleesmommy | Added on: May 18, 2013
 
I enjoyed this game,it was a really good story !! The graphics are wonderful and the scrolling/zoom feature is really cool ...I agree some of the items are a little bit small,but its more of a challenge for me that way...I thought there were enough HOSs throughout the game and the mini games are really good,they helped the story progress from chapter to chapter...I liked the music it wasn't annoying and the hint system was a good one..I suppose I think its a good value and is appropriate for the kiddies..it grabbed and held my attention and interest from the start and I stuck right with it until I finished it .. Try it you may like it,just my opinion though that its a really good game !! as always HAPPY GAMING EVERYONE !!!
essensual | Added on: May 26, 2009
 
Rare combination of an interesting story and original layouts. The way in certain scenes you can zoom or going to the left and right making this game more interesting and involved than regular HO games. Objects are not ridiculously hidden like in some PopCap ones and I like that objects are briefly zoomed after being clicked so I can enjoy their graphic details...especially the bangles, brooches, and rings. (So gorgeous I wish they have a website selling actual items from this game!) Minigames are also original and challenging. Love every minute playing it. Once you finished the first round, you can replay with objects hidden in different spots and you can always skip the conversations.
DarkChylde | Added on: February 2, 2010
 
I had a lot of fun with this game. The storyline was involved enough that I didn't get bored. I did read faster than the characters talked, so it was easy to click ahead if I wanted to. I loved the fact you could scroll certain scenes or zoom into a section to find hidden objects. Some were "static" scenes as well. I'm glad it wasn't timed, as I did have some objects that were difficult to find and had to use Sprocket once in a while to help me out. That made it challenging enough to keep my interest and not complete the game fast (which I have a habit of doing with other HOGs). The puzzles were good. With a couple of them you had to think a bit to figure out what was needed. There's a hint button with the puzzles, so if you get stuck getting started or need to figure out what to do next, you have the option of using it without any penalties. Overall this game is great. The music is wonderful and I enjoyed this HOG immensely!
Shanoa | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
The music, the art style, even the voice acting, all amazing. I fully understand why critics gave this game such great reviews. The hint system is a new style to me and like how it is. The storyline is also wonderful. The heroine Miranda, is a fun character though a bit naive. A nice game, with a steam-punk feel.
Bigpearlgirl | Added on: May 26, 2009
 
This is by far the best hidden object game I have ever played. Unique storyline. Fantastic graphics. Puzzles that made sense with the game play. Also really liked the zoomable scenes. WELL DONE!!!
melissa | Added on: May 27, 2009
 
This was a relatively easy game, but it had some fun twists along the way. Along with the fact that the hidden object screens pan or zoom in, there are also some interesting puzzle challenges like using pieces found in a maze to open a door or putting parts together on an engine to make it run. I thought some of the puzzle challenges were tricky, and they were a fun diversion to the hidden object puzzles. I also liked that the game was not timed, so you could take as long as you liked to find the objects. This made it more relaxing. The story was kind of silly, but all in all it is a fun game and I would recommend it!
anneatplay | Added on: December 10, 2012
 
You have to be a truly diehard HOS fan to like this game, because that's all it is. And they are tiny, overcrowded scenes with a zoom/slide feature that is innovative but eye-numbing. A couple of sad mini games and a lot of Miranda talking. I had read so many good reviews that I kept slogging through but boy, this one just didn't do it for me.
redaf | Added on: December 10, 2012
 
Where I can I have decided to go and play the original of a game series if possible. In this case I am glad I did. Fun and original I will play the next one of the series and look for other games by this developer. The storyline is unique, the HO's crisp and mostly easy to find, and the mini games are fun, not frustrating. I also had to watch all the credits at the end to enjoy the whimsical caricatures of the game development crew. Thanks guys, on to the next one!
Kathryn179 | Added on: May 18, 2013
 
I was thankful that this game wasn't timed. I relied heavily on the hints, and even though the HO scenes were clear, some of the objects were small or hard to find. Sprocket, however, was there to help in several ways. He added to the game play, making the harder HO scenes more manageable. I'm glad I stuck with it: The story was creative and fun. I especially liked the maze towards the end.
Captainsam | Added on: July 29, 2010
 
I played this game a few years ago and it was such a great deal I bought it again and am loving it. Challenging and engaging, great graphics lots to do with a story.
Cbrez | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
I found this games presentation unique in the way they expanded the search for HO. The sci-fi theme would appeal to kids. The background music was relaxing. What can I say that has not already been said? It is enjoyable, relaxing and I loved it.
purpleapple | Added on: August 2, 2010
 
I wish I could play this game because it has a fun storyline and beautiful graphics. I really like the hint system too - unique and useful. However all the panning and zooming (which I'd often do on accident with the mouse) just makes me feel dizzy and slightly sick - I finally had to stop playing. :( Anyone else experience this or am I just really sensitive?
mmij58 | Added on: June 29, 2009
 
I really enjoyed this game. The scrolling was unique and added significantly to your search area. Few puzzles, but the ones they had were fun, the last 3 puzzles really make you think. No directions, you have to figure them out. Some of the hidden items are ridiculously hard to find. But, if needed, the hints are plentiful. A good game for all.
PipCat | Added on: May 20, 2011
 
I'd downloaded this once before & just couldn't get into it. I kept seeing this game show up on more than one "recommended" list so I thought I'd give it another try & I'm glad I did. The graphics are beautiful, characters well defined, & a storyline that compels you to keep moving forward. The Hint feature is ideal. It gives you little pieces at a time to nudge you along if you get stuck but don't necessarily want the whole answer right away. More games should incorporate this type of system. I thought I would be annoyed by the scrolling & zoom features (which I think is why it turned me off originally) but once you get used to that it actually enhances the gameplay. Definately take a look at this one!
sportygal2009 | Added on: June 21, 2010
 
The reason I even played this was because I saw a sequel to this is coming. This game was just OK for me. I thought the story was pretty interesting what I played of the game however after a little while the game play bored me. It didn't "wow" me like I thought it would. I didn't much care for the scrolling and zoom in/out. I thought it took away from the game. Plus the scenes seemed to be way overly cluttered with junk. Some of the hidden object part was pretty easy, some a little challenging and some a thank goodness for Sprocket or I would of never found some of the items. I just found myself using way too many hints then I would of liked to, to make it through. Some of the puzzles where kinda neat and really made you think but again this game didn't "wow" me. Definitely far from being the worse game I've played but I've definitely played better. I hope the sequel will be better.
lucianno | Added on: July 29, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game in beta test and was not dissappointed by the premium version. The challenge puzzles were great and the rest of the game was a good mix of an excellent story and engaging characters
JustGaming | Added on: September 8, 2011
 
I must admit I was a tad bit disappointed. Clockwork has gotten so many great reviews that I was expecting more. Nice graphics and I didn’t mind the voice overs too much. The HOG scenes were too junk-pile for my taste though. Also in a couple of places there were multiples of the same item such as a picture frame and you have to find just the right one. The hint system was generous and different. You can choose the level of help. I liked that. I also liked the 360-scrolling screens. They were very nicely done and didn’t cause any sea-sickness. I enjoyed the dialogue but it might be too much for some people. The game also may have been just a little short. I also enjoyed the puzzles and found them challenging but not frustrating. This is a nice middle-of-the-line game (I would have given it 3 ½ stars if possible). I will probably get the sequel. It also had a bonus section, which I haven't tried yet. I think it may have different objects to find. A plus for replay value.
RokNRolMom | Added on: May 23, 2012
 
Clockwork was one of the first HO games I purchased.. Nice graphics and quite an original game premise. The HOG scenes were somewhat confusing though. I agree that in a couple of places there were multiples of the same item so you have to find just the right one. The hint system was generous and different. You can choose the level of help. I liked that. I think this was one of the first 360-scrolling games which adds to the originality. As with all good games the game seemed a little short. I liked the puzzles and found them challenging.
jennwil | Added on: March 22, 2011
 
Love the graphics and everything about playing until i got to the safe. Couldnt figure out how to crack the safe and got aggravated and gave up. Hated that too. Really enjoyed the game till the safe!! Very challenging. Game was really laggyy on some parts and not fast paced at all . Requires alot of thought on some parts like the safe.