The Chronicles of Shakespeare - Romeo & JulietThe Chronicles of Shakespeare - Romeo & Juliet
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of The Chronicles of Shakespeare - Romeo & Juliet
mandango21 | Added on: September 10, 2012
 
You know it must be bad when someone who NEVER reviews something actually reviews the game because they were that angry with it. Okay, so I played the first one and where it left something to be desired, I didn't think it was that horrible. But this game didn't explain the hint button, the dialogue screens were too long and too many, and no matter how many times I made a new profile (per advice from posts) I kept getting stuck at one spot and the game just wouldn't work. Do not waste your time and especially your money on this game.
gordis | Added on: August 24, 2012
 
I love the graphics but it was too much talking and the game time was a bare minimum, I was very dissapointed with the game.
redaf | Added on: March 24, 2013
 
A fan of Shakespeare for many years I was delighted to see that someone decided to tackle his material in game form. Though the tale is quite loosely followed, and some Shakespeare purists may not approve I thought it grand fun. Beginning as Romeo it is a point and click adventure to secure certain items to reach his objective, which if unclear, a curious child named Anne will remind you of it. Once Romeo has reached a certain point, Juliet takes the stage in gameplay to locate and utilize items for her own ends and back and forth twixt the two you travel playing out one of Shakespeare's greatest tragedies. You simply find objects hidden in the environment and locate the correct places to use them. There are mini games thrown in here and there and for the most part they are only a little bit of a challenge. Though a few in Juliet's dream had a few teeth grinding moments of frustration they are winnable and that is important as you are unable to skip any of them. I delayed selecting this game for a long time due to the tepid reviews I read and learned a valuable lesson, the cup of tea one person does not care for might be a flavor you yourself adore :-) This said, if you like to read and do not mind a lot of narrative. If you like Shakespeare and are not a snob about it, download, play and enjoy!
georgemarie | Added on: August 23, 2012
 
This game was very short. There is far too much 'story line' and very little game play. However I found the most annoying parts were the appalling grammar and confusing story line, it was only vaguely similar to the actual Shakespearean classic itself. I am only grateful not to have wasted money by purchasing this game
Cat_In_RV | Added on: August 28, 2012
 
It' hard to know where to start. After "A Midsummer Night's Dream" I didn't hold out much hope for this one. I deleted the first one, but this one I played all the way through. It was marginally better, but barely. The narrative went on and on and on. When you did actually get to do something, it was completely unclear what to do. And the mini-games? No directions at all. In several instances I couldn't get anything to move so I had to skip them. Others, I could complete after fooling around. It's such a shame. No game is fun like this. Perhaps the developers are inexperienced, but they should at least have some common sense.
covingtonmom | Added on: August 25, 2012
 
This game was extremely tedious. I hate it when the developer decides that you need a comment everytime you click somewhere, and I especially hate seeing the comment "This may be useful later", but doesn't let you put it in your inventory until you find the place you need to use it!! I prefer games that just let me get down to business. i uninstalled after less than 10 minutes.
mimi2010 | Added on: October 10, 2012
 
oooh brother.... where to start? I did stick with it as I felt sure it would get better... but it didn't. Apart from "Shakespeare"'s Home Counties accent (he was from Warwickshire and was more Brummie than Surrey), and that he hated his wife Anne with a passion (so what was all that guff about the ring then, eh?), I cannot imagine for one minute that he would allow a brat like Ann sit in and offer her opinion! So history it ain't. Like others, I found it very hard to negotiate and often had to used the hint button (the brat) who didn't help a bit but simpered "Have you tried here?" when yes, I had thank you. When making the healing potion, the instructions were wrong, and trying to get the will-o-the-wisp over the rocks was a joke! No proper instructions, no direction, no fun. I confess I relied a lot on a walkthrough, but had to wait for the game to 'come back' so didn't do that often. However... I am about to subject myself to (according to reviewers here) an even more terrible experience - I'm going to try A Midsummer Night's Dream!! I could do with a laugh... I'll let you know how I get on! ;þ
devi | Added on: August 27, 2012
 
Not being one to enjoy all the reading in a game, I was happy to see "ESC" to skip. This only brought me to another storyboard. I hit ESC again to skip. And again another storyboard. So the very beginning of the game didn't start well. It took me 5 minutes just to find where the hint button was. The first mini game had two balls and 3 holes, no instructions. Struggled another 10 minutes with this and finally said ENOUGH. Deleted game.
emi1 | Added on: August 26, 2012
 
too much back and forth with little direction. that's it...the hint button was not very helpful either. disappointing game.
ITgirl | Added on: August 26, 2012
 
I wanted SO much to like this game, but found myself unable to finish it due to extreme frustration. The graphics were lovely, but that's the best that I can say. The directions for the mini-games were insufficient, if not lacking completely. Every step taken seemed to trigger additional objects that had to be found, and for the most part, at least two different scenes, often more, needed to be searched for them. There was far too much dialogue. And I truly wish that if a game is being developed for the English-speaking market, non-English speaking developers would have their captions reviewed and edited by someone who does speak English. The captions in this game were awful!
smallfry091956 | Added on: August 25, 2012
 
This was not one of my best hidden object games. It was hard to follow what you needed to do. If you needed help , it took me a while to figure that out too. It just didn't keep my interest at all. The story lines were okay . I didn't finish the game. i quite when he had to do 4 challanges to prove his love. Sorry but no thanks.
TAR671 | Added on: August 24, 2012
 
I gave this game an hour and I found this a very frustrating experience. The scenes are very dark, the game is slow loading due to the scripts and cut scenes. The hidden objects are displayed by a poor artist rendition rather than a listing of items. The hint function provides little assistance, there is a significant amount of moving back and forth between areas, after completing very minor tasks, thereare no locations map or journal to assist you, and the objective list was limited to one item at a time, and the mini games provide no guidance to what needs to be accomplished. In the first mini-game, I had 2 different colored balls and a board that rotated with 3 holes. I never was able to figure out the working of the game or accomplish the intended task. In addition after 1 hour. other than these frustrations, the graphics are nice and music fair. I hope you find this more enjoyable than I did. have fun!
yosie | Added on: December 1, 2012
 
I really loved this game. The narrative was very well done - made me want to know more about the famous tale of Romeo and Juliet. The artists interpretation of the characters was stunning, and very life like. I really enjoyed this game - a nice mix of challenging and relaxing play.
freest | Added on: August 27, 2012
 
This game is terrible. Not only are the characters too talkative (in fact they never shut up) but the images are too dark (I was constantly changing the screen lighting) and there is not hint button if you get stuck. That is not to say that the game is challenging however - it isn't - it's just frustrating because none of the objectives make any sense.