Tales of Sorrow - Strawsbrough TownTales of Sorrow - Strawsbrough Town
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Tales of Sorrow - Strawsbrough Town
ArmyStrong | Added on: March 26, 2013
 
along with the HOs were crisp and a little difficulty on a few (very few). One thing about one of the HOs is one object to be found was cabbage and it was actually an artichoke. That will be the only thing that I will give as a clue, there was a few items that I did not know of it's visual, but the hint helped me with that. It was just an okay game with good graphics and story (I didn't have the volume on). Good relaxing short game to play on a snowy day.
petdetail | Added on: November 3, 2012
 
Very mediocre game. Voice overs were excellent. Graphics were good. Story was middle of the road. Length was short. Once I found things, the area kept sparkling which had me going back over and over to it needlessly. Very much a middle of the road game. I found myself clicking help a lot because what I was supposed to do would have taken a magician to figure out. Ending, like many of these games, was pretty weak.
DarkDragon | Added on: December 10, 2012
 
Graphics: beautiful Music: nice and eerie Story: good development, though last battle is a little weak Game play: good challenge, keep me on guessing what to do. Lots of tasks. Enjoyable mini-games. A little back and forth but not so bad. Short play time. Conclusion: recommended, not really for children
tbug53 | Added on: November 4, 2012
 
Good game! The story part of the game was pretty predicatable but the HO part was very enjoyable. Good graphics easy to identify the list items. I enjoyed the minigames the most as they were not the "usual" minigames as most of the HO games use.
emi1 | Added on: December 15, 2012
 
enjoyed playing this game. very interesting story line. the music was great. from the title page on the graphics were tremendous. the hint button was fabulous. it was more like a walkthrough than jst a hint button. helped me out a lot. the HO scenes were challenging. and the minigames, well, thank goodness for the skip button on some of them.
smshelton | Added on: November 4, 2012
 
THE GAME HAS A STORY. YOU LOOK FOR A CURSE THE HAS BEEN PLACE ON YOUR LOVE. THE HIDDEN OBJECT GAMES ARE FUN AND NOT TO HARD BUT YOU DO GET IN TO THE STORY AND TIME GOES BY FAST.YOU DO NOT WONT TO GET UP UNTIL THE END
redaf | Added on: November 27, 2012
 
It did not take long for me to play this game, but I did enjoy all aspects of it. Definitely original storyline, good graphics and music. So many of the HOG adventure games I play have a cliff hanger ending, but I was happy to find this one had a satisfying ending with no unanswered questions.
devi | Added on: November 5, 2012
 
I was a little disappointed in this game. Graphics were OK but characters were stiff. It was like a mixture of gypsy, russian, native american. Strange. Hints in the HO scenes worked normally, but if you needed direction, the hint button brought up a how-to manual to get you through the scene. At first this bothered me, but in the end it was really OK. It always helped you out of a situation. Not one of my favorites, but a definite reco.
tamryn | Added on: November 12, 2012
 
Very enjoyable game....only wish there was more play time. I like when there are translation issues - part of the fun for me.
SaraHagel | Added on: November 2, 2012
 
What I DID like about this game was the pastoral atmosphere and the feeling of listening to a folk tale, but it was slightly tainted by the sloppy selection of hidden objects to find. It feels rather unnecessary to do that kind of thing - why put a lightbulb in, or for that matter a modern paintbrush with a shiny metal frame, when most other things actually were looking quite right? Additionally there was once again the problem with the language. Why find people who actually can speak English to do some voice-overs and not spend a few kopeks on a proofreading? A bear paw is not a bear claw. Neither is a jar equivalent to a bottle - and when searching for objects, it IS rather important to call a jar a jar and nothing else. One final gripe is the minigame in the carnival, where you're supposed to knock down banana decorated teddy bears with a hammer contraption. The first few banana bears are easy enough to topple over, but the bear parade rolls by faster and faster, and towards the 7th and 8th bear it - at least on my computer - gets nigh on impossible to hit your target. In fact you can't even predict which bear that will come next, since the order of the bears (you're not allowed to hit those adorned with other fruits, then you have to start over from bear one) is totally random. And there was no SKIP button. Sigh. Oh yes - there is ONE other thing that I did like - the image minigames, where you had to recreate a moving image. Not by switching tiles per se, but moving them around in rather an intricate and interesting way. Those, I liked. All in all - pretty short, somewhat illogical, the requisite spinning tops there, but a nice atmosphere and at least worth playing until the end, if you get past the bears, that is.
KeaganXOX | Added on: November 7, 2012
 
Yet another great Interactive Hidden Object game Game House has brought to us...The graphic's were amazing, story line was good, and enjoyed the hidden object games as well as the mini games...Thanks Gamehouse for bringing yet another great game to your site for all to enjoy
Cat_In_RV | Added on: November 6, 2012
 
The makers of this game mostly got it right. The graphics are crisp and clear (although some items are devilishly hard to find). The story line is good, with better than average voice-overs. Just the fact that there ARE voice overs puts this game up a notch from the norm. I do agree with another reviewer, however, that there were some disconnects in the nomenclature of hidden objects. A clothes peg is not the same as a clothes pin, and a bear paw is certainly not a bear claw. But putting aside the few problems with English translation, this game was intelligently put together. The story of a husband determined to break the curse placed on his wife holds together very well. The background music also adds to the enjoyment. If you get stuck or miss something, the hint button, when not being used to find a hidden object, will lay out what you must do in the current section. Perhaps a bit too much information for my taste, but very helpful. The only real complaint is that the game is a bit short, taking less than two hours to complete. None-the-less, the game is well constructed and worth playing.
roxy8279 | Added on: November 13, 2012
 
This game was so fun. It was pretty long and entertaining. It took me 3 and a half hours to finish the game. The graphics were so good. It was so fun.
flaca | Added on: November 7, 2012
 
The story was original, although it kept me thinking about the scorpion king (the movie) Can't place why. Maybe bc of the witch yadda yadda. Anyways, the story was good and I played it really fast bc I just wanted to know about the end. Diddn't like the end bc the witch had no interaction with Albert. But the mini-games were ok, some original as well. All pretty easy really. But not a good replay.
anneatplay | Added on: November 13, 2012
 
This was an easy game, only took a couple of hours, but it was well made and fluid. The graphics were nice and the voice overs for the most part were quite good, with distinctly drawn characters. Had to visit the same HOGs a few times, but that's a small complaint. Worth your time. And the storyline was actually quite original.
Angelique1971 | Added on: April 15, 2013
 
Let me start by saying the graphics in this game are wonderful. My problem is when you use the Hint it shows you what to do with a picture in HOS or by list of actions (like walkthrough) in standard play. I'm not sure I like this way. I'm afraid of seeing more than I want to if I get stuck. And just a heads up, hit Hint to opt out of mini-games. It will give you an option to skip. HOS are a little harder than some but the scenes are quite clear. Unfortunately, I think there are a few too many.Also, there is a map but it is not interactive. Luckily, the back and forth is not so bad. To cap off on the good side, I found myself engrossed in the story. The characters were rich and I couldn't wait to see how it would end. Overall I enjoyed the game.
tmhall55 | Added on: November 1, 2012
 
this is really a great game. not to clicky or thinky. relaxing game. worth the money. loved the story and it reads smoothly. its a keeper....
Carrissa | Added on: May 27, 2013
 
Graphics okay, areas for some items are to dark to find. Map was useless for me There was a guide if you hit the hint button (not when your trying to find objects) but if your lost as to where to go or what to do. The hint button for HO's showed you the object, what it looks like and about where it is located (that's not saying you can see them all the time). That's frustrating to me!! Storyline went well with game.