Syberia - Kate Walker's AdventuresSyberia - Kate Walker's Adventures
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Syberia - Kate Walker's Adventures
luv2playallday | Added on: August 3, 2011
 
This is an addictive game, love the graphics! A really thinky and clicky game, did need to get some help from online walkthroughs to beat it.. don't think I would have the patience to finish the game without it. Did have some trouble with the voice cylinder scene but thanks to a gamehouse forum I quickly figured out how to fix it and continue on with the game...thanks to whoever figured that one out! This game reminded me of the Nancy Drew games (it was even a bit more challenging), at times I was frustrated with running back and forth trying to figure out what I should be doing but then I would just use the walkthroughs. Don't forget to save frequently since it won't do it automatically if you exit the game, I learned my lesson with this one!
bruno4812 | Added on: July 26, 2011
 
This was the most aggrivating, irritating, non relaxing game I have ever played in my life!!! Not only are there no hints or help section, it doesn't even tell you how to pick up and use the objects that you collect. There is absolutely no direction on what to do or where to go or anything like that. I am deleting this game!!! Ridiculous!!
mystemo | Added on: July 23, 2011
 
When I saw this game added to Gamehouse I was just filled with happiness that other people are going to be able to try this beautiful game. You are going to get your money's worth out of this one with a terrific story, great puzzles, and a sweeping soundtrack that makes you want more. I hope Gamehouse eventually adds the sequel game (yes, the story does continue) later, but I am just excited that GH is adding these different types of games lately. Enjoy!
Robdragon | Added on: September 19, 2011
 
This was a pretty challenging. Couldn't always figure out where to go next, and there was no real help for a lot of the game. I spent a lot of time wandering around.
Vallilala | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
It's such a relief to get away from tedious HO games with something that makes you think. I remember how engrossed I was by Myst all those years ago, and this had some similar elements. I liked the puzzles and the music, I thought the storyline was interesting but I would have liked a bit more stuff to figure out and a bit less running back and forth. The amount of to-ing and fro-ing gets a bit tedious after a while. I think if you're played a lot of adventure games, it's not too demanding. It's a bit buggy, which is annoying -- every time I played I had to load it twice, and then there's the voice cylinder issue referred to above. But still, I look forward to Syberia2!
Or_Ducatisti | Added on: July 27, 2011
 
If you're an old enough gamer to remember and enjoy Myst, Syberia will look very familiar. Initially released in 2008, this haunting game is more playable art than hidden object puzzler. As mentioned, there is currently (7-26-11) a problem with the Gamehouse version where you will get to a point relatively quickly in the full version of the game and it will either kick you out or ask for the DVD. Either issue completely stops gameplay and there's no way yet to continue. Since I played the complete game back in 2008, I am basing my review on what this game will be when it is fixed, and not what it is now. That said, Syberia is a rare and different experience for modern casual gamers. No timeline, very open gameplay, and few instructions make you feel like you've been dropped into the middle of a strange land with little information on what you need to do to proceed. But here's the fun of the game, you get to explore this haunting and mildly sinister world and find its secrets on your own. The only Achilles heel is the time it takes to move around. Since you are watching Kate move, even double clicking to get her to run still means a bit of wait time as she jogs to the next location, then even longer if stairs or doors are involved. The animations are smooth and very realistic, but can get tedious if you accidentally click somewhere and then have to wait for the animation to finish before you can click in the correct direction. There were a few times when I realized I'd need to backtrack quite a ways and I knew it would take me some time to get there, making me really wish for Kate to find some sort of teleporter during her searches! The characters are well done, voice acting is good, and you can get through the narration quickly with a right click if cutscenes bore you. Another holdover from the old-school adventure game is the necessity to go to the Menu to save your game. Save often! If you've never experienced this kind of artistic point-and-click adventure before, Syberia may be initially frustrating and awkward to deal with, but it is a great entry into more complex games of this genre, like the Nancy Drew series. I definitely recommend giving it a try, but wait until the updated version is available on Gamehouse before you purchase.
Kelili | Added on: August 2, 2011
 
Syberia is probably one of the hardest games I've ever tried to play and it is also one of the best. I love everything about it. The music is the best of any game I have played. The graphics are fantastic and the voice acting is top notch. The game is hard and I know I wouldn't have finished it without consulting a walkthrough but I was so enthralled with the story and the characters that not finishing was not an option. I hope Gamehouse will get part two.
taalsib | Added on: July 25, 2011
 
I believe I would have rated this game quite positively if I'd been able to complete it. Unfortunately, it keeps crashing on me fairly early on. Trying to play the Valadilene voice cylinder in the music box makes the game freeze on me everytime. For that reason, I have to downgrade my rating. I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed the time that I was able to play. The storyline is interesting and I think the scenery is lovely. I really wish I could finish.
tjnbarbour | Added on: July 26, 2011
 
OK, I just got off of chat with customer service, because as several others ahead of me had noted, the game asks for a DVD and or crashes when it gets to a certain part in the first section of the game.(Perhaps I should have read the reviews first :D ) They are following up on the problem with the manufacturer, and expect a resolution soon. But, this game is so well done, for people who are sick to death of HOs and want something truly challenging, it is worth the wait. I have loved everything about this game from the graphics to the fact that it has no hints, and unless you look for it, no instructions. It is a true Adventure game. Anyone who has played the Nancy Drew series would love this more adult version. I recomend you get this game, play it until you have to stop, and then pick it up again when they have the resolution. It is just that good.
lovetoplay | Added on: August 1, 2011
 
It was hard to me. Thanks to the forum post that told me how to copy and paste from the video folder so it wouldn't crash when you put in the voice cylinder. Especially thanks to Gamezebo who has a walkthrough! I never would have made it through if it wasn't for them! I don't usually like to use cheats, but I kept finding myself going in big circles. As usual, the ending was all smushed up into a video, I would have liked it to go a little further.
Tayotae | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
This game was hard for me. I was getting lost at every turn. What do I do next, now? What am I doing trying to play this for, so I gave up. I did not care for the graphics at all. It was just not my kind of fun.
MDNATIVE | Added on: July 28, 2011
 
This game would be great if it had a better help menu. I found myself lost and had trouble going from on area to another.
Bigpearlgirl | Added on: July 25, 2011
 
I almost fell off my chair when I saw "Syberia" was on Gamehouse. My husband and myself are both in our 60's but love to play games. We both have an X-Box 360. His is the Kinect. He plays a lot on-line. I like to play alone. Syberia was my absolute favourite game next to Myst 3. I never did get the 2nd instalment. Got a computer instead in 2005 and learned how to use it. Love Gamehouse and the many late night hours spent with my games. I know anyone who loves a game with a challenge and appreciates great graphics, storyline and dialogue will be more than happy to play this game. It really deserves much more than 5 stars to me. ENJOY!!
Purple323 | Added on: July 27, 2011
 
I really like this game, because I have been waiting for a game like this for a real long time! I liked the Dream Chronicles series and was looking for something like it, but a little harder. Please give it a try you might actually like it!
nrostgaard | Added on: October 31, 2011
 
This game have a really original story. You will probably only play it once, but it's still worth the money if you like a good story with depth.
dsmith1500 | Added on: October 6, 2011
 
I usually play hidden object games but thought I'd try something different so downloaded Syberia. I was entranced with the wonderful scenery and ease of finding my way around. Kate can't walk where she isn't supposed to go, so that helps a lot finding my around. It was so enjoyable that I purchased both I and II, but when I play them again I will hook my laptop to my wide screen tv to get huge enjoyment of the wonderful scenes.
angeladawn | Added on: September 13, 2011
 
I love this game so much bought this one and the sequel without being able to wait for my game credits. I don't regret the money at all.
nvyank | Added on: July 29, 2011
 
I'm not even half way through and I can tell you that if you are looking for something different, this is it. I haven't had any issue yet with the game crashing. The last game I played that was similar to this was The Legend of Crystal Valley.
Syren | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
I absolutely LOVED this game. The story was interesting, the boyfriend obnoxious, the ending superb. I immediately began to download Part 2. It was pretty difficult for me at first. I usually play hidden object games and there's a lot of hand holding with those. But you are entirely on your own in this type of game. But as I got a hang of how the game is played I really began to enjoy it. Having to put yourself in the characters shoes to work out the next step is really fun, Observation, creative and logical thinking, and asking myself what I would do next if I were Kate got me through the game. I did resort to a walkthrough a couple times in the beginning because I just didn't know what to do next and I was just aimlessly wandering around in circles. I quickly learned that tasks and missions are accomplished in a logical order and the interaction and dialogue with all the characters is essential to move forward in this game. It really begins to start feeling like you're in the story, like reading a good book. If you love puzzles and problem solving and like the idea of a long character and story based game, then definitely give this game a try. You'll enjoy it. I'm even considering purchasing one of the two I haven't decided which one yet. After I give Part 2 a try with my FunPass I'll decide. I think there is definitely good replay value and it's a long game so I think it's worth the money. I was hooked from the start and addicted not long after. I stayed up much too late playing this game the last few days. But I don't regret it because I feel as though I really accomplished something. Can't say that about most games. Be sure to remember to save your game progress as you go though, it's not done by just exiting to the main menu.
JED62 | Added on: August 29, 2011
 
I really liked this game, even though I got very frustrated at times. Thankfully there are walkthroughs to help. I agree with the other reviews... a lot of conversations... right clicking helps move them along, but don't go too fast--they can be helpful. Double clicking makes her run. Glad when I figured that out. Must save on your own. But I loved the graphics and the challenges and I can see myself playing it again. Took me days and hours to finish. Multiple locations to explore and solve.
Babala | Added on: July 23, 2011
 
It was only after I played this game that I found out it was on Gameboomers' Hall of Fame list. Stunning graphics and scenery, hauntingly beautiful music, professional voice acting, and engrossing, immersive storyline are just a few of the features that make this point-and-click adventure one of a kind. Warning: this is not for novices to LFA games. There is no hand-holding, sparkling scenes, or hints here, though the hint option will highlight areas with a question mark at times. This is for true adventure buffs who want a unique and awesome experience. If you get stuck, I highly recommend going to gameboomers.com for a walkthrough. You will have many hours of happy playtime with a game you're sure to remember. I totally loved it and played the sequel Syberia II.
LittleRedDog | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
I found this game to be an extreme challenge. I needed to go to online help for game progress more than I would like to admit. I usually can figure things out, but this one had me stumped a lot. For that, I won't give it the full five stars. Not that it stumped me, but that it truly left me without courses of action. I liked the challenges; I do not like feeling like the gameplay is a secret. I enjoyed the graphics. I enjoyed the dialogue. I found the length of game very nice, with all the chapters and continuing the story. I would find it a great help had the creators included a strategy guide. The characters did not supply sufficient assistance or were not reachable. This is one game that demands the player to fully invest their brain! It is beatable...doable. It did keep me trying. I wanted to see how or what I could do next. It was not well explained how to save the game. It would not be apparent immediately that my game had saved. I only had a couple of instances where the game just froze. I highly recommend saving any time something of any difficulty had been accomplished. The game did save every time I clicked, but all the saves did not show up in my game folder. I finally learned to listen for that save click. I do recommend this one. It will be a challenge. All the steps for a goal can be accomplished. This is not a game to rush through; this is a game to focus your thinking skills and logic. I will recommend as a good replay; I would like to play through once again to challenge myself to do so without ANY game hints...just to test the old memory!
PipCat | Added on: July 25, 2011
 
I've not completed this one yet but it so intrigued me I bought it before I finished it. This is a true adventure game. There are no hints so it's not for someone used to getting ahead by using hints. You must use your wits and powers of observation to finish this one. It takes a bit to figure out the interface and how to make it work within the game but once you've mastered that you're set. The graphics are excellent and the more you travel through the game the more you become immersed not only in the story but the scenery itself. There is a lot of reading to be done but it's important that you read all of it because it gives you additional story tidbits and information that leads you to places you must investigate. This game is huge so don't expect to finish it in one sitting. You must have patience and it is not for someone who needs copious amounts of hints. I've been at this for over 3 hours now and still haven't left the village. I do recommend that you at least visit the Gamezebo web site initially to become familiar with the various cursors and how to interact withthe inventory interface. It may make it less tedious if you understand how everything works. If you're a long time gamer and remember games like the original Zork adventures and those published by Sierra On-Line or have enjoyed the Dream Chronicles series, then this game is for you!
Smedley | Added on: July 26, 2011
 
Huge download - but this game fizzled! No tutorial; way too much time watxching animated script; not enough to do; very clicky; very repetitive; sort of like moving around in Virtual Villagers - takes too much time before you get to do anything. Not for me - good luck to you!
rockhardgirly | Added on: February 15, 2012
 
Okay, to start WOWWWWW!!! That's just for the graphics and the world that Legacy have created. It was wonderful, kinda post apocoleptic part monochrome all amazing. And the automotons. Loved it. Playing for me was at first extremely frustrating. I didn't find any indication on how to use items collected; and started cursing on the screen until I finally realized you don't have to click and drag, but click item onto main screen and simply click where you want it to go. So, like I said I'm a newbee; once I figured that out it was a wonderful experience discovering the joys of this type of puzzle, interactive game. My husband and I played this together on our separate pcs at the same time, helping and cojolling one another; with the occasional foray into the walk through (praise the internet and Gamezebo and the patient ones who write these things). When Kate hopped back on that train at the end we turned to each other and said in tandem "Syberia 2?" and immediately downloaded and bought it. Couple of quick hints;.double click on Kate and she'll run everywhere accept up and down stairs and ladders (makes sense I guess); and expect to backtrack alot. Did find that a bit offputting, but enjoyed it all the same; also expect lots of phone calls; my observation? (obvious to most I'm sure) A. this give you and indication you are on the right path; b. it means there is a change of scene coming up and is definitely better than watching a loading bar go across the screen for two minutes. Also follow the conversations all the way through; they are important; ....things won't happen if you don't talk to the characters.. And so far Syberia 2 is exactly the same. If you don't want to listen; right click through the conversations. The point being you have to have them to move on, but you don't necessarily need to listen to them or read them if you don't. Another tip; perservere. It is worth it; I promise.
SamnEthansMom | Added on: August 17, 2011
 
I liked this game a lot. It was just challenging enough to keep me interested but not too much to cause me to give up. After the technical issues were ironed out it worked great! The graphics were great. I played it with my daughter and when it was over she was ready for the next episode. The only thing I didn't like were the very LONG conversations on the phone. I just didn't care about her boyfriend anymore. Otherwise, a great game.