Suburban Mysteries - The Labyrinth of the PastSuburban Mysteries - The Labyrinth of the Past
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Suburban Mysteries - The Labyrinth of the Past
Carrissa | Added on: March 22, 2013
 
When I have to consistently use the hint button for ho's (because it's to dark to find them) and also to know where to go next, it is not an enjoyable game to me.
Daffy14s | Added on: November 13, 2012
 
I really loved this game, enjoyed the storyline, kept playing couldn't stop till i found out end of the story. Graphics were great, story keeps ya sunk in. A + in my book, kids are enjoying it as well:)
graciekerri | Added on: November 23, 2012
 
I love HO game with good graphics and intersting mini puzzles. And this is the one I'm looking for. Besides, the storyline is attractive. Not recommended for kids or family.
redaf | Added on: November 5, 2012
 
I liked the story line and was caught up in it but I ran into a wall when I got to a location where I could not use anything in my inventory so I was left with the impression I missed one of the "unlisted" items available somewhere and as such was unable to continue. Needless to say this was frustrating, especially since there was an area to which I could not return to double check. I play with gamepass and only want to buy the games I'll enjoy again and again. Unfortunately, this is not one of them. Too bad, it is unique in ways to other HOG's.
devi | Added on: November 5, 2012
 
What a creepy villain. Graphics were good with plenty of adventure. Storyline was good with lots of HO scenes, but like other reviewers said, if finished HO scene doesn't close, that means there's other objects to find. You don't have to click around, just look for the "grabbing hand". If you do this at the very beginning it'll save you a lot of running back and forth at the end. A definite reco, but not necessarily for children.
anneatplay | Added on: November 4, 2012
 
This was certainly not the worst HOG I've played. It had a story line that was fairly interesting. The problem lay mainly in the 'endless' HOG games..endless not only because there were so many but because they didn't close and sometimes (but not always) contained additional objects to go back for. You couldn't know this, though, without way too much random clicking. None of the close-up items closed, so even after you were through with them they were available. I like knowing when I'm finished with something. I agree the lab science mini game was poorly framed; I made about 1 dozen yellow test tubes and was going 'come on, when does this end,' before I figured out what I was supposed to do to finish it. The split between live action Sara and cartoon Sara was weird. And they seemed to only have filmed one clip of live action Sara so no matter what was going on she was standing there with the same slightly annoyed expression, rolling her eyes. You have to use the hint a lot just to figure out where to go next, but it recharges quickly. Not terrible, but quite glad I played it on FunPass and didn't pay for it.
emi1 | Added on: December 7, 2012
 
what a creepy villian in this game. every time he talked i got chills. esp when he sang his song...the HO scenes in this game were challenging. i did get stuck at one point, and was helped by reviewers on the walkthrough site. the mini games were challenging, too-thank goodness for the skip button. the hint button was very helpful, not only in showing which direction to go in, but in moving forward with items.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: November 23, 2012
 
I have to say this game had its moments--just not many of them. It started out well, even though I thought the mix of a live scene with cartoon scenes a little odd. The HO scenes were moderately difficult, with no penaly for excessive clicking. A different twist was the possibility of finding an "extra item" after finding everything on the list. It was a little disconcerting at first, but as soon as I figured out to just run the mouse over everything until the cursor turned into a hand it became easier. I mostly enjoyed the mini-games except for the one where you had to run wires to three switches and set the switches in the correct positions. That was pure rote and way too many possibilities, so I skipped it. What I really did not like were all the almost monochromatic rooms in the basement with piles of junk to look through. Why do developers seem to think that light and color is a bad thing? The other problem was knowing where to go next. There were no clues in the dialogue, and I wound up relying heavily on the hint button, which mercifully recharged very quickly. I prefer to figure things out for myself, but that wasn't happening here. And why they felt it necessary to show you the real girl looking distressed over and over before the cartoon drawings is beyond me. It certainly didn't add anything. The end became obvious long before the character figured it out. This was a very dark story line in dark and creepy places with no relief. I did not enjoy it all that much, and I certainly do not recommend it for young children. I would not call this game "entertaining." There are many others out there with much better qualities.
flaca | Added on: November 11, 2012
 
This game put me to sleep and it's barely 9 pm. The graphics weren't that great and the voice acting was absurd. I could barely play 30 minutes. No way. I can't recommend this game. Way big size in content too.... looked like it had potential though, but found it really lacking.
puppynurse | Added on: November 11, 2012
 
Wow this game does make you think but it is not over the top difficult and the hint feature is more than helpful. I really liked this game, the hidden object scenes were not overly difficult and not too easy either, the story flowed well, and the graphics were great, not too dark and objects looked like what the word was asking for. I say definitely worth purchase or trial to see if you like it, I used funpass to play full version and had no regrets. It is kind of short I finished it in 3 hours. Not really kid friendly though especially younger kids, just due to the nature of the story.
smshelton | Added on: November 4, 2012
 
THESE GAME WAS DIFFERENT BUT GOOD A LOT OF BACK AND FOR BUT YOU CAN AND DO GET INTO IT. THE SOUND WAS GOOD SO WAS THE GRAPHICS IT WILL KEEP YOU ON YOUR TOES
Sarcastia | Added on: November 5, 2012
 
I liked the game enough to finish it because the story line continued to carry me through but the scenes were used over and over again so it became a bit stale after a while. If u select Casual Mode in the beginning, the hints refresh quickly so it is much easier to find your way through the game if you get stuck.
ILuvCats | Added on: December 6, 2012
 
I really liked this game. I liked the interaction between the "real" girl and the girl in the game. It gave a little break and added to the story line. I thought the HO"s were pretty easy to find and I believe the tutorial indicated that there might be extra items besides those in the list and you could find them by moving your cusrsor over the scene. I get a little upest with people who compain so much about the mini-games. That's what the journals are for. If you looked closely at the clues that she kept in her journal, you would have had no problem with the "acid" mix; everything you needed to know was highlighted in heavy black.That's what the journals or notes are for- clues for lock combinations, creating potions, directions for specific puzzles, etc. Don't ignore them! I also notice that alot of people take great pride in how fast thay can complete a game. I don't understand that. I like to take my time and enjoy the game I'm playing. Sometimes I play 2 or 3 at once, shifting between them so I don't get bored. These are games to be played and enjoyed; at least I think so. I was surprised by the ending and hope there will be a follow up Suburan Mystery.
leea928 | Added on: November 5, 2012
 
I did play it till the end, so it wasn't too bad, though I was not happy with the ending at all. It was probably a set up for the next game in the series. This is one of those games were you need to find certain items and interact with them to move forward. What you need and what your going to do with it is not very clear. In the hidden object games you can click your heart out without being penalized. Sense you do not know what you need, you end up hitting the hint button alot to tell you where to go to find something. You are even taken back to the hidden item scenes to find things. The mini games do not have very good instructions so there is some trial and error there to figure out. There is one where you have to mix colors to fill a vial. I soon found out you have to move a switch and then fill another vial with different colors. I often go back and play this type of game, this one is not one I will play again.
pmac415 | Added on: November 6, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. It takes you on a demented journey through your old house in search of your missing brother and his family. The game starts off with tasks that make you use your brain, you can even find more inventory items after the hidden object search. So you have to click alot of figure out what else you can pick up. I thought the live actors, combined with the comic strip characterization was unique and different. I can't wait to purchase this game, it is that good! In the trial I got as far as swimming in the chambers, and am still trying to find my way out. Try the demo and decide for yourself. I found it challenging and was totally immersed in playing this game. Great graphics and soundtrack with voice overs of the creepy mad doctor.
SaraHagel | Added on: November 1, 2012
 
The game started out pretty well, and the storyline actually got me interested enough to play until the "bitter" end. I found that the creators of the game obviously wanted some kind of new twist to the object searching, and therefore they chose not to make an hidden object scene finite; with that I mean that the scenes were still open after having found all of the listed items, and that it was possible to find other useful items there, either then or later on. That may seem like a bright idea, but the fact is that it mainly causes confusion since you're not actually aware of what to look for, and when, and especially not where. The number of possible scenes where you may or may not find something useful gets out of hand. Additionally some of the minigames had no or very misleading instructions, and due to that I was forced to skip one of them (the chemistry mixing thingamajig) - which I don't like since I'm a stubborn lady! Finally we have the little issue about the help system. Due to the confusion described above you are basically FORCED to use the help button quite extensively to get at least an idea about where to look, and even an indication of what door to pick "drains" the button. It does recharge pretty quickly, but not quick enough, in my opinion. A nice try, a rather OK storyline, but it didn't really go all the way, unfortunately.