Special Enquiry Detail - The Hand That FeedsSpecial Enquiry Detail - The Hand That Feeds
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Special Enquiry Detail - The Hand That Feeds
Tayotae | Added on: December 5, 2011
 
This game was very enjoy-able. The graphics were well done and the story line took you all over the place, in search for the murderer. It does have some good voice over, along with quite a bit or reading. The two dectectives were good, but not as good as I was. I surprised myself in solving the case early on, but still enjoyed playing it very much. The story line was well written having a number of suspects to choose from, placing to visit, things to find, people to meet and a number of mini games to reck your brain a little. All in all, nicely done.
sportygal2009 | Added on: June 1, 2010
 
As much as I loved this game I will start by saying this is definitely NOT a kid friendly game as there is some violence and taking tweezers to get bullets out of a couple of bodies and the walls of the room -Um, I could of definitely done without doing that - getting the bullets out. Other than that I loved this game - I felt like a detective on the case questioning the suspects and gathering the evidence. Lots of twist and turns. Just when you think you know who the guilty is? NOPE - Another twist in the case. As far as game play it's relaxing as there is no time limit. Also thought it was long enough as it took me about 5 1/2 hours. Nice variety of mini games which can be skipped without penalty if you can't figure them out. I only skipped 2 of them. The hidden object part of the game was fairly easily. A few were a little challenging to find but you do have a hint button which charges up pretty quick. I give this 5 stars overall as I sure enjoyed for the most part except what I mentioned early about removing the bullets. Oh and after you solve the case it unlocks a seek & find where you can find more items.
roxy8279 | Added on: May 29, 2012
 
I like the way the story went in a circle to find the culprit. This was a great game.
aj1311 | Added on: August 13, 2010
 
It's a lot more fun than other HO games because you actually get to do stuff which I like. I loved checking email and doing the forensic stuff! It was a pretty predictable outcome but still fun.
Kamberley | Added on: June 2, 2010
 
Mainly a hidden object game with a few extra puzzles. Has excellent graphics and a good story line. Took me about 4 hours to complete. Once you finish it, the game opens another mode of play. Cigarettes are often an object on the list to find and they list dollar but it's actually a hundred dollar bill. I really enjoyed the game and would recommend it.
twi_gurl | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
the storyline is the USP for this game...the murder, suspense, catching the thief etc. were innovative... not that good for replay because when solving a murder goes once is enough... recommended for crime show buffs... average HOB finding...the graphics were interesting but revisiting the same sites for clues again and again kinda makes it easier as by the end I could literally tell where the objects were without even looking for them... loved the forensic expert though.. ;) overall rating-3.5/5
DarkChylde | Added on: November 3, 2010
 
I liked how you felt like a Detective, plus CSI. The investigation and lab work, made you feel involved in every aspect of the game. The scenes were great. Some of them pretty disgusting (dirty, like the bathroom, which made me want to clean mine over and over again). Graphics are great. The characters got a little annoying, but I got through their conversations without wanting to quit the game, because I wanted to see "who did it". Overall a good game. I would recommend it.
PipCat | Added on: July 28, 2010
 
I enjoyed working my way through this game. The story line kept me engaged making me want to do just one more chapter before exiting the game. Some of the objects were very small and took some time to find but I didn't have to use the Hint button too often. I can't comment on whether or not it has good replay value becuase I only went through it once.
Lisa522 | Added on: August 30, 2010
 
Decided to give this game a try tonight as it looked interesting. Not sure why but I've really been in the mood to play HOGs lately, which is odd for me cause I'm a TM'er at heart - you people are corrupting me! LOL Anyway, great game - I really enjoyed this one. Felt like I was playing for about 20 minutes and next thing I know the demo is over. The game is well done - the graphics are pretty good for the most part - I like the added touches of realism (flies in the apartments, that really nasty cruddy bathroom - eww!) Also, the dialogue in the diary I thought seemed ultra realistic (I have a teen daughter!) and even the responses from the people you question in the investigation. I found that I had to use the hints to find about 1-2 items per scene in most cases (I'm too impatient to scour the screen for too, too long). Storyline is very interesting - and I like that you are actually involved doing the detective work and forensics - but most of all I'm glad that they guide you in those parts so you aren't sitting there trying to build a makeshift shovel out of an old matchbook and an army helmet. I'm so tired of those types of games! This one was a refreshing change of pace and different from anything I have played before. This one is a definite buy. P.S. I really liked the captain's voiceovers - she is one tough cookie :)
emi1 | Added on: June 7, 2010
 
as much as i want to see who dun it, this game was not one of my favorites-the objects were mostly challenging-the minigames good, but the dialogue was not interesting and the mistakes in wording distracting, and tho the directions for each scene were pretty precise, i sometimes had difficulty getting the icons to cooperate. somehow the annoying outwayed the good. hopefully you'll like it better...
jnapole9 | Added on: June 2, 2010
 
This game is good, the story really does pull you in. It has a WMC feel to it, I think they had that series in mind when they made this game. It also has a csi, law and order feel to it. I like how the objects you are looking for are all relevant to the what the game is about.
emeraldember | Added on: June 21, 2010
 
It took me forever to find a game I felt was worth buying and this one was it!! First I want to say the background graphics were wonderful! I am one of those people who quickly figure out the "whodunit" but it had be very much puzzled. The only thing I have to say is some of the objects were tiny. I would recomend this game to adults who like forensics and HOG. I also have to say the characters were a bit hokey. All and all it was well worth my credit to buy and finish.
systmsdonkeyote | Added on: June 1, 2010
 
Well...it is a Hidden Obect game, after all. While still entertaining and close to being out dateable, this little ditty says it all! Second game is most same as the first, Flash it on Facebook's wall. 'Cause if you've ever played a Hidden Obect game before, You are quite safe to say that you've played 'em all!
Harlowe1962 | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I liked this game. It was very entertaining! I muted the music most of the time, but the story was a good one.
Smedley | Added on: June 29, 2010
 
If the Gamehouse staff"s endorsement isn't enough, try this super HOG and you'll be right on the case! Lots of great things in this one - and some unique features, too! I like having vocal narration of the dialogue scenes; there's lots to do here: find hidden objects (hint: some of them are very small), interview POIs, collect evidence, solve puzzle clues/tasks, and keep on the trail of the perp! (the Butler didn't do it!) The graphics are great, but the interaction features, such as using the computer and sending emails, is really neat! The only drawback might be some of the trite character dialogue, especially on the part of Det Torino, who looks more like a Vice Cop than a sleuth and her "me first" attitude. All in all, a real addictive, challenging, FUN HOG caper!!
Jazz | Added on: June 2, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game. Some of the things you have to do are not intuitive so really makes you think like the police/CSI/NCIS. Just loved it!! Would highly recommend to anyone who is into the CSI or NCIS series on television.
LisesPieces24 | Added on: June 16, 2010
 
I really liked this one. Some of the dialogue is a little cheesy, and I laugh at how the characters pronounce each other's names differently. It would have been even better if there was more involved with the forensics and evidence processing stuff, but overall it was great.
georgia239 | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
To much interaction with players; conversations lengthy. Like the game but repetitive and somewhat tedious.
ma4mail | Added on: June 10, 2010
 
Although the settings had visual impact, I didn't pay much attention to the story line. The puzzles were a little interesting and the hidden objects not difficult. All in all it was clever and innovative
haley458 | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
This was definitely one of the better "murder mystery" games I've played. I like being able to use the crime-solving tools (fingerprinting dust, etc.) and I also enjoyed taking on the occasional role as the CSI guy in the lab. Really, the only annoying part, besides maybe having some of the H/O scenes in the same rooms, were the 2 detectives (especially the female). Maybe I watch too many "Law and Order"s, but she was VERY ambitious in arresting person after person with little to no evidence. It didn't ruin anything for me though -- I'd still definitely recommend this one.
tlb3900 | Added on: December 3, 2010
 
NOT kid friendly for small kids. The game was nice and long, which is good. Objects were not excessively hard to find, and the scenes had plenty of light so you could see them. The mini games were usually easy enough for anyone to do them, but you can skip them if you want without being penalized. You just have to wait for the skip button to light up. You also get as many hints as you want without penalty, as long as you wait for the hint button to light up between hints. The only weird thing was that I often laughed at the way the spoken parts were read. It was obvious that either the people reading them were not native English speakers, or else the parts were read by a computer that had been programmed with the wrong pronunciation of a few words, and emphasized the wrong words in certain sentences (like a computer might do---wrong voice pitch, etc.) and the wrong syllables of some words. The scripts were for the most part free of spelling errors, which was surprising given the incorrect speaking of some words and sentences. That didn't bother me, though. It was just amusing. I got this when it was free, so I didn't have to pay, and therefore it was definitely a good value. The only bad thing, and it really is only a little annoying, is that I didn't like the late introduction of some characters that should have been introduced earlier. Introducing new characters at the end of a plot means the player has little chance to wonder if the late introduced characters did the crime or not for very long at all before the story is over. This one is still pretty good, though.
kitscat | Added on: December 3, 2010
 
Good graphics, but far too much dialogue, and the background music is very irritating, to the point that I muted it while I played. The game froze up less than halfway through, and I had to uninstall it.
MrsMo | Added on: June 10, 2010
 
i have to agree with emi1 on this one. i found it mostly routine with little to differentiate it from other hidden object games. there were one or two places where the instructions for doing the investigation left something to be desired, and there was no way to get any further help so you had to either figure it out or stop playing. some of the scenes were so easy i was thru them in a minute or so, while others were a lot more challenging because they were so dark and hard to see some of the areas. the diaglogue was stilted, and mostly silent, but suddenly the characters are vocal and it scares the liver out of you! LOL i guess the bottom line is if you like games that move along relatively quickly with a few challenges here and there, you will enjoy this one.
Graine | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
What impressed me the most was the graphics; there were some sort of streaming video stuff in the background (sorry; I'm not great with the current lingo) which, while didn't necessarily contribute to the solving of the game, gave an interesting look. I did like the cut scenes, I think they were necessary to the plot and well done. I'd rather have too much story than not enough. That being said, the denouement of the plot was less than satisfying and pretty unbelievable. I mean, seriously? I'd like to see more games like this, but that didn't emphasize pointless HO, but something that might actually contribute to the game play. I mean, come on, searching through scenes for nonsense is one thing; but what if it was integral to the plot of the game?
sprig | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
I liked the fast recharge on the hints and the ability to skip puzzles if needed. I like to be challenged some, but not if it frustrates the heck out of me! Some of the puzzles really made me think, but not so's my ears were smoking! lol The voice actors, however, left a lot to be desired. Very forced dialog, not very natural at all. Maybe English isn't their first language, but there had to be better ppl to use?! And couldn't they have agreed on how to pronounce the first victim's name?? Overall, very entertaining, though.
ArmySSG39 | Added on: April 7, 2011
 
I really liked this game! I am a crime buff, so it was a fun who-dun-it. The hidden objects are not hard to find and there are alot of them. The few mini-games are easy to solve. Definitely give this game a shot, it's not really a good replay game since you know who did it, why play again. Once you finish the game you open up an opportunity to find ALL the hidden objects in the whole game....That was fun also.