Shutter IslandShutter Island
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Shutter Island
Smiley90 | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
Didn't like the ending but enjoyed the game . Enjoyable animation & graphics .
covingtonmom | Added on: March 1, 2010
 
I was very disappointed in this game. I don't like HOG's whose only purpose is to find objects and that seems to be the only thing you do in this one. Add to that objects that are impossible to see because they are too small and superimposed onto other similiar colored items. Even when you need to use items, there is no thought to it, you just put everything in your inventory into the circles. Nothing to combine or work out. I got bored very early on. I kept playing, hoping it might become more interesting, but ended up not finishing it.
wifeofsickening | Added on: August 3, 2010
 
this game ended abruptly and unsatisfingly.at what i felt was the climax of the game;it ended!just as the plot and idea of what was happening was revealing itself, the game rolled credits.sucked.glad i didnt pay alot 4the game but still,money is money.
rmm0324 | Added on: March 8, 2010
 
I wish I had know that this game was so short before purchasing. Not worth the $19.99.
faye1 | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
I'm glad I didn't buy the game. The story line was jumpy and it stops abruptly. I would not recommend it for kids.
emi1 | Added on: March 5, 2010
 
i really liked the graphics and music. it was scary/eerie. going in different rooms, finding weird stuff, and the visual distortions/sounds were cool. BUT WAY TOO SHORT!!! i'm glad i didn't buy it b/f trying it out. thank goodness for trial play...
TexasLadyL | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
I played the demo and was caught up in the game so bought it and stayed until I finished it. It has twist and turns and an ending that was quite unexpected. It is well worth the money and your time. Locating the objects isn't as hard as tricky and the story line brings you right along. A pleasant morning of gaming. Enjoy
jent | Added on: March 8, 2010
 
Too short, able to complete quickly. A 'one time play' game only
kablpn | Added on: February 24, 2010
 
it was an ok HOG, some of the things you had to find were too small. Had a hard time seeing them. The story line was good, but, I didn't really care for the ending.
iam53 | Added on: March 1, 2010
 
Too much money for a game that only lasts an hour or 2. Might as well just stay with the free version. Story line was good, just not enough,
GamerNo1 | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
This game had anywhere from a 45 min. to a 90 min. load time on my computer. If I hadn't been really excited about this game, I wouldn't have bought it...But the game ran fine and turned out to be worth the wait. The storyline completely drew me in, and the hidden objects were neither too difficult nor too easy to find. I can't wait to see the movie!
Tayotae | Added on: February 15, 2011
 
Sorry, but for me this game was all talk and little action. The graphics were good, but thats about it. I found it to be a bit boring. I wanted to take a nap while I was playing. Not a game I would play again or purchase.
naokiyukimura0 | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
Pros: Unique story idea, good graphics and fun to play. Cons: Too short, the ending wasn't satisfying - it made the game seem more like just another teaser for the movie then a stand-alone game. No story progression and it gets confusing, ending without really telling you anything. Comment: I thought it was fun for what it was, and liked the dark themes it presented. But when I finished it, I felt like I know as much about it as I did -before- I started the game. This game goes as much in depth as the trailers for the movies do, just with hidden objects. I don't regret buying it, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it. Its a novelty based off the movie. I finished the game within a time frame of two hours. I might replay it once more, but there isn't enough content to keep me entertained for more then that.
irishangel59 | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
Started strong but the finish left me thinking maybe I should watch the movie, I might get more out of it than I did the game. Don't think so though. Would not buy again.
Minxski | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
This game had a really good atmosphere and really seemed to be something spooky and compelling, however, you just end up being a little disappointed at the end. It was great to see actors such as Ben Kingsley, pity the actors didn’t speak...yes, I want the moon on a stick! I have to say, overall, it’s a good little game, but what lets it down is a little repetitiveness and how you select the tools could be a little annoying. But, I definitely recommend trying it out and see what you think!
bluesky | Added on: April 12, 2010
 
It was an interesting game but once it started and you get really into the game, the story is over. Wish it was longer. The sound was good, though.
mavethrave | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
It keeps you interested wondering how it's going to come out but it is quite repetitive. It is a good HO game and I won't commenmt on the ending since I don't want to give it away for those who don't want to know till they get there. If you like HO's I think you'll like this one.
dianalyn1965 | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
I thought this game would be a little more engaging. It was repetitive and just lacked something. I would have liked to have seen a better ending.
zenobia13 | Added on: January 27, 2012
 
There is so little imagination in this game, you begin to feel like you are really plodding through the rain on an island, picking up debris. The objects you find are mundane, the sort of things that really might be in an old building: wrench, rope, gloves, shoes, old telephone, and almost never a clever anachronism like a slice a pizza in the boiler room, or a cupcake in a mausoleum. No, these developers wanted you to feel as lost and irritable as the characters in the game. There are very few HOs in each game, and when you collect the mechanical pieces necessary for your next task, you simply drag and drop them into a circle where they have to be used, no skill at all. The mini-games are equally pointless, and the sort of thing you'd find on a children's placemat. I heard the end was bad, but I doubt I'll ever find out!
SUZsaysHi | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
This HO game is the kind I like to play. Some of the objects are easy to find and some are harder. Use the hint wisely, because it takes it a while to recharge. I would not recommend this game for kids because of some of the content. I am really thinking of purchasing this one.
Lady_Gamer | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
When I first seen that Shutter Island had a game I automatically got excited because I liked the movie and I like HOGs and I play alot of them, so I decided to download the online gameplay (you know one of the games they offer as "today's free game") and it took me a couple days to beat the game because of how boring it kept getting so I finally beat it today and was very disappointed. Alot of the dialog was from the movie which I didn't really mind but there was too much of it. Some objects were difficult to find because of the size or it was too dark in that room (even if it was a lighted room). The game started off pretty interesting and I started getting into it but then it got boring because of all the dialog. The game is almost pretty much based on the movie but was alot like a teaser trailor (except for the minor changes) because the story gets cut off right as everything is unraveling which irritated me because knowing what happened in the movie I was expecting at least one more scene of dialog and one more room but I was let down by the abrupt ending. But it had potential to be fun they just needed to put more time and effort into the game because they had alot of pointless parts in the game. The whole put the inventory items in the circle thing irritated me they could have did better than that. I'm glad I didn't spend any money on it and I wouldn't recommend anyone else to. I would probably play this game one more time but that would be it, A definite one time and trial only play.
kylakitty | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
I enjoyed the game but it was too short and the ending very abrupt. What happened to the rest of the story? Almost seems like it would take more time to watch the movie than complete the game.
Crash54 | Added on: March 8, 2010
 
Quite liked the game but found it too easy and the scenes too dark, dreary, but I suppose it was a mental hospital!! Just made it hard to find some of the objects. Also the game suddenly ended when I wasn't expecting it to.
dcpiggy | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
There was too much story and stupid games. I thought it was to be a hidden object game and maybe 5% of it was. Very disappointed.
Shadeaustar | Added on: February 23, 2010
 
I liked the premise very much. It sounded like a game I would enjoy. Unfortunately, it wasn't really worth the trouble. The setting is realistic, and the items are in physically possible locations. If you're looking for a sandwich, you don't need to bother checking the clouds in the window. This is the sort of HO I like best, but it was the only winning point for me. The game held my hand the entire way. Every time there was a problem to solve, it told me what to do whether I wanted it to or not. Find the key to unlock the door. Find the wood and matches to lay a fire. Why couldn't it have let me figure out on my own that I needed to unlock the door or lay a fire? The finding of items wasn't difficult for the most part. Some were cunningly hidden or had just bits sticking out. There was no option to see the silhouette of list items. On silhouette levels, you could mouse over the item's picture, and it would tell you what it was a picture of. The character you are playing suffers at times in the game from migraines, and to show them, the screen flashes in red. If you or a family member have epilepsy, DO NOT play this game. The screen flashing was annoying and distracting. There were other visual effects that also helped suck the last bits of fun out of gameplay. Gameplay was very repetiitve, and quite dull. I stuck it out because I was curious about the ending. The storyline really WAS good. The ending was far too short, unthoughtout, and left me extremely disappointed. I suppose they didn't want to give away anything in the movie, but they should have given it a real ending and then say if you want to find out what really happened, pop over to the theater for the real story. All in all, I do not recommend this game to anyone. Due to the flashing screens, it could be a hazard for epileptics and other people with seizure disorders. Don't buy this one.
Bodicea1967 | Added on: January 4, 2013
 
the game was way too easy clicky and short i finished it in an hour though the graphics were medium i thiunk that could have been made up if the game was a little longer and less clicky make me work to find stuff a little more i felt everything was just handed on a silver platter where to go
DarkDragon | Added on: April 20, 2011
 
I watched the movie and it was good. So, when I see it offered free, I decided to try. However, it was not very good: too dark HO scenes, more talking than tasks. The graphics and sound effects are good, but it's pretty much that's it. Also, the ending is abrupt, because this is more of a movie trailer, my guess is to direct people who haven't seen the movie to see it for the ending, which was brilliant though very sad in my opinion. I won't purchase this game, I rather recommend you go to red box or something and rent the movie.
Cuzzywuz | Added on: June 2, 2011
 
This game is quite interesting to play although I don't care much for dialogues you can skip them. It does make you think without being totally frustrating. It's good that there is an indicator to tell you when somnething you're looking for is elsewhere, this way you don't waste your time looking in the wrong scene. I have seen the movie and enjoyed it which made me interested in buying the game.
sportygal2009 | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
And wanting more but I MUST start by saying that this is definitely NOT a kid friendly game AT ALL due to subject content - mental patients that have escaped the institution and the lady as you get a little into the game that is screaming and coming towards the computer screen just about made me jump out of my chair as I was not expecting that at all. OMG! This would be a great game to play at Halloween time! LOL! Definitely an adult game here. Yes the story is very interesting as it will make you want more and even go see the movie, that is if you are into this sort of thing. I really paid attention to the story as I was hooked from the very beginning. The hidden object part of the game is better than the typical hidden object game as your not just finding stuff. Some things you find are used to unlock other things. Also a few mini games. It's not really a challenging game but it is a little thinky at times. What makes me give this 4 stars instead of 5 is while the story is very interesting as mentioned by the very first review the ending is a disappointment. Is there going to be a part 2 as this ended dumb? I do feel a little cheated here because of the ending. This is also why I don't feel it would be very good reply, well maybe at Halloween you could play this cause it's very creepy!
newiegyrl | Added on: February 23, 2010
 
This game was a complete waste of time... the story line was jumpy and the whole thing was just boring... if this game is any indication as to how the movie is... I won't waste my time twice!!!
Harlowe1962 | Added on: April 20, 2011
 
My opinion went back and forth throughout this whole game. The hidden objects were mostly way too easy to find, but then there might be one item I couldn't find and I would use a hint. I liked the screen with the yellow circles that told you the items were in another room. There were not enough of those screens though. The dialog was confusing and made no sense to me...it was a stupid storyline and I felt like I was cheated by the ending and its abruptness after all the time I put into playing it. No closure of what happened to the officer, just rolling credits. For the most part, the game did keep my interest and I finished it. For a free download of the day it was worth playing, but I would never buy it.
virgo | Added on: March 5, 2010
 
Slow, tedious, not engaging. Way too much dialogue. First part of the game was extremely slow, poor graphics.
kitscat | Added on: August 26, 2010
 
I couldn't wait to uninstall this one. I played it all the way through one time but have no desire to play it again. There is too much dialogue; the clues are so small, or faint, that you can't see what some of them are supposed to look like, and even when you use the hints, some of the items are so tiny that you have to just click around to find them. You have to get the cursor dead-on the item to pick it up, so sometimes you think you don't have the correct item. Last of all, some scenes are too dark to see the items, even in lighted rooms. All in all, it wasn't much fun to play, but I must admit that it had a surprise ending.
visredles | Added on: February 24, 2010
 
I agree what a waste of money...too easy not sure what the purpose of this game is. Tried the demo and when I purchased the game I finished in 10 minutes. Try other ones
GeekMom | Added on: March 12, 2010
 
This game is based on a horror film, so it's not good for kids. Pluses: I enjoyed the atmosphere -- the music and painted scenes. The mini games were fun and had a good variety. The objects were difficult to find without being impossible. I enjoyed the scenes where the protag had a migraine or something else weird and there were effects added to the screen, though if you also have migraines, it could give you one too. Minuses: While some of the objects were relevant to the story, many of the objects had only a thin relationship to the story, but just fit into the general horror genre. The ending was a real let down. While the scenes were nicely painted, the story consisted of a lot of dialog that you had to click through. Surely if it was from a film, they could do better than that. The few times, faces jumped out at you, it wasn't scary nor was the screaming. The game revisited scenes several times over, though the artwork was sufficient that I didn't mind much. If you're in the mood for horror HOG then this is okay, but there are few other couple games like Hooked that are better.
kesay17 | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
Fairly good game but much too short, not a good replay. Rather an easy hidden object game. Took about an hour and a half to complete. Would have liked it better if more involved.
wingsoar | Added on: February 25, 2010
 
It is a great game but too short, most people finish within a couple of hours. Now the ending, if you go see the movie, you will understand why the game ended the way it did. The movie, INCREDIBLE BIG TWIST!
rickter | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
I played the game in it's trial stage but I found that the objects were sometimes hard to find. They were very small. I don't like games when the objects are to small, it tends to make a game that is normally easy to play more difficult. When your searching for objects so small it makes me mad and I then hate playing. It's just not that fun. I don't know about you but I like to play a game that challenges me, makes me think but is just fun.
lexic | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
This is one of the games that tells you what you need to find. For example, "You need to mend a hole in a sock. Find a needle and thread." I made up that example, but I hope that demonstrates the type of game. Okay if you like that type of thing. The objects were very easy to find as well. I became bored with it quickly.
IndigoJo | Added on: June 23, 2010
 
I'm encouraged to find a WIN7 friendly game, which also runs fine on my WINXP PC! I saw Shutter Island, the movie 2 days ago, and the Game graphics are highly realistic. This makes finding the objects much more challenging, and the theme is true to the Movie, so I recommend mature teens (understanding of schizophrenia) and any adult play. The pace is self centered, and without any time clock, but advancing depends upon found items! On the negative side, there's too much dialogue, with constant clicking to discover what each character will say next. This can be skipped through. Overall 4 stars for a grownup, original, all hidden object, intellectual game. Minus a star for excessive dialog resulting in constant screen clicking.
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: July 11, 2011
 
I like the game until the end...it just ends..lol. It has similarities to the movie but not many...I used my Fun Pass and so glad I didn't waste money actually buying this game..
Babala | Added on: February 25, 2010
 
The atmosphere was excellent with haunting music, creepy setting and very good graphics. It's about 90/10 HOG/adventure with a few mini-games most veteran HOG-lovers would've seen before. I haven't seen the movie so I couldn't tell you how accurate it was, but the storyline wasn't well fleshed out so it wasn't as engrossing as you might think. Its biggest short-comings are very short length and abrupt, unsatisfying ending. Some items were quite small, though I was able to find most of them. It seemed that the game was rushed into production as an afterthought to the movie. With time & effort, it could've been much better, but as it is I give it a C+.
angelapelkey | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
this game was not very challenging, i finished it in 2 hours, it i had to do it again i would not purchase this game,
nancyw | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
Shutter Island is the bes hidden object game i have played in a long time. The story line keeps you guesses alll the way through. I have not seen the move and will see it now for sure. The only thing one is left wondering is when does part two come out and there had better be a part two.
katesgram | Added on: April 20, 2011
 
I might have liked this game more if it had an option to use a regular cursor rather than the custom cursor. I never like custom cursors as they just seem harder to maneuver than the regular ones. I didn't play long because of that.
mari494 | Added on: February 19, 2010
 
Shutter Island is a "better" hidden object game...the storyline may actually influence some to see the movie. However, some of the items become repetitive and the ending will leave you disappointed and wanting more...
rettamamacat | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
This one kept me wanting more....literally. I hate games that keep you hanging. I haven't seen the movie yet but I sure hope there's some closure. Interesting story line. It grabs you and sucks you in. Overall.... creepy,freaky and fun.
fuschiagirl | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
the story is good but it was really short...it only took me an hour to complete. Plus the ending was really disappointing. I felt it was a little repetative at times as well.
JABBA | Added on: February 17, 2011
 
Overall, I would say this game was enjoyable because of the general easy play & unique effects. The effects caused one to concentrate harder, which I guess, is a GOOD thing. The twist was unexpected & made you think. If I could criticize anything it would be the slow-responding game cursor & difficulty manuevering "exactly" on the object. Also, IF the dialogue characters could have been less "pasted from another sheet of paper" & possibly MORE animated OR at least posted in the same background you are playing in. Otherwise, it was worth the effort & effects were unique, sound effects added to game play.
1337gamer | Added on: March 11, 2010
 
Let me sum up Shutter Island with this phrase: I beat it during my trial play-through. Now most would agree with me that is way, way too short, and I can only recommend this as a trial. But in case you need me to talk you into the trial, here we go: my miniature review of a miniature game. Shutter Island starts off interestingly enough. It advances the story through stilted chat bubble sequences that feature 2d portraits of the actors portrayed in the movie. This is a pretty neat idea, and I enjoyed this level of storytelling, but there are some glaring exceptions to the way the story is presented. First off, the story actually starts about 2/3 of the way through the game and you go BACK to see how it led up to this point and go beyond. This was kind of an unnecessary move in my opinion, as it is kind of jarring to get back to this point and realize "Oh, I remember this place" only 15 minutes after you start, it all feels tacked-on. Odd design decision there. The other problem I had with the story was the momentary and mandatory "let's stop and pick through random items" scenes. I understand that may sound picky in a hidden object game, but Shutter Island forces it on you so unnaturally, it throws you out of perspective. Okay, we need to find clothes in this scene so you can blend in, but first pick through all this random trash EVEN THOUGH you can clearly see the items you need later staring back at you, begging you to collect them and move on. Other hidden object games have handled this much smoother, such as not having the items present in the scene. By the time I had completed all the seeking and moved to the next story element, (find the key, pick up the papers, etc.) I already knew EXACTLY where these items were. As for how the game is presented, there are some dreary environments as you would suspect, but unfortunately the games attempt at shock or horror was lost on me. When something first popped out at me, I actually laughed a little, because it was so corny and expected. Not the intention they had, I'm sure. That's not to say that the environments or pacing are bland, just predictable, and things actually stand out clearly when you're meant to click on them. Some hidden object games take me several minutes to locate that one hard to see item or complete the obligatory mini-game, but with Shutter Island, I had most scenes complete in ten consecutive clicks. It is too easy for veterans of the genre, and you can actually SKIP all the mini games after a few failed attempts or a few seconds, I'm not sure which. And on the veteran note, this is hard to recommend for your little ones. If they take the time to read the dossiers or anything of the sort, they mention murder and arson and all sorts of lovely non-family issues. This is to be expected from a game based on an R-rated movie, but just keep that in mind before handing over the reins. I probably sound pretty negative in all things, but the one thing I enjoyed above all else, with the glaring exception of one scene, was the developer's ability to not artificially place items in a scene. What I mean is that you don't have items magically floating in the wall, ceiling, stair banister, etc. everything is uniformly and naturally placed, except for a first aid kit on the ceiling. All in all, fans of the movie, anyone looking for a scare, or those that have played out other hidden object games should give Shutter Island a try. Again, though, I highly recommend only downloading the trial. I hate to take the influence off of supporting future development from the team, but they need to provide longer games to get noticed, and an hour-long play-through doesn't cut it.
kingwill | Added on: March 12, 2010
 
I liked the game but the storyline was very brief. Once you started to get into the mystery of the game it was over with no answers, It actually stopped abruptly and the end credits started to run, with no explanation as to why your character is in there except you get migraine headaches. There is no reason to keep a notebook because the clues you get don't mean anything. I sure hope the movie is better than this game.
peanuts4513 | Added on: March 1, 2010
 
Potential to be fun but was too simple and had very little challenge. Completed entire game way too quickly. Feel it was just a promotion gimick for the movie.
kstats | Added on: March 1, 2010
 
Although the HOG elements of this game were quite well done, the story was confusing, and the ending, well, a huge disappointment.
RandiM | Added on: May 7, 2010
 
I don't know why everyone loves this game. I didn't even finish the demo I was soooo bored. It is way to easy and boring. I almost fell asleep half an hour in. It's repetitive and blah. The only reason why I gave it a 2 was because the graphics are pretty good. Other than that if you like a challenge and an exciting game, this one isn't for you.
simango | Added on: April 20, 2011
 
the game was awful after fifteen mins. i stopped playing and removed it from my computer. not good quality. i would not recommend this game to anyone who is a player.