Shadow ShelterShadow Shelter
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Shadow Shelter
redaf | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
I was not sure I wanted to dive into another creepy hidden object game but this one is excellent! Graphics are great, storyline intriguing, voices very good. You are automatically set up to play on medium difficulty, but you have 4 levels to choose from. I opted to stay on the medium level. There is a map to show you where there are actions to complete, (yes it will transport you) and you pick up notes (stored for handy reference) in several locations that will help you complete tasks you encounter in other areas. Your "guide" and assistant is a disembodied hand which might remind you of thing from the Adams family, yet is not simply comic relief, but much more helpful. From relating the history of the house and family to assisting you in accessing locked areas and rooms. The music is mellow and relaxing most of the time with the exception of creepy little encounters and dramatic scenes. Hidden object scenes are well done, with several variations of styles of lists of objects. Some are interactive, some might require inventory items. There are a few "action" scenes to complete, but not terribly difficult. At least not on the medium skill level. Truly well a thought out and planned game. As always, a disclaimer; while everyone may not like it, I personally thought it quite enjoyable.
ampaige1022 | Added on: February 12, 2014
 
Love it! Pros: Sharp scences,beautiful and creepy atmosphere , the music is great ,story flows smoothly .You feel as though you are a part of the game . New and thinky and so much more. I would definately buy a platinum or collectors edition. Kudos to Nevosoft ! Cons; slow loading time between scences. Oh and the map is interactive... Hope this helps.
31174905 | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
Spend more time walking on map than you do in any room. Need a bit more reason to play
30889932 | Added on: March 5, 2014
 
I was surprised how much I enjoyed this game. I thought it was going to be your typical HOG, but it was much more fun. Having the map saves it as it can get confusing as to what room is where. Lot's of HOG's and puzzles. Not too hard, but not boring.
30857800 | Added on: February 11, 2014
 
Hands down, one of the best games I've played on Gamehouse. Interactive, great graphics, animation, puzzles, etc. HOH's are pretty easy though. Only downfall, is the time it takes to load between some of the scenes. I am a longtime Funpass holder and Shadow Shelter is tops in my books! Fun! Fun! Fun! More like this one please!
MJ1234 | Added on: February 7, 2014
 
This is a GREAT game - I played it all the way through in one sitting because it was so good! Great graphics, good voiceovers. Takes place in a realistic creepy old house. Hints can be adjusted to your level of difficulty. I did have problems with the hint button recharging when I changed the difficulty. Once I exited the game and went back in, it was fine. Lots of different rooms to go in with tons of HO scenes. The HO scenes were very clear - some are a list and some are drawings of the objects you need to find. Some of the beginning scenes were covered in cobwebs which added to the difficulty. I also had to get used to the inventory being on top! :) I don't think this game is suitable for kids - demons, a possessed little boy, exorcism...There is an interactive map that alerts you to areas where you have tasks to complete and you can click on that area to go right to it. The only complaint I have is the loading time between moving room to room. Kind of long and it got annoying. GREAT game!
31038157 | Added on: February 25, 2014
 
This is one of the best that Gamehouse has to offer. Totally enjoyable.
charl | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
I loved this game but it didn't get 5 stars for two reasons. the first is that the load process between the scenes took LONG time. The second reason is that the puzzles had no instructions. A few of the puzzles I could not really figure out how to play without using the hint button way too much. Having said that - the game was really interesting and well designed. It kept my interest and is worth replays. I recommend it.
32446675 | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
beautifully drawn, the HO scenes themselves are not very difficult. the difficulty comes in getting what you need outside the HO scenes and figuring out where to go next. a map gives some idea in that an exclamation mark will show rooms where there are still tasks to perform. unfortunately, if you don't have the right inventory item to perform the task you're out of luck till you find it. the hint button is useless for that. patience and a sharp eye is required. I had fun with it, but did have some frustrating moments.
talba | Added on: February 17, 2014
 
I liked this game a lot. It is very unusual, and definitely not for the person who likes to be spoon fed every step of the game. You really have to think, and review the required tasks, as well as the notes that are provided. The help function does a pretty good job if you get stuck, and there is also help available with a partial walkthrough online and various forums. I usually don’t give HOGs high marks for replay value, but I would play this one again. It was fun and challenging.
Ms.Peach | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
This review is after playing for about 15 mins. I was hoping it got better but it didn't. The scenes were extremely dark with no option to change. Thankfully for what you had to do in each scene this didn't hinder your progress. Basically all you had to do was quick short tasks. HO or perform a few tasks to proceed. No real effort. I just couldn't play any longer so kudos to you if you finish the game.
mimi2010 | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
This is a very challenging game, taking several hours to complete - and that's if you play all day! It's a beautifully drawn game, skillfully executed. Its minigames have no instructions so you have to work them out for yourself. Reloading between scenes can be a bit frustrating but it gives you time to get your breath back, and there's a bit of to-ong and fro-ing but that helps to familiarise yourself with the house. It made me jump a couple of times with some pretty freaky characters, and the end puzzle had my heart pounding! The end cut scene will have you begging for more - there HAS to be a sequel! For me, this is one of the best games I've played in a long time, and it's a keeper.
31716432 | Added on: March 18, 2014
 
Good story line with lots of hidden objects which can be found with a little thought. Lots of backwards and forwards and this was helped by the map which indicated where some actions were required. The map could have been improved by having the rooms named. The major issue I have is that moving out of a room and then moving into another room, the game needed to load. This made play very slow. Otherwise, the game was good.
AprilRyan | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
This is a bit of a weird one, I almost quit playing after 15 minutes, but once I got used to the game play mechanics, I actually liked it quite a lot. This hidden object adventure game is for me a bit to heavy on the hidden object scenes (which are quite easy and some are a bit unusual with drawings instead of shapes). I would have liked more puzzles, there were just a few, but those were original. When you start playing, you can't make a profile, so the only choices are new game or continue game. You can adjust the difficulty in the in-game menu (I played on hard, no sparkles, really slow hint recharge. there is also a custom option where you can adjust everything to your liking). The most annoying part was the load screen when going back and forth, normally I like to wander around a bit, but now I found myself using the interactive map because otherwise you had the load screen with every step (normally when people complain about this, on my computer it is a very minor wait, but not here). I really liked the hand and the way the story was told (you'll just have to play the game, because I don't want to give to much away). I do recommend to stick with the game in the beginning, because I did think it got a lot better after the first half hour. The game is not very long though, it took me just a few hours. I give it 3,5 stars, but rounded it up, because I had quite some fun playing it.
helicodger | Added on: February 28, 2014
 
I don't understand why so many hidden object game developers think that HO games need to depict dark and decaying scenes. This one takes it to such extremes that while the graphics are technically well done, they are aesthetically repulsive to the point that it detracts from an otherwise engaging story line. The map feature was essentially useless, and I have to agree with other reviewers that the slow scene loading is also frustrating. Too bad that these issues mar an otherwise well done game.
nvyank | Added on: March 5, 2014
 
Great graphics and the storyline was way too good!! I hope to see another one soon.
anneatplay | Added on: February 19, 2014
 
I would have given this game 7 stars...for originality, great story, beautiful graphics...but the between-scene loading was beyond horrendous. There was a lot of trekking around and every scene required a 10 to 20 second load time with the moving feet on a map. Very annoying. Beyond that, this game was wonderful, so if you are really patient you will be rewarded. Loved the Addams Family magic hand, didn't mind the multitudes of HOS because they were well done and centric to the game (no random out-of-time-out-of-element objects like most games). Hang in with the frustrating scene changes and you'll enjoy.
miller51 | Added on: March 7, 2014
 
First let me address the people who didn't like this game because it was "dark, with demons,and such". Did you read what the game was about or look at the preview shots? That might have given you an idea that this game was not your cup of tea. For me, I wish they made more "horror" HO games; this one had some surprise moves that made me jump a few times. I too would have rated this game a 5 except for the slowness in moving from place to place. Other than that, the map showed you exactly where you had to go to find active areas to be completed. The Journal gave you 3 sections to let you know what you had to do. First there were the tasks you had to complete; second you got instructions which you picked up along the way which told you how to mix potions, make certain objects work, etc. (they couldn't have made it any easier). And last, when you took the mechanical keys to "the hand" which every one so fondly remembers from the Addams Family, you were given a bit of history behind what happened at the house. This was one of the best HO games I have played in a long time. I didn't play it all in one sitting,so I was always anxious to get back to it as soon as I could. I also like that some of the HO areas were silhouettes instead of words you were looking for. The ending sort of left me wondering if ther will be a second "Shadow Shelter" - anyone pick up on that? I'm not big into vampires, so I hope there are more "dark" games like these made. And remember, read the deatails - you would if it were a movie or tv show.
30781013 | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
Once one gets involved in this game it is somewhat interesting, especially for those interested in demonology. Graphics are pretty good. The HOs are easy as are the puzzles. There is also an interactive map that helps you jump around.
_Jo_ | Added on: February 16, 2014
 
... but I got really annoyed at the long loading screen pretty much every other location. As another player noted, you spend more time walking than anything else. Unfortunately this made the game frustrating and irritating to me. Otherwise, great graphics, good English grammar and spelling too (one of my pet peeves with poor quality games), good HOS and variations on HOS. Just wish they could have reduced the loading times in both length and amount.
31055737 | Added on: February 13, 2014
 
I found this game interesting and fairly easy with a good story line. The map made it easy to go right where you need to go. I like a game that keeps me thinking but not so hard that I get frustrated and this fit the bill.
ocnsangel | Added on: February 12, 2014
 
Had a couple places I had to really think but this game is fun I hope they make more like this
MountainMan | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
If you love scary HOGs that will have you thinking then you must play this game. I became frustrated with this game at times but that's only because it made me think too hard. It was worth it though. Long story short you have to defeat a demon that has taken residence inside a little boy. To do this you must have special mechanical keys that will open up doors for you. You have a map and you had better learn it because it will save you a headache or two down the line Trust me on this one. The map shows you where actions can be performed and you can jump to that scene. Along the way you will perform a variety of actions to help you eventually defeat the demon. This game is outstanding. It is kind of a mixture of Theatre of the Absurd and the House of 1000 Doors. It's scary and fun at the same time. My only complaint is the length. I did feel it was kinda short but I played it for awhile. I just didn't want it to end. Play it!
dweeb | Added on: March 3, 2014
 
Yet another dark, decrepit mansion HO game. The HOs were okay, and there were some nice touches, but the entire game was so dark that I lost interest in going back and finally deleted the game. I'd like to see the gamemakers show more originality in their art and storylines, as in Nearwood.
30911745 | Added on: February 11, 2014
 
I absolutely loved this game. The graphics were top notch and the music (which I normally turn off) wasn't that bad and very atmospheric, so I kept it. The interactive map was a godsend, otherwise you'd end up spending all your time wandering backwards and forwards. (Especially if you play on the harder settings). I wouldn't let kids play this unless they're older, because it does have some jumpy bits in.
Loisjane | Added on: March 5, 2014
 
I really enjoyed playing this game. Great graphics, music, design. Helpful map. Puzzles did not have instructions, which made a couple of them very difficult to figure out. Nevertheless, totally enjoyable experience.
b52girlaz | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
I really loved the game, it was unique, fun, entertaining, great graphics, great scenes. It is very involving. I really liked the characters, one in particular! The mansion is huge and the art is really good. Now, it's just too bad the scene loading is so awful. ugh! it really started getting to me half way through, but the game was so good that I kept going. I would've given 5+ stars if not for that irritating loading thing. Also is a pretty long game imo.
pmac415 | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
This is the first time a game really creeped me out. The game is different than any I've played and it took me a while to get it. There are pictorial hints when an item is needed. Read the task to see what to do next. The hint works to find items, and sometimes to show what to do next, but if you're not sure, reading the tasks helped the most and don't give up! You can use the map to jump to the next room, it’s highlighted when there are still tasks to be done. You'll have to wait for each area/room to load. The map will help you get there faster. The game must be memory intensive for it to take a while to load, (and I have a really fast computer), but it's so worth the wait. I did get a little impatient, but I liked the ability to not use the map and travel from room to room, finding the keys and taking them to the HAND to activate. The "hand" (reminiscent of "thing" from the Addams Family) also tells the story of the fight against evil and the releasing of the demon. I didn't understand how to do a few things, but with trial and error I got through it. Clicking around a lot, even with the click penalty was another way I figured out what to do next, there are sparkles as well. This game is innovative and different and unlike any I've played before. It has major creep factor, cobwebs, rotten and decaying mansion/people, eerie atmosphere, and a possessed little boy who really gave me the heebie jeebies. I played to the wee hours of the morning and had to ask my dog to sleep with me I was so scared! lol. I finished it in broad daylight and loved every moment of it. This is one of the best designed games I've played. From the first time you fall into the basement, until the end, it really grabs you. NOT for the faint of heart! The flow from room to room is logical and there are clues like unfolding origami that gives you instruction. Sometimes you get items that you won't use right away, and items that you have to collect, check your inventory before moving from a room, it shows you how many items you need to find. The HOS are art drawings and word lists where you have to locate the item amidst a closet/table/trunk jumble of junk. Some are quite large, some are partially hidden, but keep at it, you'll find everything. I highly recommend this game. I disagree with some of the reviews I’ve read about it being low budget, no frills, it's just different than what we're used to seeing. Great game, very original story. Truly terrifying! I hope to see many more of these in the future. It's a great game with a story unfolding and an accomplishment of a job well done. it's an original story and the best game I have played.
cat_in_rv | Added on: March 20, 2014
 
If you are new to HO/adventure gaming, this is the game for you. It's a very complete game. There is a task list which gives you specific directions as to what needs to be done as well as a history section filling you in on the house's past history (courtesy of "the hand"), and a diary section that allows you to collect all sorts of information that you will need at some point in the game. There is also an interactive map that shows you precisely where you need to be to accomplish your next task. The map also jumps you to your desired location, which saves a lot of back and forth. The only thing that kept me from giving this game five stars was the very long loading time between each scene. No matter whether you use the map to jump or try to just move from room to room, the loading time is really bad. The theme here is the supernatural, so if that puts you off, this is not the game for you. This game hand-feeds you everything you need to know and do, so its not overly complicated. The mini games are fairly easy, and the hidden object scenes are very clear. Some objects need more than one step to acquire, but that is not difficult. This is a game well worth playing, as long as you have the patience to endure the slow scene changes.