SCRABBLESCRABBLE
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of SCRABBLE
jollyz | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
For me, Scrabble has always been played on the board. This younger generation has moved onto computers and many of our favorite table-top games have become digital. This isn't a bad thing however as proven by this version of Scrabble. Scrabble is quite simple, create words and score points. But we all know it is a lot more complicated than that. This game plays well, and a helpful hint system will prove useful to even the most seasoned players at improving their game and scoring. This game is quite nice and plays very well. It captures a lot of the game but something feels missing. Perhaps it's the lack of multi-player or the truncated dictionary. Or maybe I just miss the feel or the tiles and the board! Either way, If you've never Scrabble before; here is the perfect place to start.
31771155 | Added on: June 11, 2013
 
This is a great game, you can adjust how difficult the game is. The game has a big dictionary, many more words than I have ever heard of.
indiaink | Added on: April 2, 2013
 
Just love playing this game. It just needs an expanded dictionary!! Simple words like 'zen' aren't included, yet the computer can use capitalized countries, and obscure words like entamabae are included. A little frustrating when everyday words are eliminated. Otherwise, a great game.
Cimmerion | Added on: May 9, 2009
 
What's not to love about Scrabble? If you like the classic board game, you'll have everything you love and more. This version even has a clever way for you to play with your friends. My girlfriend and I passed most of the time on a trip to Detroit playing this game recently. I also love the fact that this version has the dictionary built right in. No need to reference a cumbersome book! Purists: be advised - it's the new dictionary that features the expanded two-letter word set.
dobrojoe | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
Scrabble is very good and works well. I have just a couple of niggles. Firstly, I would love to be able to play against a human opponent on another computer over the network. Secondly, the dictionary is a problem. Living in England, the Miriam Webster dictionary is totally inappropriate with its US spellings and plethora of non-English words.
mozartzydeco | Added on: August 18, 2009
 
How can you go wrong with a classic like Scrabble? I like the fact that the kids can play the computer on an easier level. Definitely worth the price.
kyleesmommy | Added on: March 30, 2013
 
I have been called alot of things when it comes to describing my love for words and I take each of them as a compliment !!! I am a HUGE lover of words and this game has been one of my favorites forever !!! I still have the board version I received as a 10 yr old kid,needless to say thats a l o n g time ago lol !! This is a good,not great version of the real thing,I like the play against the computer and the hotseat play and the only thing that I am not pleased with is the same complaint others have had-the dictionary,I wish you could add words to the dictionary... Other than that I love this version and recommend it for your personal library !!! as always HAPPY GAMING EVERYONE !!!!
Cat_In_RV | Added on: March 22, 2013
 
I've always enjoyed board games, and this one plays almost like the real thng, I do miss not playing against a real person, or even a make-believe person as in the Hoyle games. At least those animations have personalities and talk back! The only other negative I had is the same as other reviewers: the dictionary is fairly small and doesn't allow you to add words. But nevertheless, this is a good digital version of the classic game.
ScreenName | Added on: November 25, 2009
 
I love this scabble game. The only thing is it does not allow to add words to the dictionary like my old windows 95 version (which does not work on XP) did. If it had this capability, it would be a definite 5* but I had to give it a 4*. Oxer should be in the dictionary - it is a type of a jump for horses. Not being able to use a word I know exists is very frustrating.
segordon | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
As an enthusiast who grew up playing the old board game, it's refreshing to see that the charm of the original has been faithfully preserved. The pace and skill level are entirely up to you, and the embedded Scrabble dictionary is a must for beating the more 'game' opponents. In fact, the first time I played, I found it was 3:00 in the morning before I knew it!
TAR671 | Added on: March 28, 2013
 
This is a very good electronic version of the Scrabble board game. it allows one player to challenge the computer if one desires a mental challange. This is a good game to download and save for replay.
34590934 | Added on: July 20, 2013
 
I'm used to using the now discontinued Mac version of Scrabble, which has more features and is much more efficient to use. (It also doesn't have the distracting background music.) Now that I've graduated to using the Mountain Lion operating system on my Mac, Scrabble for Mac has stopped working. So, I'm now using the Windows versioin, and I can see why it cost 50 percent less. How unfortunate.
punter | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
A clean and fun interface. Good take on the popular board game. Classic and Speed versions for the taste of the players. Easy level cool for kids. Could be better with an expanded dictionary.
30756971 | Added on: February 6, 2014
 
Biggest issue I have with this game is the 'dictionary' it uses. Words like "June" are not in it. Needs to be revised to a proper English dictionary.
Rusty | Added on: September 9, 2009
 
Great game, but lacking the full Scrabble Dictionary. The game's word list is limited to the Family Edition scrabble dictionary. If you're old enough to use a credit card to buy the game, you're old enough to see four-letter words that can add up to more points. Frustrating.