Robinson Crusoe and the Cursed PiratesRobinson Crusoe and the Cursed Pirates
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Robinson Crusoe and the Cursed Pirates
bella24 | Added on: September 3, 2010
 
Yeah! A game I like. I can't wait for my free game credit to continue this one. It's quirky, whimsical, interesting and fun. One of the quests is to collect black spots to create a potion. You mix the black spots with a barrel of liquid (my guess is rum) and then feed it to the monkey. The monkey turns into a variety of interesting things like a watermelon or a coconut AND usually has something to say about it. It's pretty danged funny. I found myself looking forward to testing the next potion. I also had a good laugh matching up the animals with their sounds. The animal's songs are unexpected and very silly. Even the music is comical. The graphics are eye catching, the puzzles are funny and the quest is interesting. I'm sold!
nettdi | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
lots of fun and a real time waster always a good thing in a game i think hope you all enjoy it as much as i did
Peterbiltgirl | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
Continued to surprise me with the number of challenges. Never seemed to end with NEW games not a replaying the same scene over and over. Fun until the end.
KJ999 | Added on: December 9, 2010
 
Most levels have 2 stages to get through. First being the specific find or puzzle and only then the main hidden object. Very good flow to game and the replay is not boring. Definitely good value for money
dmtumble | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
Storyline is great - a little too easy for me but none the less I had a great time playing it. Looking forward to another sequel
kimo | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
but at least there is a "skip" button. I had no problem finding objects and accomplishing most adventure goals, but the mini games were not enjoyable at all. I "skipped" most of them because I found them tedious at best. Many of mini games were more like taking an IQ test. There were many progressions, one stupid analogy, and various other trials that did not do anything to advance the story line that was a blatant rip-off of a certain pirate flick. Black spots? Cursed pirates? The adventure aspects of the game were pretty enjoyable but had a couple of difficult to accomplish tasks (at least on a laptop) like trying to put bones under a rock door before it closed or racing a turtle toward a shell. That said, the game does have a reasonably long play time and is therefore worth the price. I don't think I'll be playing it again if only because of the mini games. I play games to have fun and I do not find any fun in frustrating mini games with no explanations. But like I said before, at least there is a "skip" button.
32558726 | Added on: September 20, 2013
 
Graphis fantastic, story great, I did advanced and it was pretty self explanatory. Creative mini games, thought provoking areas. I had issues with function but as the directions for reviews that's not for this forum. So since the function issues may in deed be my computer It's darn near a 5 star HOG.
cjvp | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
It's cute but got very repetitive after awhile... Kids might like it.
Smedley | Added on: September 3, 2010
 
This is one of the best HOGs of the year! Super graphics; catchy melodies, excellent tutorial; good plot(hint: you don't have to try the potion on the the monkey one by one; you can gather them and then try them all); cleverly hidden objects and challenging puzzles (the audio bird sound match is an excellent varitaion on usual chimes). The relaxed mode makes it easier to skip puzzles - just sell your soul! All in all, I'm sold on this super game!
Lyndy | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
This is a brilliant game. Tricky puzzles, crafty hidden objects, variety, humour, jaunty music, lovely graphics. I can't recall the last time I laughed so much in a game.
MJ1234 | Added on: October 16, 2012
 
This game was so much fun to play - from giving a monkey a haircut to picking up bird dung...there were a lot of great, unique puzzles to solve in this game. I loved it. AMAZING graphics! Great HO scenes. You'll love this game.
lynnisrich | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
I'm having a lot of fun playing this game.I love all the mini games.It has a good storyline and the graphics are great. Hopefully there will be lots more games like this one. Keep them coming!
gina62 | Added on: February 4, 2011
 
I think the game was great. sometimes I didn't know what to do on some do the puzzles because it didn't say. But other than that it was very addicting and the games were awesome.
SeleneMoonChild | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
Excellent value for the money. Just when you think the game is over, there's more! This one might not be so good for the younger kids. You do revisit many of the scenes, but you are usually performing different actions each time, or searching for different things. Some objects are difficult to find, but the hints recharge quickly enough that it's not that bad.
trix | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
I love this game but I can't catch the crown in the cemetary. I just can't. Don't know if this is a glitch or what. I would like to finish the game, but I don't know what to do anymore.
rovn | Added on: May 26, 2011
 
This is fun and has good graphics and all that -- but I have played it twice right up to the "find the 5 black cats" part and cannot get past it........am seriously thinking there is a problem as I sat for long seconds trying to sneak up on one of them and it never showed again.......frustrating to not be able to finish an otherwize fun game.
tbug53 | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
I truly enjoyed this game even though it was difficult in some areas and some of the items were really tiny/well hidden. The graphics were fantastic something always moving and going on and the mini games were fresh and challenging...I look forward to seeing more like this one.
vistagil123 | Added on: June 15, 2011
 
I liked this HOG but found the mini games really frustrating at times. I like the graphics and storyline.
Kath123 | Added on: December 16, 2010
 
Great game, very involved. Great value! Definitely recommend!!
RandiM | Added on: September 3, 2010
 
I just barely got done playing the demo for this, and I bought it. The major thing I love about this game is it really isn't kid friendly. It is one of the few games I have played that is more for adults than children, and I love that fact. Since not all of us have children, not every game should be revolved around them. First off, I read the 2 reviews that are on this game and I was still skeptical even though they were both raving about the game. I have never really liked the whole 'Pirate' thing. But, about 5 minutes after I started playing it, I fell in love. The graphics are AMAZING, and you can choose whether you want relaxed or timed mode (relaxed with alot of hints and timed with barely any), which I love. I am a 'timed mode' person myself. Secondly, the story line and the music are both really cute and fun. The music comes in and out, it isn't constant, so it doesn't get annoying, and that's nice. And there is quite a few different mini-games and a bunch of other stuff to do. I am really picky about the games I actually purchase, I have played hundreds and only have about 40 or so. So, if you're picky like me and you like something that is both challenging and easy, and also original and fun, I recommend this game!
huston | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
it is exciting to play and brings back some memories from the past
Annie8575 | Added on: November 23, 2010
 
Excellent mini-games, no repeat scenes... Very well thought-out and executed. My only complaint is some of the blatant "homages" to Pirates of the Caribbean. I highly recommend this one.
MommaKelly | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
I haven't played the "hidden object" games in a long time, as they seemed boring and I preferred the action games. However, the graphics, storyline (A+) and theme make this game a swash bucket of fun. I give it an A+ across the board. If you like mind benders and/or challenging puzzles you too will enjoy this game. Happy Hunting...
glendad | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
Enjoyed this game. Not overly difficlt. Hope to see more like it.
TAR671 | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game! It has all of the qualities of an outstanding game. The puzzles are challenging, the objects are hid well, and the story keeps youy interested. The game flows well, and while you are requided to revisit a number of locations, you are not required to search for items previously identiifed. The tests involving the monkey are intertaining in them selves. I found the scene which required you to find the 5 black cats hilarious. The only downside was the darkened back ground in many of the scenes. This made finding many of the objects hard on my eyes, therefore, I had to frequently quit the game and rest my eyes. Overall I recommend this game for serious game players!
playtowin | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
well i thought a pirate game would scream kiddie, but it is actually a game for adults! From the beggining to the end it was fun, made ya think and had just a little bit different of a set up than all the other hog's out there. I loved putting the pirate back together and the other quirky things like the pirate dressed up as a woman! Keep these coming, the mix of fun, funny, thinky and hidden object screens was good, nice to have a game thats not the same as all the other hog's out right now!
tetcats | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
Loved this game! Funny, entertaining and unique compared to many HOG. Great graphics and storyline!
Fanob | Added on: December 3, 2010
 
Had lots of fun with this one..good graphics and music..no red herrings..what you see is what you get..hours of good fun.
zumapa | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
Exciting and funny! Havent played similar before.Original,smart and witty. Recommend this game to anyone,who lkes hidden object games spiced up with challenges.
emi1 | Added on: September 3, 2010
 
well, this game is great. from the beginning scene with the sounds, ocean, ship, and then...THE SCULL!! scary. the music was FUN. some scenes were funny-the pirate dressed as a woman. some scenes were creepy-down the well. some scenes and the things u had to do in them were just down right gross in a funny way-putting the pirate who chose to be pulled apart back together-with his clothes, eye ball, bones-just GREAT!!!! i found this game challenging and i eagerly anticipated each new scene/activity. not only is it a good HO game, but the mini games were wonderful, too-one of my favorites was matching the cursed animals with their sounds-how funny to hear bird sounds from mice, ect...there is so much to say about this game, that i know i'm forgetting something. and i only played the hr trial version!!u have to try it!!great job guys-gotta think about buying this one...
xenutia | Added on: September 2, 2010
 
Oh my goodness, what a treat. Just when you thought there was nothing new to be found in HOG we get this. Okay, it still follows the standard 'find objects, solve puzzles and play some mini-games in between' but the developers have obviously put a great deal of thought into this game and come up with some fresh and inventive takes on the old themes. I take my hat off to them. There is a lot of humour in it, and also some great little throwaways in there which you have to keep an eye open for. I found myself laughing out loud a few times at some of the little surprises in the game. The graphics are excellent. As soon as I saw the opening credits, I knew they were going to be good, but they really are first rate. The mini games are much the same as most, but they are nicely presented and the skip function is there if you get stuck. I've not quite finished it yet, but don't need to to know that I'm going to play this again as soon as I've finished it, to catch some of the things I missed the first time around. One thing: I don't usually bother with the tutorial for most games, but tried it once without and found I got stuck within about three seconds. (Possibly just me being thick) I started a new profile and took the tutorial option, and I was glad I did. It's very unobtrusive, literally two or three boxes just to start you off, and it's probably worth taking that option, because it makes life much easier. Very highly recommended!
OwlSandy | Added on: July 11, 2011
 
This game had so many great features - graphics, story line, music, length, mini-puzzles, etc. I liked all the pirates and their lairs. I liked seeing what the monkey would turn into. Some of the puzzles were really challenging but the hint button fills up quickly and there is the opportunity to skip if you get really frustrated. I especially liked the fact that the game took me a long time; there were lots of layers to it, each one different. I'll be playing this one again. I highly recommend it!
DarkChylde | Added on: September 2, 2010
 
I can't believe how much I enjoyed this game. I couldn't stop playing until the end, and that was pretty much most of my day. The fantastic opening scene graphics set the pace for the game, in my opinion. Music that was appropriate, charming, and I found myself tapping my feet once in a while. The characters were all outrageous, quirky, and amusing. There are LOTS of puzzles to solve, many times before you start the hidden object search. The mini-games/puzzles were unique and sometimes challenging. You do have the opportunity to 'skip' if you need to. HO's provided its own challenge. Some scenes and parts of scenes are dark, so searching for what you need does become difficult sometimes. There is a hint button that charges a little slow, but you will need it periodically in the game. Lots of different scenes keep you busy without getting bored. The animation and graphics in them are great! Robinson Crusoe and his pal Friday land on an island that is cursed by Captain Flint. Your goal is to reverse the curse by making a special potion that will 'take care' of him. The way you test it is .... you are given "black spots", which are cursed items. You go to a separate scene to test the item to make the potion. Flint's parrot-turned-monkey is your subject to test on. Your goal is to turn the monkey back into a parrot. In between, when you're giving him samples, he turns into all kinds of interesting items. You have to play the game to see it, and it's great. I giggled, laughed, and choked while playing, I enjoyed this game so much. It's got everything, including loads of entertainment! Kudos to the game designers!
apemob | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
Robinson Crusoe is not your average HOG. Each page has a challenge that allows you to think and have a little fun. The graphics are creative and amusing, as well as, less than kid-friendly. When you are prepared to finish the game, it goes on with a further challenge which allows you to feel as though the game was completed rather than just abruptly stopping at the last level.
MelHynes | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
I love HOGs and puzzle games, but my original game love is the adventure games of the 90's from LucasArts and Sierra. This game was obviously written and developed by a crew who were similarly addicted, and it shows in every detail, from the rich music to the island map to incredibly subtle details in the HOG panels that mirror the MI games. That alone would have made me happy, but the game itself is witty, original, and challenging without being deliberately headache-inducing. Throwing in a few extra pop-culture references to the "Pirates of the Caribbean" movies, as well as a direct character homage to Robert DeNiro's role of the crossdressing Captain Shakespeare in "Stardust", makes me both an instant fan and in love enough with this game and design crew to write my first game review. Brava, guys, and it BETTER be "To Be Continued" as you promise!
maxwell | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
Iam stuck on the painting of the picture. Iam also having a hard time with the mini games. I like the challenge. I will figure it out sooner or later. I think the price was worth it. Iam really enjoying it.
JMR247 | Added on: June 20, 2011
 
This game gets a star just for having pirates! :D But the graphics are good and this is a true HOG no adventure or annoying narration so for those out there that like a HOG challenge, you will find it in this game. The HOG puzzles were relatively easy with one or two items VERY cleverly hidden! The mini-games,....hmmm...now those were a real teaser and a little too difficult for my liking...I found myself killing time just for the 'skip' button to become available! All-in-all a fair HOG game and the don't seem to make them like this anymore. I enjoyed it!
Chefmuss51 | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
It was a very enjoyable game. Very interesting and it keeps you playing. I will play this game again.
pcpat | Added on: June 22, 2012
 
Appreciating the bright vivid colors, lighthearted humor and awesome sound on my Bose speakers! Not just another game, these Developers opted to entice all the senses possible in computer gaming. The music is inviting and I found myself dancing to a gleeful rhythm as well as laughing at the woeful monkey as he changed shapes and sizes. The puzzles are crafty and fun and I must say that playing several puzzles in one scene is better for me than hopping all around.
craftychica | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
Fun game for kids. Fun games for parents AND kids together. Wonderful pirate story. A bit repetitive for adults to every time find 10 things, not too difficult, but then neither is solitaire and we keep playing it. So I recommend this game a a fun pastime. Plus the monkey is hilarious!
gamerelle | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
As far as HOGs go, this is a good one. It's aimed more at PG-13 and up crowd as some of the subject matter is dark and deals with gruesome issues. Overall, I found it fairly laid-back and easy. There is an inconsistency, though, that irked me: some puzzles were very simplistic and much too easy (boring) to solve, others were much more challenging. That waffling is why I rate this game a 3. I consider myself a seasoned gamer, completing puzzle games such as Myst and Drawn and countless escape-the-room games without walkthrough help. I came upon a door-puzzle I couldn't solve so I checked all the available online walkthroughs; my particular puzzle was unlike the variations shown, which were immensely easy compared to the one I had. This makes me believe it must have been a bug in the game system.
anubis | Added on: November 30, 2010
 
I loved this game. It is most creative and original. The graphics are very nice. It took me awhile to do a couple of the puzzles...lol. I haven't finished it yet so I don't know about replay, but I liked it so much I will probably replay. One of the best games I've played on Gamehouse.
jamier2712 | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
The game was fun and I liked the adventurous story line. It was an in depth story line, and the segments were brief enough to allow for quick play, if needed.
hbknow | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
I loved this game. It had the same fun quantity as the original Clockwork Man game. I really enjoyed it.
IronRaziel | Added on: September 8, 2010
 
I loved the graphics, the music,and oh the monkey! I felt like a mad sciencist experimenting on the monkey. I won't tell you what you have to do to the monkey but it's a whole banana full of fun! The mini-games can be either easy or difficult. There were times I had to use hints couple times. Some games, I skipped over but most, I had to knock a banana on my noggin' just to solve the riddles. I think you will LOVE the game..and I'm already cursin' Cap'n Gamehouse for more, ye scallwogs!
Crimpets | Added on: March 24, 2012
 
Nice to be forced to READ some clues and lists---and how to complete a puzzle---nice touch
Tiafl | Added on: October 22, 2012
 
I avoided this game for several months because the screen shots looked like finding the HO's would be difficult. It did turn out that I was somewhat correct with this thought but the hint system was great. There was no penalty for using it and recharged at a perfect pace. The puzzles were definately challenging and I found them diverse with new concepts. The skip option was available and I did choose to use it for a few of them that I just couldn't get after several tries. I am kind or bummed that I will never know the answer to them now. The humor disbursed throughout the game was amusing and and made it worth giving this game a try. The game diversity and challenges provided great entertainment for a perfect amount of time.
Beckyoh | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
Really enjoyed playing this game and looking forward to the sequal...the end said "to be continued"...hope it is soon.
Saddie44 | Added on: December 3, 2010
 
Awsome Game, I enjoy playing the game and it keeps me going...
welshman | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
This is a winner. It's a HOG with enough difference in game play to make it interesting, but that's not the main thing in this case. What really gets you is the scenes, which are not only works of art in their own right but are the products of such a bizarre imagination that you are quite happy to spend all the time in the world searching (rather than clicking for a hint) because you keep finding new, weird details. Great stuff!