Roads of RomeRoads of Rome
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Roads of Rome
jmrobbi | Added on: September 29, 2010
 
I enjoy the game and I have no trouble getting thru the levels but for me at least it is almost impossible to get expert on a level except on the first few levels. I'll redo the level several times and always run out of time just a few seconds before expert level expires. Other then that though it is a fun game.
Lisa522 | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
Awesome game! Gameplay is similar to My Kingdom for the Princess. To impress your true love and win her hand, you must do tasks for her father, who strives to keep you apart. Each level you are given specific goals and must reach them within the allotted time. You must build roads and collect resources (gems, gold, wood, stone, food). You can harvest directly from the land or erect buildings such as sawmills, quarries, mines or farms to assist you on your way. Depending on which area you are in, you may encounter wild animals such as wolves or polar bears. You must dispatch them immediately as they will hinder your workers progress as they will be too afraid to come out of their homes. There are hidden bonuses such as the clock which stops time for a brief period (this is a big help), speed boots and other items. Game length looks to be good. Just did the hour demo and it was over before I knew it! This is easily a game you could get seriously hooked on and end up staying up all night playing. Graphics are quite beautifully done (they remind me of Royal Envoy). A 5 out of 5 on this one!
JJJJ | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
If you like time management games you will like this one!
ravenval | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
This game is a lot like My Kingdom For The Princess 1 & 2, I hope that more games like this are in the works because they are challenging and a lot of fun!
Emily229 | Added on: September 15, 2011
 
This game was a great. It provided just enough challenge. The gold levels were not always achievable the first time you tried, but with effort they were possible. I enjoyed this immensely.
Amadeus1797 | Added on: November 17, 2011
 
Enjoy the graphics,very challenging,very fast pace.
Walsingham | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
The challenges vary and the sense of managing time is much more pronounced than other games such as the Dash games. I especially like the building component.
MissyG | Added on: December 12, 2011
 
I've played all the online levels of this game - love it. Not my normal style of game, and while it's not terribly hard or challenging, I recommend it. Great graphics and good gameplay with having to build, collect, protect all at once.
gk2009 | Added on: July 23, 2011
 
At first when I started playing this game, I thought "what's this.....just building a road" I continued ...it started picking up in action with new items to do and quickly became fun and held my interest..it's different, not to fast and low stress level unlike some of the hidden object games or the games you can never finish because they go way to fast. I play alot of games 'all kinds' and have for several years... I rate this game at the top..I even purchased and finished # 2 and waiting for more...Keep up the good work..Very enjoyable
bethw12000 | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
This has become my favorite time management game. The expert level is actually reachable without trying to figure out a complicated series of events. I will enjoy re-playing the levels to reach expert where I missed it the first time around. I wish there were more time management games like this!
dwarren | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
Very addicting! You'll want to finish the game at least once. Probably twice if you can finish levels as an expert. Challenges increase with levels. Very enjoyable overall.
sportygal2009 | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
OMG! All the while I've been playing this which so far I've gotten through 15 out of the 40 levels but anyway I was thinking about the part in the Wizard of Oz - "Lions, tigers, and bears -Oh my!" LOL! In this game however it's earthquakes, wolves, and polar bears - OH MY! This is yet another TM game that while I have a hard time meeting the goals and if you've read any of my reviews, I either meet the goals within the last minute or within seconds or times I have to redo them. I absolutely LOVE this game however and yet another game that falls under my worthiness to keep trying. The game play and even the workers remind me of the Royal Envoy game which I must say I kept up better in that game. Why I'm not quite sure but I did. In this game you are given goals that you must meet within the allotted time or you have to start again unlike some where you can still finish just won't get any kind of "bonus" points. You must build roads and collect resources (gems, gold, wood, stone, food). You can harvest directly from the land or erect buildings such as sawmills, quarries, mines or farms to assist you on your way. As I mentioned and depending on which level of the game you're at, you may encounter wild animals such as wolves or polar bears which you must click on them and keep clicking on them until they go away as the workers won't work while they are there. Oh and also earthquakes which can be quite frustrating as it destroys what you have built. Not everything but one building is enough madness. There are also little bonuses hidden in the levels such as clocks to add some more time on to the clock or boots to speed up the workers just to name a couple. So far I've even came across a mini game - a match 3 game. Overall, I give this 5 stars. This game ROCKS in my opinion inspite of meeting the goals either down to wire or having to redo them again. So if you enjoy My Kingdom For the Princess or Royal Envoy I'm pretty confident you will enjoy this as well so give it a whirl.
relentless | Added on: April 7, 2011
 
We love this game in my house. Sometimes you have to think about how you should play the board. But that's a good thing-keeps you on your toes.
Shadeaustar | Added on: September 28, 2010
 
I'm loving this game! It's what My Kingdom for the Princess 2 should have been and wasn't. The basic gameplay is the same. You're a little fellow trying to clear the roads to get to the next area on the map. The graphics are vastly improved, and look very realistic. The situations are also far more realistic. This gives it a more "adult" feel. I get tired of playing with cartoons. The game starts with one fellow, who needs to build roads through the Roman empire, believe it or not! He needs wood, stone, and a variety of other things to accomplish his goal. Unlike other games of this sort, you can go chop down any tree. Your gold and food don't just magically appear-- you have to work for them. You can build mines and mills, and you can also harvest stones, small gold deposits, pick berries.... It really gives you control over your environment and how you will proceed. The challenges are tougher than other games like this, in my opinion. I have had trouble getting things done in several levels quickly enough to earn expert. However, unlike other games, this one's less frustrating. It's not nearly as contingent on chance, and your choices on how to use resources definitely have a big influence on each level. There is also no magic save timer. Oh, I don't have ten wood to make my worker's building big enough for another worker, but lookie here-- there's a free one on my screen! There are a few helper items, but you have to earn them by clearing the path to them, and actually collecting them. Also, they do not respawn, so once you've used them, they're gone. I think older kids would enjoy this, but for young ones, I think the challenge might just be too much. They may not be able to see the cause and effect well enough to plan out how to proceed. I am loving the challenge of this game, the atmosphere, and well, the addictive quality. I had to tear myself away to write this! This is a great game, and well worth the money. I definitely recommend it for adults and teens. Off to play it some more now!
btktex | Added on: September 30, 2010
 
I, like others that reviewed this game, enjoyed My Kingdom for the Princess before playing this game. These are both time management games that are a lot more fun than the usual time management games. Both games are very similar, but this game doesn't keep telling me "you don't have enough food" or whichever it was I didn't have. But I think this game was a little easier to achieve the gold. Both fast paced and fun.
GwenKellerman | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
Roads of Rome kept my interest the whole time I played the game. I liked having to quickly decide which resource areas to upgrade in order to complete the tasks for each level. The game involves a lot of scanning the screen when resources become available because the sound is the same for all resources when they appear. In other words, in addition to time management, Roads of Rome requires some strategy for accomplishing the tasks, which I like about the game. Although I gave the game 5 stars, the only "complaint" I have is that once you have finished all the levels, that is it. No locked areas become available and there is no real reason to play the game again once you've achieved expert on every level. Still, I had fun playing it!
kesay17 | Added on: September 29, 2010
 
Very enjoyable. This game is very similar to Kingdom for the Princess series, but what they lacked Roads of Rome seemed to have. You can be more of the master of your fate in this game. You can get extra wood by chopping down trees etc. It is fast paced & you need to be quick in order to get expert. I was frustrated with Princess II but this game is so much better. I would recommend it to teens & adults. It is also a good replay to better your score.
Tigertoo | Added on: November 12, 2010
 
This game was definitely addictive. It was challenging to reach the second levels and sometimes took several times to get done in time but it was worth it to see the statues! I liked the boats and balloons too. The "Collapse" type mini games were a good break. Overall I enjoyed the game and will probably play it again and again.
ScreenName | Added on: May 27, 2011
 
It does have lots going on and a little busy even in the relaxed mode (no timer) Is not my favorite game although it is a good game. I did use a fun pass and did purchase it. Relaxed mode is great for kids or those who do not want the pressure of a timer. I think I would have liked it more if I had not downloaded some similar games with better graphics.
tgamer | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
I play lots of TM games and this one has been a keeper. I had to play a few rounds again to get expert, but finishing them before the total round time expired was not difficult, although it was close on a few. Fast paced and challenging if you want to get expert on every level. Very fun, but irritating when you finish just seconds below expert :) The graphics and sounds are great. Definitely recommend for people that like TM games. I just wish it had 100 levels instead of 40!! I hope they make more games like this and the ones I have shown as recommend.
supa_rider | Added on: September 29, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game. It is very much like the game...My Kingdom for the Princess, but I must admit I enjoyed this more. Its challenging without being almost impossible to achieve expert level. How you play the game, the order in what you build first and using your worker resources greatly effect how quickly you get your tasks done. Definately worth trying.
Crazy4games | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
I absolutely loved My Kingdom for the Princess I and II and was so sorry when I finished both. But I'm sorry no more having found Roads of Rome, which although being an obvious knock-off of the My Kingdom games is downright charming in its own right. To me it's just like being able to continue playing My Kingdom but with new characters, buildings and lots or roads to build. There's also lots of strategy and planning involved in order to get expert especially on later levels. Random disasters such as earthquakes and wild animals keep you on your toes. This game was just what I was looking for post-My Kingdom and gave me hours and hours of fun and I see even more hours of fun in replay value.
rickysladynow | Added on: January 20, 2011
 
I'm 56 years old and love this game. I play it with all 12 of my grandchildren and they all love it. So from ages 6 and up, we all love it.
deuceswild57 | Added on: October 15, 2010
 
Fast paced and challenging without being impossible to win. I seemed to finish most sessions with just seconds to spare. And even when time did expire I didn't have to go back and start all over again like in some games. I hate when that happens!
llmomcare | Added on: January 6, 2011
 
Makes to pay close attention and think fast. It keeps me on my toes and is highly addictive.
ZumaLuxorFan | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I was surprised it was more addictive and fun than I expected. It was fun to see those little workers run around to finish for you and I at least wanted to do the next level and the next level and I couldn't stop.
nemellerina | Added on: October 26, 2010
 
hi. this is a brilliant game, with many time management games I cant get to the end, but I finished this one!!!!!Ive played it twice now all the way through and enjoyed every minute of it, lets have more of this genre, Hope some of the older time management games will be re released with a relaxed version for slower players like me.they would sell many more.a game you where you cant get to the end is in my opinion a waste of computer space,you can always go onto a timed section as you improve.As I said before exellent game loved the graphics and also two or three of the workers could be doing something simultaneously,an improvement on some of the other games.I liked the fact that you could chop down trees and pick berries and didnt have to wait in your hut until some became available(most players will know the game I mean) also no swooping red dragons to stop your game.brill,brill,brill....grey haired grannie
jackie20715 | Added on: February 2, 2012
 
This game is very time-consuming, but lots of fun and generally relaxing. This was my third time-management game, and I found it challenging, but not over whelming for a 71 year-old grandmother.
OnceYooper | Added on: January 10, 2011
 
This game was fairly easy to complete quickly with expert scores. If you are looking for something with a story line, don't look here; it was boring and predictable. The graphics were nice enough but the rewards for expert scores were hardly rewarding. I think this game is probably better for kids. I prefer much more of a challenge.
trask51 | Added on: September 29, 2010
 
This game reminds me of Kingdom for a Princess, which I liked tremendously. The game is quick paced and challenging. The problem with this game is the earthquakes. Who want to keep rebuilding their accomplishments?? So if you like that kind of challenge, then this is the game for you. If you find this frustrating, stick to the Princess games. They have their own set of challenges without destroying what you built.
susagar | Added on: February 18, 2012
 
You should to create an estrategie to win expert score! So it is not that easy but is not frustating either. Try it! You will love discover the new challenges on each new level!
bgmm5 | Added on: April 27, 2011
 
Love these types of games. Addictive! More challenging as you move through the levels. I find it both relaxing and fast paced, not much thought needs to be put into it, great for kids or adults looking to kick back.
tstar | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
If you've played other TM games like Build-A-Lot you won't find this to be much different. On the plus side, there's a certain amount of challenge when it comes to getting your place in order. But it isn't particularly much of a brain exercise to click like a maniac as fast as you can. There's not much strategy involved in this game -- just concentrate and go fast! You don't get to pick locations or manage the space in any way. The most you can do is choose to not waste time upgrading a building if you don't need the additional resources. The goals of each level are pretty simple, but to get the expert level you have to be so organized and keep everything moving constantly. No time to stop and think! To be fair, I did enjoy the game, but caught on pretty fast that there is no creative element so got a bit bored with it.
Bigdaddy | Added on: November 18, 2010
 
I found this game easy to do and would recommend as a first introduction to time managment genre. The graphics are very good and the game fast paced and well though out, with some thinking to do. I was a little dissappointed to be able to finish most levels at expert on the first try and if not on the second and it left little to replay for. I usually like to push my own scores but not found this easy to do. I think I would have liked an expert level that was very challenging. All in all a very good game and I am looking forward to the follow up.
vondaj29 | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
I very much like the game , it is addictive , its hard for me to stop playing! The only thing I do not like about this game is the little men move very slowly, unlike other game that are very similar to this one where the men move very fast and smoothly across the screen. This problem makes it hard to play, and for that reason alone I don't play it very often. I hope this can be fixed soon ! thank you!!
Minxski | Added on: September 30, 2010
 
I loved this game, as everyone says it is very much like “My Kingdom for the Princess”, however, a lot less challenging – as I had to redo quite a few levels to get expert in My Kingdom, this one I pretty much sailed through. The graphics are also outstanding, really really cute little workers. There is a mini game which is quite nice for M3 players. Really easy game to pick up how to play, without much instruction, great graphics, fast paced and sweet little story – seriously, give this game a whirl, I’m sure you will love it too!
kylakitty | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
My Kingdom for The Princess if one of my favorite TM games and I enjoyed this one too. Although very similar, the main difference to me is the difficulty level. I didn't find this to be as challenging as I hoped. I earned the expert rating in the 15 levels I played during the hour trial. It's very fast paced and clicky and requires less strategizing. Part of what makes the My Kingdom games so fun is that you really have to think ahead to complete the levels. This game reminds you (with flashing items and arrows) what you need to accomplish, which to me took some of fun out of it. Another difference, if you're building a road, you can acutally have one worker build while another moves beyond the first to build, remove rocks, snowdrifts, etc. It's definitely enjoyable but might be less exciting if you're looking for a challenge.
heitz77 | Added on: October 1, 2010
 
The graphics are nice. The game is challenging without being impossible. Replay is made more fun by attempting to beat your past scores.
Dudette | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
Great game and what a refreshing change from the constant diet of HOGS! The folks at GameHouse should pay attention to these reviews and make more games like this!
emi1 | Added on: September 30, 2010
 
luv this. it's a lot like My Kingdom for the Princess. but it is much more challenging. it was hard 4 me to get expert after the 1st 4-5 levels. exciting!! i luv seeing the eagle fly-and actually seeing his shadow/seeing the fish jumping out of the h2o was cool/seeing the worker use a hammer to build buildings, a shovel to fill the swamp with dirt those were a nice touch. i liked seeing the statues come to life when i got expert, and wanting to see them finished really prompted me to want to get expert on every level. building roads-bridges-sawmills-farms-quarries to help u reach your goals-upgrading to more workers and upgrading buildings to make more product. mining for gold. chasing the wolf off. everything lead to completing ur goals. this is a game to buy!!!!!!!!!