Restaurant EmpireRestaurant Empire
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Restaurant Empire
Kerrijerri | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
I can't believe the ratings this game is getting. It seems like people arent giving it a chance. This is a very fun and addictive game. I played this game several years ago and loved it. Awesome for people who love micro-management. I encourage all those guys that gave it bad reviews to try again. It does include a long tutorial, but that because the game has a lot of depth!
adele1984 | Added on: March 18, 2012
 
Bought this as a commercial game a long time ago, but as another reviewer has said don't think of this as the gamehouse view of TM it is more of a sim game. It is another micro-management game (akin to maybe bistro boulevard (but more so). It has a good story and good 'interjections' of competitions where you can win prizes. Think of it as like a restaurant version of the sims, you get to build everything from choosing colours of the tablecloths to chairs right through to buying equipment. It is a good challenge but don't expect a traditional TM game in the gamehouse sense
LadyValeria2002 | Added on: August 22, 2011
 
GameHouse classifided this game all wrong. It is not a time-managment game, it is strickly a strategy SIM game. I have owned it for years now and have played it a few times, both in campaign mode and sandbox. If you are looking for a time management game like Diner Dash, this is NOT it. If you are into stuff like Sim-City, give this a try.
snowedin | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
I felt like I was taking a training course for a new job or something as I suffered through 30 minutes of tutorials to get to the actual gameplay. And then, there wasn't much gameplay. Confusing menus, vague goals, and astonishingly dated graphics didn't do much to change my mind as things finally got going. Dialogue was non-sensical, which can work sometimes in the more oddly translated games, but here... just ugh. It's very technical for a time management game, but it's not really a time mangement game, either. It's more like a high level tycoon game, but without getting to "do" anything except make decisions about the menu, staff, and decor ahead of time. Just incredibly boring, not even nice to look at, and HIGHLY disappointing as a time management offering, especially since GH has really been lacking in that area for a while now.
ar06f | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
Like everyone else has said, the instructions suck all the fun out of this game. The tutorial lasted the entire hour of my free trial and I was not sad when my trial ended. It has a great premise but the game developers seemed a bit too focused on the details.
AnnKerry | Added on: August 23, 2011
 
This game is not at all what I thought ... I would never buy it!
Canacat | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
Took 45 minutes to download the demo. I am a big fan of games with a cooking theme and I am a HUGE fan of TM games...this was just terrible. Once it finally finished downloading and I started to play, it wasn't fun at all. Way too many controls (right click this, hold down shift that), choppy images....honesty, I was glad to remove this game from my computer.
shlbycindy | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
I was happy to see a new time management game on Gamehouse especially a cooking type game since they are my favorite. However, the introduction and tutorial just went on and on with no way to skip through it. I finally got to the first restaurant, did as instructed, and that was it. When I would try to play it would just keep telling me I needed a reception desk. I have no idea where it would have gone because I could never find the reception area or a door in the first restaurant. When I did buy some things it was almost impossible to place them because, as the other reviewer stated, when you would click to place the object you would end up outside. After the long intro and the aggravation of trying to figure out where and how to place a reception desk, I gave up and deleted the game. I think this could be a good game if it was reworked. The idea is good. I play games to relax not to be aggravated. Unless there was some major work done on this game I wouldn't buy it or even attempt to play it in a free trial mode.
donnam | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
I never actually got to play the game. After downloading the trial version, I gave up after 43 minutes of tutorial instruction. There was an incredible amount of picky info as to how to decorate the restaurant, hire staff, choose menu - too much in my opinion for a person to remember when they actually did need the info. Kudos to those of you with the patience to slog through the tutorial and make it to the game.
stumpyiam | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
I was SO excited when I saw this game. Love food related games and especially TM's. But I was extremely disappointed with this. The storyline between the uncle and nephew took up the first five minutes, and I usually try to skip the story when I'm doing the one hour trial to get as much actual gameplay as possible. Then I finally get to the tutorial and it is SOOOOO LOOOOONG. I suppose they want you to get the full experience of opening a restaurant, because the tutorial covers everything from decorations to hiring staff to planning the menu. The menu part I thought was pretty cool, I liked that. However, once you get the 45 minute tutorial done and the game starts, you don't do any cooking! You just watch the game. Dull. I don't know if later you get to cook but I couldn't last that long to find out. That is one hour of my life I'll never get back.
infiniti | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
I spent 55 minutes of my trial time just going through the tutorial. Then when the game started it was boring.
janeaustenfan | Added on: August 17, 2011
 
Loved the idea of a SIM environment in a restaurant. Problem is the beginning is so long like others have stated. Once I FINALLY passed the tutorial area, I could start decorating but could never place my objects where I wanted. Also I didn't get to actually cook, just place people at tables to eat and take their orders. I think the idea is a neat one, they should've developed it better before releasing it. DO NOT BUY--not worth it, even to check out.
Emeraldblack | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
Its horrible. You move your mouse to click on decorate and you end up outside the restaurant. No matter how careful you are moving the mouse you end up outside. I was not impressed. I played all of 30 minutes then deleted it. Thank gods I didn't pay for the game.
chippy | Added on: September 28, 2011
 
I love Time Management restaurant games, as I find it rewarding to master the process of serving customers efficiently. Even though 'Restaurant Empire' is not a time management game (it's definitely a Sim game), there is a similar element to it. It's all about 'serving good food to the customers efficiently without making them upset'. It's quite unfortunate that you won't grasp the game in one hour trial period, since you'll enjoy hours of game play afterwards! It's very involving, there are so many things to learn... and the rewards are amazing. If you love to build your own 'super' restaurants, you can do so much to it. If your service is too slow, customers will leave without paying. If your food tastes bad, customers will complain. It means you need to train your staff (like you do yourself in TM games) to run a successful restaurant. In TM games, you can buy 'upgrades' - here, you design your own restaurant. You may choose more comfortable tables & chairs and add nice decorations to keep customers happy, or buy more kitchen equipment to help the staff to work more efficiently. It's the same concept as TM restaurant games, except you are the boss. There are 12 scenarios where you climb up the Master Chef ladder, or you can play Sandbox mode. Once you go through the tutorial in the first scenario, you may try Sandbox mode so that you can learn the basics quickly without any restrictions. Here are a few tips to make successful restaurants; more customers you serve, more money you make - so as soon as the scenario starts, change the opening hours from 6am till 11pm (maximum), although the change will take an effect from the second month onwards. Make sure you have plenty of space between tables so that the waiters can serve without bumping into each other. You'll lose more money with 'unpaid' customers, so just watch how the restaurants are flowing and delete or rearrange tables if waiting time is too long. For bigger restaurants, having two dumb waiters will help. Each scenario has a deadline (i.e. 6 months), but don't win too quickly if you want to get rich. Try running a scenario for as long as possible by not achieving one of the goals, and win just as the deadline approaches. That way, you'll earn more money which will help when you expand your empire. As I mentioned, you won't really get the whole picture of this game in an hour, but if you want to try it first, play 'Sandbox' mode after the tutorial. Overall, if you like a Sim game with 'Cooking & Diner Dash' touch, I highly recommend this game!
celisewood | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
This would be a great game if I could figure out what to do. The graphics are amazing! But I just uninstalled it. Too much for me to try and figure out. I play games for relaxation.
relentless | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
This game didn't control well at all.. I tried to play it twice and my son tried also. We just couldn't get it to do what we wanted. It's a shame as it looked like it had good potential.
Schatzi | Added on: August 10, 2011
 
The tutorial took very long, and before you even get to the actual game, you are quite bored already. It is a good concept, but unfortunately it is just really dragged out. I used the free trial and would not download the full version of the game. It's not worth it for me.
tamtam918 | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
The beginning was waaay to long. It made me lose interest. Not a time mang. game at all.