Pioneer LandsPioneer Lands
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Pioneer Lands
RJinNavy | Added on: September 1, 2011
 
This game got off to slow start, but turned out to be almost as good as the Roads of Rome and My Kingdom for the Princess titles. I always try for the expert score and there are several levels that are very challenging that I'm still working on in this game. If you liked the other TM games by Nevosoft you should enjoy this one too. You get your money worth with the number of levels there are to play.
roxy8279 | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
This game was fun I believe it's thinky because the chief leaves messages on a tree stump read it when it reads don't take my gold and you will get a reward I didn't see a reward. The game was fun besides that.
debofme | Added on: August 16, 2011
 
I tried this game for hours and it just was repetitve and boring. I deleted it after I gave it a good 4 hour chance.
foxshasta | Added on: January 12, 2012
 
I really like this game and have been looking for others that are similar. It can be addicting and challenging at times. Its a fun game and I recommend it!
GameDancer | Added on: December 21, 2011
 
I really enjoy this TM game & the challenges on each level to beat the time before it rains. It may take me a few times on each level but that's the beauty of playing TM games. I bought this game when it 1st came out & still go back to it for the FUN. I like the Native American Chief who helps the pioneers by leaving signs for you so you know what you need to accomplish to gain the gold in order to build your ultimate home & property. You WILL need to barter w/him l8r for his help in the game in order to finish a level. It's not necessary to build your settlement to finish the game but it's nice to see your final settlement after your westward adventure. The graphics fit the theme of the game as does the music. It's kid friendly as they can finish the game w/out the gold challenges as they are challenging! Strategy will reward you as it did for our early pioneers crossing the prairies & mountains. GREAT American theme & excellent replay value. Enjoy!
khixan | Added on: August 19, 2011
 
I love Royal Envoy, My Kingdom for the Princess, Roads of Rome, etc. This is NOT those games. After an hour of mindless repetitive clicking, I'm not going to buy this game :( I wish this was a good new time mgmt game for an adult. After reading a number of positive reviews, I was very psyched to play this. I kept waiting for the game to get more difficult or interesting. It didn't. I managed about 14 or so levels in the freebie hour, and it never got any better for me. It is probably a good game for younger children, but this would bore anyone over 8 years old.
emandlu | Added on: August 29, 2011
 
when it first started, i didn't like it so much, the characters are a bit odd. but after a few levels I was hooked. The challenge is get the reward and in order to do that you have to plan your strategy very carefully (down to last second). there are still a couple of levels that i haven't worked out how to get the reward yet, but I'll keep trying.
Gallihad | Added on: September 15, 2011
 
Great game,got to think a little! Kid friendly and fun. Very addicting.
CallMeCoors | Added on: August 16, 2011
 
As I fan of time management games, I found this to be very addictive. It is pretty easy to earn gold on each level, however sometimes you have to rethink your strategy in order to complete the level in gold time. The only problem I found with the game is that it is kind of sexist. For some tasks, you have to hire a female worker. The female worker can only perform certain tasks which male employees can not. Except for that, I found the graphics to be really good and the game play a lot of fun. Well worth the purchase price.
nemellerina | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
hi,really like this game only played for an hour but lots of play value here.i like that the workers can do things without needing food etc. just get on with the job. more like this please.because i have funpass i can play this over and over,like kingdom for a princess and roads of rome,these are my favourite type of games,suitable for all ages.kids and pensioners like me will all enjoy this,cant wait for my grandson to come over and challenge me on this game. try it,if i didnt have funpass i would definateiy buy this one. grey haired grannie.
funnymom | Added on: September 1, 2011
 
This game is similar to Rescue Team but more strategically challenging. The levels were done well in terms of their gradual increase in getting everything done within the time limit. There were any number of times that I missed the gold deadline by mere seconds. Highly recommend this game.
Lyndy | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
Pioneer Lands has a similar style of play to My Kingdom For The Princess in that you gather resources. There are three major differences with Pioneer Lands which gives the game a much deeper element of strategy. You gain points used for building a farm. The highest points are for finishing with the gold medal and all achievements but you also get points for finishing with silver as well. You can buy and sell resources to help you achieve the goals and finally there is the extra challenge. The extra challenge is found by reading the board with the question mark. To achieve an award you must fulfill the goals of the challenge. In some levels this can be tricky because if you achieve the main goals of the level before the challenge goals, then you will win the level but not get an award! With 99 levels and awards, this game is going to keep strategy lovers happy for a long time!
tippy410 | Added on: August 22, 2011
 
This game took me about 3 or 4 days to beat but it was one of the most challenging games I have played in a long time.
SFox | Added on: August 16, 2011
 
dull and tedious. Bored after a couple of rounds the chipping away of rocks to get to each item was dull. If you play "Roads to Rome" and 'Island Tribe"....same boring thing...different title... deleted it with 30 minute left on the trial.
Kiwimi03 | Added on: August 17, 2011
 
Reminds me of a mix between My Kingdom for the Princess and a Farm Frenzy or Farm Mania in that you are producing resources on your land, but in order to do so, must collect resources on each level. You'll be breaking rocks to collect wood to repair bridges to get to the field to harvest grain to make flour, etc., etc. Each level has a secret reward if you follow the directions which makes the game a lot more challenging. For example, there might be gold lying around, but it will challenge you to not use the gold and make it on your own. Success hands you a medal or badge of some sort. Completing the game in the "gold" time period gives you extra stars; those stars can then be spent to upgrade your farm house. The rewards and time bonus provide the option of making it more challenging than just a typical clicky TM game, because you actually have to think about what to go for first. Overall a cute & fun game, nice graphics, with a LOT of gameplay time. I have enjoyed it thoroughly. You definitely get your money's worth.
relentless | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
This game is a cross between My Kingdon for the Princess and Youda Farm. You go around harvesting and building in order to make stars. The stars help you build your farm bigger and better. Good replay value as you can go back to get the gold. Then there's the messages you get which tell you to do or not to do certain things. I hated to stop playing!!
haley458 | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
This game reminds me of a combination between "Kingdom for a Princess" meets "Farmers Market". You have to build bridges, tear down stones, etc. in order to collect resources (usually foods like beans or wheat); the resources later can be made into something else (i.e. wheat to flour to bread) and then sold to meet any money requirements. This game has a ton of levels and cannot be completed in 1 or even 2 sittings, so it'll be worth your money if you enjoy the trial hour. I liked this game a lot -- if you like either of the 2 games I mentioned above, try it out.
Daalmonette | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
With casual gaming going from diner dashing to farming, to bakeries, and other outlets. It was nice to see this settling. I like games were you build or have to collect resources. I like the ease of it and the graphics are quite appealing. I played it for a couple hours the first day. There is no real challenge and I have not failed any of the levels. If you are a fan of sim games where collecting resources is the 'challenge' then this is the game for you. I am through the first stage and there are not any challenge such as 'threats' added. So this is just a beautiful game with a great theme.
Savannah | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
you also enjoyed Island Tribes, Roads of Rome, or Royal Envoy. In order to maximize points and gold every time, have your character read the Chief's message FIRST before doing anything else! Also, there are many boards that do not need two workers in order to fulfill the Chief's commands and get gold. While I realize that this is a game, from a historical prospective, the white, blond-haired pioneer paying the Chief off for access to the land with two bags of baked beans creates a touchy scenario. I think NevoSoft would have been wiser to create generic characters that are not so politically and emotionally charged. That aside, this is a fun game. Well worth buying with good replay value.
TinyToes | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
..this is a great game! A cross between Royal Envoy and Farm Frenzy, your overall goal is to go through the open frontier to get to the west. Along the way, you collect gold, complete tasks, buy and sell goods at the general store - all in an effort to earn money to build up your own homestead (the more money you earn, the larger you can build your house, buy a garden, livestock, etc). There is certainly some strategy involved, so I've had to repeat even some of the earliest rounds just to get through, and get through with top scores. To make tasks even more challenging, your friend the Indian Chief assigns other goals within each level, and if you choose to do so, you're handsomely rewarded at the end. The graphics are great, as is the concept - this game will provide you hours of entertainment and escapism!
emi1 | Added on: August 3, 2012
 
love the graphics, and the music in this game. i hate that u have to wait for the worker to get back to the house to queue up another task. i like the extra tasks the chief gives u. they are definately a challenge to get done-at least for me. i know i'll go back to see if i can do better on some of the levels. i like seeing my property come alive. cool game...
DaAvonLady | Added on: April 8, 2013
 
Since buying this game I have re-played at least 10 different times, if not more. Always trying to beat my last score. Some levels you really have to think how to make the gold level in the time given, and maybe a little extra to get another high score. Originally bought for my son, but a little difficult for him. Once I started, I haven't been able to stop. Bought on a hunch and so glad I did!
hankysis3 | Added on: September 16, 2011
 
The first few levels didn't reel me in... getting the "Reward" did, and that (for me) meant replaying many levels. Thinking ahead is key to getting the reward. I had to plan my moves or would lose by just a short amount of time. If you are a TM fan, you know you will go back to beat that clock. Ahhh, the ego of it all - LOL. The Farm building is fun, and of course it doesn't take long to realize, it builds faster, if you get the rewards. As the title says, this game is a keeper. Well Done GameHouse!
yost | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
I have played through several acts and it just seemed to be a bit boring since there were no extras (like increased speed, resources, etc). You read the request of the Indian Chief and then try to complete the level by avoiding what it says to avoid. Also, the characters move so slowly. It would be better if it were faster pace. Also, building your farm up to move on is not necessary - so why have it there at all?? Its ok - not so bad I won't finish all the levels. I just don't know that I would play it again after I have completed it. I definitely wouldn't purchase it - thank goodness for FunPass!! My kids would like it.
wydcmama | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game -- even if it is EXTREMELY difficult to get a gold on most of the levels. And there are lot of levels and, even if you don't get "full" points for each one, you still have enough points to decorate and equip your farm/ranch. That's one of the fun things. As you gain points, can "buy" things for your home on the range Another surprise -- I kind of expected the game to be disrespectful of Native Americans. IMHO, it isn't at all. The game, however, is NOT for children--because of the difficulty of the levels. But, I'm going to play it again!
mcorbin | Added on: August 22, 2011
 
I didn't think I was going to like this game at first becasue of the graphics and funny looking characters, but it's very good. You do have to think a bit to get the medal each round...the gold star is not that difficult to earn. Not quite in the same category as Royal Envoy, My Kingdom for the Princess or Pyramid Time Buidlers but it's a good TM game and worth it if you love them like me!