Patricia's Quest For SunPatricia's Quest For Sun
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Patricia's Quest For Sun
nanaberta | Added on: March 16, 2012
 
This game is entirely hand painted and the music was composed for this game. The story is a most curious activity indeed. You are following Patricia, a Guardian of Home World, as she flies around the universe with "Saucer" in search of "Sun". (Some inanimate objects are given "human" qualities and surnames appropriate to their purpose in her world.) She lands on an unknown planet and sets off on her search using her purse of endless things and her trusty Sense Maker to figure things out. The Sense Maker appears to be an iPad prototype. (smile) The entire journey is both story book and a sort of jigsaw puzzle. Every puzzles is the same -- a jumbled picture in a rectangle divided in squares. Click on 2 blocks to exchange their positions. There are 2 modes, you cannot switch between them once you have created your profile. Normal has a grid of 48 blocks. Hard has a grid of 192 blocks. (Um, good luck with that.) Thank goodness, in both modes, the corner blocks are marked. There is a hint feature but no skip feature, so be prepared to spend a lot of time on some of the puzzles. The music is Zen like, as is the game actually. There is no timer, and you do get lost in the etherial story and mesmerized in solving the puzzles. The game has some bonus features: Complete the game and get bonus puzzles and bonus music. There are also achievements during play. The game is customizable -- you can download your own music. You can also create puzzles by importing your own picture and background files. The feature worked as advertised (on my Mac.) I think this is a "you either love it or hate it" kind of game. I liked that it was different, but I could only play it a few puzzles at a time. The artwork is stunning. There is an amazing contrast of soft and hard edge painterly quality -- may not be your style, but the talent to create it should be applauded.
infinity | Added on: May 22, 2012
 
Perhaps this game works better if you purchase it and have unlimited time to play. There are no instructions, help, or hints that I could find, so you have to figure out what to do. The puzzles involve swapping two tiles until you receive a check mark that indicates you've found the right spot for a particular tile. The problem is, the artwork is of a surreal world, and you don't know what the picture is supposed to look like. That makes it really challenging, and you have to be able to picture how a design from one tile would carry over to an adjacent one. Or do as I did periodically, which was to take a tile and place it in every available spot until I hit on the right one. When you start a puzzle, run your mouse over the tiles until you see a check mark to indicate a correctly placed tile so you have a starting point. Also, you will see small triangular arrows appear on the corner tiles, indicating to which corner to move the tile. I liked this, (and would have given it another star if instructions or hints had been provided), but I'd say this is definitely a try-before-you-buy kind of game, as it requires some ability at visualization ... or just random luck!
smallfry091956 | Added on: October 24, 2011
 
I really enjoyed this game .It has a cute story line.I like jigsaw puzzles and this kind of makes me think of them. The story is kind of long. It would be better to have a shorty story and different types of puzzles. I do recommend this to others if you like jigsaws.
Jixir | Added on: October 28, 2011
 
I really liked this game. Maybe I'm over-stressed, but I found the puzzles interesting and a joy to play. They story is interesting and the graphics are good, especially for the puzzles. It's easy to play, but the puzzles can be tricky, since it's dreamworld-style graphics. All in all, I'd recommend this game to those wishing an interesting, relaxing game.
flaca | Added on: October 24, 2011
 
Story line was ok, but boring puzzles. Same kind of puzzles over and over.
LittleRedDog | Added on: October 28, 2011
 
This is a nice change for me from my usual genre of HO/mini puzzle games or TM games. I used to put jigsaw puzzles together all the time; the old fashioned kind, that is, with the picture on the box to know what you're completing. I decided to give this game a go, and I have to say that I enjoyed it. It was just enough of a challenge. Not knowing what the picture would look like required me to just relax and go with the flow. Some puzzles were easier than most. I think it would have been easier, had I used the full screen option. The story was nice enough. I did not use the game's choice of music, and I did not try to input my own. I just wanted to put the puzzles together. I did try the create my own puzzle feature. That went well. I think this would be good for a jigsaw puzzle lover, who can do puzzles that may be somewhat abstract. I do prefer more simple puzzles, where I can sort out what goes where and match up color schemes. My review may be a little confusing. I did like the game. I did find the graphics pretty. The wording in the story was not quite right at times, but it is not unusual to find this when games come from all over the world. This was a journey story and our heroine had a goal to accomplish. With each accomplished puzzle, she could further her story along to completion. I liked the ending. Very sweet, touching. I would recommend this for playing, as it is a relaxing way to spend some time. There is no need to hurry. I liked that. There are plenty of chapters (puzzles) to do that makes it a decent value.
sweetsuzeeqz | Added on: October 24, 2011
 
This game seemed interesting during the 1st couple of puzzles but that's about as many of those as I could handle without getting sleepy! These particular kinds of puzzles are simply not my cup of tea so to speak....similar ones are found randomly here and there throughout the different HO games I usually enjoy but this game is a steady diet of the same kind of puzzle over & over & over again. Pictures are pretty and story would be interesting if it moved along at a much faster rate! Being an avid reader, I tend to read quickly and this was just too much a snail's pace for me. One option I did find kind of interesting was a music button that brought up my music playlists on my puter! Finding that, I thought 'cool! I can change this way too relaxing music to some of my own!' Unfortunately it wouldn't recognize either of my music players as able to read the file types so that didn't help me want to keep playing either! I'm sure there will be some folks who find these types of puzzles challenging but I'm just not one of them!
Takethater | Added on: November 25, 2011
 
If you like fantasy art and jigsaw puzzles with no idea what the picture is then this is the game for you. Whereas some of the images can be quite difficult to put together due to the watercolour graphics and very little detailed picture, some of them can be equally fun to put together. Some of the jigsaws were guess work due to the bad graphics but if you start out at the marked corner pieces and work your way around the edges, you can enjoy each puzzle. When the piece is slotted into place you will no longer be able to move it and you will see a tick box highlighted if you hover over it. Altogether not the worst game to be created but if there is a follow up, there needs to be some improvements on the graphics.
JustGaming | Added on: October 31, 2011
 
A real change of pace from HOGs/Adventure. This is strictly a puzzle game. Swap pieces to complete picture type puzzles. I am only half done at 12 puzzles. It only has a basic storyline, just to tie them together. The graphics have a pastel watercolor feel that I liked. There is an option to add your own music and puzzles, but I liked the Zen quality of their music so I didn’t try to change it. Other reviewers said it worked fine. This really isn’t a game to sit and play all at once. Rather it is like the older puzzle games (like Pandora’s box – does anyone remember that). It is a good game to sit on the desk top and play while you are stuck on-hold with “Peggy”. If you like 1000+ piece jigsaws you probably will like it. If you hate jigsaws this will drive you crazy. I started on the easy mode (fewer pieces) but changed to harder and enjoyed the challenge (I love jigsaws). From other reviews I notice that there is a glitch in the game where one of the tiles would “freeze in place.” This glitch can be solved by restarting the individual puzzle but it is a frustration that the developers should fix. Warning – on the sign-in screen there are two little strobe lights at the very bottom of the page that are very intense and might trigger any light sensitive disorder. This is the only place in the game that this exists but anyone that is sensitivity might want someone to check it out for them before they play.
Tayotae | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I just did not care for this game at all. The graphics were not to my liking, nor the music. It just leads you into a puzzle with no idea what it is to appear to be. Just not what I would call fun.
lore | Added on: October 28, 2011
 
As a puzzle lover, the same type of puzzle over and over again. The story is okay, a bit confusing, not to interesting. I was done with the whole game in a few hours. Not enough as a game...