Paranormal State - Poison Spring Platinum EditionParanormal State - Poison Spring Platinum Edition
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Paranormal State - Poison Spring Platinum Edition
32768696 | Added on: February 6, 2014
 
I really loved this game. graphics were great. good story.
34560483 | Added on: February 3, 2014
 
This game provides a pace for every kind of player. The story was outstanding and went very well with the playing and puzzle activities. .
Desertsong | Added on: February 7, 2014
 
I mostly enjoyed this game, but found there were difficulties. Often in the HO scenes, I was unable to pick up an object that was to be used to complete another object. Sometimes it took 10-15 tries to get it picked up and used on the main object. Lots of back and forth and the map on the sign was helpful once you figured out you needed to use it to navigate. As stated by another reviewer, a lot of work went into this game. It's well drawn and the plot was interesting, but you do need patience to complete it.
sok30 | Added on: February 5, 2014
 
I really enjoyed the tv show "Paranormal State" and am just as pleased with the game. Ryan Buell's fight with cancer has ended the show and I wish him all the best in beating it for good. The game is a good length, good storyline, appropiate non-annoying music and excellent graphics. There's a few minor hiccups in the game (oddly named HOG objects, vague mini-game instructions) but nothing that would take away from enjoying the gameplay. All in all a good game.
charl | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
I had to use the map more than I like, but the game was still a lot of fun. It is very true to the TV show and I really liked the story and the scenes. wish it had some puzzles, but it had great HO scenes and I guess the puzzles were part of the story, rather than a separate game. I recommend this game and it is good for replay.
jkjennings | Added on: February 3, 2014
 
Conflicted about this game. Lots of scenes and there are lots of HO scenes, but often there is a foreign word (at least to me) and I had to get a hint to find an object that as it turns out was out in the open. There is map in the journal but you can't use it to get around, you have to use a park billboard map which was totally confusing to me. Never did get the hang of it. The game lasts a fairly long time and goes right from one scene to another so I often played a long period of time at each stretch. One thing I didn't like was the humans were really just photographs and all the interaction they had was blinking their eyes. Spooky. Overall a game a HOG fan should play. Lots of work went into this one.
41648872 | Added on: February 12, 2014
 
This was not my favorite HO game...but it was for sure not a waste of money. I did enjoy most of it. There are just quite a few times where you're left wondering what you had to do next.
Therese | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
I liked this game. It's a good story, the grapichs er really nice. The puzzles are a little easy, but that's okay. I also liked the extra mini-game in the end :-)
MJ1234 | Added on: February 12, 2014
 
I thought this game was entertaining - I don't watch the show so I'm sure I would appreciate the game a little more if I did. The graphics were great and the HO scenes were fun to do. There were some puzzles that went with the game - you could skip them if you want to. There is a strategy guide in the game that is helpful if you get stuck. The only thing I didn't really like was that the characters in the game talked but they were just staring at you with their eyes blinking. :) Overall, a good game!
redaf | Added on: February 3, 2014
 
The story is original and interesting centering around the civil war and Cherokee spiritual history and rituals. Three levels of gameplay available for you, the newest member of the paranormal investigative team. You lead the way to solve a possession and free the spirits of two young lovers bound to earth. Graphics are very good, nice voice and sound work. Hidden object scenes are crisp and clear with interactive elements that make you think. Mini games are unique and fun to play without being frustratingly difficult. Some of them involve playing with the gadgets of the paranormal team and I found those quite fun. Hint system is good and your journal notes are very helpful nudging you in the right direction if you are not sure what to do next. It contains the story notes, a detailed map with indicators in areas you need to investigate, though it does not transport you to the location. There is a strategy guide as well if needed. Thoroughly enjoyed this game, and recommend it. New game from Playrix "Fall of the New Age" is worth a look too!
41544434 | Added on: February 18, 2014
 
Fun puzzles, some are a tad confusing but overall make sense and at the end they give you a bonus chapter which is always nice.
30684323 | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
The HO were really good and enjoyed playing with scary parts, I didn't like that the people didn't move their lips but game play was fun and the story line too.
Klouthan | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
I really enjoyed this game! Pros: Great graphics, varied locations, immersive storyline. Great idea of gizmos to use to uncover paranormal clues - we must have our tools! Good length - I couldn't finish this game in one sitting, and I looked forward to coming back to it. Not too long to where you got bored. HOS and puzzles were well integrated into the game, also skip and hint buttons with a decent fill time. Pathfinding and navigation were not too complicated. Characters were good with a sense of personality. The journal was interesting and kept up to date. Cons: A little weak on the actors - they didn't move their mouths. This took away a little from the immersive aspect of the game. Cursor/point was tricky in some of the HOS and puzzle scenes, I couldn't finish the carved ball puzzle as it wouldn't register all my strokes. Lots of backtracking, perhaps no more than usual but since we had the map feature, it would have been nice to "zoom" there once we had found the location. Conclusion: Well made game with good quality production and a nice length. There was neat bonus chapter that did not feel like a quickie add-on. This was a great subject matter for a story, and it was very satisfying to finish. Thanks for a great game!
NDSpacer | Added on: February 7, 2014
 
I think the story line for this game was well thought out and presented well. Two civil war ghosts assist your group of paranormal sleuths in ridding a historical site of a demon. The journal provides you with a task list, notes, map and even the strategy to help you complete a task if you really can't figure out what the hint button is directing you to do.(Often you have to go to the internet to get a walk through when you've exhausted all your ideas) Graphics are well done and the mini games keep the game interesting. There are voice overs with the script, and I like that in a game too. The music is zen like and relaxing. I am happy with the purchase of this game and would recommend it to others.
30911745 | Added on: January 31, 2014
 
I'm being a bit cheeky here because I've played this game already having bought in on another site. Simply put, I thoroughly enjoyed it - hence the 5 stars. It does have a lot of going back and forward and although the map shows you the area, it doesn't let you hope back and forwards. Its loosely based around Native American Indian legends and the graphics are great. You play the new member of a paranormal investigation team that has been called in to investigate why strange things are happening. I did find the voiceovers a little 'stilted' but that's a small price to pay. I play a lot of these types of games and very re-play them but this one? I might well just do that.
roxy8279 | Added on: March 3, 2014
 
This game has great graphics and outstanding story line. I like the way that it seemed to include me in the investigation.
30781013 | Added on: February 4, 2014
 
The game has an interesting storyline, both for those who like Civil War history and the show. Good graphics and interactive HOGs which I appreciate. A good variety of puzzles are also included. All and all an interesting and enjoyable experience. Nice for a weekend night in the cold, or anytime you can commit a few hours to play.
joanndibiase317 | Added on: February 8, 2014
 
This game is good but confusing with no clear instructions. There are several glitches too. I am at the campsite & I pickup the head of the puppet but it will not connect to the puppet body!
32039799 | Added on: February 15, 2014
 
I think this is one of the best games i have played! The graphics were good. Like others, I did not care for the way they characters talked, but it did not detract from the game.There were some glitches, I had to search on line for a walkthrough to finaly figure out why I could not find one of the wings(I actually had to restert the game). But it all worked out. I loved the extra game, how nice of them to add this, Most games dont. Stll, worth the money and time it took to play it.
31169280 | Added on: February 6, 2014
 
I really enjoyed this game, I love HO games, but some of the mystery ones are just to hard. This was great. I didn't have any trouble with the maps or getting around. But I have to agree with another reviewer, The characters are a little creepy, always blinking their eyes, but not moving their mouths. But love this game anyway. Has an easy level with help for people like me. I need it sometimes !!
talba | Added on: February 28, 2014
 
This game is ridiculously and needlessly frustrating. Some of the HO areas require you to complete certain actions before you can select an item. I tried for an extremely long time to attach the puppet’s head, and as a result of sheer determination, was finally able to do so. Then I came upon the area where I had to “bind” the arrow, and said enough is enough. I clicked everywhere on the arrow, and was not able to get the string to connect. I play these games to relax, and while I appreciate a challenge, the things that I’ve just mentioned are just poor design. I have given up on this game, because it is just isn’t worth it. I don’t recommend this game to anyone. There are just too many other fun games available.
anneatplay | Added on: February 10, 2014
 
This was enjoyable. I've actually never seen the show so I can't compare from that perspective. The story was detailed, the HOS were good with some fun tricks to them. The map was helpful although it would have been nice if it transported as well as showed possible activities. I found the use of maps on the bulletin board as a way to access different areas a unique approach that saved undue trekking. The bonus game was decent if a teensy bit hokey. In all, quite good.
cat_in_rv | Added on: February 7, 2014
 
This is the most complicated and complete game I have seen from Playrix. You are the newest member of a team that investigates paranormal activities. The dialogue is set up so that they actually 'talk' to you, which was fun. The HO scenes were very clear, with some items requiring more than two steps to complete (It took me 3 or 4 minutes to figure out how to get the hot dog on the bun, but I finally managed it!). For the most part the voice-overs were very good, and there were some unique mini games, mostly not very difficult, to keep you interested. Your journal pretty much points you in the right direction, and there is a perfectly good strategy guide should you need it. The map, such as it was, had its pros and cons. In order to move around the park, you had to pin pieces of the map to a board as the pieces became available. If you clicked on different areas of the map you could jump to those places (in fact, you couldn't get there any other way). And some maps would show you which areas had items left to be completed, but you could not use those maps to jump to those locations. The graphics were good, and the paranormal storyline kept you going, melded with Civil War and Cherokee information. I was working on this game about 3 am, and I actually jumped in one particlar place, which doesn't happen very often. There is no blood anywhere, but the paranormal story line would not be suitable for younger children. Overall this is an excellent game for HO enthusiasts.
shieldsw | Added on: March 7, 2014
 
I thought this was a great game! Challenging, creepy, interesting story line. There were a number of confusing steps in certain areas but the hint button was good for highlighting where to go. Pretty creepy too! Definitely worth my time.
32184199 | Added on: February 6, 2014
 
I watch this show on tv all the time and this game was like any of their shows. I got so involved that I had played for three hours and didn't even realize it had been that long.The scenes are beautiful, the voices rich, and HO are just had enough to make them interesting. I couldn't get enough of this game and was sad when it was over. The bonus game was an added benefit. I want some more of this as I thoroughly enjoyed this game.