Oddly Enough - Pied PiperOddly Enough - Pied Piper
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Oddly Enough - Pied Piper
annalyst | Added on: November 11, 2011
 
I liked the graphics and the game but after a short time I got really bored. This may be a great game for a new gamer but if your advanced don't spend the money.
Jocasa | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I finished this in about 2 hours in casual mode. The graphics were great. The storyline was predictable. The HOG aspect was disappointing. Not a lot if it and some of the items were tucked nearly off screen in the dark. The mini-games were different, but easy. A lot of wandering around, trying to figure out where to go next. On the plus side, the hint button does fill up rapidly. If you use it to determine what area to go into next it doesn't use up the hint. Like many recent HOGS the ending was rushed. I only played until the end because of funpass. I would not have purchased it.
cruisin4u2 | Added on: November 28, 2011
 
I enjoyed playing, didn't take long to finish. Some parts didn't flow well. You kind of had to keep searching around when you seemed stuck because new options would come up on different screens after completing certain tasks. This required you to go back and forth between "areas" over and over. Overall though I liked it but I have played better.
TAR671 | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
This is a great play. The graphics are fantastic. The game plays about 4 hours in the casual mode. The story line and the various scenes initally appear to be a game for younger players; However after you get into the game, it is challenging enought that IMHO many younger players will need help. The game requires a basic understanding how simple mechanical equipment works, as you are required at most locations to repair objects that are missing parts. The HOG portion consist of finding the parts of the mechanical equipment that has to be repaired. The objects are identifed by shadow shapes and for the most part you have to click on objects that are that shape, until you have collected all of the pieces needed. the objects are placed in inventory until you figure out where they go. The game requires that you go between various places numerious times until you have completed all required actions. The hint function is always available with a very short refresh period. The game does require that you click on most objects in each scene, to ensure that you collect everything you need, at other than HOG locations. I truly enjoyed this game, it is good family oriented game. I recommend this to anyone that enjoys a challenge and likes games that require a significant amouht of both thought provoking actions and actions involving just trying things to see what happens. Enjoy yourself!!
Mysterya | Added on: November 28, 2011
 
This is one of the few games I really did not care for. Graphics a bit too cartoony, look at the baker for instance. Kid friendly and they may like it. The puzzles were a bit challenging as you had silouettes rather than words and as some said story line kind of thin and hard to believe. I mean a gargoyle with a goggle hat? I know they were trying to lighten a dark tale but other tales and legends have achieved a slighty lighter version without being cartoony.
dlphngrl990 | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I really enjoy these type of hidden object games. I enjoyed this one but it was way too short. After the free hour demo, I bought the game and I was done a little over an hour later. There have been too many games like this lately that are far too short.
Daunya | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I like the twist on the fairy tale. It is a quite clicky game, but if you use the hint button to check which area you need to go to next it will cut down on a lot of time.
DarkDragon | Added on: November 11, 2011
 
Interesting story with a happy but anti-climatic ending, oh well it's kid-friendly... Nice graphics, better in game than in narrative (somewhat blurry). Music is over and over again, kinda boring, especially for ending. Why can't they just stick in something more suspenseful? It's not that much of a trouble. Easy HO and puzzles (most of them, the windmill lock is too troublesome I just skip). Plenty of tasks, sometimes need a hint to show what to do next. Short. Not for buying. Playing is fine but may not appeal to some players.
smshelton | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
FUN KEEPS YOU ON YOUR TOES. GOOD FOR KIDS AND ADULTS
nvyank | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I like this game a lot. It was very relaxing, especially compared to a couple of the other games I've played recently. It gave me a chance to "unscare" myself. Anyway... the graphics were pretty good, the objects different as you were looking for shapes instead of seeing the name of the object. The locks to get into the various dwellings were pretty good. I liked that you had to search for specific items and open doors before you could advance. I also liked that it kind of left you hanging. Sequel anyone???
jaybee3k | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
While the lack of hints help was annoying, I really enjoyed the challenge of this game. I don't usually play games that look "cartoony", so this was a pleasant surprise. The hints don't really help much, but once you realize you need to revisit areas more than once, you can usually puzzle it out. Worth it!
1toomany | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
I enjoyed the Pied Piper Storyline. The graphics were great, and it wasn't too much story. There was a nice balance between the storyline and play time. However, there aren't many HO areas to actually find; a lot of your time is spent figuring out how to use objects, and wandering from section to section. So if you're looking for a more traditional hidden object game where there is a HO area in each place, you'll be disappointed. The task list is helpful. If you read the comments when you view something, that does give you a hint as to what needs to be done. You won't need to use the hint button often. If you do use the hint, it refills pretty quickly. I really enjoyed the logic of this game. What you had to find and use, was very logical. I didn't feel like I was finding ridiculous, and sometimes needless, items to use - they all had a logical and direct purpose. I didn't think it was the most challenging of HOG, but it's interesting enough for a beginner to get hooked, and for the "expert" to stay involved and interested. . I'm kind of up in the air as to whether it's kid friendly or not. The storyline is not scary, but if they aren't familiar with the Pied Piper story, they may lose interest fairly quickly. I think it's a really good game for those times when you want to play a HOG but want to be rather relaxed too.
Or_Ducatisti | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I recommend giving this game a try, if only to see the gorgeously rendered graphics. The colors are so rich and inviting, and the characters so whimsically drawn, it's worth the time spent. The storyline is simple and well told, the ending is abrupt and comes way too soon. Gameplay is erratic, some puzzles are ridiculously easy, others are unbelievably difficult. I'll admit that I had to find and use a walkthough with this one, simply because I got tired of wandering around trying to find my next move. The help system works fine in the hidden object scenes, but is frustratingly useless elsewhere. Although its not perfect, Pied Piper is still worth a play, and possibly a buy. I would absolutely recommend it as a buy if it were just an hour or two longer. I'd say this game is 35% Hidden Object, 25% Puzzle, 25% Adventure, and 15% "Where the Heck am I Supposed to Go Next?"
66mustangsally | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
So I just spent about two hours playing this...and I'm finished. It was fairly easy as the game gave you "sparkly" spots to show you what needed to be done next. There was way too much back and forth, here and there to find objects to use in a different place. The "hidden object" part was a lot of picture shapes and you had to figure out what they were supposed to be. I had a lot of "what the heck is that supposed to be?" moments. Clicked around quite a bit trying to find them. Skipped through most of the locks/mini-games. Graphics were ok. Not the best game I've ever played. Would not play it again nor would I suggest buying it. Probably too short for most veteran gamers. Might be good for kids if the thought of being kidnapped by some weirdo doesn't frighten them. Alawar is not making very good games lately. Quite disappointing.
flaca | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
It was original, as far as it's take on a kid's fairy tale. The graphics were ok. Mini games were very easy. Storyline was interesting. But not a game I'd buy.
PipCat | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
This is a really nice game. I played in casual mode and it took about 2 hours to finish. The graphics are really great and the HO scenes are not the cluttered mess I've been finding in more recent games. However, players should be aware that the HOs are presented in silhouette form rather than word lists of items to find which is why I rated this one somewhat challenging. It's untimed and other than a momentary twirling of the cursor, there are no wrong click penalties. Hints recharge very quickly if you get stuck although on the few occasions that I used a hint it really didn't offer that much help. Gameplay consisted of talking to the citizens or gaining access to their dwellings in order to collect the 10 gold coins originally denied the Pied Piper. Each level requires you to visit the locations numerous times to collect items needed to complete tasks. It was not as tedious as it sounds but if that's not your kind of HO adventure you probably won't like it. The puzzles were not that tough to solve although I played in Casual mode and can't speak to the Expert mode. While I don't see much replay value in this one it's worth taking a look at with a FunPass account. Kids should enjoy this one as well.
Budica | Added on: November 16, 2011
 
The game was ok. The graphics are nice, but the story was boring, no new twist on the classic. I didn't really like that all of the HO scenes were pieces of something. It was really short as well.
Smedley | Added on: November 16, 2011
 
While billed as a HOG, this game is more of an adventure game with HOs as part of the fun! The graphics are excellent, and open up new search areas in a magical way. The music could be more varied, especially at the end. The HO screens involve the silhouette format, which is different, but gets repetitive. There's a lot of backtracking involved; many items (including HO screens) only appear after you have found another item, so you never end the need to return to an area in a current "chapter". It's important to note that the game has several such Chapters with each involving a number of areas to visit and revisit. I have called them: Chapt One is the town; Chapt 2 is the Garden; Chapt 3 is the Zoo, and Chapt 4 is the Tower. The storyline is very good, but the primary task needed in order to save the children is finding the 10 gold coins need to make the promised (and renegged) payment due the piper. You need to find all the coins before you can move to the Tower and encounter the Piper. Rescuing the children seemed somewhat diminished in the way they were sent home, but the mission continues to save the town from the Piper's revenge (even after you have paid him). Even the ending seems a little too sudden. It's a very good game, but it could have been a 5 star game with a little more effort. The puzzles are very interesting and challenging. Real HOG fans may feel there's not enough HO screens, but the tasks are very interesting. The game gets more involved - and more addictive - as it plays, so don't base your assessment only on the free first hour. I bought this game, and recommend it to others. Hours of fun!
S_p_l | Added on: November 28, 2011
 
It seems many people are either finding this game too difficult or too easy- I’m one of the latter. I wasn’t particularly impressed by this game in its entirety, even though there were a few elements I liked. For one, I thoroughly enjoyed the quirky clockwork kind of graphics. The game is quite pretty and intriguing to look at. I appreciated the unique storyline, even though I found myself questioning why the townspeople would put their faith in a debt collector (of all people) to return their children… The music and voice acting was acceptable, albeit annoying in some places. Unfortunately, I view this game as somewhat of a missed opportunity. For one, it’s INCREDIBLY short. I completed it in maybe two hours, and most of that time was spent backtracking. This game does seem to focus more on adventure and not so much hidden object searches. However, the “adventuring” consists of investigating the same areas over and over again. The HO scenes require that you search for an object that matches the silhouette of the mystery item in the tray. This was a unique take on your standard HO scenes, but honestly, it just made it 10 times easier for me to find everything. The puzzles were also simple and unoriginal, and probably could be solved by just clicking around randomly until you get results. The ending was quite sudden, probably because the game is so short. All in all, I wouldn’t recommend purchasing the full version.
anno0406 | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I loved this game. the difficulty level was perfect and the challanges not to hard. The only bad thing is that it was a bit to short. Really recommend playing.
necie | Added on: November 25, 2011
 
Hankysis3 was right. What should have been a very entertaining game was a reall disappointment. The graphics and storyline were let down by the very ordinary hidden object component. What's with the silhouettes instead of actual objects? Dumb idea, I thought. The mini-games were just confusing and I'm also glad I could play this with my funpass because if I'd bought the game I'd be very unhappy.
RickMel | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
Easy, graphics and storyline wern't the greatest, but it was still enjoyable. I wouldn't purchase this game.
Linda1956 | Added on: November 18, 2011
 
I have been in the past so spoiled and impressed by the great HO games of Alawar Entertainment that I bought and downloaded this game without the trial. It may be just me, but not only this game, but the overall quality of the games I've tried here lately disappoint, so I was excited by a new Alawar game. I'm sorry, but it's true. Never again! This game worked my nerves so badly I ended up deleting it before I finished it; just couldn't take it any more. Before doing this, I had my 12 yr old granddaughter try it thinking it was age related (we enjoy playing HO games alone and playing together...I let her try this alone and then went to assist when asked). She was more frustrated than I was. I learned a lesson; never again buy before try another game ever again.
mek509 | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
Quite challenging, I played in Expert mode, and because there were so many places to go I admit I did use the hint button quite often to find the right direction. Worth the price.
ToketsuPuurin | Added on: January 4, 2012
 
The art is very good, but the game's rather short. The puzzles are obtuse and often leave you with no option but randomly trying everything. The hint feature is worse than useless.
infinity | Added on: November 11, 2011
 
This is one of the scavenger-style HO games where you spend a lot of time hunting for objects that you need to complete various tasks, so that you can then do other tasks, and so on. The traditional HO segments of the game are very short and fairly simple, and involve matching objects to shadow images which then combine magically to form an object you need for ... a task. Generally, I find these kinds of games have the player wandering around doing oddball things just to string out the game, and I never seem to get the logic behind them. So I was happily surprised to find that while indeed there is a lot of traipsing back and forth among four locations in the village (which has great graphics and is suitably atmospheric), there is a point to it all, but surprisingly little of which had anything to do with the Pied Piper, at least to the point in the game I reached. The game starts off with a good tutorial for newbies, but still there is a lot of time spent wandering and clicking trying to figure out how to make sense of it all. The hints fill quickly, and point you in the right direction, but don't give answers outright. However, sparkly lights, glowing objects, and the mouse pointer turning into a magnifying glass are all clues to take a closer look at something. Once you do, click away until you find the object(s) you are to collect. And not all objects are immediately available. As you add objects to your inventory, more become available to find. It's just a matter of getting that ball rolling, and retracing your steps many times. I enjoyed the one-hour trial but didn't get as far as I would have liked because of all the backtracking. Still, in that short journey, it appears a game best suited for older kids because it does require an ability to think and process. Once you know where all the objects are hidden, it doesn't seem it would provide any sort of challenge to replay.
heitz77 | Added on: November 17, 2011
 
I really liked the pictures and story line in this game. There were times when I was at a complete loss as to where to go, but once figured out, everything made sense. There was a good deal of movement- it was necessary to sort through all the rooms within one level to find all of the pieces to move on. The conversations and characters within were cute. All in all, I thought this was a highly successful game.
cps108 | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
Not a bad game, not a great one. HO's are really easy. You spend a lot of time going back and forth and that gets pretty boring. Not a real long game, probably a good thing. Nice graphics, not a bad story line, I have played an awful lot worse
AngelBaby1947 | Added on: November 25, 2011
 
I found that the game is easy to play however, I am not fond of clues that are visual not text. The graphics were very good but the story line was a little thin. I would like to see a more complicated story.
mdmmo1976 | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
The storyline is good. I just wish the game was a little longer. The hidden objects were very easy to find.
sushihead | Added on: November 18, 2011
 
This game was way too short and otherwise unexciting.
Badson42 | Added on: November 10, 2012
 
This wasn't a bad game neither was it a great game. The backtracking to the same areas over and over again gets a bit tedious. There is a lot of time spent adventuring and not a lot of actual HO scenes. I wasn't overly fond of the shadows of the objects you need to find. I prefer seeing what I'm looking for. It was quite short, only a couple hours. Kids might like this. All in all, if I was buying this I would be looking for a sale. For full price, there are MUCH better HOs out there for your money.
odessa70 | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
Cute characters and storyline. I enjoy these HO games that make you find items and use them in other locations. It gets you involved in the story and makes you think. Not too difficult, yet not so easy that you zip right through the game.
hankysis3 | Added on: November 22, 2011
 
If this had been my first hidden object game, I probably wouldn't have played another one again. The "objects" were black shapes that turned into an object you would use, but finding the shapes was difficult. I usually do pretty well with puzzles, but some of these were too tough and I had to skip them. I guess my mind went out on a break as I went on the "round and round" train going from one room to the next trying to follow the plot. I did like the Pied Piper rendition and the graphics were well done. To be fair, I did play it through, and it was just plain torture at the end. I kept hitting too many walls. That is a shame, as what could have been a delightful (bad guy gets it in the end) experience was not. I would definitely recommend you try it out first and go from there (thank goodness for FunPass).
happy64 | Added on: November 11, 2011
 
I liked almost everything about the game. I liked that it had a story and had a good mixture of hidden object find it type things and using objects in certain places. However sometimes it was hard to figure out where to go and the ending was very fast and anticlimactic.
Expo | Added on: November 10, 2011
 
I have only played the free trial but have added this to my 'must have' list! I thoroughly enjoyed it. The puzzles made me think but didn't strain the brain too much, although I will be honest and say that I had to use a walkthrough on a couple of occasions... However, I did hit a glitch in the bakers house, so be careful there.
Neenie | Added on: November 17, 2011
 
its an ok game, but could do with more levels, i completed the game in under 2 hours! game over
JGauci | Added on: November 17, 2011
 
I happen to like the bad guys in the movies! I mean, think about it for a moment. Without them, there would be no plot and nothing for the hero to do! In this game, you're the hero who has to find the bad guy and settle a dispute. The puzzles encountered along the way, took time to solve and were very well thought-out. The movement was smooth and the graphics awesome!! Indeed, give this one a try!
devi | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
This game was just OK. The kind of game that you forget about in a few hours. Graphics were good with a twist on the famous Pied Piper story. Not necessarily a good twist as they made the character devious. Mini games were different which is always a plus. Recommended to play with Fun Pass, no reco to buy.
Pepsi227 | Added on: November 21, 2011
 
oddly enough was an exicting game. i did not leave the computer until i finished. i couldn't even do my school work!