Nancy Drew® - The Haunting of Castle MalloyNancy Drew® - The Haunting of Castle Malloy
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Nancy Drew® - The Haunting of Castle Malloy
bellehartley | Added on: December 2, 2010
 
Most of the Nancy Drew games are not just a rehash of an old game with a new story. The puzzles are unique and challenging. The story line is a great one. This is another spot on great game. Don't play the game when you are tired because you will need all of your thinking ability for some of the puzzles.
DarkDragon | Added on: April 1, 2011
 
Just as other Nancy Drew games, this one also has nice plot and twists, great puzzles, and good humor, that will keep you straining your eyes and minds for several hours in front of the monitor :D. It has many surprises, even though sometimes the puzzles got me a little frustrating. Catching sheep was not very fun because if I wasn't fast enough, the sheep will run out of the barn. It took me a good amount of time on the sheep, but the shearing is very rewarding. After being sheared, the sheep got all kinds of weird and funny haircuts. I love it so much that I did it several times just to see all types (as I saw in a walkthrough, there's 4 of them). Though I didn't see the bow-type, the colorful punky mo-hawk and the happy sheep is extremely cute. Launching a rocket at the end is a real headache, I must say. Getting the key for the control is the hardest part of all. You have to collect and dump chemical balls into right categories. It took me tons of attempts because each wrong move will make things go south, mostly because I positioned the grabber wrongly. Good thing that it restarts at the last right move, not having me to start over again, otherwise I would turn the game off LOL. This game is recommended for mystery lovers. But keep in mind that it requires a lot of thinking and patience. Of course, you can always resort to walkthrough (I know I did in some parts), but should only when you're stuck. Otherwise, there is no fun at all if you just use it from the beginning to the end, right?
fuschiagirl | Added on: November 12, 2009
 
I really loved this one! great storyline, great scenery, keeps you entertained so you dont want to stop playing
new2gamesNloveit | Added on: May 18, 2012
 
Hello everyone! I'm new to the whole gaming scene and I picked this game as my first Nancy Drew Game...I Instantly became hooked! It was relaxing but very challenging! The graphics and castle were absolutely stunning! Love, Love, Love this game! It's sure not to disappoint in any way! This is my favorite so far and not just because it was my first Nancy Drew Game that made me addicted to the Nancy Drew games, but it is truly that fun to play. If you love mysteries, puzzles that challenge you, great graphics and loads of places to actually go and explore....this is it! It's creepy, and gorgeous graphics along with fantastic game-play and mystery to solve...if you love a challenge and relaxing pace...Play this! It HOOKED me! Love it! Thank you to GameHouse for offering the affordable FunPass so I could start to play and learn that I loved Nancy Drew Games and Delicious-Emily (time management) games! It's made my couple hours a night...such a wonderful time, I look forward to it all day! I hope you get more Nancy Drew Games! Anyone who is up for trying Nancy Drew...this is a great one to start with...very challenging...but awesome! It hooks you!
ParanormalMom | Added on: February 2, 2012
 
I have been playing the Nancy Drew games for a couple of years now. The games normally help you along with hints or cheats. But this one was quite different and more challenging. The only hints that you receive, you will have to purchase from someone in the game. I became stuck many times and had to sort to going online to get hints to what had to be done next. This is a must play game.
Nien | Added on: June 6, 2009
 
Playing Nancy Drew games is like watching a movie or reading a book but with you being involved in it. The graphic is stunning, its full of surprises, and its actually make you use your brain harder (but in a fun way) than you think. I like The Haunting of Castle Maloy coz of the story, the mystery, and the twist in the story. Gives you the spook too and im a fan of horror movies :p I cant wait for the new Nancy Drew game released this summer.
pcpat | Added on: August 27, 2010
 
You'll not be finishing this game in a couple sittings. Rich graphics, enjoyable Irish music and a lot of territory to cover. Fun mini games like mixing fruit drinks, playing a drum, spot the difference, darts as well as other more complicated puzzles throughout. A lot of research regarding Celtic history went into this game and when the Screaming Banshee came into view, there were a few other screams that did not come from the game. This is a keeper for sure.
emilysmom | Added on: May 4, 2012
 
I have seen the Nancy Drew games and knew they were very popular. For some reason they never really appealed to me but as I keep seeing them grow in popularity I decided to give one a try. I am glad I did! This is the first and only Nancy Drew adventure I have played and it most certainly has me hooked! Navigation: I found game movement to be simple and easy to adapt to. There are some games where the camera movement can be pretty confusing but this is very cut and dry. An arrow points in any direction that you may go and all you have to do is turn around if you have made a wrong turn. Plot: Once you reach Castle Malloy you learn that your help is needed from the bride-to-be. As the maid of honor and of course your love of mystery solving you feel compelled to oblige. Dialogue: One of my favorite aspects of this game is the voice overs. It adds a certain element to a game when you can actually hear the voices of yourself and those you interact with. Endless scrolling and reading does not appeal to me and I find it so much easier to understand when there is the opportunity to read as well as hear the audio. Puzzles: Some of the puzzles are quite easy but do not be fooled, the majority of puzzles are a real challenge. They require a high level of thought and research. Not all answers are obvious and some are quite complicated. I did resort to a walkthrough for some of the answers but I contribute that to my own impatience. However, if you are one that loves a challenge of the mind then this game is definitely for you. Graphics: There are some very beautiful graphics and scenes. There are also some that are not as detailed and pretty simple. The grounds when Nancy is waling appear pretty plain but once you enter a specific area the scenery is very elaborate and intriguing. Game Modes and Replay Value: You have a choice to play as a Junior Detective or a Senior Detective. As a Junior Detective you can purchase hints and you also receive a task list that you can check off as you complete them. I highly recommend this mode if you are new to Nancy Drew or point and click adventures. Senior detective mode is much more challenging where you get no hints and no task list. All you have to refer to is your notebook. Both modes have special accomplishments you can achieve to earn stars for the badge. This makes for good replay value if you are the type of person that will not rest until you have achieved all stars on both badges. The combination of all these elements make for an incredibly challenging and enjoyable mystery game. I cannot think of a single aspect of the game that I disliked or would change. If you are looking for a challenge and something different than a HOG, then this is a game you must try.
AllieCase | Added on: June 20, 2013
 
If this would be your first Nancy Drew game, don't bother! There are much, MUCH better games! This one proves to be one of the most challenging and honestly the ending and the "culprit" is so pointless. A waste of time in my opinion!
anneatplay | Added on: December 9, 2011
 
This game is beautifully done and of very high quality graphics, content, and storyline. BUT...I find it really hard. I've played dozens of them and I think this one is the most difficult I've encountered. There are no hints at all. The inventory items aren't labeled and they all look alike in the inventory screen. The puzzles really take some mental knoodling and there are no hints or skips. I referenced a walkthrough which didn't match at all with the journey I'd taken so far, so it wasn't a lot of help unless I wanted to start over. I do find it addictive because I get frustrated and quit, only to go back to it an hour later to see if I can't get further. I would not recommend this for a beginner.