Mystery Valley Extended EditionMystery Valley Extended Edition
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Mystery Valley Extended Edition
mamaronan | Added on: September 18, 2012
 
The plot is average. The biggest annoyance for me were the hidden objects. The backgrounds tended to be dull brown and there was little difference between objects and the muted colors. I am spoiled now and prefer audio to the subtitles.
manadeb | Added on: July 15, 2011
 
It's okay at times, but frustratingly annoying at others. I'll finish it because my grandson (5) likes it a lot. It's one I won't replay after I finish unlike Jewel Quest games or Phantasmat. I'd call it slow paced, confusing and time consuming. Sorry.
cps108 | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
I liked the story line and the game action was pretty good. Could certainly been a touch longer. The hidden objects, in the overall were not bad at all. I certainly wouldn't rate this as a top game, but I have played a lot worse.
NewfiePrincess | Added on: July 1, 2011
 
I liked the idea behind the story. It could have been better developed though. It was interesting at times, but in the end it fell flat. I also found the graphics left something to be desired. It was hard to see things at times, no matter how you adjusted your screen. Also, the game ended VERY abruptly! I can't say I disliked the game, but it could have been much, much better!
donetella | Added on: July 1, 2011
 
for one, the game was not long enough! it was your typical "scary" hidden object, mini game, maze type game. the storyline was alright but kind of odd. and there is a disclaimer that it's for mature audiences. i agree! this should not be for children. its very dark and the zombie face that pops up now and again can scare a child and some adults if not prepared. i admit, one scary face surprised me! lmbo! if you want to pass time and enjoy the scary story find stuff mini games thing, then this is for you!
Maleficent | Added on: May 2, 2012
 
I wish this game would have lasted longer. It ended way too quickly, which was very annoying. Other than it's extremely disappointing length, the game kept me interested and intrigued. There were some technicalities that could be cleaned up, and the graphics could be smoothed out a bit more. If all the games are solved this quickly, I would definitely not download or buy another one.
Ammy | Added on: December 21, 2012
 
I really enjoyed solving the puzzles in this game. The game's creepy environments even got my brother interested, and actually got him playing a puzzle game instead of a war game. We're both interested in a sequel. I don't know if I would buy this game, but as the free game of the day, I really liked it. It was addicting to find out what happened next. I'm sure it's not the best, and you have to ignore some typos, but it gives a few hours of fun.
nipsen50 | Added on: June 30, 2011
 
Have done better games that were more difficult but this was still fun with the grapics.
MaudeO | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
This game was interesting, but the story may be too dark for some players. I had no problem figuring out the actual game, although I did get stuck on the extended play afterwards. If anyone knows where to find the mirror please post it on the forum for me. ;-) My one complaint was that some of the objects in the HO scenes were impossible to see and I had to use hints to find them. I couldn't see a couple of them with the hints either, and just clicked in the highlighted circle. I need to play the game over anyway because I answered my door and missed the scene that tied the whole mystery together, so I'll try brightening my monitor next time to see if it helps. This game is worth playing on FunPass, but you might want to play the trial version before you buy, especially if you have vision problems or don't care for a dark storyline in your games.
Likesonotaditz | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
Oh dear. I was so excited to play another IHOG. The beginning of the game seemed promising, but as soon as I got to the first HO, things started going downhill. The graphics looked okay at first, but the style varies throughout the game. Most of the HO scenes look like they came out of a 90's adventure game, and not in a good way. The scenes were blurry and gritty, making it hard enough to find objects, but on top of that, a lot of items were mislabeled! There were a lot of multiple objects as well. In one scene, you are supposed to find two torches, but there are 4 torches in the scene, and one of the torches you need ends up being a chandelier. There was a plethora of sloppy programming and editing: Misspellings, hot spots that don't do anything, clicks not registering, etc. The plot didn't make any sense. You have bad dreams, you learn that you are a vampire, you don't turn into a vampire, you kill some vampires with dynamite, you take your dad out of a nursing home. Riiiiight... It's also a very short game; about 2 hours long. This was a plus for me, since I wanted to finish it before I wrote a review. If you spend any money on the game though, you will be very very disappointed. I'll give this 2 stars because the mini games weren't bad, but don't bother downloading this unless you want a good example of how not to make an IHOG.
mavethrave | Added on: June 28, 2011
 
If I had paid for this and not used the fun pass I would be very upset. I finished the whole thing in just over an hour. The graphics are good in some scenes and horrible in others. It says notes will be added to your journal to help you through but they aren't. The hint works ok but it you are looking for something that wasn't on a hog list the hint won't help at all. There is a lot of trying to figure where to look for something. Also, I don't know why they had the ghosty girl floating around all the time. It had an OK story line but was obviously foreign made. Words were mispelled and some objects aren't going to be what you think they are. Maybe they don't call them the same thing we do. I would have given it a higher score if it wasn't so short because all in all it is pretty good. Did I mention it is too short?
TMuzz | Added on: July 1, 2011
 
disappointing ending...although the game itself is interesting..it just seemed to end suddenly...and i felt disappointed.
Peeje | Added on: April 27, 2012
 
I like my HO games challenging, and this fit the bill! It was a teensy bit frustrating having to leave the rooms to find the 'extra' stuff I needed to solve the problem, but it wasn't off-putting. The graphics were good +, the hidden objects were just difficult enough to keep me interested, but my peeve was having to read all the dialogue. I like the games that "talk"....it's a smoother playing field that doesn't slow down my pace. All in all, it's a really good game and I'm not sorry I purchased it! Thanks!
aleksg | Added on: May 1, 2012
 
I thoroughly enjoyed the game so much so that once I had purchased it I couldn't stop playing until I had finished. I enjoy finding the hidden objects. The graphics were very well done. I would definitely recommend this to everyone over the age of 12 ...
mackdaddy | Added on: June 30, 2011
 
This is a great game of mindboggling steps that keep you forever wondering what will pop up next. I get so frustrated at times but, I keep on searching. This is great fun. Is there a sequel coming?
CharlieOldGal | Added on: December 6, 2011
 
It's not that good either. The story is not bad, though too much reading involved. The graphics are well done but far too dark and dirty and gloomy. Many objects were difficult to find because they were hidden in a pile of rusty dirty junk. I find this tedious after a while. There are typos throughout, which makes the game seem amateurish compared to some of the really GOOD games available for hidden object fans. I played it through and kept it back when I first discovered HO games, but I couldn't go on with it this time. I would not recommend it.
Kelili | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
This is a great HOG! The story is interesting and the cutscenes are very well done. It is a typical HOG where you find objects and perform tasks to advance the story. The graphics are good although a few of the HO scenes are a bit dark so I had to use the hint button a few times. The minigames are fairly easy and can be skipped. You do have to go back and forth between rooms to find things to use elsewhere but not to the point where I got irritated like I have with some other HOGs. The diary is useful in this game because it lists the tasks you need to do and crosses them off when you complete them. (2 of the 5 stars are for the cutscenes. Very, very well done!)
emi1 | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
i really liked the way this game started. how creepy to see the nightmare of a young girl-a scary tho beautiful room with candles everywhere, then the face of the person on the slab-a rotting vamp. i gasped just like the little girl did. one of my very favorite things was when i clicked on the doll head in the bathtub-WOW-creeped me out-u've gotta play to see...i also really liked the way the scene of the murder began with the rain. cool. it seemed very realistic. i loved the creepy music. the graphics were sometimes difficult for me to see details, and the people just looked odd, but this story is facinating. you find items in different locations-have to find particular items b/f moving on in some scenes. i played the easy version, and was still challenged. great job, guys...btw-i don't think this is for kids...too scary...
thebadhamster | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
This game is absolutely terrible! I really can't recommend this for anyone. I gave this 1 star because I had to at least give it that in order to review it. The game is very short, each segment takes about 15 minutes. The game play is fairly easy, but since information you pick up is not added to your journal, you may need the walkthrough if you don't remember what you read (ex: the story about the knights). There are hints given for the HOG scenes, which you will need because a lot of the items are mislabeled and misspelled. The rest of the game does not have hints so plan to walk back and forth a lot. The graphics were at times really good, but other scenes looked like something a middle school student might put together, including lots of glitches and missing items/scenes that are needed for completing the game. One particular graphic that is shown in the description screenshot is something that looks like a rip-off of the little girl from "The Ring". Guess what? It is. It's just one of many random .gif's that are plastered throughout the game that do nothing, have nothing to do with the storyline, and just float around. The plot is simplistic and riddled with plot holes; none of it really adds up and the ending is...well, you will see for yourself. It seems like the game wasn't finished when the release deadline came up, so they just put it out "as is". Complete waste of my money. Anyways, I've been getting games from this site for years, and this one was so bad I just had to do my first review to warn people!
Mysterya | Added on: July 3, 2013
 
The various spelling errors were minor as the game created by non-native English speakers and some of the spellings were more phoentic. The images were kinda of choppy and maybe would have been better if the characters were not three dimensional. The skip game button did not work for the mini games. The book provided clues but you could not use it while solving the puzzles. The walkthrough was a nice feature but was glitchy. For me at least, I had to exit the game then when I signed in again I had to go straight to the walk through then I could exit and go back to game without glitching. As mentioned some times the graphics were not clear enough and you had to be precise with the mouse clicks. The endings alluded to possible sequel, bit if they do, many improvements need to be done.
MoonieHimura | Added on: February 10, 2012
 
It was fun to play and it does have replay value because the items change.
Tayotae | Added on: August 31, 2011
 
This game has good graphics, loved the rain, ok music while it lasted and the story was ok, but it is not a games I would purchase or allow kids to play. It is "graphic". It is a talkie for about 2 minutes then you must read from then on. Kind of a pick and choose, (what do I do now, am I finished here?, next???). It might even give me nightmares.
barbrid31 | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
This game had more movie scenes than game play. Thank goodness I didn't buy this game.
Mysterya | Added on: January 19, 2012
 
Story disjointed and the prelude really made no sense to the main story. The transitional scenes and graphics were like the cratoon South Park though slightly higer. The general in game graphics as far as scenes go were decent enough. The ending anti cimatic, even the side story. I would recommend it be played the one hour demo. The skip puzzle function you had to click multiple times. I am glad GH has the free game option as if I had bought this I would not have been happy.
devi | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
This HO was full of adventure, good graphics, lots of navigation, and a spooky, eerie storyline. I really enjoyed playing it. Dropped it down one star for two reasons: first, the storyboards moved too slowly. Second reason: the ending. I'll just say the story ended without any relevance as to what the main character was. Definitely left open for a sequel. Anyway, see for yourself and enjoy this.
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
Don't download this game.The storyline is pathetic.The ONLY reason I gave it 2 stars is bc of the graphics.This game was not my idea of a good one...
jmg1234 | Added on: January 17, 2012
 
The story was really good, and the hidden objects part was OK too. The problem though was when you had to go to all these different rooms to figure out what to do next. You'd often have no clue as to what to do or where to go, this gets very frustrating. Also some of the puzzles were impossible to figure out. There's a skip button for frustrated people like me, but when you click it, it usually didn't work. I had to cheat and go Google the walkthrough of the game just to get past some parts. Having to cheat like this sure takes the fun out of it. I might even just give this game a 2 stars. I would've given it that or less if not for the good story aspect, and the Good hidden objects part of it once you got all the multiple rooms confusion figured out.
austinsnonnie | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
I love Mystery Valley it's very interesting it's has great mini games & puzzles & is also very challenging. I wish there were more games out there like Mystery Valley this is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!
Mykellel | Added on: August 1, 2011
 
I'm hooked on Hidden Object games and this one's pure and uncut 100% fun
kenspunkin1 | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
Well, I honestly do not remember even starting this game, but I must have because it knew my name and started me at level four. I guess I started it before and uninstalled. After playing a bit where I "left off" the last time, I realized that this game just isn't for me. The story lost me, i guess because I don't remember playing, and it didn't seem to flow. So I uninstalled again. Hope I don't go for attempt number three!
Budica | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
I enjoyed this game. It's scary with an interesting story. It could use a few more clues at the end, it took me a while to figure out what to do. Overall, a very nice experience.
playnow360 | Added on: June 29, 2011
 
game was extremely easy for my granddaughter. I enjoyed the screens in most of the game.
Or_Ducatisti | Added on: June 29, 2011
 
The game starts with a neat visual effect of rain at a crime scene, unfortunately, I think the artist who did it probably got a better job and left the project. The rest of the game is a hodgepodge of irritatingly bad Poser 3-D people with tiny heads and lumpy bulky bodies, along with the usual junk store of Hidden Objects with strange names (napkins for tissue, gaz for gas, that kind of thing). Some text is a bit difficult to understand, similar to a Babelfish translation, for instance "If I could get the cache to open, I could mingle with the lock". Yea, let's do some lock mingling, ooooh aaaaah. Gameplay consists of about 50% puzzle solving and 50% hidden object finds. The puzzles were challenging enough without being frustrating, but the developers simply spit out the same types as we've seen a million times before in other games, no deviation or innovation here. The story line is interesting in spots, and the locations fit it well, but there's a few disconcerting jumps (one instant trapped in a mine, the next miraculously freed and fighting a fire at a retirement home) that show how slapdash the game development was. I have a feeling that more was planned, but was scrapped due to time and money constraints, and the developers didn't care enough to even try and tie up the loose ends. The game took me a little over 2 hours to complete, including the bonus content. It's not a terrible game, just run-of-the-mill with no real redeeming qualities. Worth playing if you're a Fun Pass member and there's nothing else that interests you right now, but definitely not worth buying.
djmacd | Added on: May 4, 2012
 
I bought this game because it was offered for $2.98 when I purchased another game. This is slow to play, because there are often multiple steps to finding some items, and has other annoyances that make it drag. I've just written it off as a bad choice, however inexpensive it was.