Mystery Stories - Mountains of MadnessMystery Stories - Mountains of Madness
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Mystery Stories - Mountains of Madness
Cat_In_RV | Added on: August 6, 2012
 
This is by far my favorite of the Mystery Stories games. The story pulls you in and makes you feel that you are there. To my mind this is more of an adventure game than a HOG. The HO scenes are incidental to the story. There are many other actions required, and many puzzles of various kinds to solve. The graphics are well drawn and interesting. The variety of scenes is very believeable. If you are stuck, the hint button will show you where to go next. I really like that you can get advice rather than a specific hint. It makes the game more fun. It's also nice that you don't need to go hunting for a walk-through. Everything you need is right there. I have played this game twice and will probably play it again in a few months. I wish there were more like it.
mystemo | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
The game has a great hook, to get you sucked into it, by using the Lovecraft mythos and this sets a great premise for a hidden object game. The visuals are beautiful and I'm loving the widescreen presentation nowadays. The game features some good thinking puzzles, but does get a little predictable when you have, for example, a star logo on a door and you need to find a star to fit the door. The objects are fairly easy to find, but what keeps things interesting is the story and this does well - but this game only begins what could be a great series of games. It's a bit short at only a few hours max, but we'll see if they bring more now under the 'Mystery Stories' brand.
Ridindawind | Added on: January 24, 2012
 
This game pulls you in from the very beginning, and keeps your interest til the credits have run!! Using the H.P. Lovecraft story is a neat concept and adding a female character gave it a bit of a twist as you change characters throughout gameplay. Love the graphics and the scenes. The artwork isn't the best I've ever seen, but it is still very nice and pleasing to look at. The narration is short and to the point,the narrators voice is deep and gives you feelings of foreboding and fear. Very well done!!. It is a very graphic and creepy with lots of dead bodies so this is definately not for younger children, being a mother and grandmother I would say it's ok for 14 and older. I really enjoyed the HO scenes,mini games and puzzles some are easy, others a bit more difficult, a nice mix. The story line is wonderful, I have always been fascinated with the stories of other beings on this planet. The hint system is wonderful,giving you small increments of help each time you click on it, there is no waiting for the hint to refill so you are able to use it whenever needed. I have to admit that eventho I played in casual mode I had to use the hints a few times.. IMHO this is one of the best HOG's I've played, The developers totally ROCKED IT !!! JOB WELL DONE.!!! I do hope that that the "Mystery Stories" will turn into a series, with such a bang up beginning!! So wether you're a lovecraft fan or just enjoy a very well done HOG, this game is well worth a play and a permanent slot in your game library:) I Highly Recommend it! :) This game also has great replay value and I will be playing it again often. Enjoy ! LW
emi1 | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
this game grabbed me from the moment i opened it. the music is the 1st thing-it is suspensful/kinda scary/dark. it sets the mood brilliantly. the graphics are dark also-figuratively and actually. i thot i'd have problems finding items when i 1st began playing, but that wasn't the case @ all. the dialogue is absolutely PERFECT. that's the 2nd thing that pulled me in-his voice is deep, his tone indicates his fear/reluctance to face something terrible and unknown, but it also indicates that he knows he must act to save the expedition. the story is gr8/facinating. i want to know how this one ends. the game itself is finding items in different locations-some items go in your invetory to use later. i liked the different ways u find items-words/shapes. i did find myself a bit frustrated when i wasn't sure what location i should proceed to, but i found that using the hint button was extreemly helpful. i really like that the hints don't tell u exactly what to do, but give u details that lead u where u need to go. i played the casual mode, and found that even in that mode the game is challenging. the mini games are typical-ring puzzles/putting together torn apart pages, etc. i liked that u can skip the mini puzzles if u like. i think if u like HOGs, u'll like this one. i can't wait to see how it ends. wonderful job to the makers of this one.
Jem888 | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
I liked the graphics, the storyline was okay but not great. The puzzles were really easy. I played the game through in about 3.5 hours. I used a free game coupon so I enjoyed it and it was a nice relaxing way to spend the afternoon in on a snowy day. I would recommend getting as a free or sale game unless you are really new and inexperienced with HOG's.
Tayotae | Added on: January 27, 2012
 
This game has good graphics and great sound effects. You feel like you are the and it is cold and the wind, oh man the wind. Planes crach alot here, so be perpared. The is no direction to guide you in this game. It is a kind of hunt and pick thing. You will have to use all the imagation you have and then some to move through this one. Good luck.
chi23 | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
liked this game made me think, had to use hint more then I liked, but still had fun playing.
GameDancer | Added on: February 8, 2012
 
I gave this game a 4 star rating because I was saddened that the game play was short. The graphics were decent but the music was a bit irritating. I'm a H.P. Lovecraft fan(read all his short stories) so I was familiar w/this story line. I thought the creators could have lengthened this game more especially towards the end because this was one of Lovecrafts's longest short stories. A map for this game would have helped but than the game play would have been even shorter ;( The mini games were good & the hidden objects at times were challenging...good memory test for your brain remembering where the HOs were to complete tasks. I was looking for more... it's a good game but not a great game perhaps because I already knew the story line & so much more could have been offered to us gamers.
lre7 | Added on: January 24, 2012
 
After reading other reviews and playing the trial, I was really looking forward to playing the rest of this game. Little did I realize there was so little game left. I also like more HO scenes in my HO games. I don't mind running back and forth in a game too much, as long as there is plenty of game. Very disappointed in this game and bummed I used a cedit to get it.
anno0406 | Added on: January 30, 2012
 
I found this game to be really beutifully done, but it is quite hard to sometimes figure out what to do. a plus for the story.
loopy | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
I liked this game okay, it was challenging and interesting. But you had to flip back and forth from one scene to the other too much for my taste. I understand having to re vist other sites on a HOG game, but you pick up one thing, have to go to another site for one thing, go back to original site, do one thing, pick something up and go back again. It was kind of annoying. Not for little kids, there were dead bodies and blood in the opening of the game.
tbug53 | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
This game is very entertaining, beautiful graphics, and what I liked most of all I didn't have to read the letters/dialouge as it was audible.The only thing I could complain about is that it is much too short...
PopcornLover | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
I was very surprised by this game; I had started to think that the HOG genre was getting stale. However, this game has given me hope. Based on the novel by H. P. Lovecraft, this game has been added to my Christmas wish list. The game stays pretty faithful to the novel (as I remember it, anyway), the only big difference that I saw was that there were no female characters in the book. You play as Lynn Morgan and sometimes as Dr. Dyer. You are investigating the lose of contact with an Antarctic expedition, only to find that almost everyone has be murdered. The most remarkable thing about this game is the hint system, I've never seen a game that used anything like it. If you click it once, you will get just general information, like what direction you need to go. If you click twice, you'll get a lot more info on what to do. This helps both the novice and the expert gamer who doesn't want or need "hand holding". The other unique thing was the hidden object scenes; if you visit a site more than once, all the items you found before are removed from the screen. The skip button refills quickly, too. The voice over tells you what you need to know without yammering on forever. I thought the mini-games were nice, but they didn't offer me much challenge. The graphics are good, but don't have the "star quality" of a Blue Tea game, but that's a relatively minor thing. This is a very good game, and a wonderful adaptation of a book. This game deserves a 4.3 rating.
talba | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
This really is one of the best games that I've played in a long time. The storyline was pretty good, the graphics were great, and the game play was just challenging enough. The mini-games provided a nice break. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes HOGs.
MrsB | Added on: March 7, 2012
 
Good illustrations, I thought I was just getting into it when the game was over.
lsmith20 | Added on: July 23, 2012
 
I really liked this game overall. I thought the graphics were really good and the story was interesting. My only complaints are that it was kind of a short game and it wasn't always clear what to do next. I would love to see more games like this, maybe even some sequels.
ashjames | Added on: February 21, 2012
 
the good comments make it seem like this is the best game to buy and its not. i think its was a waste of money and ive never said that about any other game. the reason why i say that is because its too rushed. you come to the alien city and you enter like 2 or 3 buildings of the entire plane and when you find out what killed the "elder things" you start running away. the story itself is all over the place. i just think there couldve been alot more to do.. alot more to discover even a way to defeat the monsters under the city not flee em lol..
Syren | Added on: January 25, 2012
 
Put your thinking cap on! This game is mostly about finding objects you need to solve puzzles and completing tasks to move forward; which is what I really like. It's more adventure, problem solving oriented than HOG scene oriented. So it really comes down to what kind of HOG you prefer. The graphics, storyline, etc were good. You played mainly as one character, but as another at some points, which is always interesting if done right. Which it was except when they split up, you were told to leave all your supplies behind and go forward into the unknown. Made scenario seem unlikely to me. Some puzzles were very quite simple, but others required a bit more thinking and if I recall correctly you always needed to find certain objects before you could complete them. But hints were plenty if you needed them. I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars for two reasons. First, I hate having to navigate all the way back to the start point for an item you weren't allowed to "pick up" before, then navigate back to were you were to complete a task. Since the storyline requires that in some cases, ok. But to have to go back for an item you weren't allowed before is just annoying. I think an interactive map that allows you to jump straight to a scene is needed if going back and forth like that is going to happen more than a couple times even is getting lost is unlikely. Second, it was just too short. Fun with a FunPass, but I wouldn't purchase a game this short. Only took me a couple hours. And once you played and solved everything, I'd say there is no replay value. It sounded a lot creepier than it actually was. There was a couple scenes that made it not so kid friendly depending on age. I'd rate it PG-13 to be on the safe side. All in all, this is the type of HOG I prefer and look for. Very involved and lots of puzzles and tasks. HOG scenes were pretty good, just enough to keep the hidden object vs. task oriented game in balance. I'd recommend it definitely to those with a FunPass.
DCinMI | Added on: February 18, 2012
 
I bought this game because it had so many good reviews. I've played more games of this type than I could easily count. Usually after playing for a short while, I settle in and get a feeling for how the game works and what I'm supposed to be doing. Not this game. The only time I know what I'm supposed to be doing is when I happen to stumble on an actual H.O. scene, and then I can't always tell what I'm looking for or looking at. I use the hint button, go where it tells me to go, look around, can't figure out what to do, use the hint button again, etc. Over and over and over. There's no map, no way to know if you've finished searching a location or not, no way to know if you need to travel all over the place looking for items and solutions or whether everything you need is nearby. I don't know how many times I've clicked on something because my cursor changed shape or whatever, and then it says something like, "That's interesting." or "that looks like an ancient Egyptian martian face." or something equally unhelpful. I rated it "somewhat relaxing" only because there was no option near to what this game makes me feel. I am a peace-loving person, but I actually want to punch this game in the face. Others have said this game is too short, but it's plenty long for me, since I get frustrated and quit after only a few minutes. I don't mind a challenge, but I at least like to know what the challenge is.
redaf | Added on: October 14, 2013
 
I wasn't sure about this one at first but once I started I couldn't stop until I finished. You are on an expedition to find some missing explorers in a frozen icy wasteland with strange statues and symbols. Hidden object scenes are clear and well done and items are a list or shapes, good mix of difficulty locating them. Completing the scene equipped you with several items needed to advance gameplay. Many items were also scattered throughout the map "adventure" style. Mini games are different and interesting. Hint system has an "advice" option I really liked, giving you a nudge in the right direction without giving all away, kind of like UHS, very handy. If however, you needed more you could get a straight out hint as well. The graphics are very well done and realistic. Voice acting is good and fits characters and scenes. Same for music, sets the scene accordingly. Really enjoyed this one and will be sure to look for more from this developer. Enjoyed it almost as much as Namariel Legends-Iron Lord premium .
LittleRedDog | Added on: January 27, 2012
 
I played this the whole way through, and I just was not inclined to like it. I liked the beginning...then some things got a little annoying. The music for one did not fit with this, and it was monotonous and annoying. The story was acceptable, and the graphics were also pleasing. The puzzles were not as challenging as I expected. Maybe someone else would find them more difficult. I did like the advice button, as it was kind of confusing for what I had to do in order to move the story along. The hint was nice for hidden objects, as a few things were almost buried and did not look like their picture. What turned me off was just that it did not seem to challenge me, and I almost found it boring. This I did not expect. I am not sure what, exactly, does not work in this game... The story was fine and the graphics. I did not like the music choice. It was difficult to follow my goals without the advice button. I like to have clearer understanding of how the game works, even if it means having 20 things to accomplish. The goals could have been clearer, without resorting to the advice button. This was not an easy review to write. The game may work for you. I would definitely say to try it. I liked the little bit of the game that felt suspenseful. It left me wanting though. Some state that the game was too short; I was glad to be done. I will not play it again, so I do not consider it addictive. There are areas that I would not call kid friendly. Due to length, probably not good value. I did not give original, because some graphics really reminded me of a couple of other games. I give it involved. I also liked the scrolling feature, which is not an original idea.
Rbie | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
I REALLY enjoyed this game! I love HOGs where you can "scroll" some of the scenes and you have to return to certain locations several times so you have to get to know your way around. The puzzles and HOG scenes weren't frustrating or too easy and the graphics are lovely! This one had a great storyline (of course, I LOVE H.P. Lovecraft so I'm a bit biased there) and the narration/action scenes didn't seem flat/cheap like so many other games! I think this game was very well done and I will replay it often!
esky997 | Added on: February 2, 2012
 
This game kept my interest the entire time. When it ended I was not wanting it to. It kept me thinking the entire time I played. The colors were great, mini games were challenging, this was a game that you weren't going to finish in 20 minutes. I want to play it through again, take more time with it and really just look at it. I actually was fooled at the end, for some reason i thought there was going to be a change and someone was going to turn out bad. Not using names, don't want to give it away for others. Thanks gamehouse for another great game. I have no complaints on this game at all.
Cinella | Added on: January 30, 2012
 
This is really a great game. You have your choice of difficulty level, but I wouldn’t recommend it for novices. The graphics are fantastic and I loved the scrolling option. The “Advice” button tells you where you need to go next. There is no Map so you need to remember where everything is located. The game includes interesting and unusual puzzles. The HOs are clear with some exceptions. The Hint button, however, is always charged – no need to wait in order to use it again. I liked the fact that you need to figure out if – and which – two components in your inventory need to be put together. And, I loved the switch to “images of objects” you need to find in some HO scenes instead of “names of objects”. Nice change of pace. Overall it’s wonderful entertainment.
bonnygdane | Added on: February 2, 2012
 
I like to play more fantasy games not reality once and that one is in the start real and it could happen . So it kept my intrest all the way through. Replay once you know what to do that is half the battle.
bruno4812 | Added on: January 24, 2012
 
This game was way to "thinky" to just enjoy and relax with. I found myself constantly hitting the help button. I never got passed the first screen, (with the tents and plane), and just got to the buried door in the snow at the excavation site, and realized, I'm not enjoying this at all. I deleted this game. Crazy!
jkjennings | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
This game was involved and very challenging at times but the hint button never has to be recharged and the advice button gives you even more help in finding your way. Scenes are engaging and flow from one to another. I really enjoyed this one!
nvyank | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
The graphics were a little amateur, but the story was good and suspenseful. Also, you looked for objects and had to put them together to use. The different areas to explore and the tight spots you had to get out of were interesting.
jgospelady | Added on: January 24, 2012
 
This game was okay after a long period of no HOG. It didn't do anything for me, and I was happy when it was over.
devi | Added on: January 26, 2012
 
No recharging for hint button, it's always available. Thank goodness because there is NOT a lot of direction in this game. Graphics were good, almost made you feel you were in that cold environment. Limited HOG scenes. Challenging mini games. On the whole, this game was very short. Reminded me of old monster movies where you only see the creature in the last 5 seconds. Enjoy!
sapphiretown | Added on: February 1, 2012
 
Had alot of fun with this game. Can be somewhat tricky if youu forget where things are. Loved the graphic's and storyline. Will definately buy any follow on's.
mimiinbflo | Added on: January 24, 2012
 
I couldn't stand to play this for more than a few minutes because the graphics don't flow. It keeps pausing during the action to catch up with itself.
awen | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
i did like the game it did have a few dark moments for me.I was not happy with time it was to short,i like to pace my credits and not waste them.The music was good as well so over all i give a 4 only cause it was short what i did play was good tho.
CharlieOldGal | Added on: January 27, 2012
 
The story may be a familiar one - go find a missing colleague who disappeared in strange circumstances - but this one has a great new slant on it. It's set in what feels like Antarctica it's so unremittingly cold, and the bad guys are neither human nor ghosts. There are two of you and a dog investigating, and a small amount of swapping to the other investigator occurs. There are quite a few scrollable scenes, but you have the option to turn them off. I didn't, they added to the immersive effect. The HO scenes are many and vary with lists, 20x object X and pix of objects. I liked the fact that the HOs you find in one scene are still gone when you return (there's not a lot of that). Also, you get all you need from one scene, so if you need climbing gear, you'll find all of it in one scene and be ready to go. No traipsing from here to there getting them one at a time. The puzzles were also interesting. The graphics are good but not astounding. The music is pleasant and unintrusive. I liked the way you get assistance. In HO scenes, it's a hint, outside them, it's (useful) advice that gets more detailed and specific each time you click it. I did find I needed to use this function more than I like. The gameplay is not intuitive. It's this and the fact that I'm still confused about exactly what happened with the previous expedition, that I don't give this a four.