Murder Island - Secret of TantalusMurder Island - Secret of Tantalus
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Murder Island - Secret of Tantalus
SilverSuki | Added on: March 28, 2011
 
This game has lovely graphics which give you that great sunny Greek island feel, and the gameplay is superb - a mixture of HO scenes, puzzles, and problem-solving with plenty of interactivity and making use of objects. It's a good, logical story where everything makes sense and works its way to a conclusion, unlike some games I have played recently! I thought the unusual setting might be a bit odd, but in fact it really elevates the game. The problem-solving was pretty tough in places, I was stumped a few times and just had to go looking around to see if I could find something to get me going again! I like that in a game though - it may not be one for those who don't like to have think too much. Was sad to finish it!
WildCherrii8 | Added on: May 18, 2011
 
What I loved the most about the game was that I was a character in the game and the other character had live talks with me. The scenery was great and they give you a map so that you know where you are at all times on the island. Yellow means that there is something to do in that area. I loved the map very great tool because the island is LARGE. Hidden objects are not to hard to find and the ones that you cannot find they supply you with a hint button that takes about 15 seconds to refill. You are not on a timer in the HO scenes. Not a scary JUMPY game it just has a great plot a storyline to it. I will be searching for more games like this. I played this game in 2 days because I wanted to find out who the killer was and what a suprise ending it was!!!
Debonair | Added on: March 23, 2011
 
This game had an interesting storyline but certainly not the best I've played. The graphics are quite clear, which is nice. The story proceeds through picture snapshots as the dialogue changes. I clicked and through those rather than listening to the voiceover, which would have slowed things down. The HO were challenging but not frustrating. I did skip a couple of the mini games because they were too hard for me, but thankfully there was a skip button. I didn't particularly care for having to jump around, although I appreciated being able to make one-click jumps rather than having to go back through many locations. I played to the end to see how the mystery resolved, but I was definitely ready for it to be over. Not much replay value in a murder mystery. All in all, okay but not fantastic.
TnTexas | Added on: March 14, 2011
 
Overall Impression: An excellent IHOG/Adventure game with an original setting and storyline. Media Description: The graphics were crisp, clear and bright and in places, really pretty. The voiceovers were excellent. The music did a fantastic job of enhancing the mood and atmosphere. Storyline: The storyline was developed through skippable cut scenes. It was well thought out and progressed evenly to a suspenseful ending. I wish they had laid an clearer clue or two in leading up to the ending, but that's probably just the aspiring writer in me. Gameplay: was pretty straightforward with different areas opening up as you completed different tasks. There was quite a bit of going back and forth between scenes but the travel time was made much quicker by the "magic" map that would take you immediately to any scene you had already visited. If I'm remembering correctly, the HOG scenes sparkled when they were active. HOG Scenes: traditional wordlists with search scenes themselves being a combination of junkpiles and busy scenes. None were extremely difficult. Sometimes a clue was given for an object instead of a direct word. Minigames/puzzles: felt like the were a natural part of the story. All could be skipped after a few seconds. Most were of average difficulty. Hints: unlimited with a short waiting period for refilling. If I'm remembering correctly, they could also give you a clue about what you needed to do next Will Probably Appeal to: those who like IHOG/Adventure blends, mysteries, and well-told stories in general Will Probably Not Appeal to: those who prefer straight HOGs and those who don't like violent themes in their games
pattypaws | Added on: March 14, 2011
 
I really loved this one - like all my favorite games it had lots of areas to find clues and solve puzzles in. Loved the mystery story in this one - really well done. Loved the map with areas highlighted that had something to do. Also loved the HOG with the putting things together to make an item. Thanks so much for another fun adventure.
apemob | Added on: April 8, 2011
 
This is the first game where I became a member of the cast. Usually there is a main protaganist that the player directs or follows around. Not in this game, you are made a member of the class reunion that meets at this resort on a Greek island. I loved that fresh concept and there is a twist at the end that keeps it interesting.
zenobia13 | Added on: January 30, 2012
 
This is a nice, easy-going game. The mini-games are pretty easy, but not pathetically so, and the HO portions rarely require a hint. There is a lot of story which is quickly told in dialogue and text and easy to click through without bogging the game down. I don't have hours to sit at my computer and am only able to play for 15 minutes or so at a time, and this game allows me to get up and walk away for a while without feeling like I'll lose track when I return. I love the youthful characters and the "Harper's Island" type mystery.
MaudeO | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
I really liked this game. It's more complex than your standard HO games, but the map you find early on helps out when you're stuck and don't know where to go next. And you can use the map to jump from area to area instead of constantly backtracking. The story grows on you and the graphic are good, so finding the hidden objects without using any hints is actually possible with this one. And this game kept me interested...I didn't stop playing because I was getting bored, which sometimes happens with HO games. I will be playing this one a second time.
glo4jl | Added on: April 25, 2011
 
This is the first time that I played a game that included me as one of the characters. It was also my first murder mystery which was fun and enjoyable. The scenery was nice and added to the intrigue. The "jump" feature was very helpful because I would not want to have to retrace my steps very much. Recommended and looking forward to playing more of these types of games.
blanketeer | Added on: March 17, 2011
 
I enjoyed the mystery and the unexpected ending, however it did end a little abruptly. Story reminded me of the first reunions I went to!Good graphics and great setting. Hidden obejects were good but not so hard it got frustrating. I would definatly recomend this one.
Eerie | Added on: March 23, 2011
 
not a bad game, sometimes quite difficult & realistic..
Takethater | Added on: April 8, 2011
 
If you love Greece, you will love this game. The scenes are gorgeous. You have to travel around the island mainly doing HO games but there are puzzles thrown in. The map is very useful as it tells you where to travel to should you not want to wander around. For good measure, try and find all the mosaic tiles - there are 3 in each scene. You collect map pieces during the HO games which you then put together to complete the last stage of the game. If only they'd provided a bonus of screensavers then I would have been 5 star happy
sportygal2009 | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
Wow! I must say, I was hooked to this right from the get go as I'm a die hard fan of Agatha Christie. Similar premise to Agatha Christie's "And Then There Were None" where the victims pile up quickly. The reason for my headline for this game. This is a murder mystery with a cast of alumni gathering for a reunion on a remote island where foul play is afoot. While this game is not timed, it does however seem to give you a sense of urgency to complete tasks. The game play here is an iHog with all the features you want to find in an iHog: arrows, eyes, magnifying glasses, hands, twinkles, traveling from area to area, HO scenes, puzzles and things to collect to get rewards. There is also a map you can use instead of "wandering around" however not the usual kind of map in most games where you can just click on a location as the map in this game takes about 30 seconds to about a minute to charge up. It will also show you what locations has things to do and which ones don't (at least at the present time). This is also my only complaint with the game as I didn't understand the purpose of the map having to charge up as you should just be able to use it like other games?? The HO scenes I found to be middle of the road meaning not to easy but not difficult to where it's frustrating. The right amount. There is a hint button of course which takes about a minute to charge up. The puzzles: You can get a hint or skip them and about the same amount of time as the hint button, about a minute to get a hint/ skip. The graphics I found to be pretty good. The voices/characters I found to be well done. Overall I found the game to be a little challenging and thinky but far from complicated or frustrating. I also really enjoyed the story as it made me think of Agatha Christie's "And Then There Were None." It kept me wondering what was going to be happening next and the ending sure surprised me as well but won't spoil it. Give it a whirl and decide for yourself as I hope you enjoy it. Thanks Gamehouse. A 5 star game all the way in my book.
redaf | Added on: April 30, 2013
 
This game has a plot like a hit teen slasher film and draws you in from the very beginning. Your character and a friend have made their way to a class reunion on a secluded Greek island for a party not to be forgotten. Graphics are great, characters are live actors in cut scene stills. Voice acting great, music is pleasant and non-intrusive. The majority of the game play is hidden objects scenes which are so well done they made me wish other developers would take some cues from them. I am not a big fan of hidden object scenes but I didn't mind these at all. Mini games were fun and not too difficult, and everything is put together well and runs so smoothly the game almost plays itself. The jump map is a great tool as some areas are easy to access and hard to exit without it. Finding the tiles in the game adds up to the ability to access interesting facts on Greek Myth lore and to my mind added more interest to the game itself. Happy to have found and played this game!
PipCat | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
Loved this game! You should be aware that this one is VERY involved and you travel back & forth revisiting locations on the island & its surroundings. However the developers have provided a map that allows you to jump from one place to another instead of constantly retracing your steps. That was a big frustration eliminator for me. The map also shows what areas might require another look and as you collect green tiles throughout the game it also fills in triangles in a star with facts on mythology and modern day sayings. Due to the fact that there are murders beings committed on the island I'm not sure this one can be classified as Kid Friendly but as always parents should make that final determination. The scenes are beautifully drawn which helps in finding items needed to progress in the game. It is rather long because it is so involved but I didn't find myself getting bored. It's worth taking a look at!
kyleesmommy | Added on: March 27, 2013
 
I have had this one for a while and kept putting off playing it for one reason or another and I really ended up liking the whole game... Nice graphics,HOSs were good,mini games were easy thru challenging,hint button was pretty helpful,map was awesome,storyline held my attention and the whole package was good... I liked finding the tiles to learn about Greek lore,I loved the storyline and the twisty ending rocked socks !!! I say give it a go,you might just like it too... as always,HAPPY GAMING EVERYONE !!!
mek509 | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
Good story line. Hidden objects were sometimes very challenging. Got a little bored having to go back and forth. If it wasn't for the jump feature I would not have finished it.
uglyduckling1 | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
I really liked this game. I tried it as a trial and had to buy it so I could find out how it would end. I have played it a few times since but wish that it changed a bit with new play. It's not near as fun once you know where everything is but, still, it is a great game. I would recommend it.
mommie2097 | Added on: March 14, 2011
 
My second favorite that I've played so far out of the hidden category. Some of the in between puzzles were very challenging. One very irritating aspect was when placing items on a picture to solve a picture riddle; placement was very limited. It took several tries to get the picture to accept the pieces. It seems the arrow point was used for placement instead of just pasting the items where they needed to be. When lifting an item, it's approximately 1/4 inch away from the pointer. It was otherwise a really fun journey of a game.
Carrissa | Added on: April 1, 2013
 
Like the jump map, all games should have them. Shows the areas where things still need to be done and also where there is nothing to do. Good Graphics. Not to hard or to easy. The storyline was pretty good also.
VforVictoria | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
This game had a lot of hidden objects to look for, plus an engaging game to go with it. Definitely original, kept you interested throughout. Worth a shot.
sam10100 | Added on: March 4, 2011
 
This is a great game. Nice twist on the standard hidden object game with interesting clues. The story is very engaging. I had fun playing the puzzles. This game has a little bit of everything.
majormojo | Added on: March 11, 2011
 
This game has a nice mix of interaction between characters and interaction with the scene. The tools you build and the interactive puzzles keep your interest. Reminds me of some murder mystery movies I have seen and has me wondering if I know who the murderer is. Great fun.
pranocchia | Added on: November 3, 2011
 
enjoyed playing this game. waiting for another like it.
mavethrave | Added on: March 3, 2011
 
This is a well thought out game. You feel the sense of urgency to accomplish tasks that are at times challenging, the graphics are excellent so you won't pass out from eye strain. At first I thought it was a bit corny but when you get into it, the plot is pretty good and the ending is quite a surprise. I won't give it away here. There are ample hints available it you need them, and you might. A few times I found myself struggling to figure out where I should be but eventually I figured it out. I think it is a good game for all skill levels, it has something for everyone. I say go for it and enjoy.
IronRaziel | Added on: March 8, 2011
 
It's an easy game which is good for HOG beginners.. it wasn't as super-b as any other HOG that are challenging for me. I appreciate the history of Greek mythology, and learning a bit about them. The only thing that kind of turned me off was the direction the game was going. It was a bit confusing to figure out who was who. The ending was a surprise twist. The hints, jump to and from a place, and the map was a big help. Nice game, but needs to be a bit more challenging in some ways.
mystemo | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
Interesting and surprisingly good game about a masked killer bumping off some hot young people on a Greek island. This game balances quite well the pace of the story and the hidden object sequences with some very good puzzles throughout. The only thing that detracts slightly is that the graphics are a little rough around the edges and the cursors are a bit clunky and hard to find at times, but really the gameplay itself is the real champion here. A sequel would be great :)
Smedley | Added on: March 11, 2011
 
I had decided to buy this game even before the free trial had expired! Really unique in game theory and especially in intricate plot that kept me glued to computer - and the ending is super! The game has some traditional HOG screens; I like the perk of having to combine HOG items to complete a task on the HOG screen. The puzzles are quite different, quite challenging, and very deductive! (Use the Hints for some very helpful clues to puzzles). In terms of hints, I would have liked to have hidden hints in the screen; instead, the hint is typical self recharging (and a little slow, so use hints wisely). One hidden feature is the task of collecting tiles (usually green in color) that can be found in most screens - every 12 tiles opens a point on the compass that tells an interesting storyabout Greek mythology - but it doesn't add to solving the mystery. BEST part of the game is the MAP - unlike most room to room labyrinths, this map has a UNIQUE feature: you can move from site to site by clicking any yellow dot on the map! (Phantom of Opera - take note)! Check the map often! Any time there's a yellow dot, there is a clue there (even if you have been there before and it has turned gray; it can turn yellow again)! Note: you can have a heck of a time trying to place objects even when you know where to put them - BE SURE to place the cursor at the spot; don't try to place the item on the spot! EXCELLENT game; involved, addictive plot. Highly recommended!!
kimo | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
there are a few programming glitches and messages that appear even after you have accomplished a major goal. I played the trial before buying and decided to start over from the beginning. Unfortunately, the items to be found were exactly the ones I had found before. Also, when a player returns to a scene the assembled items, at the very least, from a previous scene visit should be gone or stay assembled. It's a continuity issue that I have seen addressed in other games. It's certainly easier for programmers to use an identical scene image, but what an absolute joy to find someone cared enough to do the extra work. I wish this game had more randomness in the hidden items. I might play it again, but I would certainly play it again if the items changed. While those points are negatives, I thoroughly enjoyed the game. It lasted for many hours and was certainly worth the price. The trial period was over in a blink of an eye because I was so involved. The map was certainly useful for jumping around and made the gameplay much less tedious than if you had to retrace steps across the island every time. The puzzles/minigames were pertinent to the game and not just shoved in there to extend the game time. Oh, and they had a skip button for those games. There was no timer that made you hurry, but you wanted to anyway. The game kept making you want to find out what's next. All-in-all an enjoyable experience.
edtech30 | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
Excellent game and great format. There is not one negative thing I can say about this game, and I am picky!
kenspunkin1 | Added on: June 27, 2011
 
I have to say, right off the bat I was put off by the way it jumps right into the game, and has the sparklies letting you know what you should be doing. I like challenging hidden object games that make you think a bit as to what is expected of you next. I will admit I don't feel I gave this game a fair shot, because I deleted it before I finished. I just didn't want my hand held throughout the entire game.
Daffy14s | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
I almost didn't even bother with this game, but after i took the time to play a few levels, wasn't super bad. The story line in this one was actually the only thing that kept me to continue playing. The objects weren't super hard to find. I was more interested in the story going on and finding out who would die and who the killer was etc...... If you like a good story line and want something to suck ya in then i would recommend this, its a descent game. Graphic's arn't good you can tell when you start playing, not alot of time put into this one.
Sammie_Jo | Added on: March 29, 2011
 
I played the 60 minute trial and I have to say this is a really good game. The only issue I have with this game is it is way to easy for the advance hidden object player. I was able to complete atleast half the game if not more because I could find objects with ease and the mini games were way to easy. I would say if you were a newbie to hidden object games this is the game for you.
Rapatorette | Added on: March 16, 2011
 
I was constantly on pins and needles and wanting to get to the next section. It was a story made to believe one thing and ended up being something totally different. I enjoyed this game and will replay it to see all the things I missed the first time around.
cps108 | Added on: March 16, 2011
 
This was a very enjoyable HOG. The story line was fairly good, the movement around the locations was excellent and as another reviewer mentioned you didn't have to retrace all your steps, as in Phantom. The hidden objects were fairly good, not too hard, not too easy. I play alot of games and this one held my interest. I did think the ending was a tuch abrupt, but overall this is a fun game to play.
Sooner_Girl | Added on: March 15, 2011
 
Alot of hidden object games are simply just beating a level and then moving on. However, this one has a plot and a storyline. The graphics are cool and the little puzzle games within each search area are fun. I do wish they had a little more Greek mythology involved. But other than that the game is fun and I would recommend it.
devi | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
I had a great time playing this game. Besides the story behind the murder mystery, the location of this game is a place you would love to take a vacation at. Very Mediterranean. You navigate on all parts of the island, from the villa, the beaches, the lookout tower, the port, etc. Graphics were good, sound effects were minimal, hint button recharged fairly fast. As you progress in the game you will find the map jump button a great asset. It takes you directly to the location with the yellow notation. This yellow notation indicates that there is something to find there. Great game. I highly recommend it. It's fairly easy and relaxing to play.