Mr. Jones' Graveyard ShiftMr. Jones' Graveyard Shift
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Mr. Jones' Graveyard Shift
1337gamer | Added on: November 9, 2009
 
I started Mr. Jones' Graveyard Shift thinking it would be a sim game built around making graves and also tending to the needs of the ghosts and zombies at night, which would be awesome (imagine needing to find a steady supply of brains to make your zombies happy). Sadly, this is not the case, but it was still an enjoyable way to kill (no pun intended) an afternoon. The graphics were quite acceptable for a game of this type, and the names of the victims were good for a chuckle or two (I.C. Wiener, classic.) And to anyone afraid to give this a try because of the earlier reviews, you should know that you are not limited to just walking alone if you play the game correctly and give it some time. No spoilers there, though. The game offers up people that have passed on, and it is your job to build an acceptable grave. This can be anything from "we want the grave to be near a small tree" to "we hate marigolds" but that was part of what drew me in. Mess up the value of a grave after it's denizen is resting happily, and a zombie will appear. I only got one zombie throughout the course of the game, and I didn't dare find out what happened, but I assume you go to sleep as if you had touched a ghost. I merely added some daisies to make the zombie happy with the grave again. Now for the bad, and there is more than I would have liked, for such a unique and fun game that I played for 3 hours straight. First off, it is exceedingly difficult to manage everything all in a day. I got to a point where I could do 2 or 3 graves at the very end per day, but mostly I was stuck doing just 1. This is due to an awful, just awful design decision to only let Mr. Jones carry one thing. Let me explain this via scenario: In the later levels of the game your graves can be worth 6,000 to 100,000 dollars. You dig the grave, what comes next? A headstone. Mr. Jones goes all the way over to the box that has the headstones and walks (or drives) sluggishly allllll the way back to the grave site. Now the deceased would also like flowers around their grave, so let's once again go back to get that, too. now at this point your grave may not even be worth 6,000, and in later levels you need to make every grave count towards 100,000 (which is another very unfortunate flaw, but more on that in a second.) This usually means going back and forth, back and forth, and even sometimes going all the way outside the grave property to get supplies from the merchant that stands there. This process can take FOREVER. For a sequel, a simple addition like letting Mr. Jones carry at least two items would be worth it's weight in gold. Also, and this is not the aforementioned flaw quite yet, but the merchant almost never had what I needed to make my grave a winner. Say someone wants a satellite dish, because everyone knows the dead love TV. I go to the merchant THAT day... No dish. Next day... No dish. Finally on the very last day I can bury the dead, I would have a 50/50 chance of getting my dish or going without, which is just aggravating, because meeting special needs increases the value of a grave tenfold. If i had to go without, 9 times out of 10 the next day my needed item would be there. Get your stuff together merchant guy, gahh! And now for the previously mentioned flaw, and the only reason I can not recommend this game: I actually got to a point where I could NOT beat the game because I simply pushed too many funerals out for too few dollars, and by the bitter end I ran out of room for more residents, about 600,000 dollars short of the final goal. This irritated me to no end, as I don't usually like games that have an artificial wall like that. If you decide to tackle Mr. Jones as I did, learn from my mistakes and make EVERY grave count. Get as CLOSE to the latter half of the range as you can. During the 6k-100k range, make your graves worth 100k, no exceptions, or you WILL hit a brick wall, quite infuriatingly, and decide if you want to start ALL over again. As I always say with my reviews, download the trial and give it a spin, Mr. Jones' Graveyard Shift is worth an hour of your time at least for being so unique in a world full of Diner Dash clones. Thank you for reading my review, and sorry for the wall of text.
Purplefeather | Added on: November 3, 2009
 
I really didn't like this TM game. To much to do and not enough time to do it in. Mr. Jones walks to slow and the day ended to soon.
chrystinah5 | Added on: February 16, 2010
 
This was a time-management game. Everything had to be done before the end of the day, and we had to bury people on their timeline. Customers needed items for their graves, and the delivery truck didn't have all the items available, usually. You need to buy items in advance and stock them up, just in case the item will be needed, and the delivery truck may not have the items the day you need them. Also, the girlfriend needs many demands so that Mr. Jones could retire on the beach with her. This is the goal of the game, actually. This is the reason this graveyard was opened, to make Mr. Jones happy, because he wants to be with his girlfriend. The girlfriend probably doesn't love Mr. Jones, though...she seems to ONLY want him IF he has lots of money, and can buy her many expensive things! But, I bought these things, anyways...because, it seems to make Mr. Jones happy to buy these, and happier when he retires on a beach alongside his girlfriend. I gave this game 5 stars. GameHouse does not have many of these time-management games or role-play, or tycoon, or simulation games. This game is exactly all these games! I really enjoyed this, and YES, I bought it! I have been playing it, over, and over! I never get bored of these type games! I just wished GameHouse would have more of them! Hope you enjoy this game as much as I did. I recommend buying it, so it can be replayed! If this review helps, please, rate it helpful. Thanks and happy gaming!
emi1 | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
who would've thot to make a game out of owning a cemetary??? i must say this game is challenging. u really have to pay attention to what the families request if u want money-i found that even doing what was requested did not give me much money. it was taking 4ever to save. b/c when i did save, i had very little to buy tombstones/flowers/structures. i never could buy more land. still, the graphics were cool. not a bad game at all.
Tropix | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
Totaly different TM experience. Refreshing and funny! I reccoment. DO the tutorial though. Its not that hard but its unique . So you gotta see how it works.
Regina | Added on: June 1, 2012
 
This game was fun. Once I got the knack on how to build up my graves it was on. I did not beat it in one hour like most. It was clever and had a story line with more goals and little tasks. I just wish you could have scrolled out more sometimes it was fustrating trying to get the flowers graves etc to the correct location over all I really thought it was fun.. creepy but fun....
nickeyh | Added on: January 5, 2010
 
I am really enjoying this game! Doesn't get boring and is a new twist on the tycoon games!
kylakitty | Added on: December 14, 2009
 
Not much more I can add beyond what the two lengthier reviews prior to mine had to say. I agree that: 1) Mr. Jones was too slow 2) The time allotted to complete your task (each day) was too short and unrealistic given that Mr. Jones can only carry one item at a time 3) Too much around to get from one place to the next wasted time I was hoping to like it but ultimately disappointed. I gave it a 3 ONLY because of its unique concept.
Karl_E_Riley | Added on: March 26, 2010
 
Its a good game to pass the time. I thought the graphics were good. Except for your woman friend. Her voice was a bit annoying. As well as the fact the only things you hear the main character say are "leave a message" and "this is awesome" I would have hoped for a bit more. Overall I enjoyed the game alot, but still there is some that is left to be desired for the game play as far as walking/driving around. I also did not like the fact that the zoom out did not take you further out so that when you needed to select a place that was much further away you could. I think that more money levels should be added to increase difficulty and ease of play, thus more items need to be added. The highest level of $ can range between 6000 and 100k, thats could be adjusted to make the game a little more realistic and for better game play.
English007 | Added on: November 9, 2009
 
I didn't like this game. There are a lot of goals and not enough time to it.
Sevenlunatics | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
Game becomes too simple too fast. After about 5 'days' you can start to turn away the poor people, and only service the richer ones. Then it is just the same thing over and over again, until you can earn enough money to purchase specific items. Loved the theme to the game.
kittensweater | Added on: December 24, 2009
 
This game has a really original concept- operate and manage the design, business and upkeep of a popular graveyard. That's my kind of scenario. Mr. Jones is cute little old man with a cute little pup and a sprawling graveyard to attend to. The game play is a combination of time management and tycoon style layout, where you need to manage your inventory, property and customers within a budget or time and money. The best parts of this game are the funny names of the deceased, the interesting and ever-more intricate grave decorations, and the pleasure of laying out your plots and paths. If you like sim city style planning games this aspect will appeal to you. The drawbacks are, once you've played through, the novelty of the items wears off. The loose plot that ties the days together is lame and made me hate Mr. Jones' gold digger girlfriend. There is no satisfying resolve to the story when you win, and no bonus or extra items or anything for a second go round, giving the game very little replay value. Also, the gameplay is a little clunky- Mr. Jones can be slow, and having to revisit the bins for items every time can be annoying. I often missed customers when I expanded the graveyard fully because I was too far away to walk back to their cars in time. Overall, this was a fun, different game and I enjoyed playing through it. Once. I just wish this had been developed by a company that would have taken it one step further.
Silent | Added on: November 23, 2009
 
Most business sims, also known as time-management games, involve customers coming to you, buying something, and leaving, usually expecting you to move really fast to satisfy everyone. Mr. Jones' Graveyard Shift does the opposite and I think it's wonderful. Your customers come slowly and wait for you to talk to them. You don't have to accept their business (in fact, you'll have to turn them down from time to time) and can decline them without penalty. When you do serve a customer, he tends to hang around for a while, due to being buried and all, and while it's very easy to keep someone who's been buried happy, your graveyard residents will let you know if they aren't happy by rising up and scaring people. Finally, your supplier is won't always have what you want on hand, so you'll have to buy and maintain an inventory of headstones, flowers, and other goodies for when you need them. All of these things are perfectly normal in business and it's neat to explore them in a game atmosphere. My only complaint is the goal of the game: using your money to buy gifts for your "girlfriend", aka "that greedy little greed who keeps calling me to bug me about wanting more faster". And fortunately, there's a nice workaround for this: don't put any money in the bank! If you don't put a single dollar in the bank, she won't call and you won't have to worry about her whining at you. Thankfully, nobody thinks to rob a graveyard, so you won't have to worry about someone breaking in to pilfer the mountain of cash in your mattress. All in all, this game is refreshingly new and I got a kick out of ushering folks unto their final rests, although if you plan on letting your kids play, you might want to have a chat with them about what happens to people when they die first. Oh, and warn them not to say "That's totally banging!" when they visit Grandad's grave.
MamaOwl | Added on: November 9, 2009
 
Very cute and creepy game. The tutorial is terrible though. It gets you to a certain point then sticks, so I had to turn it off and figure the rest out on my own, though there is a help feature and I had already gotten enough of the gist. I think you get to be a bit more creative with this one than other time managements.
Spldbrt2570 | Added on: January 20, 2010
 
This was unexpected! Lots of fun! Must think about it or you will mess up the entire layout! Original is an understatement!
Lisa522 | Added on: July 26, 2010
 
This game seemed to get pretty decent reviews for gameplay, so despite being very turned off by the title and theme, I decided to give it a try, just in case it was going to be the best TM game ever made (or something - yes, I'm reaching). Instead, this game was every bit as disturbing as I expected and then some. I found it in extremely bad taste to center a game around death - especially in the sense this is done here. You are out to sell people as much as possibly in their time of mourning. They even give you a hot tip, you can tell how much you can push people to pay based on how fancy a car they drive. They also tell you you can go ahead and put extras that they didn't order into the mix and they will pay (as long as you don't go too crazy). This just sounded a little too much like real life where some funeral homes prey on people and the shock, despair and desperate state they're in when they become "customers". I played for all of 10 minutes - truthfully, I felt guilty even playing, as if it was sacrilegious or something. Definitely a thumbs down, no matter how good the gameplay is.
RandiM | Added on: September 9, 2010
 
Very interesting and cute. I have played a lot of games and this one is very original and different. I liked it, and I liked that it wasn't too easy or too complicated either.