Mortimer Beckett and the Time ParadoxMortimer Beckett and the Time Paradox
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Mortimer Beckett and the Time Paradox
gramsfamily | Added on: May 6, 2009
 
This is a well-done game. It's fun, entertaining with solid graphics. My nine-year loved it and found all the challenges good. Has a bit more replay value than many hidden object games and the time travel along with the object anachronisms are cool.
francesl | Added on: May 5, 2009
 
I had so much fun playing this game. I like the story behind it and there seems to be a purpose to finish the game. It's challenging enough so you don't get bored of finding stuff over and over again.
araujo58 | Added on: January 25, 2010
 
Beautiful game from start to finish, I loved, very good puzzle game, It is original, diferent, addictive, great graphics...more Mortimer please.
LunarMovements | Added on: September 15, 2009
 
I enjoyed the first Mortimer Beckett game a lot, so my expectations were already high when I tried this one. This MORE than exceeded them! This game was fun and original. I had to do a little thinking, but it wasn't so hard that I wanted to quit. Really, the only complaint that I have is that it was over so soon, and I am left with is a burning desire to know when the next Mortimer Beckett adventure will be coming out. Two thumbs up, guys!
sunshines1love | Added on: June 18, 2009
 
It was te ind of hidden object game I like lots of objects and puzzles. With a good story line
smalls | Added on: June 18, 2009
 
It was a great game, helped to relax and made me think. I truly hope there is another coming soon
dawk1723 | Added on: May 12, 2009
 
I played this game almost nonstop. It was so addictive. It had some challenging parts to it as well. I would definitely recommend this game. I was disappointed when I finally reached the end, but it was fun to beat.
Summer | Added on: July 22, 2009
 
Extremely high quality, in depth, good length. Excellent throughout , but its one major flaw keeps it from being one of the most perfect games for me- the fact that the items you are searching for are broken into unrecognizable pieces (and you dont know for sure the shape of the pieces). If they would have allowed you to search for just the items themselves it would have been top award winning in my opinion, but searching for nondescript odd shaped blobs that blend with the background made it often more frustrating than challenging. It was great that you had to replace items as well as use items together, usually in different scenes. Figuring out what to do with them was quite the challenge, and I loved that it was such high caliber graphics, and that you could interact within scenes to change it to another, and seeing the anachronistic items due to the time paradox was just hilarious. The unlimited hints were very nice but when you didnt know WHAT to do with something, it often was frustratingly UNhelpful. Also the fact that ends with a to be continued type cliffhanger is unsatisfying, but the gameplay up to then is stellar.
Gussnemo | Added on: September 10, 2009
 
Games of this type intrigue me, though I sometimes find myself in a boat without the oars. This, however, was not one of those times; well, there were a couple, okay several. But I still wanted to finish the game. The graphics were great, the pieces sometimes deviously hidden and some of the puzzles a real hair puller--not that I have much to spare. Overall, play it, you won't be sorry.
Nien | Added on: June 6, 2009
 
What I like about this game is that it's different than other games, but it's not THAT different. So its a bit refreshing. The graphic is gorgeous, i love playing games that put extra credits on their 'appearance'. The story line is not bad. But it's too short, and the challenge is not really there and that makes me reluctant or even lazy to replay the game again. So i hope the three-quel will be better than the sequel (please make it longer and more challenging!)
pgillenw | Added on: January 13, 2011
 
The second in a series and it was terrific. I will surely play remaining Mortimer games. Mortimer brings back memories of Howdy Dowdy, remember him. Mortimer and Howdy ageless. Graphics were very good, items were more easy to locate than the first Mortimer. I guess the development team grew up a bit. Finding partial pieces of items is challenging. This game added additional places to search, great touch. Mortimer would be entertaining for kids if parents spent some quality time showing them the tricks of finding partial items and how to figure out where the constructed object is to be used. Enjoy the game I know I sure did.
RandiM | Added on: September 29, 2010
 
I love the Mortimer Beckett series. Great games, a lot of fun and original, with great graphics as well.
Oldgal | Added on: February 17, 2010
 
This was the first of this type of game that I had played. Since, I did not know about the first Mortimer Beckett (Spooky Manor is where you get the instructions on how to play this series of games), I was lost in the first part and almost quit. However, I stuck it out and was delighted by the game and myself, when I figured out how the thing was played. This game kept me entertained for hours and I wanted to keep on going. It is very addictive. Check out Mortimer and The Lost King. Of course after this one.
DarkChylde | Added on: January 25, 2010
 
This one is the first Mortimer I've played, and now I'll have to try the first one ... Spooky Manor. A great game for charging up your brain cells (heaven knows I need all the help I can get). Great graphics and playability. Mortimer Rocks!
winter7roses | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
This was a good game but for some reason I thought it had more than 8 levels. so I was a little disapointed that it wasn't longer for the price. but it was fun.
Julia_70 | Added on: November 17, 2011
 
I enjoyed this game overall. The hidden objects were split into fragments which were at times quite hard to find but the hints refreshed quickly. I liked that some hidden objects provided the key to other puzzles. By the last level the game had become a little formulaic but there is a bonus in that when you replay it the pieces are hidden in different places and some of the puzzles are different. This game didn't set me on fire but I don't regret buying it either!
stormy | Added on: August 14, 2009
 
I liked the whole game except I'm stuck on the part where you have to put objects on the pedastals. Can't figure that one out. but the rest of the game was good. You really had to think alot.
Tamatha1028 | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
If you like a good challenge then this is a good game. Although it involves hidden objects, its really a combination of puzzle and hidden object. Good if you're bored.
allisha76 | Added on: June 9, 2009
 
the only bad thing about this game is its to short and I can't wait until the next one comes out. I've beaten both of these games. It is a sit down until you beat it game. Once you start you just can't stop. I do recommend it to everyone. It does make you think a little bit. not the biggest of challenges but it is great entertainment for all. Can't wait for the third one to come out!
35381846 | Added on: November 13, 2013
 
I am adult and do not bother with games very often - but bought this one and find it extremely interesting, challenging and difficult. Love the various time eras, which are done so realistically. Also love the music. I do the game twice a year as each time it is a challenge. Hope Gamehouse does a follow-up of equal challenge.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: July 16, 2012
 
Let's face it: All Mortimer Beckett games are a cut above most HOGs. So they are all good, and they are all unique in their approach to finding items, in that one thing has to happen before something else can happen, and items are scattered all over the place. But this one has some pretty obscure connections; not just hard to find items but finding what to do next to progress. Bottom line: it's a good game, but it's not the best of the series.
DownTime | Added on: April 12, 2010
 
Loved it! Great original game! Thinky, clever and very entertaining.
Jeannie564 | Added on: July 28, 2010
 
I hated this game, as I play for enjoyment & relaxation. I must be stupid or something, because I read all these great reviews. I expected it to be as good as the Spooky Manor one. I do not like games that are so tricky, so intricate that I have to search, and search, and search for the solution to the next level. This is the only games of the many, many I've played where I had to go on line for help! Yuck!
7_kids | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
This is a wonderful game. I love how they have all the hidden pieces that you have to figure out where to place them or how to use them. The story is great and the games are fun. It makes you think about what you have to do. It is fun for the kids and can be played in a group. This game was so worth the money. I can't wait for the next one!
wenz | Added on: July 22, 2009
 
I could play this over and over and I look forward to the next chapter.
lr4vr | Added on: January 7, 2010
 
This is the first game I have played that actually made me think. Honestly, I don't know why it is located in the kids category! lol I had quite a time with it. I loved it. Great plot, great puzzles/ Sad to see it end. Can't wait till the next one!
Kwallace | Added on: September 16, 2010
 
Very nice hidden object game. My son and I played almost half of the game before the time was up! My son and I love doing hidden object games together!
kb999999 | Added on: July 20, 2010
 
An excellent and very entertaining sequel ... with beautiful graphics and many challenging puzzles. This game can be enjoyed as a stand alone, but you'd miss the complete back story from game #1. A very nice tutorial is offered for those whom have never played this type of object/puzzle game. Also, a great refresher for others. Can replay any time! With eight different historical era's to explore, this game provides many hours of enjoyment! Pictures of objects are shown. Multiple pieces are spread through the scenes. Find all the pieces to complete an object, use them to solve puzzles. Some puzzles can be skipped, while others can not. Objects are found in multiple locations within each era. Some objects are hidden well behind other objects or in darker areas/corners of the scenes. Each item that requires a completed object piece will show gears moving, when pointer passes it. Once an era has been completed, Mortimer receives a piece of the time-bomb he's building. With unlimited, quickly refilling hints and the written hints Mortimer gives, you shouldn't be stuck on what to do next for very long at all. Since there are no time limits, you can play at your own pace and start/stop when you choose. At the very end, words tells you that the game can be played again, because of a complete reshuffling of all the items. Excellent replay value - very smart! This game would be fun for older kids that understood the puzzle aspect, or as a joint game played along with an adult. Overall, this was a very detailed, entertaining and enjoyable game with many hours of play. Can not wait to play the next in the series!
annecg1pls | Added on: November 21, 2011
 
Mortimer Beckett and the Time Paradox is one of the BEST HOG games I've ever played and well worth waiting for! Graphics were excellent, music was top-notch and the puzzles were perfect. LOVED finding parts of objects and putting them together and the times you get to visit were great. I've now played this game at least 10 times over and will be playing it for a long time to come. Highly recommend this game!
alli_52 | Added on: November 30, 2009
 
This is one of my all-time favorite games! ! Loved the idea of going to different time periods and that there were 4 locations for each period, going back & forth between the 4, the minigames - everything about it!! Wish it had lasted longer & hope there is soon another one just like it with different eras!!!
bcbyjoann | Added on: January 13, 2010
 
I couldn't stop playing. Really enjoyed the hunt and puzzles.
Stef82 | Added on: August 4, 2011
 
This was a great game! It is a little challenging, because you have to find parts of pieces, and they are REALLY well hidden. It tends to be a little clicky rather than thinky, but there are lots of hints and it recharges quickly. I also love the time travel aspect. It is definitely not great for kids because of its difficulty, but it is long playing and well worth the money!
swain06 | Added on: May 6, 2010
 
I love Mortimer Beckett games, I have played all of them so far, and they get better and better. I am hoping a new game comes out soon.
tolga | Added on: May 9, 2009
 
This game looks stunning. My son loved playing it as well. The puzzles are well designed and keeps you interested the whole time. At times it was challenging for my 5 year old son, but for the most part he was able to play by himself.
MirabileDictu | Added on: August 11, 2009
 
I was very excited to see a second Mortimer Beckitt game as I enjoyed the first one immensely. It did not disappoint at all. This game not only requires your keen eye for locating hidden items but it also requires you to think about how to use the items in multiple scenes. I am a huge fan of puzzle and hidden object games; this is one of the best out there in combining the two genres. The only disappointment in the game is that it needs to end and we have to wait for the next one.
emilysmom | Added on: June 24, 2009
 
Once I started playing I couldn't stop. I actually found this game pretty challenging. I love how the pieces are broken up, and you really have to use your head to figure some of this game out. I wish the game were longer though, I enjoyed it so much I hated that the game ended so quickly!
pirate43 | Added on: June 6, 2011
 
Hi I played this game and i thoroughly enjoyed it lots of stuff to do and really makes you think, in fact i will get the next mortimer i come across
Emerald | Added on: November 9, 2009
 
This is by far the best game I've ever downloaded. I've played it multiple times and even though I've learned all the tricks, it's still enjoyable.
mozartzydeco | Added on: August 18, 2009
 
Unfortunately for me I had to have my 14 year old help me through this HOG. I did get stuck on one of the puzzles, but then again, they got stck on one later that I had to help them with. But we all enjoyed the game.
Bubba | Added on: April 15, 2010
 
Number one was great ! Number 2 not as good n Numer 3 dissapointing. Try it for free first.
Deve | Added on: May 3, 2012
 
I found this game to be frustrating and tedious. I love hidden object games, but this is the first one I've played that I did not like. I found it difficult to see the hidden objects in many of the scenes. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to finding the items. Clicking on a puzzle piece that doesn't have any action associated with it was frustrating also. When I click on an object or find an object, I like to have results. Simply placing an item doesn't do anything for me. I really did not like this particular game, but I am willing to try another game in the series.
Metalsmith | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
kWandering helter-skelter from obvious'easy to "keep clicking, you might find something," This game isn't really challenging as much as just plain irritating. I play games to relax and waste some time.; Playing this I'm more tense at the end of a session than I was going in. The art is great, the sound less so Even repetative asndf dgarish. Combined with some of the background noise,l the sound can make you want to turn down the volume --- to zero. The game is not very repolayable. Al;l in all, I could have spent my money batter. Metalsmith
ToketsuPuurin | Added on: January 3, 2012
 
Of the four games in the series this one really missed the mark. The first game was intuitive, this one was anything but. Active areas are invisible except for a slow cursor change which turns the game into a pixel hunt. Not intuitive in the slightest compared to the first game. Once I got the hang of the changes it was a little better; but the game didn't hang together for me like the first one did. The plot was thinner than the first one, which is saying something. But there was a better art budget.
mmij58 | Added on: June 24, 2009
 
One of the very best "Hidden Object" games I've played, but not JUST a Hidden Object game. Lots of puzzles to solve. You have find object to use with other areas on the map. Some are quite challenging to find. And you are bouncing from one area to the next in order to finish the level. Really a fun game, Fairly Long.
ladyc523 | Added on: June 1, 2012
 
I didn't like it at first, but once I got into it I found it very enjoyable. It can be a bit frustrating jumping from site to site, but all in all I do enjoy figuring out how to find the pieces, solve the puzzles and place items in the appropriate location.
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
The first one Spooky Manor was way better in my opinion. Actually that was the best game I've ever downloaded out of all the games I've ever played online. This one started out pretty good then I got stuck in one of the future scenes (the lab trying to enter the code). Finally got that figued out. Now I'm stuck in the Dark Ages level and can't get past that for nothing. Way too challenging for me. I see there is a third one coming in just a few days. Sure hope it's better than this one. I give this one three stars overall.
IronRaziel | Added on: December 24, 2009
 
I absolutely loved this game. This was a game that made you think and actually use your brain! It was challenging, and had to rethink a lot of the game clues as in where to place the objects at. I enjoyed the time length of the game, and the graphics were...out of the world. I hope they come up with a newer version of this game...and still waiting! Try it, and you won't be bored or grumbling at the loss of your money if you purchase this game! wooohoooo! *pumps fist in air*