Mortimer Beckett and the Secrets of Spooky ManorMortimer Beckett and the Secrets of Spooky Manor
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Mortimer Beckett and the Secrets of Spooky Manor
kb999999 | Added on: June 21, 2010
 
Excellent hog/puzzle game ... wish lasted longer! The first of a series - search the mansion, find parts and objects; also, combine objects together. Since there's no time limit, you can play at own pace and quit when ever you choose. The graphics were very nice to look at and the storyline keeps you moving forward. Some items are easier to find than others - some only show a small part and will take some looking. Some items are quite small or in darkened areas. Also, some puzzles or items have to be found first, before you can locate other items. Some items are hidden behind somethings else to complete. Each room starts with available hints, but I'd save until you really need them! Can be used up quickly. The map and guide-book will help you - written hints for task to complete. If you random-click too many times, floating ghosts appear across screen for a short time. More to annoy you than interrupt game play. With eight levels, thirty rooms and many puzzles, I was sad it ended so quickly ... about two hours. Overall, a great game - kept me very busy and entertained. Would be better suited for older kids, whom understood the process of the goals.
Daniela_1 | Added on: May 6, 2011
 
This is a nice game, but incredible short, took me 1 hour to finish. Dissapointed.
Cx500Trike | Added on: October 12, 2009
 
It made me work my eyes and mind' it was a hole bunch of fun I have to get more
gamerrainbow11 | Added on: June 15, 2011
 
In this adventure of Mortimer Beckett, the player searches for PIECES of objects that are hidden among poorly lit rooms. After finding all of the pieces to the objects, you then solve "puzzles" like placing a lightbulb in a lamp that has a missing lightbulb. As the games progress, the puzzles to get more...difficult? irritating?. Way too easy. Completed the entire game in about 2 hours. Little to no brain power necessary. Would have given better rating for better graphics and story line. More challenging puzzles also preferred. Not worth the money for avid Hidden Object gamers.
melsgarden | Added on: June 29, 2011
 
I keep coming back to this first of Mortimer Beckett because it is relaxing and doesn't take a lot of thinking and time. It's a great game to relax with. The later games are a bit chunky and difficult to me although they are good also.
mollyd | Added on: April 6, 2010
 
I loved the game. It was the first I have played on the site. I was sad when it was over.
jusfreckles | Added on: June 5, 2012
 
I love this game. It's not the most challenging game out there, but it is just challenging enough to make it FUN! If a game is too hard, it's not really fun. Lots of variety and surprises. Replay is great, never boring. Good job!
Tayotae | Added on: September 10, 2009
 
I finally found a hidden object game that I really enjoyed. Lots of things to find and then have to move and use them. Diffiently makes you think, some harder than others. But fun. Just wished it would of lasted longer. I buy it thursday and won today. However I am off right now to buy the #2 version. Thanks you all for a hidden object game, that olders can have some fun with. Tayotae
TishQ | Added on: May 27, 2011
 
This game has the potential to be a good game, but it is way too short and there were no puzzles. Did not live up to the hype. Terribly disappointed. It was a waste of my fun ticket.
hugapeke | Added on: June 6, 2011
 
I found the game was too easy. I finished the game in two hours. It wasn't worth the money.
robino | Added on: May 26, 2011
 
This game wasn't a bad game, but I have a few gripes..this game is way too short! I feel ripped off when I blow through a game in one sitting.... and objects are divided into parts.... I would rather have whole objects.... I never like games where they do that... I also wrongly assumed there would be a few puzzles or something to go with the hidden partial object hunt but the only thing was put the item where it belongs when you find the whole thing.... I definitely won't be buying the next one....
araujo58 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
nice game, addictive, original, is too short but super nice.
moia01 | Added on: November 3, 2011
 
It's a fun game that sometimes makes you think and involves changing room frequently.
RandiM | Added on: August 27, 2010
 
I like this game and this series. Very original and fun.
Granclown | Added on: March 30, 2012
 
After playing more modern games I went back to this on and it's one of my favorites now. It's more whimsical than depressing/scary, in spite of the spooky title, the instructions are clear, and it's very addicting. The best part was the ghosts. They had so much personality! And occasionally we were able to make one happy or otherwise do a kind act. This game has a lot more creativity and spirit than the new clones.
blacknailpolish | Added on: May 27, 2011
 
While I enjoy most hidden object games, this one was far too short and extremely easy. Not a lot of thinking or strategy involved... I finished the game in less than 90 minutes. The game is too pricey considering the lack of strategy, challenge, and playtime involved... $3.99 would have been a more acceptable price tag.
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
Wow! I just finished playing this and I must say I've played a lot of really great games on here but this is by far the best game I've ever downloaded. For me anyway, this isn't the typically HOG. Not just strickly finding things as the things you find have a purpose. Actually you're finding pieces of the item. Once you have found the whole item it goes into your inventory where it's either used in a "hot spot" in the location you found it or another location. Lots of going back and forth between locations. Sometimes after you've revealed a hot spot there would be another piece to an item and sometimes you'd also need more than one item to unlock the "hot spot." I just found this way cool the going back and forth as if you do get stuck which I'll admit I did a few times you can search other locations and then come back; then usually I'd find what I needed but sometimes have to use a hint which by the way I feel the game gives plenty of hints to where you're not stuck and it becomes frustrating. Some pieces I wish the magnify glass from the Sherlock Holmes game was available here! LOL! As others mentioned a very "thinky" type came. As for the game pace really relaxing as there is no time limit. I also thought the game was long enough however at the same time so great I wanted more. I'd rate this higher than 5 if I could. If you like this sort of game, forget the free trial and buy it! Totally rocks and awesome. THANK YOU GAMEHOUSE!
collagejoy | Added on: October 20, 2010
 
This was a really fun game. I gave it 3 stars because it was sooooo short. I got it on a free download and would have been quite perturbed with the length if I had paid for it. That said, considering I got it for free, it was really an enjoyable Hidden Object Game. Not too difficult, with fun mini-games. Great graphics. Not kid-friendly, though, as I think some of the objects would be too hard to find.
GamerNo1 | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
Although this game was addicting, it was short lived. I won this game after only two hours of game play. The hidden objects were far too easy to find. I love hidden object games (especially the Mystery Case Files series) but this one is not worth the $6.99 I paid for it.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: July 13, 2012
 
I have played every one of the Mortimer Beckett games at least twice. This was, of course, the first one, and it was somewhat unique at the time. It is probably the simplest of the series in that you have a limited set of scenes with which to interact. But the HO scenes are still challenging. I still have to get a hint or two to find that last piece of something which is mostly hidden behind something else. Is it complicated? No. But is it still fun? You bet it is!
pgillenw | Added on: January 12, 2011
 
I had avoided playing the Mortimer Beckett series. I took a look at the game some time ago and after the comic presentation at the start of the game did not continue. This was a lesson for not closing ones mind to the possibilities. I was determined to try once again after noticing so many reviewers had recommended. Well worth playing. The game has been well thought out with regards to the items you collect. All items collected are then used. Now finding the parts to reconstruct an item is where the challenge comes in. Use of the items requires a tad of thinking which scene an item is useful. Graphics are good some item parts more difficult to locate however there are plentiful hints and one is not penalized for clicking hints when a hint in a location will not help you locate an item without first placing or solving. Have fun I know I did.
TAR671 | Added on: July 26, 2010
 
Requires you to find pieces of objects, and then figure out where they are used in the game. One of the better series of games I ahve played!
DarkChylde | Added on: August 25, 2010
 
I have played the 2nd and 3rd games before I played Spooky Manor. I should have done them in consecutive order, as the last 2 games are much better. Now, I'm not putting Spooky Manor down. It did come out quite a while ago, and it was top-of-the-line when it did, but with more sophisticated games out now, Spooky Manor is much simpler and easier to play. It's a great game if you're a beginner in HO's. Great graphics and music, as well as a good storyline. If you haven't played the Mortimer Beckett series yet, start with this one and work your way up. You won't be disappointed! Lots of fun!!!!!!
J_Linz | Added on: December 21, 2011
 
I'm a huge fan of Hidden Object games and kept seeing the Mortimer Beckett series advertised. Seeing that I had enough GH coins to get a free game, I decided to use it on this game, just to see what the noise was all about! It was different; you have to find pieces of objects instead of whole objects, which was at first annoying but then became very simple. I didn't care too much for jumping from one room to another in order to solve the clues. And, then it was too short. The graphics were great and the storyline was one that I have gotten used to when playing HO games so it was neither boring or exciting (although I was at first excited to see what the ghosts would do but I was disappointed in them as well). I have never finished an HO game in less than 2 hours... until I played this one! Let's just say that I was glad that it was free however, I am disappointed that I wasted a lot of my GH coins on this game!
Lizzie | Added on: May 18, 2009
 
Honestly I love this game but its way too short. I bought it and in a couple of hours I won it. Its not really something I could see myself playing over and over again because its too short.
dragonlady1970 | Added on: December 24, 2012
 
I love that I have to think about what I have to do with this game. This was the first one I tried & I was hooked. I have since completed the whole series. Talk about addictive!
pauline1 | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
the second and third games were better than this one
devi | Added on: August 1, 2011
 
As a fan of Mortimer, I enjoyed playing this short game. Graphics were good, and HO scenes were not too easy. Looking forward for a new longer version to come out.
niccam | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
I wouldn't say this game is kid friendly as not all items were THAT easy to find, however the things i disliked most were the ghosts that appeared after accidentally clicking somewhere just 3 times. They lasted a little too long. And the other thing I disliked was it got to be a little overwhelming at times, jumping back and forth from room to room to find where an object went, and not being able to find things due to other things being in the way, etc. I wouldn't play this again. It just wasn't very relaxing in my opinion. The graphics were great though.
faye1 | Added on: August 12, 2010
 
I don't think this would be kid friendly. Because some of the peices are very small and are hard to find. I just don't find it very relaxing.
christyflint | Added on: May 6, 2009
 
This game is spooky fun!!! It is a great hidden object game with cool art. It is a fun hidden object game!
sansan | Added on: February 23, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game but it was over way too quickly. It's probably a better game for kids.
infinity | Added on: October 31, 2011
 
Good graphics, good instructions, good premise. Not so good: having to find pieces of the hidden objects to make them whole again. That drives me crazy, especially when the object is broken up in strange ways. And the pieces are pretty well hidden, unless you have an eye for that sort of thing. Once you piece together the objects, you then place them in the correct locations in the room. That's pretty simplistic. The ghosts you encounter are the most entertaining part of the game, and they don't do much. As HO games go, this one has less variety and little animation, but is still worth a try.