MONOPOLYMONOPOLY
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of MONOPOLY
indiaink | Added on: October 26, 2012
 
I've always loved this game, and this version doesn't disappoint. The only drawback I encountered was the 'spinning' of the board. Finally learned to click the arrows on the right side of the screen which helps a lot. The top arrow speeds up the gamepiece, while the lower one instantly moves it. I like that you can play an easy game to relax, or a more difficult level if you want to use more strategy. How about doing Mousetrap next?
Frodo | Added on: September 21, 2012
 
This review is based on the trial version. I love Monopoly, and I was so excited to see this had come to GameHouse. And at first glance it seems fantastic - excellent 3d graphics, easy controls, good camera angles etc. But the gameplay lets it down. I downloaded the UK version, and the board shows UK street names. But when landing on street, buying streets, moving your counter etc, it tells me USA names, which is very confusing. So if you have to 'Advance To Illoinis Street' for example, I have no idea where that is on the board, until I've actually landed there. Very frustrating, when I downloaded the UK version. This game could have been so much more! I urge you to download the trial version, before buying it.
ManiacalZebra | Added on: September 22, 2012
 
A nice update to a familiar game. You are allowed from two to four players and can make all of the players human, though you would have to take turns at the screen to play. You can play with standard rules or select from several customized settings. There is also an option for Sleight of Hand, which allows you to use several tricks once each during the game. You can use trick dice to select a roll from 3-11 to ensure you land on a specific place, which is particularly useful if you are trying to get a monopoly or avoid an expensive property. Property Grab gives you a single "improvement" for free (one house or one hotel). Rent dodge allows you to pay only half of the rent on a property you land on. Each can only be used once, so use them carefully. There are different difficulty levels, which I assume relates to the play of computer players. Easy will make them pushovers when it comes to making deals, while hard makes them more cutthroat. The graphics are quite nice. You can click a button to roll, or pick them up with your mouse and shake them like real dice. I've come to enjoy the battleship going bankrupt just to watch the graphics "sink" the ship. Each piece moves around the board as it would if real. Some hop, some roll, and the dog scampers with sound effects including the jingling of tags on a dog's collar. If the dog wins, it gets up on its hind legs and dances. The animations might not be a good idea for someone who gets dizzy easily, as the board can spin a lot, though the animations can be turned off in the options. If you hate to lose, you can set everything to human and hand yourself the game. You can give yourself all other properties and money while giving nothing in return. Some might call this blasphemy, but others might like this. If you sell a property, though, you should make sure that you sell off the houses first, as they will disappear when sold. There is a lot of clicking to the game, but it remains true to the original board game. Three rolls of doubles will send you to jail. The cards are the same as I remember, and it has the original street names rather than the new ones. It has the same pieces as the original and none of them are lost! The graphics can sometimes cover up parts of the board you want to see. You have to click every time to select if the tutorial should be on or off, which can become a nuisance. It would be better to have that in the options or game setup. It will remember the previous House Rules you select, but you have to reselect the pieces for every game and Sleight of Hand every time you open the game. Still, it's overall a great game.
Or_Ducatisti | Added on: September 25, 2012
 
I understand wanting to "update" an old classic with fun graphics, but randomly rotating and zooming and and out of the board isn't an update, it's just awkward and irritating. There is an option to turn off animations, but it simply turns off the game piece animation, leaving the rest of the headache-inducing crud there. The gameplay is basically true to the original board game, with a few extras thrown in, so if you can stand the graphics mess, and enjoy Monopoly, it's probably worth purchasing, just be sure to play the trial version first.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: September 26, 2012
 
I was looking forward to this animated version. And some things were good. But a lot of the informational squares covered the board so that I really couldn' t see. And then I would have to cancel the action, change views, use the arrows to get to the property I wanted, etc. It was a little tedious. I did like the tutorial. It was good for suggestions and tips. But unless you are a real Monopoly fan, I'm not sure I'd spend the money on this one.
cookee1010 | Added on: December 5, 2012
 
Love Monopoly and the graphics/game play is really smooth. There are two, in my view, major gripes: 1. This is based on the US version so whilst the board reflects the English street names - there is a bug that when you are interacting with that place or there is a dialogue box of sorts it refers to the American version of the street name. Very careless whoever coded this. Please fix it asap as it's very confusing and you don't know what you're buying or trading half the time. 2. Unless it is your go and the screen has set itself after having rolled the dice...you cannot go to the options menu. This means you can't save, quit, change the volume within the game etc etc. Very irritating. Other than that... great game.
pras | Added on: January 5, 2013
 
This is pretty much true to the board game but with a maximum of only four players. The localisation bug spoiled it for me. Sometimes the game thinks it is in Atlantic City, USA and sometimes not. This problem has been noted by several reviewers and I think there should have been a patch by now. Surely Gamehouse must have some influence here.
redls | Added on: September 25, 2012
 
What a great game, what a great shame the visuals and the audio are at war! I see the familiar London board but the 'helpful' voice over and the card in the chance/community chest are all giving American infoirmation. This totally ruined the game for me and I will not be buying it.