Mishap - An Accidental HauntingMishap - An Accidental Haunting
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Mishap - An Accidental Haunting
colorsplash7 | Added on: February 2, 2011
 
I had stopped playing HO games because I thoght they had just gotten too repetitive for me. So even though it is no longer 2010...I still must rate this game as my fave of last year. It is original, the art work is incredible and I love the fact that some of the minigames had me stuck. I really like the fact that if I play it again it will be with different hidden objects. It's too bad I can't rate this a 10 ...love it love it and now on my way to Mishap 2...Thanks Gamehouse..a home run with this game!
RandiM | Added on: September 25, 2010
 
I have played a lot of games from this site and this one is one of my favorite games. You clear all of these different, beautiful rooms (that have absolutely gorgeous graphics) and suck up ghosts. When you get the ghosts it gives you a description and a picture of each one, and I thought that was a lot of fun, reading and learning about the ghosts. You also have a boss ghost to beat at the end of every level, and that is fun as well. This game is great, I would recommend it to anyone, it is definitely worth the purchase. The only downside to this game is that it wasn't long enough for me, but it is still longer and more full of stuff than a lot of games on here. I WISH they would make ALL of their games like this one and the ones I recommend, I can't get enough of these types. And I have noticed that these types of games get a lot more 4-5 star reviews than most of the other types. So, take the hint Gamehouse!!!! Start making more like this one!!!! Actually, I know you read these reviews, Gamehouse. And I was wondering how I go about suggesting game ideas to you guys? Because I would really love it if you guys could make a Tim Burtons - The Nightmare Before Christmas game!!!!
Tigertoo | Added on: July 29, 2010
 
I am enjoying this game. Finding the ghosts is also fun.
vaughnk145 | Added on: March 5, 2010
 
I had a lot of fun with this game....great graphics, good humor and very original in all aspects. It made me laugh with every scene. Objects are well hidden, but with all the background scenery, you want to take your time and enjoy everything.
Linda1956 | Added on: January 27, 2012
 
I originally bought this game to play with my granddaughter when she spent the weekend. We didn't finish it together, so I used a new profile and completed it on my own as it is so much fun! Even the ghosts that jump out at you for clicking the wrong objects are hilarious, not scary, but do make you jump. The mini games are very original and challenging for me (not for my granddaughter, but I couldn't wait for her to come back in 2 weeks), the graphics are great, and it's just a really fun game for the entire family!
Jess209 | Added on: September 27, 2010
 
The graphics are unlike any other HDO game I've seen and I like the concept but it's short and the smaller objects are a little too hard to find. There's no zoom so you basically find all of the big stuff and use your hints on the "matches". And one match in one room doesn't look anything like the match in another room so that makes it a little interesting trying to find stuff when there's no consistency. I was excited about the graphics but the game doesn't live up to it. I deleted the game after beating it in the trial version. Didn't even take 60 minutes.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: February 8, 2012
 
It was a lot of fun. It was a free download for the day and it took me about 6 hours total to get through it. It was entertaining and not frustrating. I loved it. I would say it is ok for kids 7 and up.
yusef | Added on: October 12, 2011
 
If you like fairly usual HOGs, you'll probably like this. Most of the time is spent searching for things, and if you click too often, a scary face will come up on your screen and scream at you. Occasionally ghosts come around and you have to find them. Some of the items take some looking to find, but you can move around from room to room if you want to return to an area where you're stuck. There is a Hint button to use as well but I still find I run out of patience somewhat quickly because so much searching can get boring. All said, though, it's not bad for a Halloweeny game, or any time of year. It's really not very scary.
Janelle | Added on: January 20, 2012
 
This game is a total snoozefest! Even though I used a game coupon for it when I was a member at BFG,I never finished it and deleted it. I HIGHLY recommend that everyone try the demo before buying it!
QueenOfGames | Added on: February 25, 2010
 
This is one of the top games I've seen in recent months. Involved, beautiful art, with surprises at every turn! I loved capturing the ghosts, and seeing the story unfold. It's like Beetlejuice meets Ghostbusters! Great music, the voice acting was good, and the cut-scenes are AWESOME. If you're a skeptic who normally skips the story stuff, do yourself a favor and watch these. Top of the line, Grade A+ game!
RedFirePhoenix | Added on: February 25, 2014
 
This might actually be one of the best HOGs I have ever played. Some of the items were a little small to spot, but it didn't really detract from the fun. The mix of catching ghosts and mini-games with the hidden object scenes kept it from getting boring, and there were PLENTY of hidden object scenes in and of themselves! I'm off to try the sequel now in the hopes it offers the same challenge and amusement.
niccam | Added on: February 25, 2010
 
I was disappointed in this game. The graphics were great but the annoying pictures that pop up every 10 seconds during game-play made me so frustrated I stopped playing.
Racegrl03 | Added on: February 23, 2010
 
This is a very fun game. Lots of different mini-games. I have only tried the trial version but I am hooked and am using a Fun Ticket to get it. I like the way you can span some of the rooms. And the items are not so difficult that you give up. I think this game is worth the purchase
kmart4147 | Added on: February 25, 2010
 
Great graphics, challenges, twists and turns - thoroughly enjoyable. I would recommend this game to Mystery Files fans and to those who have enjoyed Mortimer Beckett.
softscape | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
I am into quirky and both Mishaps are so well done and fun!!! I just hope there are more mishaps on their way.
CalifDreaming | Added on: March 1, 2010
 
I started my free hr w/expectations of not liking it. I was pleasantly surprised. Although I'm only in the diningroom, I've enjoyed the game so far. I've just purchased it so I can continue. I always prefer games where I don't need to worry about the time. It turns into over-clicking to find things in a hurry, which turns into penalties. Have fun.
anniemc | Added on: November 9, 2011
 
This game is just fantastic. I loved the graphics, the color and the creativeness. The mini games and puzzles are different and lots of fun. If I could give it 6 stars I would. I can't wait to play Mishap 2 and I hope there are more. It really is a visually beautiful game and not dark and hard to see like a lot of HOG games. This is definately a keeper for future play.
eleicester | Added on: February 4, 2011
 
I tend to go through Hidden Object games quickly and they are over before I really want them to be. Mishap slows you down a bit with various tasks such as hunting down ghosts and solving riddles. But it's not boring and doesn't get bogged down. I also enjoy the quirky storyline and the wry sense of humour.
redaf | Added on: January 14, 2013
 
I loved this game. The graphics are nice, the mini games varied and fun and a very original storyline. I laughed out loud at some of the antics and ghost descriptions, then to top it off, a very sweet and romantic ending. Very enjoyable, very humorous. A welcome break from all the drama of most of the supernatural HO adventures. Really a pleasure to play!
Buford | Added on: March 31, 2011
 
Nice relaxing game,lot fun.Liked 2nd mishap also.Enjoyed reading the notes about the ghosts,very funny.
SilverSuki | Added on: February 11, 2011
 
For some reason this game dumped me straight into a scene when I started it, with no introduction or anything so I had no clue where I was or what I was supposed to be doing. There was a VERY annoying continuous loud noise which was like a car alarm going off endlessly, I'm guessing this is the 'Ecto-Detecto', well that almost drove me mad, after only a couple of minutes I had to turn off the sound to get rid of it. The graphics were garish and ugly, the HO scenes were the pointless 'junkyard' type (my least favourite kind), and there was no other gameplay really. Occasionally a ghost appeared and you clicked on it so it disappeared again, and that was it. I only played a few minutes before giving up - not only was it boring, which I could have stuck for at least a little while, it was utterly migraine-inducing, actively irritating and grating in both the graphics and sounds. Simply can't imagine what everyone else is seeing in it, I was very disappointed after reading so many rave reviews.
GamerNo1 | Added on: February 24, 2010
 
This game is definitely worth buying. The hidden objects are difficult to find, it's difficult to earn gold trophys in the mini games, and the storyline is awesome. I love ghost stories and this game gave even me a few spooks.
sheilaemoffatt | Added on: January 27, 2011
 
awesome game...I am addicted! Try Midnight Mysteries - Salem Witch Trials
pegmink52 | Added on: April 14, 2011
 
I really like this game. Only thing is right now I am stuck, but I haven't had time to really get into it.
BoxerLady | Added on: February 25, 2010
 
This is a cute game if you don't mind "cartoon" type graphics. It wasn't a bad game; but be careful how many times you click! Or, you'll get a HUGE, witchy-looking, ghost face covering the whole screen. The face appears as a penalty for over-clicking, and slows you down for a few seconds. As the face disapates you get a slow, moving "fog" that eventually disappears so you can get back to playing. This game is a typical HO game, with a few twists. When the game starts you are in a bedroom. The typical list of objects to find is at the bottom of the screen. One of the drawbacks, and the reason I only gave it 3 stars, was because the items you have to find are very, very hard to find. The cartoon-type graphics make it tough to distinguish between the hidden objects and the rest of the scene. The objects themselves didn't look anything like they should have. (Like, a bottle looked more like a blob then a bottle.) Some of the objects were hidden in too dark a place too tell what they were. Therefore, I did a LOT of clicking! I understand that some people will enjoy the challenge, but I found it frustrating. I usually enjoy a challenging game, but this was a bit too much. One difference between this HO game and others was, you have to find a "door" to other rooms on the level, instead of being given the next room location when you are finished searching the first room. Once you have discovered other rooms on the level, you can go from one room to the next at any time. This helped me to not become too frusterated when I couldn't find objects. I just went back and forth between the different rooms finding objects. I think there were 4 or 5 rooms to each level. When you are in each room you are given an object (can't remember the name of it...a Ghostometer or something like that) and when it is clicked, it becomes activated. At that point the room changes to a foggy appearance, and then you are able to find ghosts by scanning the screen with your cursor. You are provided with a "scale" that tells you if you are closer to the ghost (like the old Hot and Cold game), or further from the ghost, until you find it. When you have tracked the ghost down you click on it to get it out of the house. Catch is, you have to find the same ghost, and click on it 3 times, in order to finish the job! I'm sure there was more to the game, but I only played the first hour - free, and decided I didn't enjoy it enough to buy. I wouldn't recommend this for kids, unless they are teens, as it might be frusterating to them if they can't find the Hidden Objects. However, if they have better eyesight then me (which is HIGHLY possible,) then they will surely enjoy the "cartoonish" and ghostly graphics! Good game, I guess, but I will probably wait and hope it comes out on the "Today's Free Game" option to finish playing the rest of the game.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: March 24, 2010
 
This is one of the best HO games I have played. Good storyline, original, lots of fun finding the ghosts. Some of the HO are hard to find but there are plenty of clues, just takes a while to recharge. This is a keeper for me
jmg1234 | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
This game was great, I loved it. You could tell a lot of quality work went into making this one. It had unique and interesting aspects to it like where you switch to the device where you try and find ghosts. The mini games had variety and excitement too and a break from main stream. The animation of some stuff in each scene added an extra kick to it. There are also a lot of rooms and a lot of items to find in each room too, so this kept me entertained for much longer than most games. Also you can go back to the main menu and play the mini games over again. there's some like the card game you could play over and over again if you want. Maybe you want to improve your score and get all golden trophies. THIS GAME BETWEEN THE MINI GAMES AND ALL THE MANY OBJECTS TO FIND AND OVER ALL VARIETY MAKES THIS A GREAT REPLAY VALUE GAME. Great 5 star game.
GarthV8Der | Added on: January 28, 2013
 
Reslly fun game hillariusly funny ,easy going, some of the puzzles were quete challanging, very kid friendly with a spooky atmosphere,I'll most likely play again,the only thing that kept me from giving it 5 *'s was the ending kinda dragged on.. that might be a clich i check with tech about, all in all I had a great time playing Now for the secule
ScaryNanny66 | Added on: February 26, 2010
 
This game is one of the best HOG's in recent times. The story is funny and unique, characters are charming and hilarious. The backgrounds were very artistically drawn and really bring the game to life. I highly recommend this game.
Zretzira | Added on: March 2, 2010
 
This game is truly unique & engaging as it manages to successfully weave an intriguing story, inventive mini-games, outstanding graphics with an engaging environment and exciting gameplay.
Reviewer | Added on: March 11, 2010
 
Well designed, excellent graphics, interesting animations and nice music. An all-around enjoyable experience.
xenutia | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
I feel a bit mean giving this less than a rave review, because it's obviously very popular and has received some great reviews. There is a lot to love in this game, and I really did enjoy playing it, but I think that there were a few small things that could be improved in any sequel. It's main charm is that it's very original indeed with some very quirky and fun graphics and cool animation, although the graphics do suffer in places because of it. Obviously the developers needed to keep the file size down, which meant they had to sacrifice something for the animation, and overall it was a fair trade, as the animation did make the game much more fun. When I opened the first scene I was a bit horrified to see how long the HO list was with a scrolling scene that did seem to go on forever. I found that rather daunting, simply because I didn't have a clue where to start looking, but I actually quite enjoyed the challenge once I'd got stuck in. To be truthful, if it hadn't had so many good reviews, I might not have battled on with it, but thought it must be worth playing, if so many people liked it. I must say I'm glad I did, because overall it was an enjoyable game. I did think that some of the objects were just a bit too hard to find, especially in the closing scenes and that did phase me a bit. I had to resort to hints and random clicking (risking the wrath of the ghost) to stagger through and it did spoil my enjoyment a bit. Obviously most other players didn't have any trouble, but I did have problems in some scenes. The furnace room particularly left me floundering hopelessly because I could barely find a quarter of the objects on my own because the scene was so misty. The mini games were very inventive and fun, although I failed dismally on a good half of them! I was pleased to see though that you could access all the mini games at the end and have another practise run. They were really good fun for the most part though. The instructions for the mini games were a bit long and confusing on a couple of the games. I had to read them through a few times to work out what the challenge was and perhaps a more graphic based tutorial for them would be better than a whole page of written instruction. I particularly enjoyed the ghosthunting part of the game, and even got quite good at it, and that was possibly the best part of the game for me. I loved the characterization and cartoons. They were very well done indeed, so full marks to the artists. Overall, it's obviously a very good game, I just think that the sequel could perhaps cut back a tiny bit on the animation to improve the overall quality of the graphics; perhaps make just a few of the objects in the scene hard to find to present a challenge, but make the others at least doable without having to struggle too much to allow more people to enjoy it. I'm glad it's such a hit though, as the designers have obviously worked their socks off on it. Kudos.
Darkspell | Added on: April 7, 2010
 
Loved this story. I am a big fan of hidden object games with more than just point and click and move on. This has puzzles and story.
skylersdream | Added on: April 26, 2010
 
I have played lots of games from game house and this is my first game review and this game ROCKS. I have never liked a game as much as this one I could play it for hours over and over again, worth the $$$.
haley458 | Added on: February 23, 2010
 
I thought this game was so cute! I wouldn't exactly recommend it for young kids or anything, but I had fun. All the scenes were different; the HO were challenging, but not impossible; and catching the ghosts was fun. Mini-games/puzzles were original. Would definitely recommend!
Kitty221 | Added on: April 18, 2011
 
I AM NORMALLY A HUGE TIME MANAGEMENT FAN, BUT I WAS ADDICTED TO THIS FROM THE FIRST CLICK. THE GRAPHICS AMAZING, STORYLINE ABSOLUTELY COOL, DID I MENTION THE GRAPHICS ARE UTTERLY FANTASTIC OK, GAMEPLAY NATURALLY ADDICTING, MINI GAMES GREAT, AND RIDDLES SO FUN. GLAD THERE WAS A PART 2 BECAUSE I JUST WANT MORE!!! KEEP THESE COMING I AM A FAN! BRAVO!!!!
Minxski | Added on: March 1, 2010
 
I thought this game was fab. Challenging and fun, really great little mini games, refreshing change to the norm. I highly recommend this game.
Purplefeather | Added on: March 8, 2010
 
Really enjoyed playing this game!! Everything about it is fun, good story, good graphics etc. Some items are a little hard to find but if you get stuck you have hint button. The mini games are really fun and different and I like that u can play them over to try and get a better score. Overall a good game!!
Vickishly | Added on: March 23, 2010
 
You can tell the designers had fun making this game and that means a lot to someone who has played a LOT of HOG games. Everything about this game was a delight. The combination of puzzles and hidden object routine were truly original and fun. The artwork, layout and overall game flow is phenomenal. I would recommend this to anyone.
Anath | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
I LOVED this game! The graphics were unique and excellent. Objects were often tricky to find. The mini-games were challenging and surprisingly different. It was over far too soon. I look forward to more games like this!
kylakitty | Added on: March 12, 2010
 
I knew within 5 minutes I would purchase this game. I can't say enough about it... best game I've ever played, most original, best graphics, unique mini games, humerous content, engaging storyline. This game has it all and more!
DarkChylde | Added on: March 2, 2010
 
I thought this game wasn't bad. Not the best HO I've played, but I did make it to the end. Some of the objects were very difficult to find. The graphics were great and imaginative. The ghosts you had to capture with your "ghost detector" were a bit too cartoonish and didn't have anything to do with the main plot. The mini-games were interesting and some were very challenging. There are four scenes per room you had to clear of items and ghosts. Once you did, then you played a mini-game pertaining to the main ghost in that room. You basically help them "move on" once they were able to accomplish their goal. I would have given Mishap five stars, but there was something missing that didn't have me coming back for more.
sportygal2009 | Added on: February 26, 2010
 
As mentioned by other reviews, I found most of the things pretty hard to find an no I don't expect or would want them to be in plain sight but this game was just downright frustrating in my opinion. Also as mentioned on some of the items you do find, you have to click on it just right. Also after I FINALLY cleared the rooms with using some hints of course, it took me back over the SAME rooms and ITEMS I had just found to try and find them again and that's when I said to myself.... "I don't think so!" Way too much madness for me! LOL! I quit playing after that. Almost made it through the free trial but not quite.
TnTexas | Added on: November 4, 2010
 
Overall Impression: a fun, quirky game - although since it's pretty much a straight HOG, it could get a little tedious at times Media Description: The scenes were crisp and clear for the most part, maybe just a tiny bit fuzzy every now then (or that could have just been my eyes). The colors were nice and bright in most of the scenes. There were a handful that were a bit darker, but they were taking place in the basement and cellar so that was understandable. Even those weren't as dark as they could have been. Storyline: Ok. Some of the ghosts had funny background stories. The main storyline was a bit predictable but served to hold the HOG scenes together. The ending felt a tad bit abrupt. Gameplay: pretty intuitive - broken up into chapters consisting of 4 different rooms (a main one and three branching off of it) - solved a riddle after searching all the rooms then played a minigame to help put the main spirit for that section at rest HOG Scenes: a cross between simply busy rooms and junkpiles. If you have the patience, they're usually easy enough to do with only a hint or two. A ghost scares you if you have too many misclicks. Minigames/puzzles: Some of the minigames were difficult for me; others weren't. All fit within the storyline and could be skipped if you wanted. Hints: unlimited, but a tad slow to refill Will Probably Appeal to: those who like quirky games and/or straight HOGs Will Probably Not Appeal to: those who don't like straight HOGs or things to do with ghosts
Juliet | Added on: November 1, 2012
 
First of all, I have to say that this game has the best graphics I have seen in any game on Gamehouse, and I have been a member a long time! They are spooky without being creepy, and highly imaginative. The animations are beautiful, amusing, and appropriate to the story too. The hidden objects are challenging but not too hard to find, and are often in a logical place (i.e. spiders are often in spiderwebs). You can tell that they were placed by the game designers and not just randomly sprinkled. The items you are looking for are appropriately scaled for the scene, and are well drawn. Even if the game were only searching for hidden objects, I would think it was one of the best, but there is so much more! I truly enjoyed the ghost hunting, the story line,and the riddles; the mini games between are so different from the mini games I've seen in other games, and they are all very meaningful in relationship to the characters and appropriate for the story. I can't wait to play the other games in this series!
S_p_l | Added on: November 1, 2011
 
I really liked this game. It has a little bit of a quirky, Ghostbusters sort of feel to it. Definitely a different take on your run-of-the-mill HOG, which I love to see. Some aspects of the game can be a little tricky, so if you're easily annoyed by riddles, I don't recommend it. Otherwise, it's a very lighthearted and fun twist on the spooky HOG.
rickter | Added on: March 8, 2010
 
I just finished the game and it was so much fun. The ghost were KOOL! Solving the riddles keep me thinking, but after solving them I couldn't realize why I was getting stumped on them. Great story line, I love a happy ending. If you want lots of fun buy this one.
Debb23 | Added on: May 13, 2012
 
I enjoyed the fact that the hidden objects were in clear pictures (nothing irritates me more than a game that thinks hiding an object makes the picture so dark that you can't see). The storyline was cute and the ghosts quirky. The mini games were different and not impossible. Just an overall good game.
Waycas | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
If there are awards for games, this would certainly qualify. Hidden Object games are usually the same, this one has the most challenging puzzles ever. There are eight mini games. The mini games could have been a game all their own. They are so much fun and challenging and has excellent replay value. Of all the games I have ever bought, this is the BEST, hands down. I am even considering buying the disc.
BinFl | Added on: January 27, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. The artwork is particularly stunning making the hidden object search a bit more challenging.
Sooner_Girl | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
I really enjoyed this game. The levels were just tricky enough that I didn't get bored but not so hard as I couldn't figure the things out. The riddles at the end of each level were really fun and the mini-games were as well. And if you add in the good graphics, this is a really well put together game!
J9Cleme | Added on: March 1, 2010
 
I loved everything about this game! The artwork is beautiful. The characters were likable, and not terribly annoying. The storyline was original and interesting. The objects were challenge to find. The mini games were clever and challenging too. Would definitely recommend it!
pcpat | Added on: June 23, 2012
 
I'm an "older" gamer who's enjoyed many outstanding games, however, Mishap is the most hilarious and fun game that I have ever had the good fortune of playing! It's bright, colorful, kooky, imaginative, creative, unique as well as fun. With several tasks to do, such as finding ghosts, objects and playing mini-puzzles, I look forward to playing Mishap over and over again!! A definite purchase for me along with the sequel--Mishap 2. Kids of all ages will love this one!! Enjoy!!