Midnight Mysteries - Devil on the MississippiMidnight Mysteries - Devil on the Mississippi
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Midnight Mysteries - Devil on the Mississippi
QueenofAZ | Added on: July 29, 2011
 
This is the third Midnight Mysteries game and it did not disappoint. Unlike other developers who often get lazy once they've established a name the game had the same quality built into it and was actually better than the last one. The graphics are really good. Music isn't bad. Storyline isn't lame and keeps you interested. If you have played Salem Witch Trials or Edgar Allen Poe then try and challenge yourself by not using hints. If you're new to the Midnight Mystery games there is a goal page you can use when you get stuck. Overall I really enjoyed the game and would recommend it. Not for young children but teens should like it.
kylakitty | Added on: July 29, 2011
 
I tried the one hour trial and am on the fence as to whether or not to purchase the full version. I found 20 of the 70 shamrocks within the trial which made me question the length of the game; hence being on the fence. Positives: - The graphics are excellent; scenes unique - The ravens and shamrocks are easy to find - Interesting storyline (I usually loathe storylines in games) - Puzzles are not entirely difficult but require some thought Negatives: - When using a hint, you'll be guided step-by-step back to the point at which you need to take action. I would have rather have been directed, than shown with a large arrow. Overall, fun and interesting.
Chamsta | Added on: February 5, 2013
 
I've played a lot of hidden object games but I have to say this one was my least favorite so far. The story was kind of boring for me, though I can see others being into it. Some of the mini games were unnecessarily challenging because it never explained how to do them. I also didn't like how you never really knew if you completed an area or not. Make sure you find the ravens, that's the only way you get hints! All in all, I was mostly bored with the whole game. I just couldn't get into it as much I have with other hidden object games. I did like the graphics and the length of the game, and for other hidden object lovers out there you will like this game just fine. It is still entertaining.
Coby | Added on: March 18, 2012
 
Some really beautiful visuals, plus great sound effects.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: August 1, 2011
 
This game is definately not for young kids. I really liked the graphics, music, storyline. At times it got a little confusing but if you use the hints and follow the directions it is ok. I think this is the best of the Midnight Mysteries so far.
hiplains | Added on: March 31, 2012
 
This game is refreshing, a little challenging and has a good theme. Love everything about it. I have no problems with it except I don't want to stop playing. If you like mystery games and hidden object games I would recommend you get this one.
Klouthan | Added on: March 17, 2014
 
This was a dark and stormy mystery... if you like that sort of thing you will love this game. No major flaws, although a couple of small points tended to keep coming up. No (?) button to explain the puzzles got annoying, although at least there was a skip button (hello, Nancy Drew!). I hated the puzzle by the entrance to the hall and dungeon because I could not figure out what to do at all, and I was already getting tired of having to check a walkthrough. Most of the puzzles weren't too bad and there was a nice variety in type and difficulty. This was good because there were a lot of them.The HO scenes were good, although I don't like games that penalize for too much clicking. I don't really see the point and it's annoying. The graphics were great and the game-play was smooth. It was a nice length and it felt well done. The story may not have made much sense, AT ALL, but it had all the right things, like old London, Civil War backdrop, ghosts, smugglers, famous dead people and deals with the devil so who can resist? It was good fun! I'm glad I got it and will look for more in the series.
Expo | Added on: January 25, 2012
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this game although both myself and my mother did find some of the puzzles overly complicated and there were not enough explanations on how to complete them let alone what was expected. Altogether well worth buying and I love the background story - it inspired me to read the Tom Sawyer novel... need I say more.
Cinella | Added on: August 23, 2011
 
This is an addictive game, extremely well developed. The storyline is intriguing, the graphics are fantastic and the special effects are breathtaking. Some of them will definitely startle you. True there is quite a bit of texted dialog but you can click through it rapidly. The HOs are clear and the items that need “assembly” add a little more fun. The puzzles are clever and you can skip some of them if you are stuck. Devil on the Mississippi is surely entertaining.
xyzlealea | Added on: August 1, 2011
 
I really like the Midnight Mystery series. There are some traditional hidden object scenes, but not too many. Some of the objects required additional action to find, such as opening a draw, but none are obscure. Most of the game is traveling from place to place, looking for clues, and figuring out when to use the objects in your inventory. The puzzles are a little different than what I have seen in other games. They require some thought, but are not too difficult, once you figure out what the objective is. The graphics, music, and story line are all very good.
VforVictoria | Added on: August 1, 2011
 
Every midnight mystery game has been awesome and this one is no exception! Maybe it's because I love ghosts, mysteries and stories based on some truths? But mixed with hidden objects, puzzles, great graphics and a fun storyline makes for a great game! Thanks!
kjoyness | Added on: August 1, 2011
 
I really enjoyed this game. The graphics were great, the puzzles were all different, the HO's were just perfectly challenging. I love games where you have to explore and figure things out mostly on your own. If you need help or guidance, you can open the book and it pretty much tells you what to do. The hints come in form of ravens that you find throughout the puzzle, Once I found 10, I usually stayed around that number, using hints only occasionally. I played this for hours, I thought I was done a few times and then I realized when you open your book, it tells you a % of how far along the story you are. I had a few lag issues when boats would come, but I think that was just my graphics card working over time. Really looking forwarc to more games like these on GH. Replayability: Once you find 70+ 4 leaf clovers, you unlock Unlimited HO, so you can go to any location and hunt for items. NOT kid friendly, LOTS of ghosts, demons, fire & things that pop out and scream at you.
Smedley | Added on: August 1, 2011
 
Having played other Midnight Mysteries HOGs (Edgar Alan Poe and Salem Witch Trials), I was eager to try Devil on the Mississippi - and it did not disappoint! Very riveting game! Phenomenal graphics! Interesting, but somewhat confusing plot. The horror/mystery theme is somewhat dark; young kids might not want to watch it. It has excellent HO screens; be ready to move back and forth from one scene to another. Having a map of found/searched scenes would really add a lot to the game. The puzzles are different, challenging, and fun - though it would be nice if the hint feature helped - the skip option is there when needed. The ghost monologue boxes are a little overwhleming at times, but the interactive dialogue boxes give you options and your question/comment affects the ghost's response. Remember to search for the 4-leaf clover in each screen. Collect ravens in most screens - they are used for clues. Don't forget to click once on the item description; that will show shape of object in ravn's crystal ball. Also, watch when raven is replaced by large crystal ball - it's a good clue (that you will figure out for yourself)!