Matchmaker - Curse of Deserted BrideMatchmaker - Curse of Deserted Bride
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Matchmaker - Curse of Deserted Bride
redaf | Added on: July 15, 2013
 
I was surprised by how much I liked this game. As a matchmaker set to return love to a town bereft of it for 20 years is starts off a little like a Harlequin novel, but you get hooked first off by the graphics which are very nice. The hidden object portion of the game is good as some items easily found, others, not so much. There are scenes within scenes, and at least one little mini game within the HO you play to get an item. None of these are terribly difficult and so varied it was fun to find and play them. The storyline is unique and it was fun to see who would end up with whom in the matchmaking part of the game. Setting up the date scene for the people is where it got a little clicky as it was difficult at times to put things where they belonged, especially the garland in the very last scene. Gameplay was a good length and if you care to replay it you can send the couples off to a different date than the one you chose before. The hint system is good, and you have a map if needed, which is always nice, though not needed for the most part. All in all I really enjoyed playing it, and would recommend it to HO players wanting a break from the "dark" storylines often associated with the genre. Brainiac players seeking a frustratingly difficult challenge will not care for it though, play this one for enjoyment, not challenge.
cat_in_rv | Added on: July 21, 2013
 
This is the second Matchmaker game I have played. I played in timed mode which was not a problem until I encountered the dinosaur skeleton and the angular jigsaw puzzle. These were not a walk in the park, and they took a lot of time, forcing me to replay these levels. The game would be much more relaxing in untimed mode, which is your choice. The graphics were okay, but a few of the items were badly mislabeled. I got fairly bored about three hours in, but I finished it anyway. This is a straight-forward story line, but slanted toward the females. I don't know a lot of boys/men over the age of 10 that would be interested in playing this game. A pleasant diversion, but it doesn't require a thinking cap.
32100280 | Added on: July 15, 2013
 
Found this to be an involved game of puzzles and hidden objects scenes. It will support replay as there are options to choose your game direction. Now I want to go back and select the other options. I played in the relaxed mode.
30870951 | Added on: July 11, 2013
 
It has a great story line and the puzzles were interesting, but it is very slow having to load all the options one at a time!
RenaiReborn | Added on: July 10, 2013
 
I have to admit, this game was pretty good. The storyline kept you interested, although the HO scenes could get a bit tedious at times. There were plenty of varieties of HO scenes- from finding differences between scenes, to silhouette scenes, to regular old find the named object. There were also a good variety of minigames- they were not all the same, so it didn't get too repetitive. It was fun playing matchmaker in the game- although I think that there is perhaps a way to add more detail to the characters (that's just being picky of course). My only 'complaint' if you could call it that, is that the objects can be somewhat difficult to find, simply due to the shading as well as the fact that in each scene, there can be multiple scenes- up to about 3-4, if I recall correctly. While the hints are useful, if you don't like to use them, you will spend a significant amount of time looking for objects. If you don't mind that, this game might be a 5-star game for you.
anneatplay | Added on: July 29, 2013
 
This was original and charming. While the scenes were not repetitious, they did get a little tedious toward the end. The concept is different and Iiked the mini games that popped up within the HOS, you never knew where or what they would be and they were all different. The HOS were not especially easy, a lot of zooms and moving from room to room as the list of items expanded. Altogether an A for doing something out of the box.
tamryn | Added on: July 12, 2013
 
The first Matchmaker was enjoyable and in my opinion this one was even better! I loved all the extras that were added & some mystery thrown in. I grow weary of searching caves, temples etc. so this is a welcome change. Thank you Sugar Games & GH for a fun optimistic game.
littlebit870 | Added on: July 12, 2013
 
At first I did not think I was going to like this game. I will have to say after playing a short while I really enjoyed it. Anyone who likes HOG's with a story line will love this game. If the story line is not your cup of tea it comes with a skip button. I feel the game has good replay value as you can play it timed or untimed. Also it has a feature that allows you to choose different scenarios something I have not encountered before in a HOG. The mini games were for the most part easy but interesting and varied. I like that it is Kid Friendly as well as a great play for the adults in your household. I think everyone will enjoy playing this very different HOG.
roxy8279 | Added on: July 29, 2013
 
I liked the story. It was fun to step into a mystery. It was easy to follow I like all the mini games. I did not have to skip any they were easy but not too easy to make it boring.
31683002 | Added on: August 27, 2013
 
This is a unique game and the mini games are fun. The HO part is fun and the game keeps changing so it was not a boring game at all.
Loisjane | Added on: August 21, 2013
 
This game is fun to play and refreshing, since it is not so "dark" and sinister as most other games are
Tiafl | Added on: July 12, 2013
 
I have to admit that I started the game with a bad attitude and have not finished the game yet. The first HO scene had me thinking that it was actually an old game that was re-released or design has regressed. The items were hard to find and so far away. I found that the hint button was fairly quick. As I progressed it was entertaining to find items just hidden in different inset scene locations. None of the scenes have been dark - Yeah I was truly impressed with the written words. In a couple of cases I thought a descriptor word should have been different but then re-reading it I figured out that I was wrong. I looked up some words in the dictionary. I now know what a mortar board, narcissus and pepper box are. It is perfect to have the timed or untimed mode. I would not have gotten very far in timed mode. I have so far performed the useful tasks of building a car and cleaning a park. The diversity has been enlightening. I am over my bad attitude and am enjoying the game. Ok, I have learned to not judge a game at first glance.