Magic SweetsMagic Sweets
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Magic Sweets
yusef | Added on: April 1, 2011
 
Without superb graphics, this game would be average because you repeat the same steps, level after level. I shouldn't even say steps because you actually just stand behind a counter and the customers come to you. In his/her review, Khixan gave some great gameplay tips so I won't repeat them except to say that I try normal before I drop to relaxed play, and even in relaxed the higher levels take some effort to pass. Also, if you don't have enough points to buy the upgrade necessary to continue the game, you can go back and replay levels in which you haven't earned the cup to pick up more points. The background scenery is beautiful, the characters are well-drawn and have their own personalities, but they are all polite even when they make semi-snotty remarks if you take too long to deliver. It's the characters more than the gameplay that has me mesmerized. On the negative side, you have limited choice in upgrades, and the upgrades have limited affect on the game. It's not like Cake Mania in which you go from super slow cake frosters to lightning speed frosters. Also, I don't see where the game shows on what difficulty level the trophies (vs. simply passing a level) was won, and there are three difficulty levels. I say it you like TM, try this game! It draws you in to the point that the repetitiveness of the gameplay is not irritating.
Peace | Added on: March 25, 2011
 
The game is original but has some annoying things in it. The dragon eats your merchandise when you are trying to put your toppings on because OH yes he is the trash can also which get very annoying. Once you finish a level it is slow moving to get to the next level. The game is very challenging because once you buy all the toppings you have the ones that look alike and if you do not remember where they are placed on your pastry you have a fifity fifty chance of topping it wrong. You can barely tell a color difference between the nuts and the cherry you just have to know which side they are placed on. I found the dragon worked best so far if you only let him throw cherries and lemons. If you have him throwing everything he is so slow he just gets in your way. The second magic upgrade is kinda of hard to tell what it is. I would love the game if they had put a little more thought into it. And I would definitely like the game more if the dragon wasn't in it. I like to move fast as the only reason I play is to master the golds, I think I would be faster withot him. Well let me submit this again I submited one yesterday that they deleted
calypso601 | Added on: March 30, 2011
 
I really liked this game. There is no "story" to speak of, but the game play kept me entertained. It was very challenging to get expert scores but not impossible and I liked the graphics.
smallfry091956 | Added on: March 24, 2011
 
I like this game. The graphics is great. The different stages are good. I find it kinda hard. I haven't got an expert score yet. I've had to redo several levels cause I keep failing.I highly recommend this game if you like a challenge for high score.
hankysis3 | Added on: April 20, 2011
 
I think my title says a lot. I had to replay many of the levels in order to obtain the gold cup. As others have said, the dragon isn't much help. In fact his "pokiness" has you deciding to ignore him, and work to complete the level yourself. To add insult to injury, you should see how many cookies he has eaten of mine, and he wasn't even on a break - LOL. The game does grab you though. Story? Have no clue, too intent on winning the levels. Give it a try and see what you think.
Grandmel | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
Beautiful game and graphics, but gets impossible about mid-way. Very clicky!
khixan | Added on: March 30, 2011
 
This is easily the most challenging TM type game I've played. It is very addictive though just because it is challenging. A couple of tips that helped me - Don't merely restart levels. Hit Continue and then replay them. You will get more $$ this way for upgrades. Play it the first time in Relaxed mode before ramping up to the higher difficulty settings. There are two ways to apply toppings. Taking the drink or pastry to the topping (careful not to trash it by accident doing this), or bringing the topping to the item (pinch topping and carry it). The dragon I found is best when focused on just drink topppings. Those are the cherry, orange, and umbrella. Don't waste your $$ upgrading him at first. He's a help, but not a big one at all. Only down sides to the game I felt were the long wait btwn levels, and it is one of those games that can give graphics drivers issues.
infinity | Added on: September 4, 2012
 
I am not a time management player, as I find the games too repetitious. This one is too, but I was fascinated by the wizard reading his spell book, the invisible king, the chatty wolf, the friendly witch, and other characters. They speak and are beautifully drawn and animated, although I was so busy creating drinks and pastries, that I didn't get a chance to really pay attention to what they were saying or doing. As the others have mentioned, the baby dragon, while cute, is more of a hindrance than a help, but that's the way of baby animals! Half the time the cherries he threw missed the drinks or pastries. Loved the background and the gorgeous arched windows. I felt like I was part of a Harry Potter movie. I would recommend starting on the relaxed level, as it's hard to tell why you get a "pass" on some levels or a gold cup on others. The game walks you through which upgrades to buy in which order. I don't know if that is true later in the game. My best advice: as soon as the level starts, get your pastries baking and pour the drinks so you have a small jump on the customers. The pastries burn fast, but you can stockpile 5 on a plate, so it's better to be baking than not, and it doesn't matter is you have extras when the level ends. This is A LOT of clicking. Not great for carpal tunnel or arthritis, but I love the fantasy feel of the game, so this will be my first TM purchase.
janeaustenfan | Added on: April 8, 2011
 
I absoutely LOVED this game---until the 3rd level. It has flashing dancers for a disco that is very disorienting especially with my chronic migraines. I was so disappointed that I had to quit playing and as far as I know there is no way to turn that off. =( Very disapointed in that. Otherwise if you don't mind a lot of flashing lights in the 3rd level, highly recommended---very addictive.