LUXOR EvolvedLUXOR Evolved
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of LUXOR Evolved
tjmo | Added on: March 3, 2012
 
I thought it was ok, but I didn't expect to complete it my first time playing through, even if I did play "normal."
pjnaltamonte | Added on: April 3, 2012
 
This game has a lot of the 80s vibe with asteroids-like look but its built for this generation. The action draws you in. Just before things start to go crazy on the screen things slow to an almost dead stop as it slows down pauses then bursts into a colorful spray of things to catch and score high points. Very addictive and visually attractive.
kjmiss | Added on: April 10, 2012
 
Love, love, love this game. I've played all the Luxor games and all are good but this one is by far the best in my opinion. Great game play, fast paced and awesome graphics. I love the colour and explosion throughout the game. 4 options of skill level available so the challenge gets harder. My only gripe, I would have liked to see a few more levels included but all in all a great game. Very addictive!
GameDancer | Added on: March 5, 2012
 
Spectacular graphics, music, sound and game play....WOW!!! Yes, Luxor HAS evolved!! What a GREAT game playing experience! If you have been a Luxor fan for many years like myself, you are really going to LOVE this FUN sequel!! You will recognize some of the mazes BUT you will experience a whole new way of playing those mazes...lot more action & quick playing. Gather in those power ups!! New twist in this sequel...there are the regular power ups but than there are the powerful Boss power ups which you gain by defeating each BOSS ...gotta LOVE this new twist! When you gain a Boss power up, if you strategically aim & shoot at the correct chain, the whole screen lights up in fireworks & rids all the marbles...NICE!! This game goes back & forth from 80's retro into the future in a time warp. If you are not familiar w/Luxor start off in casual mode. Your teenagers & yourself are going to enjoy the FUN of Luxor Evolved and it is a definite own to add to your Luxor collection!
smallfry091956 | Added on: March 5, 2012
 
This game is GREAT. I love the Luxor games but this one is the best. I love the graphics,music and the sounds. The bosses are a great addition. I will definitly have to have this one.
weebrie | Added on: March 3, 2012
 
This one takes me back to 80's video games, but with a modern twist! I love all of the powerups, and it's challenging but not impossible, which is a must for me. The graphics are cool and so is the music, and I dig the fact that it has boss battles. Two thumbs up for this one!!!
DebraKadabra | Added on: May 27, 2012
 
After the disasters that were Quest For The Afterlife, 5th Passage, and HD I was all but prepared to give up on the Luxor franchise. Then along came Evolved... Once I played through a little bit of the demo, I was hooked. I played through until the very end on Casual and then immediately started playing on Normal. I'd have to say that my only complaints about this game are that you can't carry the level of your power ups over to different difficulties (like you can with Luxor 3) and that there's no Net power up so that you can beef up your catch percentage. Those complaints are very minor. I also really like all of the different achievements. There is replay value solely based on all of the difficulty settings, but the levels themselves don't change. Oh... and BOSS BATTLES! :) Overall, I believe that this is a very well-rounded game and well worth any amount of money you spend on it.
Savannah | Added on: March 11, 2012
 
This is one fun shooting game - Addictive - Great graphics - good interface and I just LOVE blowing up things after I get home from work! Enjoy!
MayBelle | Added on: March 8, 2012
 
Started w/Real Arcade - have always liked to wait & read a few reviews before buying. But on 3/2 downloaded free trial & purchased after 1st hr. Won't comment on how long I played but started w/average play - not easy & was hooked. Own most of the other Luxor games & have enjoyed but this one is really more like a true arcade one. Could not believe I made it through & started on expert mode. I survived that & unlocked elite - no whiners. I am being beaten up but will keep trying. It's a fun game - especially since I don't remember beating all of the levels of other Luxor products. Destroyed screen of my other laptop before holidays so I will have to visit my game site, redownload some of the older Luxor games & revisit. Try it, pretty sure you will end up owning it.
Budica | Added on: March 8, 2012
 
This is the best Luxor yet. What I really like about it is the mock old classic games that have been worked in. I spent many quarters on Tempest and Pac Man when I was a kid, it brings back memories. It still holds many of the features expected from Luxor as well. It's a lot of fun.
ChickenMan | Added on: March 6, 2012
 
Luxor Evolved is literally a "blast" to play. Fantastic graphics using today's eye-candy techniques to invoke feelings of nostalgia with vector-like graphics, multi-colored "Qix" bars, star-fields, stereo equilizers, and so forth. You will say "Wow" more than once as you soak up the view. The game play is fast and frenzied to the point that it is more difficult to be measured and accurate in your shooting, nearly making this "marble popper" into an "action game". I was able to achieve high accuracy in the early levels (on Normal), but it wasn't long before it devolved into a rapid fire mess just to survive. I must concur with an eailer review that stated there was so much going on with the explosion, the power-ups, the "treasures", and the particle effects that it can be visually overwhelming. Exactly what is going on during a frantic attempt to stop a pyramid breach is hard to determine. With so many items flying around the screen at once it can be a challenge just determining where you need to place you shot. The music is as fast-paced as the game. It's loud and bass-thumping, get your blood pumping, music that goes great with the overall theme of the game. This game wants to standout from the rest. Bottom line for me - fantastic, frantic, fast-paced, fun! At least give Luxor Evolved 60 minutes of your time and prepare to be dazzled. Go have a blast!
jacksparrow1031 | Added on: March 25, 2012
 
I love this game. I have nothing bad to say about it. I have loved this type of game since I first started playing Zuma years ago. This, however, takes things to a much more advanced level. Love the graphics, music - everything. If I had to say anything negative is that I can't play it for hours - it is just that intense! Thank goodness!
Hillbilly_Gal | Added on: March 5, 2012
 
I own every Luxor game that has been released including Luxor Evolved. I love them all, they're all very addictive, and for me, Luxor Evolved is more addictive than ever. I played a few levels of the free trial to see what it was like. I had a hard time stopping but I managed to stop before my free trial ran out so I could buy it then write this review. I'm in my late 50's, the stay-at-home mother of 17 children, and have 14 grandchildren with 2 more on the way. (Smile!!) I play computer games to relax after a hectic day of grocery shopping, cleaning our home, appointments, etc. Luxor Evolved is a wonderful way to relax. Luxor Evolved is different from the previous Luxor games in the neon-type shapes that appear as if they're from outter space somewhere as do the shapes that you are to catch (slow down, explode, etc.) .The entire game is awesome and very challenging, especially when you get to the level where they come down from both sides. This is where I called it quits for the night ... I'm too tired to see them they look like a blur right now, and my reflexes have slowed down for the night. I tried this level once, failed, so I'm going to try it again tomorrow after I've had a good nights sleep and my reflexes are faster. I'm looking forward to it. I just downloaded this game onto my husband's computer. He's playing it now and he's so addicted to it that he's having an extremely difficult time stopping long enough for us to go to bed. (My husband's computer is in our bedroom ... my computer is in our home office.) Tomorrow morning we'll let our 15-year old son play Luxor Evolved so see how far he can get on it. If you are a Luxor fan, you are going to love Luxor Evolved and this will be a must own addition to your Luxor computer game collection. If you didn't enjoy the previous Luxor games, you will probably love this one.
kimhasfourkids | Added on: May 4, 2012
 
must play this game!!!!!!!!!!! if you like any kind of marble games play this!!!!
febspepple | Added on: March 3, 2012
 
Fast-paced with a lot of power-ups. Fantastic graphics and overall game play. Loved it far more than the original Luxor games.
sosborneknight | Added on: March 10, 2012
 
Tried the demo & had to buy this game. Completed the easy level games in 2 hours, but the 2 other challenging levels of gameplay are much harder, and I havn't completed them yet. This game does require a decent video card & a fast running computer. I doubt it will work on anything less than Windows 7. I really love the retro neon grahics, and the speed of the game play, Highly recommended for adults & children.
CherieM61 | Added on: March 8, 2012
 
This game is friggin' insane!!! I LOVE IT!! Great graphics and fast paced. I didn't think much of the previous Luxor games but this one is definitely a keeper!! GREAT JOB!!
sweetsuzeeqz | Added on: March 6, 2012
 
WOW! Wasn't sure I'd like this one as I'm not as quick as I used to be but with the lights, music and power-ups, there was definitely the need for speed and I actually managed quite well! I had a lot of fun with this one, so I've added it to my 'get' list!
Goldean | Added on: March 3, 2012
 
This game is AWESOME!! I'm only about 30% done but its amazing. Great Graphics, the music fits to the game, Boss levels are really cool. Overall just loving it! Most likely will purchase.
phatkhat | Added on: March 4, 2012
 
Okay, I've been a Luxor junkie since 2004 or so, when I spent two weeks learning to beat Khufu, LOL. This is an interesting twist on the game, with graphics that are totally removed from the old classic Luxor, and so is the music. I really didn't know what to expect when I saw this in the upcoming games, but had to download it and try it today when I saw it was out. I didn't expect to like it at all, because I really didn't like any of the sequels as well as the original two, Luxor and Amun Rising. It always seemed that the more graphically "pretty" the games were, the slower they were. This one is NOT slow. I played the easiest level, and it was FAST. Very fast. And I will say that you can shoot, shoot, shoot, rather than the rather measured shooting with the originals. If you are a fan of the old Luxors, this will take some getting used to, though you will recognize some of the layouts from previous games.. And I do think this is a good game, very addictive, and fun to play. But having said that, I'm not sure if I will buy it or not. The heavy electronic beat music is not really my style, though it fits the game. And the constant flashing, exploding, and falling sparkles kind of gave me a real headache. There are so many power-ups I wasn't sure what was going on most of the time, and I didn't care for the boss battles If you like arcade games, or if you are a Luxor fan, try this. You may find you like it a lot. Me, I still like the original version best, and I think I will go play that right now, LOL!.