Lost Souls - Enchanted PaintingsLost Souls - Enchanted Paintings
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Lost Souls - Enchanted Paintings
31415562 | Added on: December 21, 2014
 
I loved this game so much that I stayed up all night playing it! By far one of my favorite HO games.
31415562 | Added on: December 21, 2014
 
I loved this game so much that I stayed up all night playing it! By far one of my favorite HO games.
31416091 | Added on: November 17, 2014
 
Wonderful game, but too short. Would like to open more pictures to play.
devi | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
I've played this game before in the platinum edition and enjoyed it just as much the second time. Good graphics, fun advantures, fairly easy HO scenes. The only negative is how short the game is. Really wished I could have entered more portrait scenes hanging on the wall. Happy New Year.
topmum | Added on: January 3, 2012
 
got this as soon as it was released and so glad I did! Graphics are excellent throughout the game and the game itself can be quite challenging at times but made easier by the handy recharging hint button! Highly recommended by a ho nut!
Debb23 | Added on: August 28, 2012
 
I loved the graphics, they were just beautiful. I loved that you could find the hidden objects and that they weren't hidden in the dark or blurred. I liked that you had to find certain objects and return them to their homes. The worlds were so different from each other and kept it refreshing. I just wish that the game was a little longer, although I guess you can't play forever, sigh*. I'll hope for a second one.
linusmum | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
Good hidden objects and problem-solving game. I loved the fact that I could play in "expert" mode since I prefer games that don't provide too much direction. However, I was disappointed in how much information the expert mode still provided and how on some levels I had to perform tasks or visit locations in an exact order instead of being required to figure it out myself. One other disappointment was how abruptly it ended No explanation, no nothing It was basically put an object here then game over. No final showdown, no explanation as to why the family received the picture in the first place, who this mysterious Ethiel (and how the heck are they pronouncing it in the game? It sounds nothing like the way it is spelled) is. And like others, I was also disappointed that I couldn't explore the other canvases. Still the gameplay was worth my free ticket. I'd love to see an enhanced and updated version of this.
Dejedanra | Added on: January 15, 2013
 
This game was a great hidden object game. I don't get into many HO games but this one was fun and addictive. It was hard to stop once I started. Kind of like a really good book. =]
Cathy_GM | Added on: February 6, 2012
 
There have only been a few AWFUL HOG games I've played since first discovering them. I guess I could head on over to their titles & warn people about what I think is a huge waste of a few dollars. Then there are games that I literally either love so much that I play straight through, OR love even MORE and deliberately hold off on playing until a time I can devote 100% attention to it and savor every minute. Enchanted Paintings was THAT kind of game for me. I've just also found out the difference between a "classic" HOG and just an HOG is the searching for the picture of the object rather than getting a list of things & having to envision it, then find it in the scene. I much prefer the lists or words then seek-to-find, but this game had BOTH types. Interactive HOG scenes, which is always funner than just a straight list of objects. AMAZING, just STUNNING artwork. I guess the only thumbs down was the music was a LITTLE annoying, not horrible, just maybe too much, and during certain scenes if they could have played down sound, that would have been good. Mini games were VERY original, and lots of mosaics, paintings, jigsaw type mini games that I really like. Not a TON of revisit the HOG scene and find "new stuff". A few of those, but mostly a huge world and tons of original HOG scenes plus goals, adventures. I'll definitely play it again on hard, and most games I would not "bother". This is well worth the $ fee. I'd put it up there with the 6-8 games I thought the best since I joined Gamehouse. I guess making a list of those wouldn't be appropriate here on this review for just this game, so if anyone's interested, perhaps I'll do a forum post on my top ten. Must be a thread for that. Anyway, I'd love to figure out the developer for this (could be Fenomen Games), but the other game I'm playing by them is quite different, and not nearly as fun as Enchanted Paintings. I'd be interested in playing anything anyone suggests is JUST LIKE THIS ONE. Challenging (but not impossible mini-games and puzzles), gorgeous scenes, some real mystery, good storyline, very challenging HOG scenes both with word lists and shape seek and find. Very original game, thanks for this one! ~CM in Shrewsbury, MA
JaqS | Added on: March 29, 2013
 
I enjoyed this game, especially the variety of puzzles and the graphics, but it is very short. Upon playing it again I found that nothing changed. You find all the same items in all the same places. Also, you search for a lot of the same objects in different scenes. The story is okay but the dialog is lame. From the main scene it looks like there could be twice as many different realms but you only visit 5. I considered buying the premium version but it only has one more realm so it really is not worth it. I bought this game with a coupon. If I had paid full price my rating would be lower. I prefer a more challenging HO game and one that is worth playing more than once.
KayakNana | Added on: January 22, 2013
 
I'm fairly new to HOG, but this was by far the most fun, beautifully illustrated and thoughtfully done. Despite the dark theme of kidnapped boy, there were lustrous moments of light fancy so I didn't feel ever more gloomy, but optimistic. I want more games like these!
bendale | Added on: January 6, 2012
 
Both easy and challenging. The great graphics make the game easy to play. Loved the graphics, great detail, some animation. The hidden objects were mostly fair in that they were visible and somewhat easy to find, but not too easy. The hints worked well and recharged at a reasonable rate. Part of the challenge was in taking objects from one place to another. Only regret is that it ended too soon. I hope to see more like it.
vrm123 | Added on: August 25, 2012
 
This is one game I can finally can honestly say I just love. It allows a person to think and figure out that if something is found in one place it may be held in storage to be used in another. The game constincely make you want to think about just how to get through the maze and backtracking is very much a large part of it. But is needed to get the level complete. I just love this HOG and I will recommend this game to all players. although small children may find it a little difficult with the back and forth action. There is a replay factor with a hight level that shows no action hit sites with stars and the hint meter is slower to fill but the "easy" lever show help and the hint refills quickly but could fill just a little faster, overall a wonderful game and I recommond it highly.
infinity | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
...and I'm so glad I didn't. The preview shots don't do the game justice at all. The graphics are just beautiful and not at all creepy, which was my original concern from the title and screenshots. Consider this a modern fairy tale, like "The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe," and being transported to a fantastic land. The adventure includes hidden object scenes, seek-and-find objects used in completing various stages of the quest, and creative mini-puzzles like drawing constellations from among a field of stars, and painting emblems for a coat-of-arms. I also appreciated the pop-up that said "nothing left to do here,” so I didn’t waste any more time hunting in a scene. I found the game delightful because I “got it,” and the quest sequences made sense. Gamers who do a lot of these HO/adventure games may find it on the easy side, but for me, it was just right. And sometimes you just want to relax and play, not give yourself a migraine. I really enjoyed playing this.
kismet | Added on: February 10, 2012
 
I really love this game- beautiful graphics, pretty good music too. The puzzles are all different (not the usual monotony), and some crave some thinking. Nice change from all the creepy mystery HOGs (some are good but too scary late at night!). I almost felt sad when I finished a location. Lovely adventure. Best one since Tiny Bang Story! If you're having a bad day, I would recommend this one.
chrmn2k | Added on: June 23, 2012
 
I own over 200 plus HOGS, and this is my favorite. Enchanted settings, mystical creatures, good vs evil - evil always loses! The graphics are superb and the music a nice background. The puzzles are varied and allow a skip. Replay is limited, but you can play it again, changing the difficulty level. This is a "Fenomen" production, but I couldn't find any others listed by this company. I am sipping slowly and stretching the game out as long as possible, because it is a relaxing adventure - almost as good as lying by the pool with a colorful drink in my hand. I guarranty pure entertainment for several hours - I want more!
bubs | Added on: February 21, 2012
 
Very addicting, couldn't wait to get to the next step but did not want the game to end.. yes, I really enjoyed this game.
Budica | Added on: August 14, 2012
 
I enjoyed ths game. It has beautiful graphics. I like that the list for the HOG scenes is sometimes in txt and otherwise shows pictures. Is a nice strory line and is relaxing to go through. I do wish it were a bit longer though.
nsa1 | Added on: August 26, 2012
 
I have slowly been converted to liking then loving HOG's. I absolutely love this game. At least, it's not one of those using the same room over and over again. I suppose I can learn to live with black or nearly black items hidden in shadow or other dark places, but that doesn't distract from the sheer enjoyment this game provides. More, more!
Leafer | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
This is the first time I've written a review but I felt compelled to do so after playing. The game is enjoyable and not too challenging, which is what I like because I want to unwind while I play games... but.... it is way too short. It's very deceiving because when you start the first level, there are many "enchanted" paintings" surrounding the missing son's picture so it's reasonable to assume that the game has many levels. I deciced to purchase the game after completing the first level... only to be finished about 2 hours later! Not all the surrounding paintings turned out to be levels so it's very misleading. I have never before finished a game so quickly and I really don't feel it's good value for the "money". I wouldn't have used up a credit had I known.
Santiperez | Added on: January 31, 2012
 
This game was quite a good acquisition, in my opinion. It is mostly a Hidden Object game, although it has a stronger storyline than others. Graphics are quite good, puzzles are solvable but not childishly easy and the length of the game is sufficient (although you shouldn't be confused by the fact that there are 9 paintings on the "menu": the game only has five or six "chapters"). All in all, I would recommend this game if you can get it for a low price and if you like Hidden Object games with some puzzles now and then.
capesp50 | Added on: January 19, 2012
 
This is a gret fun game challenging but not difficult and am looking forward to replay of the game
gill8888 | Added on: April 20, 2012
 
Great fun, and very addictive. Lots of different scenes which were all fun. Shame it has to end!! I am searching for similar games
elaineorni | Added on: January 17, 2012
 
Enchanted Paintings is fascinating. It keeps me spellbound until the next puzzle and solution. The graphics are magnificent. It is well regulated, that is, there are no glitches anywhere in the program. Even at expert level, you are never "lost" trying to figure out what they want you to do next. I have only finished half of the game, but had to write to exclaim my "enchantment" with Enchanted Paintings. Extremely entertaining.
MrsB | Added on: January 30, 2012
 
Made it to the end a little too quickly. No build-up. I guess I assumed that there would be a bit more considering the time spent in the beginning spinning the story.
VforVictoria | Added on: January 9, 2012
 
I enjoyed playing the demo of the extended version of this one, but didn't want to pay the premium price, so I waited for this one to come out and it was worth the wait. Great graphics, the storyline was ok, a bit broken up for me, I would of liked more of a storyline of how it all came to be, but that's the reader in me. I did like the different fantasy worlds though, and I enjoyed the many challenges I faced going from place to place. It really kept you hopping and guessing. I enjoy challenges and it did not disapoint. HO's were hard sometimes and easy other times, you had different styles too from finding regular HO's to moving things, etc. It kept me interested the whole way. I would of loved it longer, maybe using all of the paintings, and maybe the extended version had that? Either way it was an extremely fun game and worth buying!
Mysterya | Added on: September 2, 2013
 
Nice and uncomplicated story. Straight forward. Artwork is quite beautiful. The hidden objects just right not too hard or easy.Minimal amount of repeat visits to same areas. There was also no jumping between locations. Each painting was complete. Athough a child is kidnapped through mystical means,it is still kid friendly as violence is virtually nil. Some more experienced HO players might get a bit frustrated as you know what needs to be done but have to wait. Overall a nice enjoyable game.
SEUSS | Added on: January 19, 2012
 
My 10 year genius grandson and I play alot of hidden object games. We prefer this type of game because it's more challenging and fun. THIS game was FUN, CHALLENGING, FASCINATING and SPELLBINDING!!! We truly could stop playing!! We want MORE!!!
Carrissa | Added on: April 21, 2013
 
Enjoyed this game very much. I was going to play the newer version, I checked the reviews (although there are different strokes for different folks) but anyway I played this first. The graphics were okay, most of the HO's I could actually see the items. Not saying they were easy, just right actually. Did enjoy the variety of HO's and mini games. Not a whole lot of back n forth. Nice thing as I always say is A MAP!!! I thought the length was good, although I did not want it to end. Storyline was good also.
Coby | Added on: February 6, 2012
 
Overall a very relaxing game, while at the same time the game is never easy; many of the puzzles can be very difficult. I really enjoyed this game.
maursipan | Added on: February 2, 2012
 
I played the free trial of this game and really liked it so i bought it once the trial was up. what a waste of $10! there are only 5 levels in the game! i had already done 2.5 during my free trial so it only took me about an hour and a half to finish the rest of the game. i say download the trial and see how far you get but it's not really worth buying the whole game.
Cinella | Added on: January 17, 2012
 
The game has an enticing storyline, crystal clear graphics and nice background music. The graphic special effects are splendid. It offers interesting puzzles and the HOs have the right level of difficulty. However, the hint button is slow to refill. I love the fact that the game indicates when there is nothing to do in an area “right now” and when the area has been completed. You can change location by simply clicking on another site on the map, which is great. The only negative is that your PC screen will go completely black for a couple of seconds before entering a site. This may alarm you the first time around. Otherwise this is an absolutely wonderful game.
meme1945 | Added on: January 10, 2012
 
Love the HOG's and this one was fun to play. Just enough difficulty to make you think but not so hard to get boring. The ending could have been a little better, but would still recommend this game.
minimoose82 | Added on: January 12, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. I liked how you take things from place to place. It makes you think, but not so difficult that you want to give up. I thought the ending was a little sudden, I thought there would be one more battle to save your son. Other than that, very enjoyable.
ladysardonicus | Added on: August 26, 2012
 
This game blew me away when I began playing it. The graphics are stunningly beautiful. I have found some games like these to be rather monotonous but the original idea of this game is appreciated and I love the idea of exploring different worlds as paintings, that's what breaks the monotony, every level has an entirely different look and the unexpected surprise from painting to painting is something that encourages me to want to play this game more often. It's almost a shame to finish it!
Or_Ducatisti | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
At the beginning of this story, you are taken to a large portrait gallery with about 12 paintings surrounding the painting you need to reassemble. Each of these paintings is a world to explore - or should be. Unfortunately, only 5 of them are actually used. So, what initially appears to be a large and involved title ends up taking 3 hours or less to complete. This little problem aside, Lost Souls is beautifully drawn, with gorgeous locations and scenery that really draws you in. Music is mild and the loops are long enough to avoid irritation, but the songs don't really match the fantasy feel of the game. Gameplay itself is wonderfully precise, which is a true joy especially when completing those silly slider games which usually are an exercise in frustration. Actions have been simplified, so this would be a perfect game for someone new to the genre, or a younger child. Although there is a "bad guy" who pops up from time to time, he's not scary or threatening, so even the most timid kid will probably just ignore him. The puzzles have all been done before, and they are all of the relatively simple variety, absolutely nothing that will stump the average gamer, but still with enough of a challenge to keep you from breezing through without putting some thought to the solution. I consider this game 40% Hidden Object, 35% Puzzle, and 25% Adventure. If it were just a bit longer, I'd add this to my "highly recommended" list, but with only 3 hours of gameplay, I would only recommend purchase for first-time Hidden-Object/Adventure players, or for a younger member of the family.
32364181 | Added on: February 20, 2014
 
I found the graphics beautiful, and the HO were reasonably easy to find. I was disappointed to find that on replaying, you got to play the same scenes again. Even though there are several paintings on the wall, you only ever play five. Does this change if you purchase the Full game? I played this as a free download, and regularly go back to it. It's a nice game. Although, on another point, the ads are dreadful - almost after every move there is an ad.
pcpat | Added on: February 15, 2012
 
Immerse yourself into a fun and relaxing fantasy world. Demo does no justice. Game is quite lengthy although I didn't want it to ever end! Most fun game I have ever played over the years. Beautiful and colorful scenery at every new locatoin. In-game notice tells you when locations are completed. Click on map and away you go to next scene! A cornucopia of color! Object sometimes partially hidden, yet, always fun to find. Organized gameplay that will delight you and your family!